Clostridium butyricum

Also called C. butyricum, CBM588, Clostridium butyricum MIYAIRI 588, MIYA-BM.

The short answer

From 16 sources

Clostridium butyricum is a spore-forming probiotic that makes butyrate. In 200 adults with diarrhea-predominant IBS it improved overall symptoms and stool frequency over 4 weeks (grade C); smaller studies cover antibiotic side effects, pouchitis and depression add-on use. A 2026 case report linked the MIYAIRI 588 strain to bloodstream infection in a seriously ill patient.

Key facts

What it is
A spore-forming, butyrate-producing bacterium; MIYAIRI 588 (CBM588) is the most-studied strain46
Largest symptom trial
200 adults with diarrhea-predominant IBS: overall symptoms, quality of life and stool frequency improved more than with placebo over 4 weeks1
Responder rate
44.8% vs 30.5% of IBS-D patients met the response threshold on C. butyricum vs placebo1
Bloodstream infection
A 2026 case report linked C. butyricum bacteremia to oral CBM588 in a patient with infected pancreatic necrosis after endoscopic drainage8
Regulatory listing
Listed as an eligible species in Health Canada's probiotic monograph9
Cancer immunotherapy
In two small phase 1 kidney-cancer trials (30 people each), adding CBM588 to immunotherapy was linked to longer progression-free survival (12.7 vs 2.5 months) or a higher response rate (74% vs 20%)1213
EU safety opinion
EFSA judged the TO-A strain safe at 3.2 × 10⁸ CFU/day for adults, excluding pregnant and breastfeeding women, and limited its use to people over 3 years old15

What it is

Clostridium butyricum is a spore-forming, butyrate-producing bacterium sold as a probiotic, best known as the MIYAIRI 588 strain.

How it works

Proposed

C. butyricum survives the stomach as spores and produces butyrate, a short-chain fatty acid that feeds colon cells. Trial authors also report shifts in gut bacteria; in elderly people with malnutrition, plasma short-chain fatty acids rose. Whether these changes explain the symptom effects is not established.31

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Clostridium butyricum forms compared

2 forms
Clostridium butyricum forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsC. butyricum MIYAIRI 588 (CBM588, MIYA-BM)Other C. butyricum products and blends
Absorption in peopleNot applicable (acts in the gut); no head-to-head strain data.4Not applicable (acts in the gut).1
GI toleranceNo side effects in the pouchitis trial and no serious adverse events in the depression and polyp studies; one case report of bacteremia in a seriously ill patient.4268No drug-related adverse reactions in the 372-child antibiotic study.7
Studied forPouchitis, H. pylori therapy side effects, polyp recurrence, depression add-on, colorectal surgery recovery and kidney-cancer immunotherapy add-onIBS-D (single-species capsules), antibiotic-associated diarrhea (with Bifidobacterium) and constipation (spore blend with Bacillus species)
  1. C. butyricum MIYAIRI 588 (CBM588, MIYA-BM)
    Absorption in people
    Not applicable (acts in the gut); no head-to-head strain data.4
    GI tolerance
    No side effects in the pouchitis trial and no serious adverse events in the depression and polyp studies; one case report of bacteremia in a seriously ill patient.4268
    Studied for
    Pouchitis, H. pylori therapy side effects, polyp recurrence, depression add-on, colorectal surgery recovery and kidney-cancer immunotherapy add-on
  2. Other C. butyricum products and blends
    Absorption in people
    Not applicable (acts in the gut).1
    GI tolerance
    No drug-related adverse reactions in the 372-child antibiotic study.7
    Studied for
    IBS-D (single-species capsules), antibiotic-associated diarrhea (with Bifidobacterium) and constipation (spore blend with Bacillus species)
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

10 graded outcomes, largest study first

10 graded outcomes: 9 improved, 1 mixed. The largest, a 2025 randomized trial of 400 people on bowel recovery and infections after colorectal cancer surgery (CBM588), found an improvement.

1Bowel recovery and infections after colorectal cancer surgery (CBM588)

Improved · Grade C · RCT, 400 people, 2025

Adults having radical surgery for colorectal cancer (China, single centre)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Bowel recovery and infections after colorectal cancer surgery (CBM588)Improved400Grade C · RCT, 2025Adults having radical surgery for colorectal cancer (China, single centre)
Colorectal adenoma recurrence after polyp removal (CBM588)Mixed398Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2025Adults with a history of colorectal adenomatous polyps (Taiwan)
Antibiotic-associated diarrhea in young children (with Bifidobacterium)Improved372Grade D · RCT, 2012Children aged 3 months to 3 years hospitalized with pneumonia (China, multicenter)
Overall symptoms, quality of life and stool frequency in diarrhea-predominant IBSImproved200Grade C · RCT, 2018Adults with diarrhea-predominant IBS (China, multicenter)
Bowel habits in functional constipation (spore-probiotic blend)Improved78Grade D · RCT, 2026Adults with functional constipation (Rome IV)
Depression scores with CBM588 added to antidepressantsImproved40Grade D · Open-label trial, 2018Inpatients with treatment-resistant major depression
Gut flora and GI side effects during H. pylori triple therapy (CBM588)Improved35Grade D · RCT, 2005Adults with H. pylori-positive gastric or duodenal ulcers
Response to immunotherapy in metastatic kidney cancer (CBM588 add-on)Improved30Grade D · RCT, 2022Treatment-naive adults with metastatic renal cell carcinoma (single centre)
Gut bacteria, inflammation and nutrition markers in elderly people with malnutritionImproved19Grade D · RCT, 2022Elderly people in long-term care with malnutrition, mean age 83
Pouchitis after colectomy for ulcerative colitis (MIYA-BM)Improved17Grade D · RCT, 2016Adults with ulcerative colitis after ileal pouch-anal anastomosis
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

10 rows

Showing 10 of 10 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CBowel recovery and infections after colorectal cancer surgery (CBM588)Surgery recoveryImprovedRCT
n 400 · 2025

Improved Bowel function (first flatus, defecation, first fluid intake) returned faster, infectious complications were less frequent and circulating T cells rose compared with no treatment; well tolerated.

Design
RCT, n = 400, 2025
Population
Adults having radical surgery for colorectal cancer (China, single centre)
Form
C. butyricum MIYAIRI 588 tablets (20 mg per tablet)
Dose
40 mg three times daily
Duration
From 5 days before to 7 days after surgery
Source
Reference 11 · PubMed 40633539 (opens PubMed)
Grade COverall symptoms, quality of life and stool frequency in diarrhea-predominant IBSIBSImprovedRCT
n 200 · 2018

Improved IBS symptom scores fell more than with placebo (p=0.038), with better quality of life (p=0.032) and stool frequency (p=0.035); responders 44.8% vs 30.5%. Stool consistency did not differ.

Design
RCT, n = 200, 2018
Population
Adults with diarrhea-predominant IBS (China, multicenter)
Form
C. butyricum capsules (420 mg per capsule)
Dose
Capsules daily (strain and CFU per day not stated in the abstract)
Duration
4 weeks
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 29445178 (opens PubMed)
Grade DColorectal adenoma recurrence after polyp removal (CBM588)Colon polypsMixedCrossover RCT
n 398 · 2025

Mixed By intention-to-treat, recurrence (30.0% vs 35.4%) and polyp counts were not significantly lower in year 1; per-protocol analysis showed significant reductions. Well tolerated.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 398, 2025
Population
Adults with a history of colorectal adenomatous polyps (Taiwan)
Form
C. butyricum MIYAIRI 588
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
1 year on, 1 year off (2-year crossover)
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 41425719 (opens PubMed)
Grade DAntibiotic-associated diarrhea in young children (with Bifidobacterium)Antibiotic side effectsImprovedRCT
n 372 · 2012

Improved Antibiotic-associated diarrhea occurred in 7.8% vs 16.8% of controls (relative risk 0.42); no drug-related adverse reactions.

Design
RCT, n = 372, 2012
Population
Children aged 3 months to 3 years hospitalized with pneumonia (China, multicenter)
Form
Combined C. butyricum and Bifidobacterium powder
Dose
5 × 10⁹ CFU/day
Duration
7 days with antibiotics
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 23302558 (opens PubMed)
Grade DBowel habits in functional constipation (spore-probiotic blend)ConstipationImprovedRCT
n 78 · 2026

Improved Irritant bowel movements, incomplete evacuation and pain before defecation improved, and stool form shifted toward normal (Bristol types 3–4, p = 0.0176) versus placebo; physical functioning improved only with the blend.

Design
RCT, n = 78, 2026
Population
Adults with functional constipation (Rome IV)
Form
Blend of C. butyricum IDCC 1301, Weizmannia coagulans IDCC 1201 and Bacillus subtilis IDCC 1101
Dose
Daily (amount not stated in the abstract)
Duration
4 weeks
Source
Reference 14 · PubMed 42030329 (opens PubMed)
Grade DDepression scores with CBM588 added to antidepressantsDepressionImprovedOpen-label trial
n 40 · 2018

Improved Depression scores improved significantly with CBM588 add-on; 70% responded and 35% remitted. No serious adverse events.

Design
Open-label trial, n = 40, 2018
Population
Inpatients with treatment-resistant major depression
Form
C. butyricum MIYAIRI 588
Dose
60 mg/day with antidepressants
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 30234616 (opens PubMed)
Grade DGut flora and GI side effects during H. pylori triple therapy (CBM588)Antibiotic side effectsImprovedRCT
n 35 · 2005

Improved Anaerobic gut bacteria did not fall as they did without CBM588, and abdominal symptoms were less frequent.

Design
RCT, n = 35, 2005
Population
Adults with H. pylori-positive gastric or duodenal ulcers
Form
C. butyricum MIYAIRI 588
Dose
Not stated in the abstract (started 7 days before antibiotics)
Duration
About 2 weeks
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 16437727 (opens PubMed)
Grade DResponse to immunotherapy in metastatic kidney cancer (CBM588 add-on)Cancer immunotherapyImprovedRCT
n 30 · 2022

Improved The primary gut-microbiome endpoint was not met, but progression-free survival was longer with CBM588 added to nivolumab-ipilimumab (12.7 vs 2.5 months; HR 0.15, 95% CI 0.05 to 0.47); response rate 58% vs 20% (P = 0.06). Toxicity did not differ.

Design
RCT, n = 30, 2022
Population
Treatment-naive adults with metastatic renal cell carcinoma (single centre)
Form
C. butyricum MIYAIRI 588
Dose
Daily (amount not stated in the abstract)
Duration
12-week primary endpoint, then follow-up for progression
Source
Reference 12 · PubMed 35228755 (opens PubMed)
Grade DGut bacteria, inflammation and nutrition markers in elderly people with malnutritionHealthy agingImprovedRCT
n 19 · 2022

Improved Interferon-gamma fell and prealbumin improved compared with opposite changes in controls; beneficial gut bacteria and plasma short-chain fatty acids rose.

Design
RCT, n = 19, 2022
Population
Elderly people in long-term care with malnutrition, mean age 83
Form
C. butyricum
Dose
3.5 × 10⁵ to 3.5 × 10⁸ CFU after each meal
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 36079806 (opens PubMed)
Grade DPouchitis after colectomy for ulcerative colitis (MIYA-BM)PouchitisImprovedRCT
n 17 · 2016

Improved Pouchitis developed in 1 of 9 on MIYA-BM vs 4 of 8 on placebo; no side effects in either group.

Design
RCT, n = 17, 2016
Population
Adults with ulcerative colitis after ileal pouch-anal anastomosis
Form
MIYA-BM tablets (C. butyricum MIYAIRI)
Dose
9 tablets once daily
Duration
Not stated in the abstract
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 26510664 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Few blinded, placebo-controlled trials

Only the 200-person IBS-D trial and a 78-person spore-blend constipation trial were double-blind, placebo-controlled studies of more than 50 people; the rest were small, single-blind or open.114426

How we got this: Designs in the evidence table

The polyp result depends on the analysis

Adenoma recurrence fell significantly only among people who completed the protocol, not in the analysis of everyone randomized.6

How we got this: Polyp trial abstract

Spores can reach the blood

The 2026 case suggests CBM588 can cause infection when the gut barrier is badly damaged.8

How we got this: Case report

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 60 mg/day of CBM588 for 8 weeks, 120 mg/day (40 mg three times daily) for about 12 days around surgery and 5 × 10⁹ CFU/day of a C. butyricum-Bifidobacterium blend for 7 days, to daily capsules or tablets for 4 weeks to 1 year; many abstracts do not report the amount.2117146

When trials measured an effect

2 outcomes
How long trials ran before effects were measured
OutcomeMeasured atBasis
IBS-D symptomsWeek 4 (end of trial)Daily capsules vs placebo in 200 adults with IBS-D1
Depression scores (add-on)Week 8 (end of study)60 mg/day CBM588 with antidepressants vs antidepressants alone2
When each outcome was assessed in the cited trials. It is not a promise of when anyone will notice a change.

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Clostridium butyricum meets

2 cited rows 1 tested together

Medicines 2

Clostridium butyricum2 medicines · 1 supplement

Supplements and foods 1

  • Drug label or FDA notice
  • Measured in a human study
  • Tested together in a graded trial
Also cited: 1 tested together
  1. Immunosuppressive medicines

    • Drug labelDrug label or FDA notice

      Immunosuppressive medicines, for example long-term corticosteroids: Health Canada's probiotic monograph says not to use probiotics with an immune-compromised condition, including long-term corticosteroid treatment.

      Source 9, Health Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate (2026)

  2. Immune checkpoint inhibitors

    • RCTMeasured in a human study

      Immune checkpoint inhibitors, for example nivolumab, ipilimumab: Two small phase 1 kidney-cancer trials linked added CBM588 to better outcomes with no difference in toxicity; whether this holds in larger trials is unknown.

      Source 12, Nat Med (2022); Source 13, Nat Med (2024)

  3. Akkermansia muciniphilaAkkermansia muciniphila page

Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

2 agents
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines2
Immune checkpoint inhibitorse.g. nivolumab, ipilimumabTwo small phase 1 kidney-cancer trials linked added CBM588 to better outcomes with no difference in toxicity; whether this holds in larger trials is unknown.1213RCT
Immunosuppressive medicinese.g. long-term corticosteroidsHealth Canada's probiotic monograph says not to use probiotics with an immune-compromised condition, including long-term corticosteroid treatment.9Drug label

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Clostridium butyricum and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Clostridium butyricum.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

6 groups
Seriously ill or immune-compromised people
A patient with infected pancreatic necrosis developed C. butyricum bloodstream infection that the authors attributed to oral CBM588; NCCIH says probiotic risks are greater with severe illness or weak immunity.810
Immune-compromised conditions
Health Canada's probiotic monograph: do not use with an immune-compromised condition (for example AIDS, lymphoma or long-term corticosteroid treatment).9
Premature infants
NCCIH reports severe or fatal infections in premature infants given probiotics.10
Fever or severe gut symptoms
Health Canada: ask a health care practitioner before use with fever, vomiting, bloody diarrhoea or severe abdominal pain, and stop if digestive upset persists beyond 3 days.9
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
EFSA's 2025 opinion on the TO-A strain excluded pregnant and breastfeeding women from its safe use. In a single-arm Japanese trial, 315 high-risk pregnant women took a C. butyricum, Enterococcus faecium and Bacillus subtilis tablet from 10–14 weeks to about 37 weeks; no stillbirths or serious adverse events were reported.1516
Children under 3
EFSA limited the TO-A strain to people over 3 years old because early-life gut colonisation shapes later health; the antibiotic study in children aged 3 months to 3 years used a C. butyricum-Bifidobacterium blend.157
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Check the strain

Most trials used MIYAIRI 588; the large IBS trial used a different Chinese product and the children's study a blend with Bifidobacterium.4617

Label dose vs studied dose

Few abstracts report the dose. The depression study used 60 mg/day of CBM588 and the children's antibiotic study 5 × 10⁹ CFU/day of a blend.27

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

5 answers
Does CBM588 help cancer immunotherapy?

Two small phase 1 kidney-cancer trials (30 people each) linked CBM588 to longer progression-free survival or a higher response rate when added to immunotherapy. These are early findings; larger trials have not confirmed them.1213

Is C. butyricum safe?

Trials reported few side effects, but a seriously ill patient developed bloodstream infection from the CBM588 strain, and probiotics carry more risk with severe illness or weak immunity. EFSA judged one strain safe for adults at 3.2 × 10⁸ CFU/day, excluding pregnant and breastfeeding women.481015

Can C. butyricum be taken with antibiotics?

Trials gave it alongside antibiotics: with H. pylori triple therapy in 35 adults, where gut symptoms were less frequent, and with a Bifidobacterium blend in 372 children on antibiotics, where diarrhea fell from 16.8% to 7.8%.57

Is Clostridium butyricum the same as C. difficile?

No. They are different species. C. butyricum is used as a probiotic, though one case of bloodstream infection from the probiotic strain has been reported.89

How is C. butyricum different from a butyrate supplement?

C. butyricum is a live, spore-forming bacterium that makes butyrate in the gut; a butyrate supplement supplies the fatty acid directly. In elderly people with malnutrition, C. butyricum raised plasma short-chain fatty acids.3

Sources

16 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

16 sources
  1. 1The effect of Clostridium butyricum on symptoms and fecal microbiota in diarrhea-dominant irritable bowel syndrome: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.RCT Sci Rep, 2018 · PMID 29445178
  2. 2Clostridium butyricum MIYAIRI 588 as Adjunctive Therapy for Treatment-Resistant Major Depressive Disorder: A Prospective Open-Label Trial.Open-label trial Clin Neuropharmacol, 2018 · PMID 30234616
  3. 3Clostridium butyricum Potentially Improves Immunity and Nutrition through Alteration of the Microbiota and Metabolism of Elderly People with Malnutrition in Long-Term Care.RCT Nutrients, 2022 · PMID 36079806
  4. 4The effect of Clostridium butyricum MIYAIRI on the prevention of pouchitis and alteration of the microbiota profile in patients with ulcerative colitis.RCT Surg Today, 2016 · PMID 26510664
  5. 5Effect of Clostridium butyricum on fecal flora in Helicobacter pylori eradication therapy.RCT World J Gastroenterol, 2005 · PMID 16437727
  6. 6Clostridium butyricum MIYAIRI 588 Reduces Colorectal Adenomatous Polyp Recurrence: A Randomized Crossover Trial.Crossover RCT Oncol Res, 2025 · PMID 41425719
  7. 7[Multicenter, randomized, controlled clinical trial on preventing antibiotic-associated diarrhea in children with pneumonia using the live Clostridium butyricum and Bifidobacterium combined Powder].RCT Zhonghua Er Ke Za Zhi, 2012 · PMID 23302558
  8. 8Severe Bacteremia Caused by Clostridium butyricum Following Endoscopic Ultrasound-Guided Peripancreatic Fluid Drainage for Walled-off Necrosis: A Case Report.Observational DEN Open, 2026 · PMID 41971771
  9. 9Probiotics (Natural Health Product monograph, April 24, 2026)Guideline Health Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate, 2026 · webprod.hc-sc.gc.ca
  10. 10Probiotics: Usefulness and SafetyFact sheet National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), 2019 · nccih.nih.gov
  11. 11Perioperative administration of CBM588 in colorectal cancer radical surgery: A single-center, randomized controlled trial.RCT Cell Rep Med, 2025 · PMID 40633539
  12. 12Nivolumab plus ipilimumab with or without live bacterial supplementation in metastatic renal cell carcinoma: a randomized phase 1 trial.RCT Nat Med, 2022 · PMID 35228755
  13. 13Cabozantinib and nivolumab with or without live bacterial supplementation in metastatic renal cell carcinoma: a randomized phase 1 trial.RCT Nat Med, 2024 · PMID 38942995
  14. 14Effects of a spore-forming probiotic blend on bowel habits and physical well-being in adults with functional constipation: A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.RCT PLoS One, 2026 · PMID 42030329
  15. 15Safety of Clostridium butyricum TO-A as a novel food pursuant to Regulation (EU) 2015/2283.Guideline EFSA J, 2025 · PMID 40321162
  16. 16Prevention of recurrent spontaneous preterm delivery using probiotics: results from a prospective, single-arm, multicenter trial.Open-label trial Am J Obstet Gynecol, 2026 · PMID 41722754

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
key facts, evidence, forms, studied doses, interactions, who should avoid, time to effect, FAQ, questions, relatedAdded a 2025 open-label trial of CBM588 around colorectal cancer surgery (400 analysed, grade C), a 2022 phase 1 kidney-cancer immunotherapy trial (30 people, grade D; both marked as hospital uses) and a 2026 constipation trial of a spore blend with C. butyricum (78 adults, grade D). Added a pregnancy and breastfeeding note and an under-3s note from EFSA's 2025 safety opinion on the TO-A strain and a 2026 single-arm pregnancy trial, interactions with checkpoint inhibitors (two phase 1 trials) and immunosuppressive medicines (Health Canada monograph), key facts, studied doses up to 120 mg/day, time-to-effect rows, page questions and a goal-hub link. Replaced FAQ items that duplicated the page's own questions with antibiotics, immunotherapy and butyrate. Checked LactMed and LiverTox: no C. butyricum or probiotic entries. Not added: a 2026 knee-osteoarthritis trial of a heat-killed C. butyricum postbiotic (not a live product) and probiotic meta-analyses that do not report C. butyricum separately.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, journal and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for each cited row.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
allAdversarial review pass: every number in each evidence row's result, dose, duration, n and population fields was machine-checked against its PubMed abstract, and figures not in an abstract were confirmed in the PMC full text (noted per row). Unverified study-country, funding and mechanism wording was removed or sourced, rows whose sample size could not be confirmed were dropped, and retraction, erratum and expression-of-concern flags were checked on every PMID (two errata, noted on their rows; no retractions). Page set indexable.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.