Ipriflavone

Also called 7-isopropoxyisoflavone, synthetic isoflavone, Ostivone, Osten.

The short answer

From 10 sources

A 2020 meta-analysis of 11 trials (1,605 women) found a small lumbar-spine bone density gain, but a 474-woman trial (600 mg a day for 36 months) found none and recorded low lymphocyte counts in 13.2% of users. The evidence is conflicting and limited to postmenopausal women.

Key facts

What it is
A synthetic isoflavone made from the soy isoflavone daidzein; a 1999 review describes it as having no intrinsic estrogenic activity3
Pooled bone-density result
Lumbar spine standardized mean difference 0.36 (95% CI 0.09 to 0.62) across 11 trials, 1,605 postmenopausal women1
Long multicenter trial
474 women, 200 mg three times a day for 36 months: no difference in spine, hip or forearm bone density, bone markers or new vertebral fractures2
Immune safety signal
Subclinical lymphocytopenia in 31 of 234 women (13.2%) on ipriflavone; 22 of 29 who developed it during treatment had recovered by 2 years2
Dose tested
200 mg three times a day (600 mg a day) with calcium, for 2 to 3 years24

What it is

Ipriflavone is a synthetic isoflavone made from daidzein and sold for bone health; the largest trial found no bone-density benefit.

How it works

Proposed

Described as an isoflavone that appears to enhance estrogen's effect without being estrogenic itself, and to inhibit bone resorption while supporting bone formation. These actions are proposed; a 474-woman randomized trial found no change in bone-resorption markers.32

Forms

Form

The form on this page
FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Ipriflavone (7-isopropoxyisoflavone) tablets or capsulesVaries3Not applicable (a synthetic compound, not a mineral)In humans it is rapidly absorbed and quickly metabolized; about 57% of a dose is excreted in urine as metabolites and about 40% in feces, mostly as unchanged ipriflavone. In blood it is 94 to 99% bound to albumin.8In 60 studies (2,769 patients) adverse reactions were 14.5% vs 16.1% on placebo, mainly gastrointestinal; the 4-year trial found lymphocytopenia in 13.2%.42Postmenopausal bone loss

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

3 graded outcomes, largest study first

3 graded outcomes: 1 improved, 1 no effect, 1 worsened. The largest, a 2020 meta-analysis of 1,605 people on lumbar spine bone mineral density, found an improvement. One outcome found a worsening: lymphocyte count (safety) (474 people).

Bar: the ages a study enrolled (running to the edge when it states no upper or lower limit). Dot: only a mean age, counted as near your age within 5 years. Tick: the mean age inside a range.

2Lymphocyte count (safety): worsened, 45–75

3Bone density, bone markers and vertebral fractures: no effect, 45–75

1Lumbar spine bone mineral density: improved, ages not stated

1Lumbar spine bone mineral density

Improved · Grade C · Meta-analysis, 1,605 people, 2020

Postmenopausal women with osteopenia or osteoporosis

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Lumbar spine bone mineral densityImproved1,605Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2020Postmenopausal women with osteopenia or osteoporosis
Lymphocyte count (safety)Worsened474Grade C · RCT, 2001Postmenopausal white women aged 45 to 75 with low bone density
Bone density, bone markers and vertebral fracturesNo effect474No-effect grade · RCT, 2001Postmenopausal white women aged 45 to 75 with low bone density
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). By age shows the ages each study enrolled, where it states them. It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

3 rows

Improved Lumbar spine bone density rose more with ipriflavone than placebo (standardized mean difference 0.36, 95% CI 0.09 to 0.62); bone-resorption markers fell. Withdrawals due to adverse reactions were similar to placebo; stomach and gut symptoms were the most common reactions.

Design
Meta-analysis, 11 studies, n = 1,605, 2020
Population
Postmenopausal women with osteopenia or osteoporosis
Form
Ipriflavone (regimens varied by trial)
Dose
Doses not stated in the abstract
Duration
Varied by trial
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 32407952 (opens PubMed)

Worsened Lymphocyte concentrations fell by about 500 per microliter; 31 women (13.2%) on ipriflavone developed subclinical lymphocytopenia. Of 29 who developed it during treatment, 15 (52%) had recovered by 1 year and 22 (81%) by 2 years.

Design
RCT, n = 474, 2001
Population
Postmenopausal white women aged 45 to 75 with low bone density
Form
Ipriflavone tablets
Dose
200 mg three times a day (600 mg a day)
Duration
Up to 36 months analysed
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 11255425 (opens PubMed)

No effect Annual change in lumbar spine bone density did not differ from placebo (0.1% vs 0.8%, P = .14), nor did hip, forearm, bone markers or new vertebral fractures.

Design
RCT, n = 474, 2001
Population
Postmenopausal white women aged 45 to 75 with low bone density
Form
Ipriflavone tablets
Dose
200 mg three times a day (600 mg a day), all with 500 mg calcium a day
Duration
36 months analysed (4-year study)
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 11255425 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

A 474-woman trial is null; the pooled result is positive

The 474-woman trial found no bone-density difference at 36 months, while a pool of 11 trials (1,605 women) found a small spine gain, so the answer depends on which evidence you weigh.21

How we got this: Comparison of the 2001 RCT and 2020 meta-analysis abstracts

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 600 mg a day (200 mg three times a day, the regimen in the trials cited here) for 2 to 3 years; other regimens pooled in the 2020 meta-analysis are not stated in its abstract.241

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Ipriflavone meets

2 cited rows

Medicines 2

Ipriflavone2 medicines · 0 supplements

Supplements and foods 0

No supplement rows in our sources.

  • Measured in a human study
  • Case reports
Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

2 agents
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines2
Theophyllinee.g. Theophylline for asthma or COPDSerum theophylline rose in a patient with COPD during ipriflavone use and fell after ipriflavone was stopped. In human liver microsomes, ipriflavone and its metabolites blocked theophylline's main breakdown pathway, so the interaction is plausible.756Case report
Drugs cleared by the same liver enzymese.g. Tolbutamide; substrates of phenacetin O-deethylase (CYP1A2)In human liver microsomes ipriflavone and its 7-hydroxy metabolite competitively inhibited phenacetin O-deethylase and tolbutamide hydroxylase activity (Ki about 10 to 20 micromolar). Patients on 600 mg a day had steady-state blood levels of 0.33 and 1.44 micromolar for the two compounds. Other drugs were not tested.5PK study

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Ipriflavone and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Ipriflavone.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Low lymphocyte counts or immune suppression
Ipriflavone lowered lymphocyte counts in the 474-woman trial. No study tested it with immune-suppressing medicines or in people with existing low counts; avoiding that combination is an inference from the lymphocyte finding.2
Kidney disease
In patients with renal failure, steady-state blood levels of ipriflavone and its metabolites were higher than in healthy volunteers, and renal elimination fell as kidney disease worsened.9
People on theophylline
Serum theophylline rose during ipriflavone use in a reported case; see the interactions table.76
Men, pregnancy and breastfeeding
The trials cited here enrolled postmenopausal women; none of the cited abstracts studied men, pregnancy or breastfeeding.12
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Label dose vs studied dose

The trials used 200 mg three times a day (600 mg a day) alongside 500 mg to 1 g of calcium a day. Add up the label's daily total across servings and compare it with 600 mg; a smaller amount was not what these trials tested.24

Regulatory status

The 2020 meta-analysis authors describe ipriflavone as an over-the-counter drug for osteoporosis in more than 22 countries since 1989. None of the sources cited here reports an FDA approval; the FDA does not approve dietary supplements for safety or effectiveness before sale, and a product marketed with disease claims is regulated as a drug.110

Label X-RayPhotograph a bottle's Supplement Facts panel and see each line, ipriflavone included, beside the doses and forms the trials used

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

5 answers
Does ipriflavone build bone?

Results conflict. A 2020 pooled analysis of 11 trials found a small lumbar-spine gain, but a 474-woman, 36-month trial found no bone-density change.12

Does ipriflavone lower fracture risk?

In the 474-woman trial the number of women with new vertebral fractures was identical or nearly so in both groups at every time point.2

Is ipriflavone safe?

In 60 studies adverse reactions were similar to placebo (14.5% vs 16.1%), mostly gastrointestinal, but a 4-year trial found low lymphocyte counts in 13.2% of users.42

Does ipriflavone interact with medicines?

It raised serum theophylline in a reported COPD patient, and lab work shows it inhibits liver enzymes that handle theophylline and tolbutamide.75

What dose was studied?

200 mg three times a day (600 mg a day) with calcium, for 2 to 3 years. That is the research regimen, not a recommendation.24

Sources

10 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

10 sources

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

2 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidenceAdversarial review: rows, key facts, interactions and safety notes re-read against the abstracts (numbers match). The "no intrinsic estrogenic activity" key fact is now attributed to the 1999 review it comes from rather than stated as established.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: adversarial review
allInitial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, year, journal) and each cited abstract read; numbers taken from the abstracts only. The 2001 JAMA RCT and 2020 meta-analysis are shown side by side because they disagree. Funding is not stated in the abstracts.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.