Exogenous Ketones
Summary
Ketone drinks raise blood BHB within an hour and lower blood glucose by about 0.5 mmol/L on average, more with esters than salts (grade C). They did not improve exercise performance across 13 trials, and one ester dose cut 20-minute time-trial power in trained cyclists by 2.4%. A 2026 analysis found a small thinking benefit, but several authors sell ketone products.
Key facts
- Beta-hydroxybutyrate taken as a ketone monoester ((R)-3-hydroxybutyl (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate) or as BHB mineral salts[2][3]
- Blood glucose (lower, C); exercise performance (no effect, C); thinking tests (small benefit, C, industry-linked authors); migraine (no effect, D)[2][3][7][10]
- About 0.35 g/kg as a single pre-exercise ester dose; 12 g BHB before each meal for 14 days; 3.75 g of salts twice daily for 90 days[6][8][11]
- FDA had no questions about a GRAS notice for the D-beta-hydroxybutyrate ester in bars, gels and drinks at 0.36 g/kg per serving[1]
- Authors of the 2026 cognition analysis hold equity or jobs at ketone companies (HVMN, BHB Therapeutics, Component Health); adolescent salt-trial authors receive honoraria from Pruvit; the monoester safety study's lead author is a non-executive director of TdeltaS (the ester's GRAS notifier) and the study was DARPA-funded[7][11][4][1]
- 7 graded human outcomes on this page
- October 10, 2026
How it works
EstablishedBHB is a fuel the body normally makes during fasting. Drinking it raises blood ketones directly, and in athletes this shifted muscle fuel use away from glucose and lowered lactate. In type 2 diabetes, a ketone ester appeared to slow glucose absorption after meals.[2][12][9]
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome
| Outcome | Grade | Effect | Strongest evidence | Rows |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cognition | Grade C | Improved | Meta-analysis of 29 trials · n = 1,117 · 2026 | 1 row |
| Blood glucose | Grade C | Improved | Meta-analysis of 43 trials · n = 586 · 2022 | 3 rows |
| Migraine | Grade D | No effect | Crossover RCT · n = 41 · 2022 | 1 row |
| Exercise | Grade D | Worsened | Crossover RCT · n = 23 · 2023 | 1 row |
| Safety | Grade D | No effect | RCT · n = 22 · 2021 | 1 row |
Every graded row
| Outcome | Effect | Grade | Best evidence | PMID |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thinking and memory test scores | Improved | Grade C | Meta-analysis · n = 1,117 · 2026 29 protocols in healthy adults and people with Alzheimer's disease or cognitive impairment Form: Ketone esters, salts and ketogenic MCT oils · Dose: Varied; higher daily doses linked to larger effects · Duration: Single dose to several months Exogenous ketones were associated with a small improvement in cognitive performance versus placebo (standardized mean difference 0.29), with no clear difference by product type or population. | 42063954 (opens PubMed)Source [7] |
| Blood glucose after a ketone drink | Improved | Grade C | Meta-analysis · n = 586 · 2022 43 trials in healthy people, athletes and people with metabolic conditions Form: Ketone monoesters or ketone salts · Dose: Varied; mostly single doses · Duration: Mostly single doses Compared with placebo, ketone drinks raised blood BHB by about 2 mmol/L and lowered blood glucose by 0.47 mmol/L; effects were larger with monoesters than salts. Evidence on longer use was limited. | 35380602 (opens PubMed)Source [2] |
| Migraine days | No effect | Grade D | Crossover RCT · n = 41 · 2022 Adults with episodic migraine Form: DL-beta-hydroxybutyrate · Dose: Dose not stated in the abstract · Duration: 12 weeks per treatment period No clinically significant change in migraine days or intensity versus placebo. | 34541914 (opens PubMed)Source [10] |
| 20-minute cycling time-trial power | Worsened | Grade D | Crossover RCT · n = 23 · 2023 Trained cyclists Form: Ketone monoester ((R)-3-hydroxybutyl (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate) · Dose: 0.35 g/kg body weight, 30 minutes before exercise · Duration: Single dose Mean power was 2.4% lower after the ketone ester than after placebo (255 vs 261 W). | 37185454 (opens PubMed)Source [6] |
| Safety markers in adolescents | No effect | Grade D | RCT · n = 22 · 2021 Healthy adolescents Form: BHB salts · Dose: 3.75 g twice daily · Duration: 90 days No differences from placebo in fasting blood safety tests, bone density, blood pressure, happiness or emotional intelligence scores. | 33807731 (opens PubMed)Source [11] |
| Glucose control and blood vessel function | Improved | Grade D | Crossover RCT · n = 14 · 2021 Adults with obesity (mean age 56) Form: Ketone monoester drink · Dose: 12 g BHB 15 minutes before each meal · Duration: 14 days Average 24-hour glucose fell 7.8% and after-meal glucose 8.0% versus placebo; brachial artery flow-mediated dilation rose from 6.2% to 8.9%. The drink was well tolerated. | 33367782 (opens PubMed)Source [8] |
| Blood glucose after a meal in type 2 diabetes | Improved | Grade D | Crossover RCT · n = 10 · 2024 Adults with type 2 diabetes (mean HbA1c 7.1%) Form: Ketone monoester drink before a meal · Dose: Dose not stated in the abstract · Duration: Single dose Glucose was about 18% lower 2 hours and 12% lower 4 hours after the meal, mainly because glucose entered the blood more slowly; insulin did not differ, and no adverse effects were seen. | 38483543 (opens PubMed)Source [9] |
Forms
| Form | Elemental % | Absorption (human data) | GI tolerance | Studied for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ketone monoester ((R)-3-hydroxybutyl (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate) | Varies[4][1] | Single doses raised blood BHB to 3.3 mmol/L within 1–2 hours at 714 mg/kg; BHB half-life was 0.8–3.1 hours.[4] | Generally well tolerated; some stomach and gut effects at the highest dose taken in large milk-based drinks.[4] | Glucose, exercise and safety studies |
| BHB mineral salts (sodium, calcium, magnesium or potassium BHB) | Varies[2][11] | Raise blood BHB less than monoesters.[2] | No safety-marker changes over 90 days in adolescents at 7.5 g/day.[11] | Exercise, migraine and safety trials |
| Ketogenic MCT oils (precursors, not BHB itself) | Varies[7] | The liver converts them to ketones; no blood-level figures in our sources.[7] | No tolerance data in our sources.[7] | Included with ketone esters and salts in the cognition analysis |
Studied doses
Doses studied in human trials ranged from 7.5 g/day of BHB salts for 90 days in adolescents to 12 g of BHB before each of three daily meals for 14 days, and single pre-exercise ester doses of about 0.35 g/kg. A 5-day safety study tested up to 2.14 g/kg/day of the monoester.[11][8][6][4]
Interactions
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
Who should be careful
- People on glucose-lowering drugs
- Ketone drinks lower blood glucose, more with esters, so people on diabetes medicines should check with a clinician.[2][9]
- Endurance athletes before key efforts
- Ketone esters did not improve performance across 13 trials, and one dose lowered 20-minute cycling power by 2.4%.[3][6]
- Pregnancy and breastfeeding
- The trials cited here did not include pregnant or breastfeeding people.[2]
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.
Safety
Ketone drinks were generally well tolerated in short studies; most data cover single doses or days to weeks.
- Gut effects
- Some stomach and gut effects were reported at the highest monoester dose in large volumes of milk-based drink.[4]
- Longer use
- A pooled analysis found limited evidence on prolonged ketone supplementation; the longest trial cited here lasted 90 days.[2][11]
- Performance
- Ketone esters can lower short time-trial power in trained cyclists.[6]
How to read the label
- Ester vs saltMonoesters raise blood BHB and lower glucose more than salts; labels should name which form is used.[2]
- Label dose vs clinical doseTrials used about 0.35 g/kg of ester before exercise or 12 g of BHB per meal; many products contain less.[6][8]
- MCT is not BHBKetogenic MCT oils are ketone precursors and were pooled with true ketones in the cognition analysis.[7]
Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch
Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.
Cost per studied dose
Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.
Frequently asked questions
Do exogenous ketones put you in ketosis?
They raise blood BHB within 1–2 hours, to about 3.3 mmol/L at high ester doses, without a ketogenic diet.[4][2]
Do ketone drinks improve exercise performance?
No clear effect across 13 trials, and one ester dose lowered 20-minute cycling power by 2.4%.[3][6]
Do exogenous ketones lower blood sugar?
Yes, acutely: by about 0.5 mmol/L on average, with larger drops from esters than salts.[2]
Do ketones help memory or focus?
A 2026 analysis found a small improvement in test scores, but several authors have financial ties to ketone products.[7]
Sources
- [1]GRAS Notice GRN No. 515: D-beta-hydroxybutyrate ester (notifier TdeltaS Limited; FDA has no questions, closed March 5, 2015). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, GRAS Notice Inventory, 2015. database
- [2]Effects of Exogenous Ketone Supplementation on Blood Glucose: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis.. Adv Nutr, 2022. meta-analysis
- [3]Acute Ketone Supplementation and Exercise Performance: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials.. Int J Sports Physiol Perform, 2020. meta-analysis
- [4]Kinetics, safety and tolerability of (R)-3-hydroxybutyl (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate in healthy adult subjects.. Regul Toxicol Pharmacol, 2012. PK-study
- [5]Effects of ketone supplements on blood β-hydroxybutyrate, glucose and insulin: A systematic review and three-level meta-analysis.. Complement Ther Clin Pract, 2023. meta-analysis
- [6]Acute Ketone Monoester Supplementation Impairs 20-min Time-Trial Performance in Trained Cyclists: A Randomized, Crossover Trial.. Int J Sport Nutr Exerc Metab, 2023. crossover-RCT
- [7]The effect of exogenous ketone bodies on cognition across health and disease: a systematic review and meta-analysis.. Front Nutr, 2026. meta-analysis
- [8]14-Day Ketone Supplementation Lowers Glucose and Improves Vascular Function in Obesity: A Randomized Crossover Trial.. J Clin Endocrinol Metab, 2021. crossover-RCT
- [9]A ketone monoester drink reduces postprandial blood glucose concentrations in adults with type 2 diabetes: a randomised controlled trial.. Diabetologia, 2024. crossover-RCT
- [10]Efficacy and safety of exogenous beta-hydroxybutyrate for preventive treatment in episodic migraine: A single-centred, randomised, placebo-controlled, double-blind crossover trial.. Cephalalgia, 2022. crossover-RCT
- [11]The Effect of Exogenous Beta-Hydroxybutyrate Salt Supplementation on Metrics of Safety and Health in Adolescents.. Nutrients, 2021. RCT
- [12]Nutritional Ketosis Alters Fuel Preference and Thereby Endurance Performance in Athletes.. Cell Metab, 2016. RCT
What changed
- First draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for the cited rows.
- Adversarial review pass: every evidence row re-read against its PubMed abstract. Official sources: FDA GRAS Notice Inventory GRN 515 record (opened 2026-10-10); no NIH ODS, NCCIH or EFSA monograph covers exogenous ketones. Industry ties: cognition meta-analysis authors with HVMN, BHB Therapeutics and Component Health interests (PMC13127162); adolescent BHB-salt trial authors paid by Pruvit; GRAS notifier TdeltaS; the 2012 monoester safety study was DARPA-funded and its lead author is a TdeltaS non-executive director (PMC3810007). The 2020 exercise meta-analysis gives no participant total, so it is cited in key facts, insights and FAQ, not as an evidence row. Retraction, expression-of-concern, erratum and withdrawn checks on all 11 PMIDs: none flagged. Page set indexable. Independent browser review (4 parallel reviewers, every evidence row checked against its abstract and official sources on the Vercel preview) found issues that were fixed: evidence direction now follows the site convention (up = improved, down = worsened), plus wording and disclosure corrections listed in the batch-14 PR review comment.
