Mineral

Calcium (carbonate vs citrate)

Also called calcium carbonate, calcium citrate, calcium citrate malate, calcium gluconate, calcium lactate, Ca

By Kymata Health editorial teamLast reviewed October 8, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Calcium supplements are mostly carbonate (40% calcium) or citrate (21%). Citrate was absorbed about 22-27% better in pooled absorption studies. Supplements raised bone density slightly in adults over 50, but fracture trials disagree. Calcium alone was linked to more heart events in one meta-analysis, and calcium with vitamin D to more urinary stone reports in one large trial.

Top graded outcomes:A evidence grade Bone mineral density in adults over 50A evidence grade Blood pressure in people with normal blood pressureB evidence grade Fractures with calcium plus vitamin D (including institutionalized adults)

Key facts

Forms covered
Carbonate and citrate (most common); also gluconate, lactate, phosphate, citrate malate and others[1]
Form differences
Carbonate is 40% calcium and is absorbed better with food; citrate is 21% calcium and is less dependent on stomach acid. Citrate absorbed about 22–27% better in a pooled analysis (grade C)[1][2]
Top studied outcomes
Bone mineral density ↑ small (A); fractures with calcium + vitamin D: mixed (no-effect in community-dwelling adults; ↓ in a broader meta-analysis, B); blood pressure ↓ slightly (A)[3][4][5][6]
Safety signals
Heart events ↑ with calcium alone in one meta-analysis (C); urinary stones ↑ with calcium + vitamin D in the WHI trial (B)[7][8]
Adult RDA / UL
RDA 1,000 mg (ages 19–50; men to 70), 1,200 mg (women 51+, everyone 71+). UL 2,500 mg (19–50), 2,000 mg (51+)[1]
Absorption per serving
About 36% of a 300 mg dose vs 28% of a 1,000 mg dose; absorption is highest at 500 mg or less at a time[1]
Key interactions
Dolutegravir, levothyroxine, quinolone antibiotics, lithium[1]
Evidence base
7 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 8, 2026

How it works

EstablishedAbout 98% of body calcium is stored in bone, mostly as hydroxyapatite; bone is constantly remodeled and acts as the reservoir that keeps blood calcium in a tight range. The small circulating pool controls blood-vessel contraction, muscle function, blood clotting, nerve signaling and hormone release. Vitamin D is required for active calcium absorption in the gut (established).[1]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
Bones & jointsGrade AImprovedMeta-analysis · n = 12,257 · 2015Form tested: calcium supplements, form not specified in abstract5 rowsIncludes this form
HeartGrade AWorsenedSystematic review · n = 3,048 · 2015Form tested: calcium supplementation or fortification2 rows

Every graded row

Outcome
Grade
Form tested
Sort

Showing 7 of 7 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Bone mineral density in adults over 50ImprovedGrade A

Meta-analysis · n = 12,257 · 2015

Adults over 50 in 51 randomized trials of calcium supplements (with or without vitamin D)

Form: calcium supplements, form not specified in abstract · Dose: Effects were similar for doses of ≥1000 vs <1000 mg/day and ≤500 vs >500 mg/day · Duration: 1 to more than 2 years

Supplements increased bone mineral density by 0.7-1.8% at all five skeletal sites, but the gain did not grow after the first year. The authors judged the increases unlikely to meaningfully lower fracture risk.

26420598 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Blood pressure in people with normal blood pressureWorsenedGrade A

Systematic review · n = 3,048 · 2015

Normotensive people in 16 randomized trials

Form: calcium supplementation or fortification · Dose: Below 1000 to above 1500 mg/day; larger effects above 1500 mg/day · Duration: Varied across trials

Systolic blood pressure fell by 1.43 mmHg (95% CI -2.15 to -0.72) and diastolic by 0.98 mmHg, with larger effects in people younger than 35. The authors rated the evidence high quality.

26126003 (opens PubMed)Source [6]
Urinary stone reports with calcium plus vitamin DImprovedGrade B

RCT · n = 36,282 · 2011

Postmenopausal women aged 50-79 in the Women's Health Initiative

Form: calcium carbonate plus vitamin D3 · Dose: 1000 mg calcium plus 400 IU vitamin D3 daily (500 mg + 200 IU twice daily) · Duration: Average 7.0 years

Self-reported urinary tract stones were 17% more common with supplements (HR 1.17; 95% CI 1.02 to 1.34): 449 vs 381 women.

21525191 (opens PubMed)Source [8]
Fractures with calcium plus vitamin D (including institutionalized adults)WorsenedGrade B

Meta-analysis · n = 30,970 · 2016

Community-dwelling and institutionalized middle-aged to older adults in 8 randomized trials

Form: calcium plus vitamin D · Dose: Calcium plus vitamin D; doses varied across trials · Duration: Varied across trials

Total fractures were 15% lower (SRRE 0.85; 95% CI 0.73-0.98) and hip fractures 30% lower (SRRE 0.70; 95% CI 0.56-0.87).

26510847 (opens PubMed)Source [5]
Heart and blood-vessel events with calcium aloneImprovedGrade C

Meta-analysis · n = 8,151 · 2010

Adults with mean age over 40 in placebo-controlled trials lasting over a year (patient-level data from 5 trials)

Form: calcium supplements without vitamin D · Dose: 500 mg/day or more · Duration: Median follow-up 3.6 years

Myocardial infarction was more common with calcium (HR 1.31; 95% CI 1.02 to 1.67); stroke, the composite end point and death were not significantly increased. Trial-level data (n=11 921) showed a similar result (RR 1.27).

20671013 (opens PubMed)Source [7]
Calcium absorption: citrate vs carbonateImprovedGrade C

Meta-analysis · n = 184 · 1999

15 absorption studies, fasting or with meals

Form: calcium citrate vs calcium carbonate · Dose: Single test doses; amounts varied by study · Duration: Single-dose absorption studies

Absorption from citrate was higher than from carbonate by 20.0% overall, 27.2% on an empty stomach and 21.6% with meals.

11329115 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
Fractures in community-dwelling older adults (calcium, vitamin D or both)No effectNo effect

Meta-analysis · n = 51,145 · 2017

Community-dwelling adults older than 50 in 33 randomized trials

Form: calcium, vitamin D, or combined supplements · Dose: Varied across trials · Duration: Varied across trials

No significant link with hip fracture for calcium (RR 1.53; 95% CI 0.97 to 2.42) or calcium plus vitamin D (RR 1.09; 95% CI 0.85 to 1.39), and none for nonvertebral, vertebral or total fractures, regardless of dose, sex or baseline intake.

29279934 (opens PubMed)Source [4]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Calcium carbonate40%[1]CaCO3; 40% calcium by weight (ODS)About 20–27% lower absorption than citrate in pooled absorption studies; depends on stomach acid, so absorbed better with a meal.[2][1]Appears to cause more gas, bloating and constipation than citrate, especially in older adults with low stomach acid.[1]Women's Health Initiative trial (with vitamin D3); most bone trials; also in antacids
Calcium citrate21%[1]Ca3(C6H5O7)2; 21% calcium by weight (ODS)About 22–27% better absorbed than carbonate, fasting or with meals; less dependent on stomach acid.[2][1]Fewer GI side effects than carbonate reported by ODS.[1]Absorption comparisons
Other forms (gluconate, lactate, phosphate, citrate malate, hydroxyapatite)Varies[1]Varies by salt; US labels list elemental calciumNo head-to-head human data in our sources (ODS calls citrate malate, used in fortified juices, well absorbed).[1]No form-specific tolerance data in our sources.[1]Fortified foods and some supplements
Elemental calcium in 1,000 mg of each form

Arithmetic from the elemental percentages in the table above. More elemental content per gram says nothing about absorption or tolerance.

Compound weight → elemental calcium

500 mg calcium carbonate ≈ 200 mg elemental calcium

Arithmetic only, from the elemental fractions in the table above. US Supplement Facts panels list the elemental amount; front-of-pack claims sometimes give the compound weight. Real products vary with hydration state and buffering.

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 500 to about 2,000 mg/day of elemental calcium, for weeks to about 7 years. Absorption per serving falls as the amount rises, and the adult UL is 2,000–2,500 mg/day from food and supplements combined.[3][6][7][8][1]

Intake reference: Adult RDA: 1,000 mg/day (ages 19–50, and men 51–70); 1,200 mg/day for women 51+ and everyone over 70; 1,000 mg in pregnancy and breastfeeding (19+). UL: 2,500 mg/day (19–50), 2,000 mg/day (51+).[1] UL is 2,500 mg/day for ages 19–50 and 2,000 mg/day from age 51; ulMg shows the lower adult value. It was based on kidney-stone findings from the WHI trial. NIH ODS fact sheet (updated June 22, 2026).

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Medicines

  • DolutegravirDrug labele.g. Tivicay, DovatoCalcium can substantially lower dolutegravir blood levels (chelation). The FDA labels advise dolutegravir 2 hours before or 6 hours after calcium supplements.[1]
  • LevothyroxineDrug labelCalcium carbonate can reduce levothyroxine absorption; the FDA label says to avoid taking them within 4 hours of each other.[1]
  • Quinolone antibioticsNIH fact sheete.g. ciprofloxacin, gemifloxacin, moxifloxacinTaken together, calcium reduces quinolone absorption; ODS reports separating them by 2 hours prevents this.[1]
  • LithiumNIH fact sheetLong-term lithium can raise blood calcium, and adding calcium supplements could increase this risk.[1]

Who should be careful

High intakes
The adult UL is 2,500 mg/day (ages 19–50) and 2,000 mg/day (51+) from food and supplements combined. Very high blood calcium is rare in healthy people but can cause constipation, nausea, fatigue, kidney problems and heart-rhythm problems.[1]
Kidney stones and heart
Calcium plus vitamin D raised urinary stone reports in a large trial, and one meta-analysis linked calcium alone to more heart attacks; other reviews found no such effects. People with a history of kidney stones or heart disease should discuss calcium supplements with a clinician.[8][7][1]
Medicines
Dolutegravir, levothyroxine, quinolone antibiotics and lithium interact with calcium supplements.[1]
Before you start
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before adding this supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines, are pregnant or breastfeeding, or have a chronic health condition.[1]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Articles about Calcium (carbonate vs citrate)

Plain-English answers to common questions, built on the evidence above.

Frequently asked questions

Is calcium citrate or calcium carbonate better?

Carbonate packs more calcium per tablet (40% vs 21%) but needs stomach acid, so it is absorbed better with food. Citrate was absorbed about 22–27% better in a pooled analysis of small studies and causes fewer GI complaints. Supplement labels list elemental calcium.[1][2]

Does it matter how much calcium is in one serving?

Yes. The share absorbed falls as the amount rises: about 36% of a 300 mg dose vs 28% of a 1,000 mg dose. ODS notes absorption is highest at 500 mg or less at a time.[1]

Do calcium supplements lower fracture risk?

The evidence is mixed. Supplements raise bone density slightly. A 2017 meta-analysis of community-dwelling older adults found no fracture benefit from calcium, vitamin D or both, while a 2016 meta-analysis that included institutionalized adults found 15% fewer total fractures with calcium plus vitamin D.[3][4][5]

Are calcium supplements bad for the heart?

A 2010 meta-analysis linked calcium supplements without vitamin D to more heart attacks. Other trials and reviews cited by ODS found no effect, and ODS describes the evidence as mixed.[7][1]

Can calcium supplements cause kidney stones?

In the Women's Health Initiative, 1,000 mg calcium plus 400 IU vitamin D daily for 7 years raised self-reported urinary stones by 17%. Reviews of calcium alone did not find more stones.[8][9][1]

Sources

  1. [1]Calcium: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026. fact-sheet
  2. [2]Meta-analysis of calcium bioavailability: a comparison of calcium citrate with calcium carbonate.. Am J Ther, 1999. meta-analysis PMID 11329115
  3. [3]Calcium intake and bone mineral density: systematic review and meta-analysis.. BMJ, 2015. meta-analysis PMID 26420598
  4. [4]Association Between Calcium or Vitamin D Supplementation and Fracture Incidence in Community-Dwelling Older Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis.. JAMA, 2017. meta-analysis PMID 29279934
  5. [5]Calcium plus vitamin D supplementation and risk of fractures: an updated meta-analysis from the National Osteoporosis Foundation.. Osteoporos Int, 2016. meta-analysis PMID 26510847
  6. [6]Calcium supplementation for prevention of primary hypertension.. Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2015. systematic-review PMID 26126003
  7. [7]Effect of calcium supplements on risk of myocardial infarction and cardiovascular events: meta-analysis.. BMJ, 2010. meta-analysis PMID 20671013
  8. [8]Urinary tract stone occurrence in the Women's Health Initiative (WHI) randomized clinical trial of calcium and vitamin D supplements.. Am J Clin Nutr, 2011. RCT PMID 21525191
  9. [9]Vitamin D, Calcium, or Combined Supplementation for the Primary Prevention of Fractures in Community-Dwelling Adults: Evidence Report and Systematic Review for the US Preventive Services Task Force.. JAMA, 2018. systematic-review PMID 29677308

What changed

  1. October 8, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every evidence-row PMID checked with NCBI E-utilities (esummary + efetch abstract) and re-read in an independent adversarial pass.Writer: Kymata Health editorial team · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →