Raspberry Ketone
Also called 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanone, rheosmin, frambinone.
Best grade D across 2 graded outcomes Other Last checked
The short answer
From 11 sourcesRaspberry ketone is the main aroma compound of red raspberries and a common flavouring. No published trial has tested it alone in people. The two human trials used blends with caffeine, capsaicin and bitter orange, so its own effect cannot be separated. Supplement amounts (100–1,400 mg/day) far exceed food exposure, and toxicity data are limited to rodents.
Every graded outcome on this page
2 rows · line = participantsKey facts
- Typical label amounts
- Internet products recommended 100–1,400 mg/day3
- In food
- Up to 4.3 mg per kg of raspberries3
- Safety margin
- Based on a rat NOAEL of 280 mg/kg/day, the margin of safety was 165 at 100 mg/day and only 12 at 1,400 mg/day3
- Mouse toxicity
- A single 640 mg/kg dose killed 6 of 14 male mice within 2 days6
- Label accuracy
- In a 2025 lab analysis, 60% of supplements declaring raspberry ketone content did not match the label, most containing less10
What it is
Raspberry ketone is the aroma compound of red raspberries, sold in high doses as a weight-loss supplement.
How it works
ProposedForms, side by side
2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.
Raspberry Ketone forms compared
2 forms| 2 forms | Capsules | Weight-loss blends containing raspberry ketone |
|---|---|---|
| Absorption in people | No human absorption data. In mice it was absorbed within about 15 minutes, and total exposure was almost double in obese mice.7 | No head-to-head human data.1 |
| GI tolerance | No human tolerability data for raspberry ketone alone; toxicological studies are limited to acute and subchronic rat studies.3 | An 8-week blend trial reported no differences in heart rate, blood pressure, blood chemistry or adverse events versus placebo.1 |
| Studied for | Not tested alone in people | Diet-and-exercise weight-loss trials (8 weeks) |
- Raspberry ketone capsules
- Absorption in people
- No human absorption data. In mice it was absorbed within about 15 minutes, and total exposure was almost double in obese mice.7
- GI tolerance
- No human tolerability data for raspberry ketone alone; toxicological studies are limited to acute and subchronic rat studies.3
- Studied for
- Not tested alone in people
- Weight-loss blends containing raspberry ketone
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Trial map
2 graded outcomes, largest study first2 graded outcomes: 1 improved, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2013 randomized trial of 45 people on body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend), found an improvement.
1Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend)
Improved · Grade D · RCT, 45 people, 2013
Adults with obesity on an 8-week calorie-restricted diet and exercise programme
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend) | Improved | 45 | Grade D · RCT, 2013 | Adults with obesity on an 8-week calorie-restricted diet and exercise programme |
| Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend) | No effect | 36 | Grade D · RCT, 2018 | Overweight men and women on 8 weeks of calorie restriction and supervised exercise |
Every graded row
2 rowsDGrade DBody weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend)Weight and body fatImprovedRCT
n 45 · 2013
Improved Body weight fell 2.0% vs 0.5% with placebo and fat mass 7.8% vs 2.8%; waist and hip girth also fell more. No differences in heart rate, blood pressure, blood chemistry or adverse events.
- Design
- RCT, n = 45, 2013
- Population
- Adults with obesity on an 8-week calorie-restricted diet and exercise programme
- Form
- Blend of raspberry ketone, caffeine, capsaicin, garlic, ginger and Citrus aurantium
- Dose
- Daily blend (raspberry ketone amount not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Source
- Reference 1 · PubMed 23601452 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DBody weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend)Weight and body fatNo effectRCT
n 36 · 2018
No effect Weight, fat mass and body-fat percentage fell in both groups; the abstract reports no between-group difference for these. Leptin fell and adiponectin rose more with the blend, and women on the blend lost more hip girth.
- Design
- RCT, n = 36, 2018
- Population
- Overweight men and women on 8 weeks of calorie restriction and supervised exercise
- Form
- Blend of raspberry ketone, capsaicin, caffeine, garlic and Citrus aurantium (4 capsules/day)
- Dose
- 4 capsules/day (raspberry ketone amount not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Source
- Reference 2 · PubMed 29111889 (opens PubMed)
Human observations on the skin (not graded)
1 noteTopical use, not supplements; no placebo group is described in the abstract.
- Hair and skin
- Applied to the scalp and face as a 0.01% solution, raspberry ketone was followed by hair regrowth in 5 of 10 people with alopecia at 5 months and higher cheek skin elasticity in 5 women at 2 weeks. The study was mainly in mice and too small and uncontrolled to grade.11
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
A 100 mg capsule vs raspberries
At up to 4.3 mg per kg of fruit, 100 mg of raspberry ketone would take at least 23 kg of raspberries.3
Ingredient effect unknown
Labels are not a reliable guide
With 6 in 10 analysed products off their declared raspberry ketone content, the mg on a label may not be what a capsule contains.10
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
Interactions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
What Raspberry Ketone meets
0 cited rows 9 tested togetherMedicines 0
No medicine rows in our sources.
Supplements and foods 5
- Tested together in a graded trial
Choose a medicine or supplement above to read its cited rows here.
Also cited: 9 tested together
Bitter OrangeBitter Orange page
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
CaffeineCaffeine page
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
CapsaicinCapsaicin page
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
GarlicGarlic page
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
GingerGinger page
Tested together
Body weight and fat mass with diet and exercise (multi-ingredient blend). Graded on the Raspberry Ketone page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Interactions
0 agentsNone found in our sources.
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Raspberry Ketone and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Raspberry Ketone.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
4 groups- Pregnancy and breastfeeding
- Computer (QSAR) models flagged possible effects on reproduction and development, and no human safety data exist. LactMed covers raspberry leaf but has no record for raspberry ketone.3
- People with heart conditions
- QSAR models flagged potential cardiotoxic effects; the blends tested in people also contained caffeine and Citrus aurantium (bitter orange).31
- Anyone considering high doses
- The lowest recommended supplement dose (100 mg) is 56 times the toxicological threshold of concern for this class of substance, and safety data are limited to rodents.3
Safety first
3 notesHigh intake, few toxicity data.
- Rodent findings
- In mice, a single 200 mg/kg dose cut 24-hour food intake by 24% in males, and 640 mg/kg cut it by 49–77%; the authors say doses that reliably suppress feeding are linked to pathology: 640 mg/kg killed 6 of 14 male mice and caused white-fat atrophy, spleen changes and thymus shrinkage.6
- Thin safety data
- Toxicology studies are limited to acute and subchronic rat studies; the authors call for further testing given high supplement intakes.3
How the body handles raspberry ketone
2 notesHow to read the label
What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.
How to read the label
5 checksBlend vs single ingredient
Label amounts may be wrong
Among supplements declaring a raspberry ketone amount, 60% did not match the label in a 2025 analysis, most containing less.10
Label dose vs food exposure
Labels suggest 100–1,400 mg/day, while raspberries contain up to 4.3 mg/kg.3
Regulatory status
In the UK the pure compound is regarded as a novel food that needs authorisation before sale, though it remained on sale online in 2015.3
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
7 answersDoes raspberry ketone help with weight loss?
Does raspberry ketone reduce appetite?
Do raspberry ketone labels list the right amount?
Often not. A 2025 lab analysis found that 60% of supplements declaring raspberry ketone content did not match their labels, most containing less.10
Is raspberry ketone safe?
How much raspberry ketone is in raspberries?
Up to 4.3 mg per kg, far below the 100–1,400 mg/day suggested on supplement labels.3
Does raspberry ketone interact with medicines?
Is raspberry ketone natural?
It occurs naturally in raspberries and is used as a flavouring; most supplement amounts cannot come from fruit.3
Sources
11 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
11 sources- 1Eight weeks of supplementation with a multi-ingredient weight loss product enhances body composition, reduces hip and waist girth, and increases energy levels in overweight men and women.RCT J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2013 · PMID 23601452
- 2The Combined Effects of Exercise, Diet, and a Multi-Ingredient Dietary Supplement on Body Composition and Adipokine Changes in Overweight Adults.RCT J Am Coll Nutr, 2018 · PMID 29111889
- 3Raspberry ketone in food supplements--High intake, few toxicity data--A cause for safety concern?Review Regul Toxicol Pharmacol, 2015 · PMID 26160596
- 4Pharmacological Exploration of Phenolic Compound: Raspberry Ketone-Update 2020.Review Plants (Basel), 2021 · PMID 34209554
- 5Raspberry ketone fails to reduce adiposity beyond decreasing food intake in C57BL/6 mice fed a high-fat diet.Animal study Food Funct, 2017 · PMID 28378858
- 6Acute feeding suppression and toxicity of raspberry ketone [4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanone] in mice.Animal study Food Chem Toxicol, 2020 · PMID 32565406
- 7Influence of Diet-Induced Obesity on the Bioavailability and Metabolism of Raspberry Ketone (4-(4-Hydroxyphenyl)-2-Butanone) in Mice.Animal study Mol Nutr Food Res, 2020 · PMID 32052560
- 8Substances Added to Food: 4-(p-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanone (raspberry ketone)Database U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2026 · hfpappexternal.fda.gov
- 9FTC Settlement Bans Marketer Behind ‘Fat Burner’ Diet Pills from Manufacturing, Marketing Weight-Loss ProductsSafety communication U.S. Federal Trade Commission, 2014 · ftc.gov
- 10Evaluation of quality and authenticity of raspberry ketone supplements by a multianalytical approach.Lab study J Chromatogr A, 2025 · PMID 40513409
- 11Effect of topical application of raspberry ketone on dermal production of insulin-like growth factor-I in mice and on hair growth and skin elasticity in humans.Open-label trial Growth Horm IGF Res, 2008 · PMID 18321745
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
4 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| key facts, who should be careful, label guide, research notes, insights, FAQ | Audit check: PubMed searched for raspberry ketone human trials 2017–2026; no new oral trial exists, so the evidence table is unchanged. Interactions checked (no NCCIH, ODS, LactMed or MSKCC entry; no published case or PK study), so the list stays empty with a note. Added a 2025 label-accuracy analysis (PMID 40513409) and a small topical human observation as an ungraded research note (PMID 18321745). | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit |
| all | Independent adversarial review: corrected the mouse feeding note (feeding fell at 200 mg/kg too; the abstract links only the doses that reliably suppress feeding to pathology); added US status from FDA’s Substances Added to Food listing (synthetic flavouring, 21 CFR 172.515) and the 2014 FTC action against raspberry ketone weight-loss marketing. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
| all | Adversarial review pass: every evidence row, key fact, interaction, safety note and FAQ re-read against its PubMed abstract or source page, and every number machine-checked against the cited source text. Retraction, expression-of-concern and withdrawn checks on all PMIDs: none flagged. Fixes: unsupported "industry-associated" and "synthetic" descriptors removed. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
| all | Initial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.