Vitamin

Vitamin K2 (MK-7 vs MK-4)

Also called menaquinone, menaquinone-7, MK-7, menaquinone-4, MK-4, menatetrenone

By Kymata Health editorial teamLast reviewed October 8, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Vitamin K2 supplements mainly contain MK-7 or MK-4. MK-7 lasts much longer in blood, while MK-4 at food-level amounts was not detectable. One 3-year trial found less bone loss with 180 mcg/day MK-7 (grade C); 45 mg/day MK-4 did not change bone density in North American women. Vitamin K affects warfarin.

Top graded outcomes:C evidence grade Age-related bone density loss with MK-7C evidence grade Arterial stiffness with MK-7C evidence grade Coronary artery calcium score progression (any vitamin K form)

Key facts

Forms covered
MK-7 (menaquinone-7, often from natto) and MK-4 (menatetrenone); K1 (phylloquinone) for context[1]
MK-7 vs MK-4
MK-7 has a very long half-life and accumulates 7–8-fold with daily intake; MK-4 at 60–420 mcg was not detectable in blood[7][6]
Top studied outcomes
Bone density loss with MK-7 ↑ less loss (C); bone density with 45 mg MK-4 ↔ (no effect); arterial stiffness with MK-7 ↑ (C); coronary calcium score progression (any vitamin K) ↑ slower (C)[2][3][5][4]
Studied dose range
180 mcg/day MK-7 to 45 mg/day MK-4 in the trials graded here[2][3]
Adult AI / UL
AI 120 mcg (men), 90 mcg (women); no UL[1]
Main documented interactions
Warfarin and similar anticoagulants (serious); antibiotics, bile acid sequestrants and orlistat can lower vitamin K status[1][7]
Evidence base graded here
1 meta-analysis and 3 randomized trials, plus 1 meta-analysis and 2 absorption studies cited as supporting evidence[4][2][3][5][8][6][7]
Evidence base
4 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 8, 2026

How it works

EstablishedVitamin K is a coenzyme for the enzyme that activates (carboxylates) clotting factors, osteocalcin in bone and matrix Gla protein in blood vessels (established). Lower undercarboxylated osteocalcin and dp-ucMGP with supplementation are measured in trials; whether this translates into stronger bones or fewer vascular problems is proposed.[1][3][5]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
HeartGrade CImprovedMeta-analysis · n = 1,533 · 2023Form tested: vitamin K (forms not specified in abstract)2 rowsIncludes this form
Bones & jointsGrade CImprovedRCT · n = 244 · 2013Form tested: MK-72 rowsIncludes this form

Every graded row

Outcome
Grade
Form tested
Sort

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Coronary artery calcium score progression (any vitamin K form)ImprovedGrade C

Meta-analysis · n = 1,533 · 2023

14 RCTs in adults (populations not broken down in the abstract)

Form: vitamin K (forms not specified in abstract) · Dose: Varied across trials · Duration: Varied across trials

Coronary artery calcium scores progressed less with vitamin K (MD -17.37; p = 0.04) and dp-ucMGP fell; adverse events did not differ from control.

37252246 (opens PubMed)Source [4]
Age-related bone density loss with MK-7ImprovedGrade C

RCT · n = 244 · 2013

Healthy postmenopausal women

Form: MK-7 · Dose: 180 mcg/day · Duration: 3 years

MK-7 improved vitamin K status and reduced the decline in bone mineral content and density at the lumbar spine and femoral neck, but not the total hip; bone strength indices and vertebral height loss in the lower thoracic spine also favored MK-7.

23525894 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
Arterial stiffness with MK-7ImprovedGrade C

RCT · n = 244 · 2015

Healthy postmenopausal women (same cohort as the 3-year bone trial)

Form: MK-7 · Dose: 180 mcg/day · Duration: 3 years

Carotid-femoral pulse wave velocity and stiffness index β decreased versus placebo; more local stiffness measures improved in women with higher baseline stiffness. dp-ucMGP fell 50% versus placebo; inflammation and endothelial markers did not change.

25694037 (opens PubMed)Source [5]
Bone density with high-dose MK-4 (or K1)No effectNo effect

RCT · n = 381 · 2009

Healthy postmenopausal North American women without osteoporosis, all on calcium and vitamin D3

Form: MK-4 (menatetrenone) or phylloquinone (K1) vs placebo · Dose: MK-4 45 mg/day; K1 1 mg/day · Duration: 12 months

Both forms lowered undercarboxylated osteocalcin but did not change bone turnover markers, lumbar spine or hip bone density, or hip geometry.

19113922 (opens PubMed)Source [3]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
MK-7 (menaquinone-7)Varies[9]Not a salt; labels state mcg of MK-7. Molecular weight 649.0 g/mol (PubChem)Well absorbed (peak about 4–6 hours) with a very long half-life, giving stable blood levels that accumulate 7–8-fold with daily intake. 420 mcg was detectable for up to 48 hours.[7][6][1]No adverse effects from vitamin K in food or supplements reported by the FNB; no UL.[1]Bone density loss and arterial stiffness (180 mcg/day, 3 years)
MK-4 (menatetrenone)Varies[9]Not a salt; labels state mcg or mg of MK-4. Molecular weight 444.6 g/mol (PubChem)At nutritional amounts (420 mcg once, or 60 mcg/day for 7 days), MK-4 was not detectable in blood, while MK-7 was. Studied pharmacologically at 45 mg/day.[6][1]No adverse effects reported by the FNB at food or supplement intakes; 45 mg/day was given for 12 months in a North American trial.[1][3]Bone density (45 mg/day); used as an osteoporosis medicine in Japan

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 180 mcg/day of MK-7 to 45 mg/day (45,000 mcg) of MK-4, for 12 months to 3 years. The two forms were studied at very different amounts, so microgram figures are not interchangeable between them.[2][3]

Intake reference: Adult AI for vitamin K (all forms): 120 mcg/day for men and 90 mcg/day for women, including pregnancy and breastfeeding. No UL has been set.[1] No UL: the FNB found no adverse effects from vitamin K in food or supplements. The interaction with warfarin is the main safety concern. NIH ODS fact sheet (updated March 29, 2021).

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Medicines

  • Warfarin and similar anticoagulantsNIH fact sheete.g. warfarin (Coumadin), phenprocoumon, acenocoumarolSerious, potentially dangerous interaction: vitamin K counteracts these drugs, so sudden changes in vitamin K intake can change their effect. A study of MK-7 warned that 50 mcg/day or more may interfere with oral anticoagulant treatment in a clinically relevant way.[1][7]

Medicines that can lower levels

  • AntibioticsNIH fact sheete.g. cephalosporins such as cefoperazoneCan destroy vitamin K-producing gut bacteria and may lower vitamin K status, especially with prolonged use and poor intake.[1]
  • Bile acid sequestrantsNIH fact sheete.g. cholestyramine, colestipolCan reduce absorption of vitamin K and other fat-soluble vitamins.[1]
  • OrlistatNIH fact sheete.g. Xenical, alliReduces absorption of fat-soluble vitamins including vitamin K; orlistat with warfarin might markedly raise prothrombin time.[1]

Who should be careful

People on warfarin or similar anticoagulants
Do not start, stop or change a vitamin K2 supplement without your prescriber. Even 50 mcg/day of MK-7 may affect anticoagulation.[1][7]
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
The AI is 90 mcg/day for adults 19+ in pregnancy and breastfeeding; no UL is set. Pregnancy-specific trial data for K2 supplements are not in our sources.[1]
Malabsorption or bariatric surgery
People with malabsorption conditions or after bariatric surgery may have low vitamin K status and may need clinician monitoring.[1]
Before you start
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before adding this supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines, are pregnant or breastfeeding, or have a chronic health condition.[1]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Articles about Vitamin K2 (MK-7 vs MK-4)

Plain-English answers to common questions, built on the evidence above.

Frequently asked questions

Is MK-7 better than MK-4?

They behave differently. MK-7 stays in the blood much longer and builds up with daily use, while MK-4 at food-level amounts (60–420 mcg) was not detectable in blood. The bone trials used very different amounts: 180 mcg/day MK-7 versus 45 mg/day MK-4. No trial has compared them head to head on bone outcomes.[7][6][2][3]

Does vitamin K2 help bones?

Evidence is limited and mixed. One 3-year trial found 180 mcg/day MK-7 slowed bone density loss in postmenopausal women, but 45 mg/day MK-4 did not change bone density in North American women, and a 2019 meta-analysis found no effect on bone density across vitamin K trials.[2][3][8]

Does vitamin K2 reduce arterial calcification?

Possibly, but evidence is weak. A 2023 meta-analysis of 14 trials (n=1,533) found slower progression of coronary artery calcium scores with vitamin K (borderline significance), without separating vitamin K forms in the abstract. One 3-year MK-7 trial found reduced arterial stiffness.[4][5]

Why is vitamin K2 often paired with vitamin D3?

Both are involved in calcium handling: vitamin K activates osteocalcin in bone and matrix Gla protein in vessel walls, and vitamin D raises calcium absorption, so they are often marketed together. ODS cautions that giving vitamin D and calcium alongside vitamin K may explain why some bone trials show benefits and others do not.[1][10]

Can I take vitamin K2 with blood thinners?

Only with your prescriber's oversight if you take warfarin or a similar vitamin K antagonist: ODS calls the interaction serious, and an MK-7 study warned that 50 mcg/day or more may interfere with anticoagulation. Ask a pharmacist about other blood thinners.[1][7]

Sources

  1. [1]Vitamin K: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2021. fact-sheet
  2. [2]Three-year low-dose menaquinone-7 supplementation helps decrease bone loss in healthy postmenopausal women.. Osteoporos Int, 2013. RCT PMID 23525894
  3. [3]Vitamin K treatment reduces undercarboxylated osteocalcin but does not alter bone turnover, density, or geometry in healthy postmenopausal North American women.. J Bone Miner Res, 2009. RCT PMID 19113922
  4. [4]Vitamin K supplementation and vascular calcification: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.. Front Nutr, 2023. meta-analysis PMID 37252246
  5. [5]Menaquinone-7 supplementation improves arterial stiffness in healthy postmenopausal women. A double-blind randomised clinical trial.. Thromb Haemost, 2015. RCT PMID 25694037
  6. [6]Comparison of menaquinone-4 and menaquinone-7 bioavailability in healthy women.. Nutr J, 2012. PK-study PMID 23140417
  7. [7]Vitamin K-containing dietary supplements: comparison of synthetic vitamin K1 and natto-derived menaquinone-7.. Blood, 2007. PK-study PMID 17158229
  8. [8]Effect of vitamin K on bone mineral density and fractures in adults: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials.. Osteoporos Int, 2019. meta-analysis PMID 31076817
  9. [9]Menaquinone-7 (CID 5287554) and menatetrenone/MK-4 (CID 5282367): molecular weights. PubChem, NCBI, 2026. database
  10. [10]Vitamin D: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2025. fact-sheet

What changed

  1. October 8, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every evidence-row PMID checked with NCBI E-utilities (esummary + efetch abstract) and re-read in an independent adversarial pass.Writer: Kymata Health editorial team · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →