Gamma-oryzanol
Also called gamma oryzanol, γ-oryzanol, oryzanol, rice bran oryzanol, ferulic acid esters of sterols.
Best grade C across 6 graded outcomes Other Last checked
We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our grades or rankings. How we make money →
The short answer
From 9 sourcesGamma-oryzanol is a rice bran compound marketed to bodybuilders for strength and hormones. One 9-week trial found no effect on strength or testosterone, while another small trial reported strength gains. Rice bran oil lowers LDL cholesterol, but oil with 16 times more oryzanol worked no better, so evidence for the isolated supplement is thin.
Quick pick
From a partner brand · paid linkSource Naturals Gamma Oryzanol, 60 mg, 200 Tabs
from HerbsPro
Its name matches rice bran oil capsules enriched with oryzanol and phytosterol esters, one of the forms compared in our Forms table.
Label: 1 tablet: 60 mg gamma-oryzanol.
Best for trying one bottle: $14.35 one-time (checked Oct 15, 2026).
Every graded outcome on this page
6 rows · line = participants- CGrade CSkin water contentSkinn 70
- DGrade DGlucose, triglycerides, waist and blood pressure in type 2 diabetesBlood glucose and lipidsn 92
- DGrade DInflammatory markers in type 2 diabetesInflammationn 92
- DGrade DLDL cholesterol in high blood lipidsCholesteroln 59
- DGrade DMuscle strength during resistance trainingStrengthn 30
- DGrade DAdded cholesterol effect of more oryzanol in rice bran oilCholesteroln 30
- 3 more graded outcomes, in the evidence chapter
Key facts
- Hormones and strength (no effect)
- 500 mg/day for 9 weeks of resistance training did not change strength, power, testosterone, cortisol, growth hormone or blood lipids versus placebo in weight-trained men1
- Strength (positive)
- 600 mg/day for 9 weeks increased bench-press and leg-curl strength more than placebo in 30 young men starting resistance training; body measurements did not change2
- Cholesterol (rice bran oil)
- Cooking with rice bran oil containing 4,000-11,000 ppm gamma-oryzanol lowered LDL cholesterol by 8-12% versus about 1% with soybean oil in 59 adults with high lipids5
- Oryzanol content
- Rice bran oil with 0.8 g/day oryzanol lowered LDL no more than oil with 0.05 g/day (both about 10.5%) in 30 men7
- Rice bran overall
- A 2024 meta-analysis of 11 rice bran trials (572 people) found LDL 15.1 mg/dL lower, but rice bran supplies far more than oryzanol8
- Type 2 diabetes (fortified oil)
- In 92 adults with type 2 diabetes, oryzanol-fortified canola oil for 12 weeks lowered hs-CRP more than plain canola or sunflower oil4
- Skin (enriched oil)
- Rice bran oil capsules enriched with gamma-oryzanol and phytosterol esters raised skin water content versus placebo at 8 and 12 weeks in 70 healthy adults6
What it is
Gamma-oryzanol is a mixture of ferulic acid esters of plant sterols, extracted from rice bran oil and sold mainly to strength athletes.
Forms, side by side
3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.
Gamma-oryzanol forms compared
3 forms| 3 forms | Isolated gamma-oryzanol capsules | Rice bran oil (naturally rich or fortified) | Rice bran oil capsules enriched with oryzanol and phytosterol esters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Absorption in people | No human absorption data in the cited abstracts.1 | Not measured.5 | Not measured.6 |
| GI tolerance | The cited abstracts report no adverse effects, but give little safety detail.12 | Used as a cooking oil for 12 weeks.3 | Safety was assessed but not detailed in the abstract.6 |
| Studied for | Strength and hormones in resistance training | Cholesterol, glucose, inflammation | Skin moisture |
- Isolated gamma-oryzanol capsules
- Absorption in people
- No human absorption data in the cited abstracts.1
- Studied for
- Strength and hormones in resistance training
- Rice bran oil (naturally rich or fortified)
- Rice bran oil capsules enriched with oryzanol and phytosterol esters
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Trial map
6 graded outcomes, largest study first6 graded outcomes: 5 improved, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2024 randomized trial of 92 people on inflammatory markers in type 2 diabetes, found an improvement.
1Inflammatory markers in type 2 diabetes
Improved · Grade D · RCT, 92 people, 2024
Iranian adults with type 2 diabetes
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inflammatory markers in type 2 diabetes | Improved | 92 | Grade D · RCT, 2024 | Iranian adults with type 2 diabetes |
| Glucose, triglycerides, waist and blood pressure in type 2 diabetes | Improved | 92 | Grade D · RCT, 2023 | Iranian adults with type 2 diabetes |
| Skin water content | Improved | 70 | Grade C · RCT, 2026 | Healthy Japanese adults aged 20-59 |
| LDL cholesterol in high blood lipids | Improved | 59 | Grade D · RCT, 2019 | Thai adults with high blood lipids |
| Muscle strength during resistance training | Improved | 30 | Grade D · RCT, 2014 | Healthy young men in a 9-week resistance-training program |
| Added cholesterol effect of more oryzanol in rice bran oil | No effect | 30 | Grade D · RCT, 2005 | Mildly hypercholesterolaemic men aged 38 to 64 |
Every graded row
6 rowsShowing 6 of 6 outcomes. Human trials only.
CGrade CSkin water contentSkinMore skin moistureRCT
n 70 · 2026
Improved Stratum corneum water content rose more than with placebo at weeks 8 and 12; redness improved earlier and skin satisfaction rose only in the active group.
- Design
- RCT, n = 70, 2026
- Population
- Healthy Japanese adults aged 20-59
- Form
- Rice bran oil capsules enriched with gamma-oryzanol and phytosterol esters
- Dose
- Daily capsules (amount not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 12 weeks
- Source
- Reference 6 · PubMed 42138277 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DGlucose, triglycerides, waist and blood pressure in type 2 diabetesBlood glucose and lipidsWithin-group improvementsRCT
n 92 · 2023
Improved Only the fortified-oil group had significant within-group falls in blood pressure, fasting glucose, HbA1c and triglycerides (-17.9 mg/dL); waist circumference fell in both canola groups.
- Design
- RCT, n = 92, 2023
- Population
- Iranian adults with type 2 diabetes
- Form
- Gamma-oryzanol-fortified canola oil vs plain canola or sunflower oil for home cooking
- Dose
- Oil used for all cooking except frying (oryzanol amount not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 12 weeks
- Source
- Reference 3 · PubMed 37817285 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DInflammatory markers in type 2 diabetesInflammationLower hs-CRPRCT
n 92 · 2024
Improved hs-CRP fell from 3.1 to 1.2 mg/L with fortified oil, significantly more than with plain canola (p = 0.003) or sunflower oil; malondialdehyde fell in all groups with no between-group difference.
- Design
- RCT, n = 92, 2024
- Population
- Iranian adults with type 2 diabetes
- Form
- Gamma-oryzanol-fortified canola oil vs plain canola or sunflower oil
- Dose
- Oil used for home cooking (oryzanol amount not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 12 weeks
- Source
- Reference 4 · PubMed 37971692 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DLDL cholesterol in high blood lipidsCholesterolLDL -8 to -12%RCT
n 59 · 2019
Improved LDL fell 8%, 11.8% and 12.2% with the three rice bran oils vs 0.8% with soybean oil (p = 0.012); antioxidant capacity (ORAC, FRAP) rose.
- Design
- RCT, n = 59, 2019
- Population
- Thai adults with high blood lipids
- Form
- Rice bran oil with 4,000, 8,000 or 11,000 ppm gamma-oryzanol vs soybean oil
- Dose
- 30 mL/day of the assigned oil, used in three cooked meals
- Duration
- 4 weeks
- Source
- Reference 5 · PubMed 30265563 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DMuscle strength during resistance trainingStrengthGreater 1-RM gainsRCT
n 30 · 2014
Improved One-repetition maximum for bench press and leg curl rose more than with placebo; anthropometric and skinfold measures did not differ.
- Design
- RCT, n = 30, 2014
- Population
- Healthy young men in a 9-week resistance-training program
- Form
- Gamma-oryzanol capsules
- Dose
- 600 mg/day after training
- Duration
- 9 weeks
- Source
- Reference 2 · PubMed 25109720 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DAdded cholesterol effect of more oryzanol in rice bran oilCholesterolNo extra benefit from 16x more oryzanolRCT
n 30 · 2005
No effect Both oils lowered total cholesterol 6.3%, LDL 10.5% and the LDL/HDL ratio 18.9%; the high-oryzanol oil was no better than the low-oryzanol oil on any cholesterol measure.
- Design
- RCT, n = 30, 2005
- Population
- Mildly hypercholesterolaemic men aged 38 to 64
- Form
- Rice bran oil low (0.05 g/day) vs high (0.8 g/day) in gamma-oryzanol
- Dose
- 50 g/day rice bran oil
- Duration
- 4 weeks
- Source
- Reference 7 · PubMed 15309429 (opens PubMed)
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
Interactions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
Interactions
0 agentsNone found in our sources.
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Gamma-oryzanol and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Gamma-oryzanol.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
2 groups- Pregnancy and breastfeeding
- The trials enrolled non-pregnant adults, and neither LactMed nor LiverTox has an entry for gamma-oryzanol, so there are no safety data in pregnancy or breastfeeding. NCCIH notes that many supplements have not been tested in pregnant or nursing women.129
- People expecting hormonal effects
- Gamma-oryzanol did not raise testosterone or growth hormone in a placebo-controlled trial, so products sold on that basis are not supported.1
How to read the label
What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.
How to read the label
1 checksWhere to buy Gamma-oryzanol
Products from brands we partner with that contain Gamma-oryzanol. Check the amount per serving against the doses studied above, and the label for other ingredients.
Gamma-oryzanol products from partner brands
1 product Paid links · we earn a commission- Quick pickHerbsProSource Naturals Gamma Oryzanol, 60 mg, 200 Tabs
1 tablet: 60 mg gamma-oryzanol; the label also lists 23 mg calcium from the tablet base
$14.35one-timeChecked Oct 15, 2026
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
6 answersDoes gamma-oryzanol raise testosterone?
No evidence says so. A 9-week placebo-controlled trial at 500 mg/day found no change in testosterone, cortisol, growth hormone or other hormones.1
Does it increase strength?
Does gamma-oryzanol lower cholesterol?
Does gamma-oryzanol have side effects or drug interactions?
Is rice bran oil the same as gamma-oryzanol?
No. Rice bran oil contains gamma-oryzanol plus other sterols, tocotrienols and fats; trials of the oil cannot isolate oryzanol's effect.5
Sources
9 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
9 sources- 1The effects of gamma-oryzanol supplementation during resistance exercise training.RCT Int J Sport Nutr, 1997 · PMID 9407258
- 2Effects of gamma oryzanol supplementation on anthropometric measurements & muscular strength in healthy males following chronic resistance training.RCT Indian J Med Res, 2014 · PMID 25109720
- 3Daily consumption of γ-oryzanol-fortified canola oil, compared with unfortified canola and sunflower oils, resulted in a better improvement of certain cardiometabolic biomarkers of adult subjects with type 2 diabetes: a randomized controlled clinical trial.RCT Eur J Med Res, 2023 · PMID 37817285
- 4Added γ-oryzanol boosted anti-inflammatory effects of canola oil in adult subjects with type 2 diabetes: a randomized controlled clinical trial.RCT Eur J Nutr, 2024 · PMID 37971692
- 5Rice Bran Oil Containing Gamma-Oryzanol Improves Lipid Profiles and Antioxidant Status in Hyperlipidemic Subjects: A Randomized Double-Blind Controlled Trial.RCT J Altern Complement Med, 2019 · PMID 30265563
- 6Oral Intake of Rice Bran Oil Enriched With γ-Oryzanol and Phytosterol Esters Improves Skin Conditions: A Placebo-Controlled, Randomized, Double-Blind, Parallel-Group Comparative Study.RCT J Dermatol, 2026 · PMID 42138277
- 7Similar cholesterol-lowering properties of rice bran oil, with varied gamma-oryzanol, in mildly hypercholesterolemic men.RCT Eur J Nutr, 2005 · PMID 15309429
- 8Rice Bran Consumption Improves Lipid Profiles: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials.Meta-analysis Nutrients, 2024 · PMID 39796546
- 9Using Dietary Supplements WiselyFact sheet National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), 2019 · nccih.nih.gov
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
2 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| all | Added a 2005 trial showing rice bran oil with 16 times more oryzanol lowered cholesterol no more than low-oryzanol oil (PMID 15309429) and a 2024 rice bran lipid meta-analysis (PMID 39796546) as a key fact; re-sourced the pregnancy note to NCCIH. Interactions checked: LiverTox and LactMed have no gamma-oryzanol entry and PubMed has no human interaction or pharmacokinetic study, so the list stays empty. PubMed search through 2026 found no newer trial of isolated oryzanol for strength. Added two FAQs, page questions and goal links; summary updated. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md |
| all | Initial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.
