Creatinol-O-phosphate (COP)

Also called COP, creatinol O-phosphate, creatinol phosphate, N-methyl-N-(beta-hydroxyethyl)guanidine O-phosphate.

The short answer

From 7 sources

Creatinol-O-phosphate was developed as an injected heart drug in the 1970s and is now sold in some sports supplements. All controlled human trials found date from 1975-1979: small Italian studies in people with heart disease, mostly given by injection, with fewer irregular heartbeats and lower heart-damage enzymes. There is no oral or sports evidence: no trial with checkable results has tested COP taken by mouth or for exercise performance.

Key facts

Evidence age
Every controlled human trial found was published between 1975 and 19791237
Irregular heartbeats
1,020 mg injected twice daily for 3 days lowered premature ventricular contractions vs a solvent control in 10 heart patients (P < 0.01)2
Heart attack enzymes
Six heart-damage enzymes were 33-49% lower with 3.06 g/day IV COP added to standard care in 46 heart attack patients3
Sports use
No checkable evidence: a 1975 trial on muscular performance has no abstract, so its route and results cannot be verified, and no trial with available results has tested oral COP7
Lab effects
IV doses of 2,040-3,060 mg raised blood phosphate and urine creatinine in healthy volunteers5

What it is

Creatinol-O-phosphate (COP) is a synthetic creatine-like compound developed in Italy in the 1970s as a heart drug and later sold in some sports supplements.

How it works

Proposed

COP is dephosphorylated in the kidney and liver and concentrates in heart muscle cells. 1970s researchers proposed a protective "membrane effect" on heart cells during low oxygen, improving ion balance and contraction. The work is old and mostly from animal hearts.62

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Creatinol-O-phosphate (COP) forms compared

2 forms
Creatinol-O-phosphate (COP) forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsInjected COP (intravenous or intramuscular)Oral COP in sports supplements
Absorption in peopleAbsorption after intramuscular injection is complete; COP is dephosphorylated in the kidney and liver and excreted in urine.65No oral absorption data were found in the cited abstracts.76
GI toleranceIV doses up to 3,060 mg caused no change in blood pressure, heart rate or ECG in volunteers; blood phosphate rose.65Not studied in the cited abstracts.76
Studied forHeart disease (1970s drug use)Exercise performance (marketing claim; no checkable trial)
  1. Injected COP (intravenous or intramuscular)
    Absorption in people
    Absorption after intramuscular injection is complete; COP is dephosphorylated in the kidney and liver and excreted in urine.65
    GI tolerance
    IV doses up to 3,060 mg caused no change in blood pressure, heart rate or ECG in volunteers; blood phosphate rose.65
    Studied for
    Heart disease (1970s drug use)
  2. Oral COP in sports supplements
    Absorption in people
    No oral absorption data were found in the cited abstracts.76
    GI tolerance
    Not studied in the cited abstracts.76
    Studied for
    Exercise performance (marketing claim; no checkable trial)
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

3 graded outcomes, largest study first

All 3 graded outcomes found an improvement. The largest, a 1979 open-label trial of 46 people on Heart-damage enzymes after acute heart attack, found an improvement.

1Heart-damage enzymes after acute heart attack

Improved · Grade D · Open-label trial, 46 people, 1979

Patients with acute myocardial infarction (two groups of 23)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Heart-damage enzymes after acute heart attackImproved46Grade D · Open-label trial, 1979Patients with acute myocardial infarction (two groups of 23)
Rhythm disturbances, chest pain and heart function in coronary diseaseImproved25Grade D · RCT, 197912 patients after a recent heart attack and 13 with angina (Italy)
Premature ventricular contractions on Holter ECGImproved10Grade D · Crossover RCT, 1979Patients with ischaemic heart disease and frequent premature ventricular contractions
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

3 rows
Grade DHeart-damage enzymes after acute heart attackHeart attack33-49% lower enzymesOpen-label trial
n 46 · 1979

Improved GOT, GPT, LDH, HBDH, CK and MB-CK were 33-49% lower in the COP group than in controls (P < 0.01).

Design
Open-label trial, n = 46, 1979
Population
Patients with acute myocardial infarction (two groups of 23)
Form
Glucose-insulin-potassium (GIK) plus intravenous COP vs GIK alone
Dose
3.06 g/24 h (intravenous)
Duration
3 days
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 575498 (opens PubMed)
Grade DRhythm disturbances, chest pain and heart function in coronary diseaseCoronary diseaseFewer symptomsRCT
n 25 · 1979

Improved COP improved rhythm disturbances, chest pain and symptoms of contractility failure to a statistically significant degree.

Design
RCT, n = 25, 1979
Population
12 patients after a recent heart attack and 13 with angina (Italy)
Form
COP vs its solvent as a reference substance, double-blind
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
Not stated in the abstract
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 395958 (opens PubMed)
Grade DPremature ventricular contractions on Holter ECGHeart rhythmFewer extra beatsCrossover RCT
n 10 · 1979

Improved Premature ventricular contractions were significantly lower with COP than with the reference substance (P < 0.01); heart rate, PQ and QTc did not change.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 10, 1979
Population
Patients with ischaemic heart disease and frequent premature ventricular contractions
Form
COP vs solvent, intramuscular, random order
Dose
1,020 mg twice daily (intramuscular)
Duration
3 days per treatment
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 94266 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

An old heart drug, not a tested sports supplement

The checkable human data are five small 1979 studies, four in heart patients and one tolerance study in volunteers, all published in one journal issue and all using injected COP where the route is stated. No trial with available results has tested COP taken by mouth or for training.12345

How we got this: Publication years and routes in the sources on this page

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 1,020 mg injected twice daily for 3 days to 3,060 mg/day intravenously; single IV doses up to 3,060 mg were tested for tolerance. No oral doses were reported in the abstracts. These are research doses, not recommendations.235

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Creatinol-O-phosphate and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Creatinol-O-phosphate.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

5 groups
Kidney disease
COP raised blood phosphate and urinary creatinine and phosphate in volunteers and is dephosphorylated in the kidney; people with kidney disease were excluded from the tolerance study.56
Blood and urine tests
Because COP releases phosphate and creatinine, it may change phosphate and creatinine test results (inferred from the tolerance study).5
Heart disease
The trials gave injected COP to heart patients under medical care; they do not support self-managing heart rhythm problems with oral supplements.24
Drug interactions
No published drug-interaction studies were found, and neither LiverTox nor LactMed has a creatinol-O-phosphate entry; one 1979 trial suggested studying COP alongside antiarrhythmic drugs.4
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No reliable data. None of the cited studies included pregnant or breastfeeding women, and LactMed has no creatinol-O-phosphate entry.5
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Not creatine

COP is a phosphorylated creatinol, a different molecule from creatine monohydrate, and none of the cited trials compared the two.6

Oral vs injected

Every trial with results in its abstract used injected COP; doses on supplement labels have no matching oral trial.235

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

4 answers
Does COP improve exercise performance?

There is no oral or sports evidence to check. A 1975 controlled trial on muscular performance exists, but no abstract is available, so its route and results are unknown, and no trial with available results has tested COP taken by mouth.7

Is COP safe?

Single IV doses up to 3,060 mg did not change blood pressure, heart rate or ECG in volunteers but raised blood phosphate. Long-term oral safety is not studied.5

Is creatinol-O-phosphate the same as creatine?

No. COP is a phosphorylated form of creatinol, developed as a heart drug. It is a different molecule from creatine monohydrate.6

What did the heart trials find?

Small 1979 Italian trials of injected COP reported fewer premature heartbeats and lower heart-damage enzymes after heart attacks. None measured survival.234

Sources

7 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
who should avoid, questions, relatedRe-searched PubMed for human studies of creatinol-O-phosphate: nothing after 1979 (later records are lab, animal or materials-science work), so the evidence table is unchanged. Checked LactMed and LiverTox (no entry) and found no documented drug interactions, so the interactions list stays empty; the pregnancy and interaction notes now say so. Added page questions and a link to the performance goal hub.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
allAdversarial review: stated plainly that there is no oral or sports evidence (the 1975 muscular-performance trial, PMID 808375, has no abstract and an unknown route), replacing wording that implied only modern oral trials were missing; corrected the insight's study count description.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: adversarial review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.