Bifidobacterium breve

Also called B. breve, B. breve A1 (MCC1274), B. breve B-3, B. breve Bif195, B. breve M-16V, B. breve PRL2020.

The short answer

From 16 sources

Bifidobacterium breve results are strain-specific. Strain A1 improved memory scores in 79 older adults with suspected mild cognitive impairment but not in a 117-person trial overall; B-3 and BBr60 lowered body fat or weight in 12-week trials (grade C–D); Bif195 reduced aspirin stomach damage in 25 volunteers. Preterm-infant evidence for M-16V is very low quality.

Key facts

What it is
A Bifidobacterium species sold as named strains; results apply to the strain tested, not the species as a whole235
Memory (strain A1)
2 × 10¹⁰ CFU/day for 16 weeks raised RBANS total score by 11.3 points versus placebo in 79 older adults with suspected MCI2
Memory over 24 weeks (A1)
In 115 older adults with suspected MCI, only the ADAS-Jcog orientation subscale beat placebo; brain atrophy tended to progress less11
Body fat (strain B-3)
5 billion CFU/day for 12 weeks lowered body fat, waist and hip versus placebo in 83 healthy adults3
Aspirin stomach damage (Bif195)
≥10¹¹ CFU/day with 300 mg aspirin for 4 weeks lowered gastric damage scores versus placebo (odds ratio 7.2) in 25 volunteers5
Antibiotic diarrhoea in children (PRL2020)
An antibiotic-resistant strain given with amoxicillin cut the incidence of diarrhoea by about 70% in 121 children (open-label, no placebo)14
Safety warning
Severe or fatal infections have been reported in premature infants given probiotics; risk is higher with serious illness or weak immunity10

What it is

Bifidobacterium breve is a probiotic bacterium sold as named strains (A1, B-3, Bif195, M-16V), each with its own trials.

How it works

Proposed

Like other bifidobacteria, B. breve ferments carbohydrates in the colon and interacts with the gut lining and immune cells. Trial authors propose strain-specific routes, such as gut-brain signalling for memory and sleep, and shifts in gut bacteria and metabolites for body weight; none has been confirmed as the cause of the clinical results.247

Forms, side by side

4 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Bifidobacterium breve forms compared

4 forms
Bifidobacterium breve forms compared: 4 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
4 formsB. breve A1 (MCC1274)B. breve B-3B. breve Bif195B. breve M-16V
Absorption in peopleNot applicable (acts in the gut); no head-to-head strain data.2Not applicable (acts in the gut).3Not applicable (acts in the gut).5Not applicable (acts in the gut).8
GI toleranceNo adverse events in the 16-week MCI trial or the 12-week memory-complaint trial.21No severe adverse reactions in 12 weeks.3Adverse events no different from placebo in a 126-person trial; no related events in the aspirin trial.65No adverse effects reported in the included preterm-infant studies.8
Studied forMemory and brain atrophy in older adults (2 × 10¹⁰ CFU/day)Body fat (5 billion CFU/day live); muscle strength in sarcopenia (2 × 10¹⁰ heat-killed cells/day, no effect)Aspirin-related stomach damage (≥10¹¹ CFU/day); diarrhoea-predominant IBS (no symptom effect)Preterm infants in hospital (very low-quality evidence)
  1. B. breve A1 (MCC1274)
    Absorption in people
    Not applicable (acts in the gut); no head-to-head strain data.2
    GI tolerance
    No adverse events in the 16-week MCI trial or the 12-week memory-complaint trial.21
    Studied for
    Memory and brain atrophy in older adults (2 × 10¹⁰ CFU/day)
  2. B. breve B-3
    Absorption in people
    Not applicable (acts in the gut).3
    GI tolerance
    No severe adverse reactions in 12 weeks.3
    Studied for
    Body fat (5 billion CFU/day live); muscle strength in sarcopenia (2 × 10¹⁰ heat-killed cells/day, no effect)
  3. B. breve Bif195
    Absorption in people
    Not applicable (acts in the gut).5
    GI tolerance
    Adverse events no different from placebo in a 126-person trial; no related events in the aspirin trial.65
    Studied for
    Aspirin-related stomach damage (≥10¹¹ CFU/day); diarrhoea-predominant IBS (no symptom effect)
  4. B. breve M-16V
    Absorption in people
    Not applicable (acts in the gut).8
    GI tolerance
    No adverse effects reported in the included preterm-infant studies.8
    Studied for
    Preterm infants in hospital (very low-quality evidence)
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

13 graded outcomes, largest study first

13 graded outcomes: 7 improved, 2 mixed, 4 no effect. The largest, a 2018 systematic review of 482 people on gut and infection outcomes in preterm infants (strain M-16V), found mixed results.

1Gut and infection outcomes in preterm infants (strain M-16V)

Mixed · Grade D · Systematic review, 482 people, 2018

Preterm infants (5 RCTs plus 4 non-randomized studies)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Gut and infection outcomes in preterm infants (strain M-16V)Mixed482Grade D · Systematic review, 2018Preterm infants (5 RCTs plus 4 non-randomized studies)
Exercise-induced gut permeability and symptoms (strain Bif195)No effect126No-effect grade · RCT, 2022Well-trained healthy adults doing a 1-hour treadmill challenge
Antibiotic-associated diarrhoea in children (strain PRL2020)Improved121Grade D · Open-label trial, 2026Children aged 3–12 taking amoxicillin or amoxicillin-clavulanate
Cognition in older adults with memory complaints (strain A1)No effect117Grade C · RCT, 2019Older adults with memory complaints (Japan)
Cognition and brain atrophy in suspected mild cognitive impairment (strain A1)Mixed115Grade C · RCT, 2022Adults aged 65–88 with suspected mild cognitive impairment
Body fat, weight and waist (strain B-3)Improved83Grade C · RCT, 2022Healthy adults (Korea)
Memory and cognition in suspected mild cognitive impairment (strain A1)Improved79Grade C · RCT, 2020Physically healthy older adults with suspected mild cognitive impairment (Japan)
Weight, BMI and fasting glucose in overweight young adults (strain BBr60)Improved75Grade D · RCT, 2024Overweight or obese young adults on diet guidance
IBS symptom severity in diarrhoea-predominant IBS (strain Bif195)No effect52Grade D · RCT, 2025Adults with moderate to severe diarrhoea-predominant IBS
Muscle strength in sarcopenia (heat-killed strain B-3)No effect49Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2026Adults aged 50–89 with sarcopenia (AWGS 2019 criteria)
Depressive symptoms in major depressive disorder (strain CCFM1025)Improved45Grade D · RCT, 2022Adults diagnosed with major depressive disorder (20 on CCFM1025, 25 on placebo)
Sleep quality in stress-related insomnia (strain CCFM1025)Improved40Grade D · RCT, 2023Adults with stress-induced insomnia (China)
Aspirin-induced stomach and duodenal damage (strain Bif195)Improved25Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2024Healthy young adults taking 300 mg/day aspirin
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

13 rows

Showing 13 of 13 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CCognition in older adults with memory complaints (strain A1)MemoryNo effectRCT
n 117 · 2019

No effect Scores rose in both groups with no difference from placebo overall; in people with low baseline scores, immediate memory and MMSE improved more on A1. No adverse effects.

Design
RCT, n = 117, 2019
Population
Older adults with memory complaints (Japan)
Form
B. breve A1 capsules
Dose
Daily capsules (CFU not stated in the abstract)
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 31090457 (opens PubMed)
Grade CCognition and brain atrophy in suspected mild cognitive impairment (strain A1)MemoryMixedRCT
n 115 · 2022

Mixed The ADAS-Jcog "orientation" subscale improved versus placebo at 24 weeks; two MMSE subscales improved only in people with a baseline MMSE below 25. Brain atrophy scores (VSRAD) worsened on placebo, and the probiotic tended to slow this, mainly in people with more atrophy at the start.

Design
RCT, n = 115, 2022
Population
Adults aged 65–88 with suspected mild cognitive impairment
Form
B. breve MCC1274 (A1)
Dose
2 × 10¹⁰ CFU once daily
Duration
24 weeks
Source
Reference 11 · PubMed 35570493 (opens PubMed)
Grade CBody fat, weight and waist (strain B-3)Body weightImprovedRCT
n 83 · 2022

Improved Body fat (by DXA), waist and hip circumference were lower than with placebo at 12 weeks; no severe adverse reactions.

Design
RCT, n = 83, 2022
Population
Healthy adults (Korea)
Form
B. breve B-3 capsules
Dose
5 billion CFU/day
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 36615686 (opens PubMed)
Grade CMemory and cognition in suspected mild cognitive impairment (strain A1)MemoryImprovedRCT
n 79 · 2020

Improved RBANS total score improved versus placebo (mean difference 11.3 points), driven by immediate memory, visuospatial and delayed memory; no adverse events.

Design
RCT, n = 79, 2020
Population
Physically healthy older adults with suspected mild cognitive impairment (Japan)
Form
B. breve A1 (MCC1274)
Dose
2 × 10¹⁰ CFU/day
Duration
16 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 32623402 (opens PubMed)
Grade DGut and infection outcomes in preterm infants (strain M-16V)Preterm infantsMixedSystematic review
n 482 · 2018

Mixed Pooled RCTs showed no significant benefit on necrotizing enterocolitis, late-onset sepsis, mortality or time to full feeds; non-randomized studies suggested benefits. Overall evidence quality was very low.

Design
Systematic review, n = 482, 2018
Population
Preterm infants (5 RCTs plus 4 non-randomized studies)
Form
B. breve M-16V
Dose
As given in the included studies
Duration
Neonatal period
Source
Reference 8 · PubMed 28796951 (opens PubMed)
Grade DAntibiotic-associated diarrhoea in children (strain PRL2020)Antibiotic diarrhoeaImprovedOpen-label trial
n 121 · 2026

Improved The incidence of diarrhoea was about 70% lower than in children on antibiotics alone (p < 0.01). In children who did get diarrhoea, it started about 15 hours later and lasted 19 hours less. The probiotic was well tolerated.

Design
Open-label trial, n = 121, 2026
Population
Children aged 3–12 taking amoxicillin or amoxicillin-clavulanate
Form
B. breve PRL2020 (an amoxicillin-resistant strain)
Dose
Two doses a day of 20 billion live cells, the first at least 2 hours after the last daily antibiotic dose
Duration
The 7- or 10-day antibiotic course
Source
Reference 14 · PubMed 42234385 (opens PubMed)
Grade DWeight, BMI and fasting glucose in overweight young adults (strain BBr60)Body weightImprovedRCT
n 75 · 2024

Improved Weight and BMI fell more than with placebo, and fasting glucose was lower than in the placebo group.

Design
RCT, n = 75, 2024
Population
Overweight or obese young adults on diet guidance
Form
B. breve BBr60
Dose
1 × 10¹⁰ CFU/day
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 39456659 (opens PubMed)
Grade DIBS symptom severity in diarrhoea-predominant IBS (strain Bif195)IBSNo effectRCT
n 52 · 2025

No effect No effect on the IBS symptom severity score (primary outcome) or on secondary outcomes. Fatigue, an exploratory outcome, fell more than with placebo during treatment.

Design
RCT, n = 52, 2025
Population
Adults with moderate to severe diarrhoea-predominant IBS
Form
B. breve Bif195 (DSM 33360)
Dose
At least 15 × 10⁹ CFU/day
Duration
8 weeks, then 8 weeks of follow-up
Source
Reference 13 · PubMed 41648756 (opens PubMed)
Grade DMuscle strength in sarcopenia (heat-killed strain B-3)MuscleNo effectPilot RCT
n 49 · 2026

No effect Knee extension strength, the primary outcome, did not improve versus placebo. Unadjusted exploratory analyses favoured B-3 on bioimpedance muscle mass, mainly because muscle declined on placebo, and were not confirmed by DXA or physical-function tests. No serious adverse events.

Design
Pilot RCT, n = 49, 2026
Population
Adults aged 50–89 with sarcopenia (AWGS 2019 criteria)
Form
Heat-killed B. breve B-3 (postbiotic)
Dose
2 × 10¹⁰ cells/day
Duration
24 weeks
Source
Reference 12 · PubMed 42797058 (opens PubMed)
Grade DDepressive symptoms in major depressive disorder (strain CCFM1025)MoodImprovedRCT
n 45 · 2022

Improved HDRS-24 depression scores fell more than with placebo (mean 10.40 vs 6.44 points; d = 0.64), as did MADRS scores (9.60 vs 4.92 points).

Design
RCT, n = 45, 2022
Population
Adults diagnosed with major depressive disorder (20 on CCFM1025, 25 on placebo)
Form
Freeze-dried B. breve CCFM1025
Dose
10¹⁰ CFU/day
Duration
4 weeks
Source
Reference 15 · PubMed 34875345 (opens PubMed)
Grade DSleep quality in stress-related insomnia (strain CCFM1025)SleepImprovedRCT
n 40 · 2023

Improved Pittsburgh Sleep Quality Index scores fell from 11.6 to 7.75 on CCFM1025, a larger drop than with placebo, along with lower stress markers.

Design
RCT, n = 40, 2023
Population
Adults with stress-induced insomnia (China)
Form
B. breve CCFM1025
Dose
5 × 10⁹ CFU/day
Duration
4 weeks
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 37960353 (opens PubMed)
Grade DAspirin-induced stomach and duodenal damage (strain Bif195)Stomach liningImprovedCrossover RCT
n 25 · 2024

Improved Gastric damage (Lanza score) was lower than with placebo (odds ratio 7.2); duodenal scores did not change. No related adverse events.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 25, 2024
Population
Healthy young adults taking 300 mg/day aspirin
Form
B. breve Bif195 (DSM 33360)
Dose
≥10¹¹ CFU/day
Duration
4 weeks per period
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 38036761 (opens PubMed)
No effectExercise-induced gut permeability and symptoms (strain Bif195)Gut barrierNo effectRCT
n 126 · 2022

No effect No difference from placebo in gut permeability (lactulose/rhamnose ratio), I-FABP or GI symptom scores; adverse events, cytokines and liver and kidney markers also did not differ.

Design
RCT, n = 126, 2022
Population
Well-trained healthy adults doing a 1-hour treadmill challenge
Form
B. breve Bif195
Dose
Daily (CFU not stated in the abstract)
Duration
6 weeks
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 35866597 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Memory results split by population

Strain A1 clearly beat placebo in suspected MCI (79 people) but not overall in a larger group with memory complaints (117 people), and a 24-week trial in 115 people found gains only on some subscales.2111

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

Bif195 protects the stomach, not permeability

Bif195 reduced aspirin damage in the stomach yet did not change exercise-induced gut permeability, so the stomach result is unlikely to reflect a general gut-barrier effect.56

How we got this: Two Bif195 trials

Weight trials were short

Both body-weight trials lasted 12 weeks and were run alongside usual diet or diet guidance; none tested longer-term weight.34

How we got this: Trial designs

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 5 × 10⁹ CFU/day (strains B-3 and CCFM1025) to 2 × 10¹⁰ CFU/day (A1, and heat-killed B-3 cells) and at least 10¹¹ CFU/day (Bif195), for 4 to 24 weeks; PRL2020 was given as two 20-billion-cell doses a day during 7- to 10-day antibiotic courses.3725111214

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Bifidobacterium breve meets

1 cited row 1 tested together

Medicines 1

Bifidobacterium breve1 medicine · 1 supplement

Supplements and foods 1

  • Drug label or FDA notice
  • Tested together in a graded trial
Also cited: 1 tested together
  1. Antibiotics

    • Drug labelDrug label or FDA notice

      Antibiotics, for example amoxicillin, amoxicillin-clavulanate and other oral antibiotics: Health Canada's probiotic monograph requires labels for bacterial probiotics, including B. breve, to direct use at least 2–3 hours before or after antibiotics. The PRL2020 trial gave its amoxicillin-resistant strain at least 2 hours after the last daily antibiotic dose.

      Source 9, Health Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate (2026); Source 14, Int Microbiol (2026)

  2. Bifidobacterium longumBifidobacterium longum page

Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

1 agent
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines1
Antibioticse.g. amoxicillin, amoxicillin-clavulanate and other oral antibioticsHealth Canada's probiotic monograph requires labels for bacterial probiotics, including B. breve, to direct use at least 2–3 hours before or after antibiotics. The PRL2020 trial gave its amoxicillin-resistant strain at least 2 hours after the last daily antibiotic dose.914Drug label

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Bifidobacterium breve and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Bifidobacterium breve.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Immune-compromised conditions
Health Canada's probiotic monograph: do not use with an immune-compromised condition (for example AIDS, lymphoma or long-term corticosteroid treatment).9
Premature infants and seriously ill people
NCCIH reports severe or fatal infections in premature infants given probiotics and a higher risk of harm with severe illness; M-16V use in preterm infants belongs in hospital care.108
Fever or severe gut symptoms
Health Canada: ask a health care practitioner before use with fever, vomiting, bloody diarrhoea or severe abdominal pain, and stop if digestive upset persists beyond 3 days.9
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
LactMed has no probiotic entry. In a randomized trial in 160 healthy pregnant women, strain 702258 or placebo was taken from 16 weeks of pregnancy until 3 months after birth, but its abstract reports transfer of the strain to infants, not safety outcomes. The adult trials cited here did not enrol pregnant women.1623
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

3 checks
Check the strain code

Each result belongs to one strain (A1/MCC1274, B-3, BBr60, Bif195, CCFM1025, M-16V, PRL2020). A label that says only "B. breve" cannot be matched to these trials.2358

Label dose vs studied dose

Trials used 5 × 10⁹ to at least 10¹¹ CFU/day of a single strain. Multi-strain blends usually spread their CFU count across several species.325

Live vs heat-killed

The sarcopenia trial used heat-killed B-3 cells (a postbiotic), counted as cells rather than live CFU; it did not improve muscle strength.12

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

7 answers
Does B. breve help memory?

Strain A1 improved memory scores in 79 older adults with suspected mild cognitive impairment over 16 weeks. In 117 older adults with memory complaints it did not beat placebo overall, and over 24 weeks in 115 people only some subscales improved.2111

Does B. breve help with weight loss?

Strain B-3 lowered body fat in 83 healthy adults over 12 weeks, and BBr60 lowered weight and BMI in 75 overweight young adults on diet guidance.34

Can B. breve protect the stomach from aspirin?

In 25 healthy volunteers taking 300 mg aspirin daily, Bif195 reduced stomach-lining damage over 4 weeks. People on long-term aspirin were not studied.5

Does B. breve improve sleep?

Strain CCFM1025 lowered sleep-quality scores (better sleep) in 40 adults with stress-related insomnia over 4 weeks. It has not been repeated.7

Is B. breve safe?

Adult trials reported no more adverse events than placebo. Probiotics can cause serious infections in premature infants and in people who are seriously ill or immune-compromised.6109

How long does B. breve take to work?

Trials measured results after 4 weeks (sleep, depression and aspirin-damage trials), 12 weeks (body fat), and 12 to 24 weeks (memory). None reported how early a benefit appeared, and the 24-week heat-killed B-3 trial found no strength gain.7155321112

Can B. breve be taken with antibiotics?

Health Canada's probiotic monograph says bacterial probiotics should be taken at least 2–3 hours before or after antibiotics. One antibiotic-resistant strain, PRL2020, cut the incidence of diarrhoea by about 70% in 121 children taking amoxicillin in an open-label trial; other strains were not tested this way.914

Sources

16 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

16 sources
  1. 1Effects of Bifidobacterium breve A1 on the cognitive function of older adults with memory complaints: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.RCT Benef Microbes, 2019 · PMID 31090457
  2. 2Probiotic Bifidobacterium breve in Improving Cognitive Functions of Older Adults with Suspected Mild Cognitive Impairment: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial.RCT J Alzheimers Dis, 2020 · PMID 32623402
  3. 3Body Fat Reduction Effect of Bifidobacterium breve B-3: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo Comparative Clinical Trial.RCT Nutrients, 2022 · PMID 36615686
  4. 4Gut Microbiome and Metabolome Alterations in Overweight or Obese Adult Population after Weight-Loss Bifidobacterium breve BBr60 Intervention: A Randomized Controlled Trial.RCT Int J Mol Sci, 2024 · PMID 39456659
  5. 5Bifidobacterium breve Bif195 ameliorates aspirin-induced gastric mucosal damage: A randomised, double blind, placebo-controlled crossover trial.Crossover RCT Aliment Pharmacol Ther, 2024 · PMID 38036761
  6. 6Safety of Bifidobacterium breve, Bif195, employing a human exercise-induced intestinal permeability model: a randomised, double-blinded, placebo-controlled, parallel group trial.RCT Benef Microbes, 2022 · PMID 35866597
  7. 7Bifidobacterium breve CCFM1025 Improves Sleep Quality via Regulating the Activity of the HPA Axis: A Randomized Clinical Trial.RCT Nutrients, 2023 · PMID 37960353
  8. 8Bifidobacterium breve M-16V as a Probiotic for Preterm Infants: A Strain-Specific Systematic Review.Systematic review JPEN J Parenter Enteral Nutr, 2018 · PMID 28796951
  9. 9Probiotics (Natural Health Product monograph, April 24, 2026)Guideline Health Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate, 2026 · webprod.hc-sc.gc.ca
  10. 10Probiotics: Usefulness and SafetyFact sheet National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), 2019 · nccih.nih.gov
  11. 11Effect of Probiotic Bifidobacterium breve in Improving Cognitive Function and Preventing Brain Atrophy in Older Patients with Suspected Mild Cognitive Impairment: Results of a 24-Week Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial.RCT J Alzheimers Dis, 2022 · PMID 35570493
  12. 12Effects of Heat-Killed Bifidobacterium breve B-3, a Postbiotic, on Muscle Mass-Related Parameters in Patients with Sarcopenia: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Pilot Trial.Pilot RCT Nutrients, 2026 · PMID 42797058
  13. 13Eight weeks of treatment with probiotic Bifidobacterium breve, Bif195 lowers fatigue scores in patients with diarrhoea-predominant irritable bowel syndrome: results from a randomised, clinical trial.RCT Front Nutr, 2025 · PMID 41648756
  14. 14Bifidobacterium breve PRL2020 mitigates antibiotic-induced gut symptoms and dysbiosis in children treated with amoxicillin or amoxicillin-clavulanate.Open-label trial Int Microbiol, 2026 · PMID 42234385
  15. 15Bifidobacterium breve CCFM1025 attenuates major depression disorder via regulating gut microbiome and tryptophan metabolism: A randomized clinical trial.RCT Brain Behav Immun, 2022 · PMID 34875345
  16. 16Ability of Bifidobacterium breve 702258 to transfer from mother to infant: the MicrobeMom randomized controlled trial.RCT Am J Obstet Gynecol MFM, 2023 · PMID 37142190

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, key facts, studied doses, interactions, who should avoid, forms, FAQ, questions, relatedAdded five strain-named trials: A1 for 24 weeks in 115 older adults with suspected MCI (2022, subscale gains only, grade C), heat-killed B-3 for sarcopenia (2026 pilot, no strength gain, grade D), Bif195 in diarrhoea-predominant IBS (2025, primary outcome missed, grade D; n and dose from full text), PRL2020 with amoxicillin in 121 children (2026, open-label, grade D) and CCFM1025 in major depression (2022, grade D). Added the Health Canada antibiotic-spacing direction as an interaction and a pregnancy note citing the MicrobeMom trial (LactMed and LiverTox have no probiotic entry). Replaced the "What is B. breve?" FAQ with antibiotics, added a time-to-effect FAQ, page questions and links. Not added: a 2026 BBr60 report that appears to be the same 75-person trial already cited, a 33-person Bif195 Crohn's trial (no effect), small 207-1, BB05 and M-16V mood trials, and a 2026 corrigendum to the A1 2020 trial (PMID 41401019) whose text could not be opened; that row's numbers still match the PubMed abstract.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, journal and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for each cited row.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
allAdversarial review pass: every number in each evidence row's result, dose, duration, n and population fields was machine-checked against its PubMed abstract, and figures not in an abstract were confirmed in the PMC full text (noted per row). Unverified study-country, funding and mechanism wording was removed or sourced, rows whose sample size could not be confirmed were dropped, and retraction, erratum and expression-of-concern flags were checked on every PMID (two errata, noted on their rows; no retractions). Page set indexable.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.