Calanus Oil

Also called Calanus oil, Calanus finmarchicus oil, copepod oil, zooplankton oil, wax ester omega-3. One of 4 forms of omega-3 (fish oil, krill oil, algal oil) compared on this page.

The short answer

From 14 sources

Calanus oil is an omega-3 oil from a tiny crustacean, with EPA and DHA bound as wax esters. It raised the omega-3 index as much as fish or krill oil at similar EPA+DHA. In trials of 2 to 4 g a day, it did not improve VO2max or memory, and insulin-resistance gains were small or limited to subgroups.

Key facts

What it is
Oil from Calanus finmarchicus, a marine crustacean; over 86% of its fatty acids are wax esters7
Omega-3 index (62 adults)
+1.09 points on about 242 mg EPA+DHA a day, similar to fish oil (+1.0) and krill oil (+1.15)5
Low EPA+DHA per gram
4 g of Calanus oil supplied 416 mg EPA+DHA, about half a single 840 mg Lovaza capsule7
VO2max (58 adults)
2 g a day for 6 months: no change4
Safety (117 adults)
2 g a day for a year: no change in safety labs; slightly more eczema, not significant6

What it is

Calanus oil comes from the North Atlantic copepod Calanus finmarchicus; its omega-3s EPA and DHA are mostly bound as wax esters.

How it works

Proposed

Calanus oil delivers EPA and DHA as wax esters, which are digested more slowly than fish-oil triglycerides, along with plant sterols and astaxanthin. Trials show the omega-3s are absorbed and raise red-cell EPA+DHA; any effects beyond omega-3 status are unproven.275

Every omega-3 (fish oil, krill oil, algal oil) form, side by side

4 forms named in our sources. 2 have a page of their own; the rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Omega-3 (fish oil, krill oil, algal oil) forms compared

4 forms · 2 with a page · Calanus Oil highlighted
Omega-3 (fish oil, krill oil, algal oil) forms compared: 4 forms by 5 attributes. Calanus Oil is this page. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
4 formsCalanus OilYou are hereFish oil (triglyceride, ethyl ester, re-esterified triglyceride)Krill oil (phospholipid form)Read the pageAlgal oil (mainly DHA)
Form-specific evidenceOutcomes tested on this form
Grade CInsulin resistance (HOMA) in obesityTested this formRCT, n 266, 2025
Grade COmega-3 index in older adultsTested this formRCT, n 72, 2021
+6 more on its page
Not graded
Grade BTriglycerides in severe hypertriglyceridemiaTested this formRCT, n 520, 2022
Grade CTriglycerides in borderline high or high triglyceridesTested this formRCT, n 300, 2014
+6 more on its page
Not graded
Studied dosesRange in its trials2,000–4,000mgmg of Calanus oil per day (about 104 mg EPA+DHA per gram)6274No data yet500–4,000mgg of krill oil per day9235111312No data yet
Absorption in peopleSame omega-3 index rise as fish and krill oil at matched EPA+DHA; plasma EPA exposure higher than ethyl esters in a single-dose study.57Natural and re-esterified triglycerides and free fatty acids have somewhat higher bioavailability than ethyl esters, but all forms raise plasma EPA and DHA.16Matched-dose trials show similar blood EPA+DHA to fish oil; some small studies suggest somewhat higher uptake, others do not.671DHA from algal-oil capsules matched cooked salmon in a small 2-week trial.81
GI toleranceNo effect on safety labs over a year at 2 g a day; slightly more eczema, not significant after multiple-comparison control.6Usually mild: fishy taste, bad breath, heartburn, nausea, GI discomfort, diarrhea, headache, odoriferous sweat.1No head-to-head tolerance data in our sources. Krill are crustaceans; prescription omega-3 labels advise caution with fish or shellfish hypersensitivity.9Generally well tolerated in the comparison trial.8
Studied forOmega-3 status, insulin resistance, fitness, memory, body fatCardiovascular events, triglycerides, atrial fibrillation, dry eyeBlood EPA+DHA levels (bioavailability)Blood DHA levels; the vegan option
  1. Calanus OilYou are here
    Form-specific evidence
    Grade CInsulin resistance (HOMA) in obesityTested this formRCT, n 266, 2025
    Grade COmega-3 index in older adultsTested this formRCT, n 72, 2021
    +6 more on its page
    Studied doses
    2,000–4,000mgmg of Calanus oil per day (about 104 mg EPA+DHA per gram)6274
    Absorption in people
    Same omega-3 index rise as fish and krill oil at matched EPA+DHA; plasma EPA exposure higher than ethyl esters in a single-dose study.57
    GI tolerance
    No effect on safety labs over a year at 2 g a day; slightly more eczema, not significant after multiple-comparison control.6
    Studied for
    Omega-3 status, insulin resistance, fitness, memory, body fat
  2. Fish oil (triglyceride, ethyl ester, re-esterified triglyceride)
    Form-specific evidence
    Not graded
    Studied doses
    No data yet
    Absorption in people
    Natural and re-esterified triglycerides and free fatty acids have somewhat higher bioavailability than ethyl esters, but all forms raise plasma EPA and DHA.16
    GI tolerance
    Usually mild: fishy taste, bad breath, heartburn, nausea, GI discomfort, diarrhea, headache, odoriferous sweat.1
    Studied for
    Cardiovascular events, triglycerides, atrial fibrillation, dry eye
  3. Krill oil (phospholipid form)Read the page
    Form-specific evidence
    Grade BTriglycerides in severe hypertriglyceridemiaTested this formRCT, n 520, 2022
    Grade CTriglycerides in borderline high or high triglyceridesTested this formRCT, n 300, 2014
    +6 more on its page
    Studied doses
    500–4,000mgg of krill oil per day9235111312
    Absorption in people
    Matched-dose trials show similar blood EPA+DHA to fish oil; some small studies suggest somewhat higher uptake, others do not.671
    GI tolerance
    No head-to-head tolerance data in our sources. Krill are crustaceans; prescription omega-3 labels advise caution with fish or shellfish hypersensitivity.9
    Studied for
    Blood EPA+DHA levels (bioavailability)
  4. Algal oil (mainly DHA)
    Form-specific evidence
    Not graded
    Studied doses
    No data yet
    Absorption in people
    DHA from algal-oil capsules matched cooked salmon in a small 2-week trial.81
    GI tolerance
    Generally well tolerated in the comparison trial.8
    Studied for
    Blood DHA levels; the vegan option
No data yeta gap in our data, not a negative findingScroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Grade C for calanus oil itself. 8 outcomes on this page were tested with calanus oil: insulin resistance (homa) in obesity; omega-3 index in older adults; omega-3 index vs fish oil and krill oil; maximal oxygen uptake (vo2max); short-term memory and bdnf with exercise training; functional fitness with exercise in older women; insulin resistance in obesity with prediabetes; plasma epa and dha after a single dose (RCT, n 266, 2025). Rows that tested other or mixed forms describe omega-3 (fish oil, krill oil, algal oil) in general, not calanus oil. For the overall evidence, see the Omega-3 (fish oil, krill oil, algal oil) page.

Trial map

9 graded outcomes, largest study first

9 graded outcomes: 5 improved, 2 mixed, 2 no effect. The largest, a 2025 randomized trial of 266 people on insulin resistance (HOMA) in obesity, found mixed results.

1Insulin resistance (HOMA) in obesity

Mixed · Grade C · RCT, 266 people, 2025

Adults with obesity and different insulin-resistance phenotypes

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Insulin resistance (HOMA) in obesityMixed266Grade C · RCT, 2025Adults with obesity and different insulin-resistance phenotypes
Body fat with exercise in older untrained adultsImproved134Grade D · RCT, 2020Untrained adults around age 59 (96 women, 38 men), BMI about 28
Omega-3 index in older adultsImproved72Grade C · RCT, 2021Healthy adults around age 59 (BMI about 28) in a twice-weekly exercise programme
Omega-3 index vs fish oil and krill oilImproved62Grade C · RCT, 2023Healthy adults (mean age 30)
Maximal oxygen uptake (VO2max)No effect58Grade C · RCT, 2022Healthy, fit adults aged 30 to 50
Short-term memory and BDNF with exercise trainingNo effect55Grade D · RCT, 2022Healthy women aged 65 to 80 in a 16-week exercise program
Functional fitness with exercise in older womenMixed55Grade D · RCT, 2020Healthy sedentary women aged 65 to 80 in a 16-week exercise program
Insulin resistance in obesity with prediabetesImproved43Grade D · RCT, 2022Adults with obesity (mean BMI 31.7) and prediabetes
Plasma EPA and DHA after a single doseImproved18Grade D · PK study, 2016Healthy adults
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

9 rows

Showing 9 of 9 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CInsulin resistance (HOMA) in obesityInsulin resistance · tested calanus oilSubgroup gains onlyRCT
n 266 · 2025

Mixed The effect on HOMA depended on baseline HOMA (interaction p = 0.011); 2 g a day plus lifestyle change improved HOMA in a post hoc test, and 4 g a day helped only people with mild insulin resistance.

Design
RCT, n = 266, 2025
Population
Adults with obesity and different insulin-resistance phenotypes
Form
Calanus oil, with or without a lifestyle program
Dose
2 or 4 g a day
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 40278260 (opens PubMed)
Grade COmega-3 index in older adultsOmega-3 status · tested calanus oil+1.3 pointsRCT
n 72 · 2021

Improved The omega-3 index rose from 6.07% to 7.37% with Calanus oil and did not change significantly with exercise alone (6.01% to 6.15%).

Design
RCT, n = 72, 2021
Population
Healthy adults around age 59 (BMI about 28) in a twice-weekly exercise programme
Form
Calanus oil plus exercise vs exercise alone
Dose
2 g a day (109 mg EPA, 87 mg DHA and 124 mg stearidonic acid)
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 11 · PubMed 32698912 (opens PubMed)
Grade COmega-3 index vs fish oil and krill oilOmega-3 status · tested calanus oilSame rise as fish oilRCT
n 62 · 2023

Improved The omega-3 index rose 1.09 points with Calanus oil, 1.0 with fish oil and 1.15 with krill oil (all p < 0.001), with no difference between oils.

Design
RCT, n = 62, 2023
Population
Healthy adults (mean age 30)
Form
Calanus oil vs fish oil vs krill oil
Dose
4 capsules a day (242 mg EPA+DHA)
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 36960737 (opens PubMed)
Grade CMaximal oxygen uptake (VO2max)Fitness · tested calanus oilNo effectRCT
n 58 · 2022

No effect VO2max at 6 months was 49.7 vs 49.5 mL/kg/min with placebo, and clinical measures did not change.

Design
RCT, n = 58, 2022
Population
Healthy, fit adults aged 30 to 50
Form
Calanus oil vs placebo
Dose
2 g a day
Duration
6 months
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 35998897 (opens PubMed)
Grade DBody fat with exercise in older untrained adultsBody fat · other or mixed formsSome fat loss with exerciseRCT
n 134 · 2020

Improved Body fat fell most with exercise plus Calanus oil (-1.70 kg) and exercise plus diet advice (-1.41 kg); glucose and blood lipids did not change in any group.

Design
RCT, n = 134, 2020
Population
Untrained adults around age 59 (96 women, 38 men), BMI about 28
Form
Exercise plus Calanus oil vs exercise alone, exercise plus diet advice, or control
Dose
2 g a day
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 8 · PubMed 32708396 (opens PubMed)
Grade DShort-term memory and BDNF with exercise trainingMemory · tested calanus oilNo added effectRCT
n 55 · 2022

No effect Memory improved with exercise in both groups, with no added effect of Calanus oil; BDNF did not change.

Design
RCT, n = 55, 2022
Population
Healthy women aged 65 to 80 in a 16-week exercise program
Form
Calanus oil vs placebo, both with exercise
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
16 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 35990804 (opens PubMed)
Grade DFunctional fitness with exercise in older womenFitness · tested calanus oilChair stand onlyRCT
n 55 · 2020

Mixed Fitness and body composition improved with exercise in both groups, with no added effect of Calanus oil on most measures; lower-body strength (chair stand test) improved more with Calanus oil.

Design
RCT, n = 55, 2020
Population
Healthy sedentary women aged 65 to 80 in a 16-week exercise program
Form
Calanus oil vs sunflower-oil placebo, both with exercise
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
16 weeks
Source
Reference 12 · PubMed 32074977 (opens PubMed)
Grade DInsulin resistance in obesity with prediabetesInsulin resistance · tested calanus oilHOMA-IR -0.9RCT
n 43 · 2022

Improved After 12 weeks of Calanus oil, fasting insulin (-2.9 mU/L), HOMA-IR (-0.9) and a liver insulin-resistance index improved; HbA1c, 2-hour glucose and muscle insulin sensitivity did not change.

Design
RCT, n = 43, 2022
Population
Adults with obesity (mean BMI 31.7) and prediabetes
Form
Calanus oil vs paraffin-oil placebo
Dose
2 g a day
Duration
12 weeks, with a further check at week 16
Source
Reference 10 · PubMed 35057577 (opens PubMed)
Grade DPlasma EPA and DHA after a single doseAbsorption · tested calanus oilAbsorbed like ethyl estersPK study
n 18 · 2016

Improved Both raised plasma EPA and DHA; total EPA+DHA exposure did not differ, and plasma EPA exposure over 48 to 72 hours was higher with Calanus oil (514 vs 313 µg·h/mL).

Design
PK study, n = 18, 2016
Population
Healthy adults
Form
Calanus oil vs Lovaza (omega-3 ethyl esters)
Dose
4 g Calanus oil (260 mg EPA + 156 mg DHA) vs 1 Lovaza capsule (465 mg EPA + 375 mg DHA)
Duration
Single doses, 72 hours of sampling
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 27604086 (opens PubMed)
Grades follow how we grade evidence. Rows tested with other forms describe omega-3 (fish oil, krill oil, algal oil) in general.

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Same omega-3 index, more capsules

Matching fish oil's 248 mg EPA+DHA took 4 Calanus capsules vs 1 fish-oil capsule, with the same omega-3 index rise.5

How we got this: 2023 three-oil RCT

Maker-linked research

Two trials were partly funded or supplied by Calanus oil makers; independent trials of fitness and memory were null.2843

How we got this: Funding and conflict statements in the cited abstracts

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 2 g a day of Calanus oil for up to one year to 4 g a day for 12 weeks; 4 g supplied about 416 mg of EPA+DHA.6274

When trials measured an effect

1 outcome
How long trials ran before effects were measured
OutcomeMeasured atBasis
Omega-3 indexRaised by 12 weeks; neither trial abstract reports an earlier time pointTwo 12-week trials of 2 g a day and 4 capsules a day115
When each outcome was assessed in the cited trials. It is not a promise of when anyone will notice a change.

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Calanus Oil meets

2 cited rows

Medicines 2

Calanus Oil2 medicines · 0 supplements

Supplements and foods 0

No supplement rows in our sources.

  • Reference summary
Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

2 agents
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines2
Warfarin and similar anticoagulantsFor omega-3s in general, ODS says fish oil might raise INR with warfarin, though most research finds 3 to 6 g a day of fish oil does not significantly change anticoagulation. LiverTox lists a higher risk of bleeding with omega-3s, particularly with anticoagulant and antiplatelet drugs.114NIH fact sheet
Antiplatelet drugse.g. aspirin, clopidogrelLiverTox notes omega-3 fatty acids can affect platelet function and raise bleeding risk, particularly with antithrombotic therapy. No Calanus-specific data.14Review

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Calanus Oil and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Calanus Oil.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

7 groups
Crustacean source
Calanus finmarchicus is a marine crustacean; the trials here did not report results in people with shellfish allergy.7
Blood thinners
ODS notes fish oil might raise INR with warfarin, and LiverTox lists a higher bleeding risk with omega-3s alongside anticoagulant or antiplatelet drugs; people on these medicines should tell their clinician about omega-3 products.114
Eczema
In the year-long safety trial, eczema was slightly more common on Calanus oil, though not significant and not attributed to treatment.6
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No trial has tested Calanus oil in pregnancy or breastfeeding, and LactMed has no entry for it, so there are no reliable safety data. The trials cited here enrolled non-pregnant adults; see the arsenic note below.5613
Arsenic content
A 2022 analysis of 32 marine supplements found higher total arsenic (over 1,000 ng/g) in Calanus oil, krill oil, seaweed and unprocessed fish products, and arsenic hydrocarbons (169 to 2,048 ng/g) in Calanus oil and unprocessed fish and fish liver oils; inorganic arsenic was found only in seaweed products.13
Liver
LiverTox gives omega-3 fatty acids a likelihood score of E (unlikely cause of clinically apparent liver injury). It has no Calanus-specific entry.14
Medicines and surgery
NCCIH advises telling your health care providers about every supplement you use.9
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

1 checks
Read EPA+DHA, not oil weight

Calanus oil carries about 104 mg EPA+DHA per gram, so a 2 g serving gives roughly 210 mg, far less than most fish-oil servings.75

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
Does Calanus oil help insulin resistance or weight?

Mixed. In 43 adults with obesity and prediabetes, 2 g a day lowered fasting insulin and HOMA-IR within the Calanus group, without changing HbA1c. In 266 adults with obesity, effects on HOMA appeared only in subgroups or with lifestyle change. With exercise, 2 g a day matched diet advice for fat loss in a pilot.1028

Does Calanus oil improve fitness or memory?

Mostly no. 2 g a day for 6 months did not change VO2max in fit adults, and in older women on an exercise program it added nothing for memory or most fitness measures, though lower-body strength (chair stand) improved more than with placebo.4312

Can I take Calanus oil if I have a shellfish allergy?

There are no data. Calanus finmarchicus is a marine crustacean, and none of the trials cited here reported results in people with shellfish allergy, so people with a crustacean allergy should ask their clinician first.7

Is Calanus oil safe?

In 117 adults, 2 g a day for a year did not change safety labs or vital signs; eczema was slightly, not significantly, more common.6

Is Calanus oil better than fish oil?

For omega-3 status, no: at about 245 mg EPA+DHA a day, Calanus, fish and krill oil raised the omega-3 index by the same amount over 12 weeks.5

How much EPA and DHA is in Calanus oil?

In a PK study, 4 g supplied 260 mg EPA and 156 mg DHA (416 mg total), about 104 mg per gram. A 2 g serving in an older-adult trial gave 109 mg EPA and 87 mg DHA. Trials used 2 to 4 g a day, well below the EPA+DHA of most fish-oil servings.7115

Sources

14 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

14 sources
  1. 1Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals (updated August 22, 2025)Fact sheet NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2025 · ods.od.nih.gov
  2. 2Calanus Oil and Lifestyle Interventions Improve Glucose Homeostasis in Obese Subjects with Insulin Resistance.RCT Mar Drugs, 2025 · PMID 40278260
  3. 3Calanus Oil Supplementation Does Not Further Improve Short-Term Memory or Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor in Older Women Who Underwent Exercise Training.RCT Clin Interv Aging, 2022 · PMID 35990804
  4. 4No Effect of Calanus Oil on Maximal Oxygen Uptake in Healthy Participants: A Randomized Controlled Study.RCT Int J Sport Nutr Exerc Metab, 2022 · PMID 35998897
  5. 5Equal bioavailability of omega-3 PUFA from Calanus oil, fish oil and krill oil: A 12-week randomized parallel study.RCT Lipids, 2023 · PMID 36960737
  6. 6Clinical safety evaluation of marine oil derived from Calanus finmarchicus.RCT Regul Toxicol Pharmacol, 2016 · PMID 27233921
  7. 7Wax Ester Rich Oil From The Marine Crustacean, Calanus finmarchicus, is a Bioavailable Source of EPA and DHA for Human Consumption.PK study Lipids, 2016 · PMID 27604086
  8. 8Effects of Exercise Combined with a Healthy Diet or Calanus finmarchicus Oil Supplementation on Body Composition and Metabolic Markers-A Pilot Study.RCT Nutrients, 2020 · PMID 32708396
  9. 9Using Dietary Supplements WiselyFact sheet National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), 2019 · nccih.nih.gov
  10. 10Marine Oil from C. finmarchicus Enhances Glucose Homeostasis and Liver Insulin Resistance in Obese Prediabetic Individuals.RCT Nutrients, 2022 · PMID 35057577
  11. 11Intake of Calanus finmarchicus oil for 12 weeks improves omega-3 index in healthy older subjects engaging in an exercise programme.RCT Br J Nutr, 2021 · PMID 32698912
  12. 12Effect of Calanus Oil Supplementation and 16 Week Exercise Program on Selected Fitness Parameters in Older Women.RCT Nutrients, 2020 · PMID 32074977
  13. 13Exposure to arsenolipids and inorganic arsenic from marine-sourced dietary supplements.Observational Chemosphere, 2022 · PMID 35182530
  14. 14Omega-3 Fatty AcidsDatabase LiverTox (NCBI Bookshelf), 2017 · ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence; interactions; who should avoid; FAQ; questions; time to effectPubMed search of every Calanus human study through 2026 found three trials missing from the table: omega-3 index in older adults (72, 2021), insulin resistance in prediabetes (43, 2022) and fitness in older women (55, 2020), now added. Added a pregnancy and breastfeeding note (no LactMed entry; no data), an arsenic note from a 2022 analysis of marine supplements, the LiverTox Omega-3 Fatty Acids entry (NBK548910, score E) for liver and bleeding risk, an antiplatelet interaction, a time-to-effect row, a shellfish-allergy FAQ, page questions and goal-hub links. A companion report from the older-women trial on cardiac output (2021) was left out as a secondary measure.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
GoalsAdded the Brain & focus goal (focus): the page already has a graded human row on a memory or thinking outcome (“Short-term memory and BDNF with exercise training”, Grade D). No evidence row, grade or text changed.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: Update
allInitial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, year, journal) and each cited abstract read; numbers taken from the abstracts. Maker funding disclosed (Zooca Lipids 2025; capsules from Calanus AS 2020); null VO2max and memory trials shown. Interaction from the ODS omega-3 fact sheet (omega-3s in general). Filed as a form of omega-3. Where to buy: we didn’t list a product; none of the stores we checked sells Calanus oil.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.