Mineral

Manganese

Also called Mn, manganese gluconate, manganese sulfate, manganese bisglycinate, manganese citrate, manganese ascorbate

By Niko P.Last reviewed October 10, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Manganese is an essential trace mineral, and deficiency is very rare. No trial has tested it alone: it helped only in combinations, such as calcium plus trace minerals for spinal bone or glucosamine-chondroitin products for knee pain (grade D). The adult upper limit is 11 mg/day, and very high exposure can cause Parkinson-like nerve damage.

Top graded outcomes:D evidence grade Spinal bone loss with calcium plus trace mineralsD evidence grade Knee osteoarthritis severity (Lequesne index)D evidence grade Knee and low back pain from degenerative joint disease

Key facts

What it is
An essential trace mineral; the body holds about 10–20 mg, 25%–40% of it in bone[1]
Adequate Intake
2.3 mg/day for men and 1.8 mg/day for women; 2.0 mg in pregnancy and 2.6 mg when breastfeeding[1]
Upper limit
11 mg/day for adults from all sources, set to avoid nerve toxicity[1]
Typical intake
US diets supplied about 2.1–2.8 mg/day in FDA Total Diet Study data, meeting the AI[1]
Top studied outcomes
Spinal bone density with calcium, zinc and copper (D); knee osteoarthritis symptoms in glucosamine-chondroitin products (D)[2][3][4]
Supplement amounts
Multivitamins usually provide 1.0–4.5 mg; single-mineral products mostly 5–20 mg[1]
Industry ties
None declared in the trial abstracts; the knee trials tested branded glucosamine-chondroitin-manganese products and their funding is not stated in PubMed[3][4]
Evidence base
3 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 10, 2026

How it works

EstablishedManganese is a cofactor for enzymes such as manganese superoxide dismutase, arginase and pyruvate carboxylase, which take part in amino acid, cholesterol and glucose metabolism, antioxidant defence and bone formation. Whether extra manganese changes these processes in well-fed people is not established.[1]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
JointsGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 93 · 2000Form tested: Glucosamine HCl 1,000 mg, chondroitin sulfate 800 mg and manganese ascorbate 152 mg (Cosamin DS)2 rows
BoneGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 59 · 1994Form tested: Manganese 5 mg with zinc 15 mg and copper 2.5 mg, with or without calcium citrate malate 1,000 mg1 row

Every graded row

Outcome
Form tested
Sort

Showing 3 of 3 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Knee osteoarthritis severity (Lequesne index)ImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 93 · 2000

Adults with knee osteoarthritis (US, single center)

Form: Glucosamine HCl 1,000 mg, chondroitin sulfate 800 mg and manganese ascorbate 152 mg (Cosamin DS) · Dose: Twice daily (304 mg/day manganese ascorbate) · Duration: 6 months

In mild to moderate osteoarthritis (72 people), severity scores improved versus placebo at 4 and 6 months (response 52% vs 28%); no benefit in severe osteoarthritis. Adverse events 17% vs 19% with placebo.

10966840 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Spinal bone loss with calcium plus trace mineralsImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 59 · 1994

Healthy older postmenopausal women (mean age 66)

Form: Manganese 5 mg with zinc 15 mg and copper 2.5 mg, with or without calcium citrate malate 1,000 mg · Dose: 5 mg/day of manganese · Duration: 2 years

Spinal bone density changed -3.53% with placebo and +1.48% with calcium plus trace minerals, the only significant group difference; trace minerals alone (-1.89%) did not differ from placebo.

8027856 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
Knee and low back pain from degenerative joint diseaseImprovedGrade D

Crossover RCT · n = 34 · 1999

US Navy divers and special warfare personnel with chronic knee or low back pain

Form: Glucosamine HCl, chondroitin sulfate and manganese ascorbate · Dose: Glucosamine 1,500 mg, chondroitin 1,200 mg and manganese ascorbate 228 mg per day · Duration: 16 weeks (crossover)

Knee symptom scores, pain ratings and physical examination scores improved; running times did not change, and the study neither showed nor excluded a benefit for the spine.

10050562 (opens PubMed)Source [4]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Manganese amino acid chelates (bisglycinate, glycinate, aspartate)Varies[1]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No data on the relative bioavailability of different supplemental forms (ODS).[1]No form-specific tolerance data in our sources.[1]Multivitamin and single-mineral supplements
Manganese gluconate, sulfate, citrate, chloride or picolinateVaries[1][6]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Humans absorb about 1%–5% of dietary manganese; absorption rises when iron stores are low.[1][6]No form-specific tolerance data in our sources.[1]Multivitamin and single-mineral supplements
Manganese ascorbateVaries[3][4]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No absorption data in our sources.[3]Adverse events with a glucosamine-chondroitin-manganese ascorbate product were similar to placebo over 6 months.[3][4]Knee osteoarthritis trials of combination joint products

Studied doses, daily needs and limits

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 5 mg/day of manganese (with calcium, zinc and copper) for 2 years to 20 mg/day from a controlled diet for 8 weeks. Knee trials used 228–304 mg/day of manganese ascorbate inside glucosamine-chondroitin products; the elemental amount is not given in the abstracts.[2][5][3][4]

Intake reference: Adult Adequate Intake (AI): 2.3 mg/day for men and 1.8 mg/day for women (ages 19+); 2.0 mg/day in pregnancy and 2.6 mg/day when breastfeeding. Adult UL: 11 mg/day from all sources.[1] The UL is based on whole-blood manganese above the normal range and the risk of nerve toxicity. It does not apply to people given manganese under medical supervision. NIH ODS fact sheet (updated March 29, 2021).

Recommended intake and upper limit by age and sex

Recommended intakes and upper limits by age and sex
AgeMaleFemalePregnancyLactationUpper limit (UL)
0–6 months (AI)0.003 mg0.003 mg——Not set
7–12 months (AI)0.6 mg0.6 mg——Not set
1–3 years (AI)1.2 mg1.2 mg——2 mg
4–8 years (AI)1.5 mg1.5 mg——3 mg
9–13 years (AI)1.9 mg1.6 mg——6 mg
14–18 years (AI)2.2 mg1.6 mg2 mg2.6 mg9 mg
19–50 years (AI)2.3 mg1.8 mg2 mg2.6 mg11 mg
51+ years (AI)2.3 mg1.8 mg——11 mg

RDA counts Adequate Intakes (AI) for manganese from food, water and supplements. UL counts all sources combined; none set for infants. AI = Adequate Intake (set where data were too limited for an RDA); — = not set.[1]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Other supplements

  • IronNIH fact sheete.g. Iron supplements, iron statusIron intake and iron stores are inversely linked with manganese absorption, probably through a shared intestinal transporter; low iron stores raise manganese absorption.[1][6]

Who should be careful

Chronic liver disease
Manganese leaves the body mainly in bile, so people with chronic liver disease clear it poorly and are more prone to manganese nerve toxicity.[1]
Iron deficiency
Low iron stores raise manganese absorption and can worsen manganese toxicity.[1][6]
Long-term intravenous nutrition
Manganese in long-term parenteral nutrition has caused headache, dizziness and brain MRI changes that resolved after it was stopped.[8]
High-exposure jobs or well water
Welders and miners who inhale manganese dust, and people drinking water with very high manganese, have developed nerve toxicity; supplements add to that exposure.[1]
Infants and children
For infants, breast milk, formula and food should be the only sources of manganese; children's ULs are 2–9 mg/day depending on age.[1]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Safety

Food intakes are safe; problems come from very high exposure.

Dietary range
In a controlled feeding study, diets providing 0.8 or 20 mg/day for 8 weeks did not affect neurological measures in healthy young women.[5]
Nerve toxicity
Excess manganese mainly affects the nervous system: tremor, muscle spasms, hearing problems and, in time, Parkinson-like gait and balance changes.[1]
Supplement case
A 37-year-old woman developed possible Parkinson disease after years of manganese supplement doses well above the upper limit.[7]
Drug interactions
The NIH fact sheet lists no clinically relevant interactions with medications.[1]

Food sources

FoodServingAmount
Mussels, blue, cooked3 ounces5.8 mg[1]
Hazelnuts, dry roasted1 ounce1.6 mg[1]
Pecans, dry roasted1 ounce1.1 mg[1]
Brown rice, medium grain, cooked1/2 cup1.1 mg[1]
Chickpeas, cooked1/2 cup0.9 mg[1]
Spinach, boiled1/2 cup0.8 mg[1]
Tea, black, brewed1 cup0.5 mg[1]
Foods by manganese per serving
  • Mussels, blue, cooked3 ounces5.8 mg
  • Hazelnuts, dry roasted1 ounce1.6 mg
  • Pecans, dry roasted1 ounce1.1 mg
  • Brown rice, medium grain, cooked1/2 cup1.1 mg
  • Chickpeas, cooked1/2 cup0.9 mg
  • Spinach, boiled1/2 cup0.8 mg
  • Tea, black, brewed1 cup0.5 mg

How to read the label

  1. Label dose vs clinical doseThe adult AI is 1.8–2.3 mg/day and the bone trial used 5 mg/day; single-mineral products often provide 5–20 mg, up to nearly twice the 11 mg UL.[1][2]
  2. Elemental amountSupplement Facts labels declare elemental manganese, not the weight of the whole compound.[1]
  3. Combination joint productsGlucosamine-chondroitin products may list manganese ascorbate; the trials did not test manganese on its own.[3][4]

Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch

Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.

Cost per studied dose

Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.

Formula: price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × reference amount. Use the amount printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front-of-pack compound weight. Reference amounts are what trials studied or official limits, not advice for you. We don't rank or link products on this page.

Frequently asked questions

Do most people need a manganese supplement?

Usually not. The NIH says deficiency is very rare, and US diets supply roughly 2.1–2.8 mg/day, at or above the 1.8–2.3 mg AI.[1]

Does manganese help bones?

No trial has tested manganese alone. In a 2-year trial, 5 mg/day with calcium, zinc and copper reduced spinal bone loss compared with placebo.[2][1]

Is manganese in joint supplements useful?

Glucosamine-chondroitin-manganese ascorbate products improved knee symptoms in two small trials, but manganese was not tested separately.[3][4]

What is the upper limit for manganese?

11 mg/day for adults from food, water and supplements combined; 9 mg/day at ages 14–18.[1]

Can too much manganese be harmful?

Yes. High exposure can cause tremor and Parkinson-like symptoms, and one woman developed possible Parkinson disease after years of excessive supplement use.[1][7]

Which foods are high in manganese?

Mussels (5.8 mg per 3 ounces), hazelnuts, pecans, brown rice, chickpeas, spinach and tea.[1]

Sources

  1. [1]Manganese: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals (updated March 29, 2021). NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2021. fact-sheet
  2. [2]Spinal bone loss in postmenopausal women supplemented with calcium and trace minerals.. J Nutr, 1994. RCT PMID 8027856
  3. [3]Efficacy of a combination of FCHG49 glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122 low molecular weight sodium chondroitin sulfate and manganese ascorbate in the management of knee osteoarthritis.. Osteoarthritis Cartilage, 2000. RCT PMID 10966840
  4. [4]Glucosamine, chondroitin, and manganese ascorbate for degenerative joint disease of the knee or low back: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled pilot study.. Mil Med, 1999. crossover-RCT PMID 10050562
  5. [5]Dietary manganese intake and type of lipid do not affect clinical or neuropsychological measures in healthy young women.. J Nutr, 2003. PK-study PMID 12949376
  6. [6]Manganese absorption and retention by young women is associated with serum ferritin concentration.. Am J Clin Nutr, 1999. PK-study PMID 10393136
  7. [7]Possible Parkinson's Disease Induced by Chronic Manganese Supplement Ingestion.. Consult Pharm, 2016. observational PMID 28074748
  8. [8]Manganese intoxication during intermittent parenteral nutrition: report of two cases.. JPEN J Parenter Enteral Nutr, 2001. observational PMID 11284477

What changed

  1. October 10, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for the cited rows.Writer: Niko P. · No credentialed reviewer yet
  2. October 10, 2026 · all · reviewAdversarial review pass: every evidence row re-read against its PubMed abstract. Official sources opened before citing: NIH ODS Manganese fact sheet for health professionals (updated March 29, 2021), whose AI, UL, food, absorption and interaction statements are transcribed here. Industry ties: none declared; the knee trials tested branded combination joint products (Cosamin DS named in the 2000 abstract) and funding for all three trials is not stated in PubMed (no PMC full text). Retraction, expression-of-concern, erratum and withdrawn checks on all 7 PMIDs: none flagged. Page set indexable. Independent browser review (4 parallel reviewers, every evidence row checked against its abstract and official sources on the Vercel preview) found: the 1999 joint trial dose (228 mg/day manganese ascorbate in a 1,500/1,200 mg glucosamine-chondroitin product) and 16-week crossover design were added from the abstract.Writer: Niko P. · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →