Soy protein

Also called soy protein isolate, soy protein concentrate, soybean protein, textured soy protein, soya protein.

The short answer

From 13 sources

Soy protein is a plant protein powder. A meta-analysis of 43 trials found a median 25 g a day lowered LDL cholesterol by about 4.8 mg/dL over a median 6 weeks. For muscle, nine studies with 266 people found soy and animal protein gave similar strength and lean mass gains with resistance training.

Key facts

LDL cholesterol
Median 25 g/day for a median 6 weeks: LDL -4.76 mg/dL and total cholesterol -6.41 mg/dL vs non-soy protein (43 trials)2
Muscle vs animal protein
Soy and animal protein gave similar strength and lean mass gains with resistance training (9 studies, 266 participants)3
Blood pressure
In postmenopausal women, 25 g/day or more lowered systolic pressure by 4.62 mmHg (12 trials, 1,551 women)5
Hormones
Soy or isoflavones lowered FSH and LH by about 20% in premenopausal women; in postmenopausal women estradiol showed only a non-significant 14% rise (47 studies)6
Protein quality
Mean DIAAS 84.5 and PDCAAS 85.6 across soy products; isolate scored below soymilk8
Label claim
FDA proposed revoking the soy protein and heart disease health claim in October 2017; it remained listed as authorized on FDA's page last updated March 202410

What it is

Soy protein is the protein from soybeans, sold as isolate or concentrate powders; it also carries some soy isoflavones.

How it works

Proposed

The NIH fact sheet notes that soy protein lacks the essential amino acid methionine and may lose some cysteine and lysine in processing, yet a quantitative review scored soy products at a mean DIAAS of 84.5. Its cholesterol effect is small and its mechanism is not settled; the blood pressure benefit in one meta-analysis was linked by the authors to the isoflavone component.15

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Soy protein forms compared

2 forms
Soy protein forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsIsolateConcentrate
Absorption in peopleThe NIH fact sheet says soy lacks the essential amino acid methionine and may lose some cysteine and lysine in processing. In a quantitative review, isolate scored below soymilk on DIAAS, and heat or moisture during processing could raise or lower scores.18Ranked just below soymilk for DIAAS among the soy products in the quantitative review; scores varied widely within each group.8
GI toleranceNo product-specific safety signal in the cited meta-analyses.23Not reported separately in the cited abstracts.8
Studied forCholesterol (median 25 g/day) and muscle with resistance trainingProtein quality comparisons; used alongside isolate in muscle trials
  1. Soy protein isolate
    Absorption in people
    The NIH fact sheet says soy lacks the essential amino acid methionine and may lose some cysteine and lysine in processing. In a quantitative review, isolate scored below soymilk on DIAAS, and heat or moisture during processing could raise or lower scores.18
    GI tolerance
    No product-specific safety signal in the cited meta-analyses.23
    Studied for
    Cholesterol (median 25 g/day) and muscle with resistance training
  2. Soy protein concentrate
    Absorption in people
    Ranked just below soymilk for DIAAS among the soy products in the quantitative review; scores varied widely within each group.8
    GI tolerance
    Not reported separately in the cited abstracts.8
    Studied for
    Protein quality comparisons; used alongside isolate in muscle trials
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

6 graded outcomes, largest study first

6 graded outcomes: 2 improved, 2 mixed, 2 no effect. The largest, a 2019 meta-analysis of 37,275 people on breast cancer survival and recurrence (observational), found mixed results.

1Breast cancer survival and recurrence (observational)

Mixed · Grade D · Meta-analysis, 37,275 people, 2019

Women with breast cancer in 12 observational articles (37,275 women)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Breast cancer survival and recurrence (observational)Mixed37,275Grade D · Meta-analysis, 2019Women with breast cancer in 12 observational articles (37,275 women)
Blood pressure in postmenopausal womenImproved1,551Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2017Postmenopausal women in 12 randomized trials
Strength and lean body mass with resistance trainingNo effect266Grade B · Meta-analysis, 2018Participants in 9 studies of at least 6 weeks; 5 compared whey with soy and 4 compared soy with beef, milk or dairy protein
Lean body mass and strength in young adultsNo effect261Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2026Healthy adults aged 18 to 30 doing resistance training, 12 studies
Circulating reproductive hormonesMixed47Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2009Pre- and postmenopausal women in 47 trials of 4 weeks or longer (11 premenopausal, 35 postmenopausal, 1 perimenopausal)
LDL and total cholesterolImproved43Grade B · Meta-analysis, 2019Adults with baseline LDL cholesterol of 110 to 201 mg/dL in the 46 controlled trials FDA identified (43 had usable data)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

6 rows

Showing 6 of 6 outcomes. Human trials only.

Both groups gained strength with no difference between them (bench press p = 0.90; squat p = 0.64). Lean mass change did not differ between whey and soy (p = 0.96), and soy vs other proteins also showed no difference (p = 0.80).

Design
Meta-analysis, n = 266, 2018
Population
Participants in 9 studies of at least 6 weeks; 5 compared whey with soy and 4 compared soy with beef, milk or dairy protein
Form
Soy protein vs animal protein supplements
Dose
Varied by study
Duration
6 weeks or longer
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 29722584 (opens PubMed)

LDL fell by 4.76 mg/dL (95% CI -6.71 to -2.80; I2 = 55%) and total cholesterol by 6.41 mg/dL (95% CI -9.30 to -3.52; I2 = 74%). About 75% of trials showed an LDL reduction, though only a minority were individually significant; there was no dose-response.

Design
Meta-analysis, n = 43, 2019
Population
Adults with baseline LDL cholesterol of 110 to 201 mg/dL in the 46 controlled trials FDA identified (43 had usable data)
Form
Soy protein vs non-soy protein
Dose
Median 25 g/day
Duration
Median 6 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 31006811 (opens PubMed)

Overall, systolic pressure fell 3.03 mmHg (95% CI -5.03 to -1.02) and diastolic 0.71 mmHg. At 25 g/day or more the drops were 4.62 and 1.63 mmHg; below 25 g/day there was no significant effect. The authors link the benefit to isoflavones.

Design
Meta-analysis, n = 1,551, 2017
Population
Postmenopausal women in 12 randomized trials
Form
Soy protein (with isoflavones)
Dose
25 g/day or more in the benefit subgroup
Duration
Varied by trial
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 28675204 (opens PubMed)

Neither whey nor soy significantly changed lean body mass. Protein supplements raised peak plasma essential amino acids, and whey improved bench press (MD 8.87) and squat (MD 9.60); the abstract gives no soy strength result.

Design
Meta-analysis, n = 261, 2026
Population
Healthy adults aged 18 to 30 doing resistance training, 12 studies
Form
Whey or soy protein concentrate or isolate
Dose
Varied by study
Duration
Varied by study
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 41454445 (opens PubMed)

In premenopausal women estradiol, estrone and SHBG were unchanged, FSH and LH fell about 20% and cycle length rose 1.05 days. In postmenopausal women there were no significant effects, with a non-significant 14% rise in total estradiol (p = 0.07).

Design
Meta-analysis, n = 47, 2009
Population
Pre- and postmenopausal women in 47 trials of 4 weeks or longer (11 premenopausal, 35 postmenopausal, 1 perimenopausal)
Form
Soy protein or isoflavones
Dose
Varied by trial
Duration
4 weeks or longer
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 19299447 (opens PubMed)

Pre-diagnosis intake was linked to a lower risk of death (HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.71 to 0.98) but not breast cancer-specific death. Post-diagnosis intake showed no significant link with overall survival (HR 0.80, 0.62 to 1.04); both were linked to lower recurrence.

Design
Meta-analysis, n = 37,275, 2019
Population
Women with breast cancer in 12 observational articles (37,275 women)
Form
Dietary soy and isoflavone intake, highest vs lowest
Dose
Dietary intake, not supplements
Duration
Observational follow-up
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 30382332 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

A small cholesterol effect, not a drug

The 43-trial analysis found a drop of about 3 to 4% in LDL, with most but not all trials favoring soy and no dose-response. FDA proposed revoking its heart claim in 2017 over what it saw as inconsistent LDL results in these trials.210

How we got this: Blanco Mejia 2019 and FDA claims page

For muscle, soy matches animal protein rather than beating it

Soy and animal protein produced similar strength and lean mass gains, and in older adults a network analysis ranked whey first for muscle mass, handgrip and walking speed.39

How we got this: Nine-study meta-analysis and 78-trial network analysis

Blood pressure results may be about isoflavones

The blood pressure drop appeared only at 25 g/day or more, and the authors attributed it to the isoflavones that come with soy protein.5

How we got this: Postmenopausal women meta-analysis

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

NIH ODS updated Apr 1, 2024

Doses studied in human trials ranged from about 25 g of soy protein a day (the median in the cholesterol meta-analysis, over a median 6 weeks); the muscle trials lasted 6 weeks or longer and their doses are not given in the abstracts. These are research doses, not advice.253

Intake reference: Protein RDA: 0.8 g/kg/day for healthy adults and 0.85 g/kg/day for adolescents. The NIH fact sheet notes that athletes may need more; it does not set an upper limit for protein.1 The Food and Nutrition Board has not set a UL for protein but advises caution with high intakes from foods plus supplements because data on adverse effects are limited. NIH ODS fact sheet (updated April 1, 2024).

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Soy protein meets

1 cited row

Medicines 1

Soy protein1 medicine · 0 supplements

Supplements and foods 0

No supplement rows in our sources.

  • Drug label or FDA notice
Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

1 agent
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines1
Levothyroxinee.g. Thyroid hormone tablets such as SynthroidThe levothyroxine label lists soybean flour among foods that may bind levothyroxine in the gut and decrease its absorption, which can require dose adjustment. Soy protein powder itself was not tested; people on thyroid hormone should ask their prescriber about timing.13Drug label

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Soy protein and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Soy protein.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Soy allergy
Soybeans are a major US food allergen, and labels must name soy as the allergen source. People with a soy allergy should avoid soy protein products.11
Hormone-sensitive conditions
Soy products contain isoflavones and changed FSH, LH and cycle length in premenopausal women in a meta-analysis. The breast cancer data are observational and about dietary soy, not powders, so anyone with a hormone-sensitive condition should ask their care team.67
Kidney disease
A systematic review in healthy adults found protein above the RDA consistent with normal kidney function in the short term, but it excluded people with kidney disease and most studies ran under 6 months.12
Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
No soy protein supplement studies in these groups were found in the sources reviewed.1
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

4 checks
Check protein grams per serving

The cholesterol meta-analysis used a median of 25 g of soy protein a day, so compare grams of soy protein, not scoop size.2

Read the allergen statement

FDA requires packaged foods and dietary supplements to declare soy, in the ingredient list or in a 'Contains' statement.11

Read heart-health wording carefully

FDA proposed in October 2017 to revoke its authorized soy protein and heart disease claim, saying the evidence no longer met its standard; the claim was still listed on FDA's page updated March 2024.10

Look for a blend

The NIH fact sheet notes that many protein products combine sources; soy lacks methionine, which other protein sources in a blend can supply.1

Label X-RayPhotograph a bottle's Supplement Facts panel and see each line, soy protein included, beside the doses and forms the trials used

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
Does soy protein lower cholesterol?

Modestly. A median 25 g a day for a median 6 weeks lowered LDL by 4.76 mg/dL in a 43-trial meta-analysis, roughly 3 to 4%.2

Is soy protein as good as whey for muscle?

In a nine-study meta-analysis (266 people) soy and animal protein gave similar strength and lean mass gains with resistance training. In older adults a network analysis ranked whey first.39

How much soy protein did studies use?

The cholesterol analysis used a median of 25 g a day; the blood pressure benefit appeared at 25 g a day or more. These are research doses, not advice.25

Does soy protein affect hormones?

In a 47-study meta-analysis, soy or isoflavones lowered FSH and LH about 20% in premenopausal women; in postmenopausal women estradiol rose a non-significant 14%.6

Is soy a complete protein?

The NIH fact sheet says soy lacks the essential amino acid methionine, although quality scores still averaged DIAAS 84.5 across soy products.18

Can soy protein carry a heart health claim?

FDA authorized the claim in 1999 and proposed revoking it in October 2017. It was still listed as authorized on FDA's page last updated March 2024.10

Sources

13 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

13 sources
  1. 1Exercise and Athletic Performance: Health Professional Fact SheetFact sheet NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2024 · ods.od.nih.gov
  2. 2A Meta-Analysis of 46 Studies Identified by the FDA Demonstrates that Soy Protein Decreases Circulating LDL and Total Cholesterol Concentrations in Adults.Meta-analysis J Nutr, 2019 · PMID 31006811
  3. 3No Difference Between the Effects of Supplementing With Soy Protein Versus Animal Protein on Gains in Muscle Mass and Strength in Response to Resistance Exercise.Meta-analysis Int J Sport Nutr Exerc Metab, 2018 · PMID 29722584
  4. 4The Impact of Whey and Soy Protein Supplementation on Resistance Training in Young Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.Meta-analysis J Diet Suppl, 2026 · PMID 41454445
  5. 5Effect of soybean protein on blood pressure in postmenopausal women: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.Meta-analysis Food Funct, 2017 · PMID 28675204
  6. 6Effects of soy protein and isoflavones on circulating hormone concentrations in pre- and post-menopausal women: a systematic review and meta-analysis.Meta-analysis Hum Reprod Update, 2009 · PMID 19299447
  7. 7Soy and isoflavones consumption and breast cancer survival and recurrence: a systematic review and meta-analysis.Meta-analysis Eur J Nutr, 2019 · PMID 30382332
  8. 8Protein quality of soy and the effect of processing: A quantitative review.Review Front Nutr, 2022 · PMID 36238463
  9. 9Comparative Efficacy of Different Protein Supplements on Muscle Mass, Strength, and Physical Indices of Sarcopenia among Community-Dwelling, Hospitalized or Institutionalized Older Adults Undergoing Resistance Training: A Network Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials.Meta-analysis Nutrients, 2024 · PMID 38612975
  10. 10Authorized Health Claims That Meet the Significant Scientific Agreement (SSA) Standard (lists 21 CFR 101.82 soy protein and CHD, with the October 2017 proposal to revoke it)Fact sheet U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2024 · fda.gov
  11. 11Food Allergies (soybeans are one of nine major food allergens; allergen source must be declared on packaged foods and dietary supplements)Fact sheet U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2026 · fda.gov
  12. 12A Systematic Review of Renal Health in Healthy Individuals Associated with Protein Intake above the US Recommended Daily Allowance in Randomized Controlled Trials and Observational Studies.Systematic review Adv Nutr, 2018 · PMID 30032227
  13. 13SYNTHROID (levothyroxine sodium) tablets: prescribing information (7.9 Drug-Food Interactions)Label AbbVie via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine), 2024 · dailymed.nlm.nih.gov

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

2 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
interactionsAdversarial review: added the levothyroxine interaction from the Synthroid label (section 7.9 lists soybean flour among foods that decrease absorption; label read via openFDA, effective 2024-02-20). Hormone key fact and FAQ now report the non-significant 14% estradiol rise in postmenopausal women instead of "no change"; heart-claim insight reworded to the reason FDA gave. FDA health-claims page re-opened (content current as of 2024-03-28).Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: adversarial review
allInitial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, year, journal) and each cited abstract read; figures taken from the abstracts. Regulatory status from FDA's authorized health claims page (content dated 2024-03-28) and its allergens page (2026-03-11); the final-rule status of the 2017 revocation proposal was not confirmed beyond that page.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.