Other

DMAE (Deanol)

Also called deanol, dimethylaminoethanol, 2-dimethylaminoethanol, DMAE bitartrate, Deaner

By Kymata Labs EditorialLast reviewed October 10, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

DMAE was sold as the prescription drug Deaner for children's learning and behavior problems until it was withdrawn in 1983. Controlled trials are old and small: one 1975 trial in 74 children found some test gains, but trials in dementia, tardive dyskinesia and Huntington's chorea found no benefit (grade D). In a dementia trial, 6 of 13 people stopped because of side effects. Safety data are limited.

Top graded outcomes:D evidence grade Learning and behavior tests in childrenD evidence grade Thinking and daily function in Alzheimer's diseaseD evidence grade Memory and behavior in older adults with dementia

Key facts

What it is
A choline-like amino alcohol; supplements mostly use DMAE bitartrate, and skin creams use DMAE gels[1][8]
Regulatory history
Deaner (deanol acetamidobenzoate) was a U.S. prescription drug for over 20 years until it was withdrawn in 1983[1]
Top studied outcomes
Children's learning and behavior (D, 1975); dementia (no benefit, D); tardive dyskinesia (unclear, very low quality); skin firmness with gel (D)[4][3][2][6]
Side effects reported
Drowsiness, confusion and a mild blood pressure rise in a dementia trial; insomnia, muscle tension and twitching at larger doses[3][1]
Pregnancy signal
DMAE caused neural tube and facial defects in cultured mouse embryos by blocking choline use[7]
Evidence base
6 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 10, 2026

How it works

ProposedDMAE resembles choline and was proposed to raise brain acetylcholine, but proof is scant, and early researchers noted it might even act against acetylcholine. In cultured mouse embryos it blocked choline uptake and use.[4][7][9]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
Brain activityGrade DMixedRCT · n = 80 · 2003Form tested: Vitamin-mineral combination containing DMAE (Vitagerin)1 row
Children's learningGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 74 · 1975Form tested: Deanol1 rowIncludes this form
SkinGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 30 · 2002Form tested: Topical DMAE gel1 rowIncludes this form
DementiaGrade DNo effectRCT · n = 27 · 1981Form tested: 2-dimethylaminoethanol2 rowsIncludes this form
Movement disordersGrade DNo effectCrossover RCT · n = 9 · 1978Form tested: 2-dimethylaminoethanol1 rowIncludes this form

Every graded row

Outcome
Form tested
Sort

Showing 6 of 6 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Brain-wave (EEG) patterns during emotional film clipsMixedGrade D

RCT · n = 80 · 2003

Adults with mild emotional disturbance

Form: Vitamin-mineral combination containing DMAE (Vitagerin) · Dose: Dose not stated in the abstract · Duration: 12 weeks

The combination lowered theta and alpha1 EEG power in sensorimotor areas compared with placebo, which the authors linked to alertness; no clinical outcome is reported in the abstract.

12844472 (opens PubMed)Source [11]
Learning and behavior tests in childrenImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 74 · 1975

Children referred for learning problems, many with hyperactivity

Form: Deanol · Dose: 500 mg daily maintenance (methylphenidate 40 mg daily in the comparison arm) · Duration: 3 months

Both deanol and methylphenidate improved a number of behavior and psychometric tests compared with placebo, with slightly different patterns.

1092513 (opens PubMed)Source [4]
Skin firmness with DMAE gelImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 30 · 2002

Volunteers in a split-face study

Form: Topical DMAE gel · Dose: Concentration not stated in the abstract · Duration: Not stated in the abstract

The DMAE gel increased a measure of skin firmness (shear-wave speed) where the skin was loosest; an 8-person pilot found no significant effect.

12236885 (opens PubMed)Source [6]
Thinking and daily function in Alzheimer's diseaseNo effectGrade D

RCT · n = 27 · 1981

People with moderately severe or severe Alzheimer's disease

Form: 2-dimethylaminoethanol · Dose: Dose not stated in the abstract · Duration: Planned trial period not stated; withdrawals occurred in the first 5 weeks

No significant benefit; 6 of 13 people on DMAE withdrew within 5 weeks because of drowsiness, slowing, more confusion and a mild rise in blood pressure.

7020434 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Memory and behavior in older adults with dementiaMixedGrade D

Open-label trial · n = 14 · 1977

Older outpatients with dementia

Form: Deanol · Dose: Raised to 600 mg three times daily over 2 weeks · Duration: 4 weeks

Memory and other cognitive tests did not change; behavior ratings improved (less depression, irritability and anxiety), with no adverse effects reported.

864168 (opens PubMed)Source [5]
Involuntary movements in Huntington's choreaNo effectGrade D

Crossover RCT · n = 9 · 1978

People with Huntington's chorea

Form: 2-dimethylaminoethanol · Dose: Dose not stated in the abstract · Duration: Not stated in the abstract

Deanol did not change involuntary movements (hyperkinesia).

153384 (opens PubMed)Source [10]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
DMAE bitartrate (oral)Varies[1]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Oral deanol produced measurable blood and spinal-fluid levels, cleared from blood within 36 hours.[1]Larger doses caused insomnia, muscle tension and twitching; serious cholinergic effects were reported in one woman with tardive dyskinesia.[1]The main form in supplements, when specified
Deanol acetamidobenzoate (former drug Deaner)Varies[1][4]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Measurable blood and spinal-fluid levels after daily oral use.[1]Withdrawn from the U.S. market in 1983.[1]Children's learning and behavior problems (historical)
Topical DMAE gel or creamVaries[6][8]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Applied to skin; no blood-level data in our sources.[6]A review reported a 3% facial gel as safe over 16 weeks; DMAE was interpreted as a skin irritant in volunteer tests.[8][1]Skin firmness and wrinkle appearance

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 500 mg/day for 3 months in a 1975 trial in children to 1,800 mg/day (600 mg three times daily) for 4 weeks in older adults with dementia. Several other trials did not state doses in their abstracts.[4][5]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Medicines

  • Cholinergic and anticholinergic medicinesCase reporte.g. donepezil, bethanechol, oxybutyninDMAE is thought to act on acetylcholine pathways, and serious cholinergic side effects were reported in a deanol user; effects with these drugs are unstudied.[1][9]
  • Antipsychotics (tardive dyskinesia)Reviewe.g. haloperidol, chlorpromazineCholinergic drugs including deanol have not shown a clear effect on tardive dyskinesia, and the evidence is very low quality.[2]

Who should be careful

Pregnancy and trying to conceive
DMAE caused neural tube and facial defects in cultured mouse embryos by blocking choline use; there are no human pregnancy safety data.[7]
Seizure disorders
Oral DMAE was linked to increased muscle tone and possibly more frequent seizures in susceptible people.[1]
People with dementia
In a dementia trial, almost half the DMAE group stopped within 5 weeks because of drowsiness, confusion and higher blood pressure.[3]
Children
The former drug for children was withdrawn in 1983, and modern pediatric safety data are lacking.[1]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Safety first

DMAE was withdrawn as a prescription drug, its trials are old and small, and side effects can be significant.

Side effects in trials
Drowsiness, slowed thinking, confusion and a mild blood pressure rise led 6 of 13 people with Alzheimer's disease to stop.[3]
Higher doses
Insomnia, muscle tension and muscle twitching were reported at larger doses; serious cholinergic effects occurred in one deanol user.[1]
Pregnancy
Neural tube defects in cultured mouse embryos raise a pregnancy concern that has not been studied in people.[7]
Evidence quality
A Cochrane review of cholinergic drugs, including deanol, for tardive dyskinesia found too few, too small studies to tell whether they help.[2]

How to read the label

  1. What the label form meansSupplements mostly list DMAE bitartrate; the dose of DMAE itself is lower than the salt weight.[1]
  2. Old trialsMost controlled trials date from the 1970s and 1980s and used the former drug or plain deanol.[4][3][9]
  3. Skin productsTopical DMAE studies measured skin firmness or wrinkles, not effects on the brain.[6][8]

Frequently asked questions

Does DMAE improve memory or focus?

Evidence is weak and old. A 1975 trial in children found some test gains, but trials in dementia found no memory benefit.[4][5][3]

Is DMAE safe?

Safety data are limited. Side effects in trials included drowsiness, confusion, insomnia and muscle twitching, and DMAE caused birth defects in cultured mouse embryos.[3][1][7]

Why was Deaner taken off the market?

Deaner, a deanol drug for children with learning and behavior problems, was withdrawn from the U.S. market in 1983 after more than 20 years of use.[1]

Does DMAE cream firm the skin?

A split-face study found higher skin firmness with a DMAE gel, and a review describes a 16-week trial of 3% gel with fewer fine lines; both are small.[6][8]

Is DMAE the same as choline?

No. DMAE is a choline-like compound; it blocked choline uptake in mouse embryo studies.[8][7]

Sources

  1. [1]2-(Dimethylamino)ethanol (deanol, DMAE), CID 7902: Hazardous Substances Data Bank and NTP toxicity summary. PubChem, U.S. National Library of Medicine (NIH), 2026. database
  2. [2]Cholinergic medication for antipsychotic-induced tardive dyskinesia.. Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2018. meta-analysis PMID 29553158
  3. [3]Double-blind trial of 2-dimethylaminoethanol in Alzheimer's disease.. Am J Psychiatry, 1981. RCT PMID 7020434
  4. [4]Deanol and methylphenidate in minimal brain dysfunction.. Clin Pharmacol Ther, 1975. RCT PMID 1092513
  5. [5]Senile dementia: treatment with deanol.. J Am Geriatr Soc, 1977. open-label PMID 864168
  6. [6]Split face study on the cutaneous tensile effect of 2-dimethylaminoethanol (deanol) gel.. Skin Res Technol, 2002. RCT PMID 12236885
  7. [7]Inhibitors of choline uptake and metabolism cause developmental abnormalities in neurulating mouse embryos.. Teratology, 2001. animal-study PMID 11460263
  8. [8]The role of dimethylaminoethanol in cosmetic dermatology.. Am J Clin Dermatol, 2005. review PMID 15675889
  9. [9]2-Dimethylaminoethanol (deanol): a brief review of its clinical efficacy and postulated mechanism of action.. Curr Ther Res Clin Exp, 1974. review PMID 4279161
  10. [10]2-dimethylaminoethanol (Deanol) in Huntington's chorea.. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry, 1978. crossover-RCT PMID 153384
  11. [11]Efficacy of dimethylaminoethanol (DMAE) containing vitamin-mineral drug combination on EEG patterns in the presence of different emotional states.. Eur J Med Res, 2003. RCT PMID 12844472

What changed

  1. October 10, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for the cited rows.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet
  2. October 10, 2026 · all · reviewAdversarial review pass: every evidence row re-read against its PubMed abstract; doses are given only where the abstract states them. Official sources: no NIH ODS, NCCIH, EFSA or EMA monograph covers DMAE; the NIH National Library of Medicine PubChem record (Hazardous Substances Data Bank and NTP content, opened 2026-10-10) supplies the Deaner withdrawal (1983), absorption and toxicity data. Industry ties: the 2003 EEG study tested a branded vitamin-mineral-DMAE combination (Vitagerin) at a private research clinic; other abstracts state no funding. A 2007 fibroblast study with an erratum (17940822) and the superseded 2002 Cochrane version (12137608) were not used. Retraction, expression-of-concern, erratum and withdrawn checks on all 10 PMIDs: none flagged. Safety-first page with no product links (queue flag: limited safety data). Page set indexable. Independent browser review (4 parallel reviewers, every evidence row checked against its abstract and official sources on the Vercel preview) found issues that were fixed: evidence direction now follows the site convention (up = improved, down = worsened), plus wording and disclosure corrections listed in the batch-14 PR review comment.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →