Homotaurine (tramiprosate)

Also called tramiprosate, 3-amino-1-propanesulfonic acid, 3-APS, Alzhemed, homotaurine supplement, valiltramiprosate.

The short answer

From 8 sources

Homotaurine failed its large 78-week Alzheimer's trial on the planned outcomes, with only post-hoc signals in people carrying two APOE4 copies. A newer prodrug, valiltramiprosate, again missed its primary endpoint in 2025. Nausea and weight loss were the usual side effects; no supplement-dose trials give a proven benefit.

Key facts

Main trial
Alphase (1,052 adults, 100 or 150 mg twice daily, 78 weeks) found no significant difference on the planned cognitive or functional outcomes1
Brain imaging
Revised models showed less hippocampal volume loss (P = 0.035 at 100 mg, P = 0.009 at 150 mg), but scores did not track the scans12
APOE4/4 subgroup
Post-hoc analysis suggested benefit at 150 mg twice daily; the 2025 phase 3 prodrug trial in this group still missed its primary endpoint34
Side effects
Nausea, vomiting, decreased appetite and weight loss were the commonest in the trials34
Status
The prodrug valiltramiprosate (ALZ-801) is an investigational drug; homotaurine itself has no approved medical use in the sources reviewed48

What it is

Homotaurine is a taurine-like amino acid derivative from red algae, tested in Alzheimer's trials under the drug name tramiprosate.

How it works

Proposed

Tramiprosate binds amyloid-beta 42 monomers and is proposed to stop them forming toxic oligomers. This is the intended action, and its clinical relevance is unproven because the large trials missed their planned endpoints.37

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Homotaurine (tramiprosate) forms compared

2 forms
Homotaurine (tramiprosate) forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsHomotaurine / tramiprosate (oral)Valiltramiprosate (ALZ-801), investigational prodrug
Absorption in peopleTramiprosate showed high variability in blood levels between people, attributed to extensive metabolism in the gut.7265 mg twice daily gave the same steady-state tramiprosate exposure as 150 mg twice daily of tramiprosate, with lower variability and a longer half-life; food reduced GI symptoms without changing exposure.7
GI toleranceMild-to-moderate nausea and vomiting were reported; mild gastrointestinal upset in 3 of the Parkinson's pilot patients.67Well tolerated in 127 healthy volunteers; transient mild nausea and some vomiting.7
Studied forAlzheimer's disease (100 to 150 mg twice daily), amnestic MCI, Parkinson's-related sleepiness (100 mg)Early Alzheimer's disease in APOE4/4 carriers (265 mg twice daily, phase 3)
  1. Homotaurine / tramiprosate (oral)
    Absorption in people
    Tramiprosate showed high variability in blood levels between people, attributed to extensive metabolism in the gut.7
    GI tolerance
    Mild-to-moderate nausea and vomiting were reported; mild gastrointestinal upset in 3 of the Parkinson's pilot patients.67
    Studied for
    Alzheimer's disease (100 to 150 mg twice daily), amnestic MCI, Parkinson's-related sleepiness (100 mg)
  2. Valiltramiprosate (ALZ-801), investigational prodrug
    Absorption in people
    265 mg twice daily gave the same steady-state tramiprosate exposure as 150 mg twice daily of tramiprosate, with lower variability and a longer half-life; food reduced GI symptoms without changing exposure.7
    GI tolerance
    Well tolerated in 127 healthy volunteers; transient mild nausea and some vomiting.7
    Studied for
    Early Alzheimer's disease in APOE4/4 carriers (265 mg twice daily, phase 3)
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

6 graded outcomes, largest study first

6 graded outcomes: 2 improved, 1 mixed, 3 no effect. The largest, a 2011 randomized trial of 1,052 people on cognition and daily function in mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease, found no effect.

1Cognition and daily function in mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease

No effect · No-effect grade · RCT, 1,052 people, 2011

Adults aged 50+ with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease (MMSE 16 to 26) on stable cholinesterase inhibitors, with or without memantine

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Cognition and daily function in mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's diseaseNo effect1,052No-effect grade · RCT, 2011Adults aged 50+ with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease (MMSE 16 to 26) on stable cholinesterase inhibitors, with or without memantine
Cognition in early Alzheimer's disease with two APOE4 copiesNo effect325No-effect grade · RCT, 2025Adults aged 50 to 80 with early symptomatic Alzheimer's disease and APOE4/4 genotype (MMSE 22 to 30)
Hippocampal volume loss on MRIMixed312Grade D · RCT, 2009MRI subgroup of the Alphase trial: 312 patients with usable scan pairs
Cognition in APOE4/4 carriers with mild Alzheimer's disease (post-hoc re-analysis)Improved257Grade D · RCT, 2017APOE4/4 homozygotes (147 and 110 across two phase 3 trials); mild subgroup MMSE 22 to 26
Hippocampal volume and episodic memory in amnestic MCIImproved33Grade D · Observational, 2016Adults with amnestic mild cognitive impairment: 11 treated, 22 untreated
Motor, cognitive and sleepiness measures in Parkinson's diseaseNo effect24Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2015Adults with Parkinson's disease and cognitive impairment (47 enrolled, 24 completed and analysed per protocol)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

6 rows

Showing 6 of 6 outcomes. Human trials only.

Mixed Revised-model analyses (not the planned ones) showed less hippocampal volume loss with 100 mg (P = 0.035) and 150 mg (P = 0.009) than placebo, in a dose-response pattern. Changes in psychometric scores and hippocampal volume were not significantly correlated; CDR-SB showed no differences.

Design
RCT, n = 312, 2009
Population
MRI subgroup of the Alphase trial: 312 patients with usable scan pairs
Form
Tramiprosate (homotaurine)
Dose
100 mg or 150 mg twice daily
Duration
78 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 19536424 (opens PubMed)

Improved In APOE4/4 homozygotes on 150 mg twice daily, benefits over placebo on ADAS-cog, CDR-SB and DAD were 125%, 81% and 71% (p < 0.02); the MMSE 22 to 26 subgroup stabilised with no decline over 78 weeks. Common adverse events were nausea, vomiting, depression and decreased weight.

Design
RCT, n = 257, 2017
Population
APOE4/4 homozygotes (147 and 110 across two phase 3 trials); mild subgroup MMSE 22 to 26
Form
Tramiprosate (homotaurine)
Dose
150 mg twice daily
Duration
78 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 29182706 (opens PubMed)

Improved Treated patients showed decreased volume loss in the left and right hippocampal tail, fusiform gyri and right inferior temporal cortex, linked to better short-term episodic memory (recency effect of the Rey 15-word list).

Design
Observational, n = 33, 2016
Population
Adults with amnestic mild cognitive impairment: 11 treated, 22 untreated
Form
Homotaurine
Dose
Dose not stated in the abstract
Duration
1 year
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 26757035 (opens PubMed)

No effect Per-protocol analysis showed no difference between groups. Within the homotaurine group, UPDRS-I (p = 0.017) and Epworth Sleepiness Scale (p = 0.01) improved from baseline. Mild gastrointestinal upset occurred in 3 patients; 51% completed.

Design
Pilot RCT, n = 24, 2015
Population
Adults with Parkinson's disease and cognitive impairment (47 enrolled, 24 completed and analysed per protocol)
Form
Homotaurine
Dose
100 mg (schedule not stated)
Duration
6 months
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 25894843 (opens PubMed)

No effect The planned analyses showed no significant differences between groups on ADAS-cog or CDR-SB. Revised models showed only a trend for ADAS-cog (P = 0.098). Adverse event rates were similar across groups; 790 of 1,052 (75.1%) completed.

Design
RCT, n = 1,052, 2011
Population
Adults aged 50+ with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease (MMSE 16 to 26) on stable cholinesterase inhibitors, with or without memantine
Form
Tramiprosate (homotaurine)
Dose
100 mg or 150 mg twice daily
Duration
78 weeks
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 22291741 (opens PubMed)

No effect The overall population showed no significant effect on ADAS-Cog13 (11% slowing; p = 0.607) but 18% slower hippocampal atrophy (p = 0.017). No significant clinical effects in mild AD. In the prespecified MCI group (N = 125), ADAS-Cog13 (52%, nominal p = 0.041) and DAD (96%, nominal p = 0.016) favoured the drug. Nausea, vomiting and decreased appetite occurred at more than double the placebo rate.

Design
RCT, n = 325, 2025
Population
Adults aged 50 to 80 with early symptomatic Alzheimer's disease and APOE4/4 genotype (MMSE 22 to 30)
Form
Valiltramiprosate (ALZ-801, prodrug)
Dose
265 mg twice daily
Duration
78 weeks
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 41015981 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Scans moved, symptoms did not

Both the 2009 Alphase MRI subgroup and the 2025 prodrug trial showed slower hippocampal shrinkage, yet cognition and function did not improve overall.24

How we got this: Imaging results of the Alphase MRI subgroup and APOLLOE4

The strongest signal is a small subgroup

The best-looking results are in APOE4/4 carriers with milder disease, a group that made up only 13 to 15% of participants in the two phase 3 trials, and they came from post-hoc and subgroup analyses.34

How we got this: Share of APOE4/4 patients and the analysis type

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 100 mg of homotaurine in a 6-month Parkinson's pilot to tramiprosate 100 or 150 mg twice daily for 78 weeks in Alzheimer's trials. The prodrug valiltramiprosate was tested at 265 mg twice daily. These are research doses, not advice.146

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Homotaurine meets

1 cited row

Medicines 1

Homotaurine1 medicine · 0 supplements

Supplements and foods 0

No supplement rows in our sources.

  • Measured in a human study
Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

1 agent
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines1
Cholinesterase inhibitors and memantineAlphase participants stayed on stable doses of these Alzheimer's drugs; adverse events were similar across groups. The trial was not designed as an interaction study.1RCT

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Homotaurine and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Homotaurine.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Nausea-prone or low-appetite adults
Nausea, vomiting and decreased appetite were the commonest adverse events, at more than double the placebo rate in the 2025 prodrug trial; decreased weight and depression also appeared in the earlier APOE4/4 analysis.34
Expecting a proven memory benefit
The 78-week Alphase trial did not meet its planned analyses, and the 2025 phase 3 prodrug trial did not slow cognitive decline overall. Supplement-dose evidence is limited to small, uncontrolled or post-hoc studies.14
People with a dementia diagnosis
Anyone with Alzheimer's disease or Parkinson's disease should discuss any supplement with their care team; the trials involved patients on stable standard drugs.16
Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
No studies in these groups were found in the sources reviewed, so safety is unknown.1
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Label dose vs trial dose

Supplement labels list homotaurine in mg per capsule, often combined with other ingredients. Alphase used 100 or 150 mg twice daily of tramiprosate; single-ingredient evidence is small.16

Do not mix up the prodrug

Valiltramiprosate (ALZ-801) is a different, investigational drug at 265 mg twice daily. Its trial results do not describe a homotaurine supplement.47

Label X-RayPhotograph a bottle's Supplement Facts panel and see each line, homotaurine (tramiprosate) included, beside the doses and forms the trials used

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
What is homotaurine?

A taurine-like compound found in red algae. As tramiprosate it was developed as an anti-amyloid drug and tested in large Alzheimer's trials.17

Did homotaurine work in Alzheimer's trials?

Not on the planned outcomes. In 1,052 adults over 78 weeks there were no significant differences; revised models showed less hippocampal volume loss.12

What about the APOE4/4 results?

A post-hoc analysis suggested benefit at 150 mg twice daily, but the 2025 phase 3 prodrug trial in APOE4/4 carriers missed its primary endpoint and showed a nominal signal only in the MCI subgroup.34

What are the side effects?

Nausea, vomiting and decreased appetite were the commonest; decreased weight and depression were also reported in the APOE4/4 analysis.34

Is homotaurine the same as valiltramiprosate?

No. Valiltramiprosate (ALZ-801) is a prodrug that delivers tramiprosate with less variability. It remains investigational.78

Does homotaurine help Parkinson's disease?

A 6-month single-blind pilot found no difference between groups in per-protocol analysis; sleepiness scores improved within the homotaurine group. Half of patients dropped out.6

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

2 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidenceAdversarial review: Parkinson's pilot n set to the 24 per-protocol completers (was the 47 enrolled) and regraded no-effect to D (too small to show no effect). Sponsor ties of the 2017 and 2025 papers confirmed from their PubMed conflict-of-interest statements; other rows match their abstracts.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: adversarial review
allInitial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, year, journal) and each cited abstract read; figures taken from the abstracts. Status of ALZ-801 from the Alzforum therapeutics entry and the 2025 APOLLOE4 publication. Authors of the post-hoc and phase 3 prodrug papers are sponsor-affiliated.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.