Arachidonic Acid

Also called ARA, AA, 20:4n-6, arachidonate.

The short answer

From 9 sources

Arachidonic acid is an omega-6 fat that the body turns into prostaglandins. In resistance-trained men, three small trials disagree: two found no strength, muscle or protein-synthesis advantage at 1–1.5 g a day, while a partly industry-funded trial reported more lean mass. Infant-formula and older-adult trials paired it with DHA or measured only markers.

Key facts

Strength trials
Two trials of about 30 trained men each: one found no strength or muscle advantage over placebo at 1 g/day for 50 days, the other reported gains in lean mass, strength and power over 8 weeks12
Muscle protein synthesis
1.5 g/day for 4 weeks did not change muscle protein synthesis or anabolic signalling after a workout in 19 trained men6
Funding
The positive muscle trial was partly funded by the maker of a commercial ARA product (X-Factor Advanced)2
Older adults
240 mg/day for 1 month shortened P300 latency, a brain-response marker, in 25 healthy older men3
Safety-marker trial
240 or 720 mg/day for 4 weeks raised blood ARA in a dose-dependent way without raising ARA-derived metabolites or changing clinical blood tests5
Washout
Blood ARA returned to near baseline within 4 weeks of stopping5
Adult safety review
A 2019 systematic review of 14 RCTs found no adverse effects in adults of up to 1,000–1,500 mg/day on blood lipids, platelet aggregation, blood clotting, immune function or inflammation7

What it is

Arachidonic acid (ARA) is a long-chain omega-6 fatty acid found in meat, eggs and fish and sold as a training supplement.

How it works

Proposed

ARA is a 20-carbon omega-6 fatty acid stored in cell-membrane phospholipids. When released, it is converted into eicosanoids such as prostaglandin E2, which are involved in inflammation and in muscle repair signalling. Training supplements are based on the idea that more ARA in muscle amplifies this signal; in one trial PGE2 only tended to rise, and in older adults extra ARA did not raise measured ARA metabolites.15

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Arachidonic Acid forms compared

2 forms
Arachidonic Acid forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsARA-enriched oil (fungal triglyceride) capsulesARA training supplement (1 g/day class)
Absorption in peopleRaised plasma phospholipid ARA in a dose-dependent way within 2 weeks; levels returned to near baseline 4 weeks after stopping.5Not reported in the abstracts of the training trials.1
GI toleranceNo changes in clinical blood parameters at 240 or 720 mg/day for 4 weeks.5The 50-day trial reported lower IL-6 at day 25 and no between-group differences in anabolic or catabolic hormones.1
Studied forBrain-response and heart markers in older adults; safety markersStrength, power and body composition during resistance training
  1. ARA-enriched oil (fungal triglyceride) capsules
    Absorption in people
    Raised plasma phospholipid ARA in a dose-dependent way within 2 weeks; levels returned to near baseline 4 weeks after stopping.5
    GI tolerance
    No changes in clinical blood parameters at 240 or 720 mg/day for 4 weeks.5
    Studied for
    Brain-response and heart markers in older adults; safety markers
  2. ARA training supplement (1 g/day class)
    Absorption in people
    Not reported in the abstracts of the training trials.1
    GI tolerance
    The 50-day trial reported lower IL-6 at day 25 and no between-group differences in anabolic or catabolic hormones.1
    Studied for
    Strength, power and body composition during resistance training
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

8 graded outcomes, largest study first

8 graded outcomes: 3 improved, 1 mixed, 4 no effect. The largest, a 2025 meta-analysis of 2,567 people on complications of prematurity (lung disease, retinopathy, gut and brain injury), found no effect.

1Complications of prematurity (lung disease, retinopathy, gut and brain injury)

No effect · No-effect grade · Meta-analysis, 2,567 people, 2025

Preterm infants born at 34 weeks or earlier or weighing 2,000 g or less, 11 trials

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Complications of prematurity (lung disease, retinopathy, gut and brain injury)No effect2,567No-effect grade · Meta-analysis, 2025Preterm infants born at 34 weeks or earlier or weighing 2,000 g or less, 11 trials
Cognitive development in infants given DHA plus ARAMixed1,039Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2025Infants in 9 randomized trials of DHA and ARA supplementation
Blood ARA, ARA metabolites and clinical blood tests (safety markers)No effect118Grade D · RCT, 2011Healthy Japanese men and women aged 55–70 (118 randomised to placebo, low or high dose)
Strength, body composition and anaerobic power during resistance trainingNo effect31Grade D · RCT, 2007Resistance-trained men (15 ARA, 16 placebo)
Lean mass, strength and power during 8 weeks of strength trainingImproved30Grade D · RCT, 2016Strength-trained young men (mean age 20)
Coronary flow velocity reserve (small-vessel blood flow in the heart)Improved28Grade D · RCT, 2008Japanese older adults (19 men, mean age 65)
P300 event-related potential (a brain-response marker linked to attention)Improved25Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2009Healthy older Japanese men
Muscle protein synthesis and anabolic signalling after resistance exerciseNo effect19Grade D · RCT, 2018Resistance-trained men (at least 1 year of training)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

8 rows

Showing 8 of 8 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CCognitive development in infants given DHA plus ARAInfant developmentCognition SMD +0.21Meta-analysis · 9 studies
n 1,039 · 2025

Mixed Pooled cognitive scores were slightly higher (SMD 0.21, 95% CI 0.03 to 0.38), but Bayley mental (MDI) and psychomotor (PDI) scores did not differ overall; both were higher in the subgroup with a DHA:ARA ratio of 0.5 to 1.

Design
Meta-analysis, 9 studies, n = 1,039, 2025
Population
Infants in 9 randomized trials of DHA and ARA supplementation
Form
DHA plus ARA (combined, in formula or supplements)
Dose
Varied by trial; DHA:ARA ratios analysed as subgroups
Duration
Varied by trial (not given in the abstract)
Source
Reference 8 · PubMed 40292560 (opens PubMed)
Grade DBlood ARA, ARA metabolites and clinical blood tests (safety markers)Safety markersNo effectRCT
n 118 · 2011

No effect Plasma phospholipid ARA rose dose-dependently and fell back to near baseline after washout. Urinary and plasma ARA metabolites (thromboxane, prostacyclin and PGE2 markers, lipoxin A4) and clinical blood parameters for cardiovascular, inflammatory and allergic disease did not change.

Design
RCT, n = 118, 2011
Population
Healthy Japanese men and women aged 55–70 (118 randomised to placebo, low or high dose)
Form
ARA-enriched oil vs placebo
Dose
240 or 720 mg ARA/day
Duration
4 weeks, then 4-week washout
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 22188761 (opens PubMed)
Grade DStrength, body composition and anaerobic power during resistance trainingStrength & muscleNo strength or muscle differenceRCT
n 31 · 2007

No effect Wingate relative peak power was higher after 50 days and IL-6 was lower at day 25 in the ARA group, but there were no significant differences versus placebo in body composition, strength, anabolic or catabolic hormones, or markers of muscle hypertrophy.

Design
RCT, n = 31, 2007
Population
Resistance-trained men (15 ARA, 16 placebo)
Form
Arachidonic acid vs corn-oil placebo
Dose
1 g/day
Duration
50 days
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 18045476 (opens PubMed)
Grade DLean mass, strength and power during 8 weeks of strength trainingStrength & muscle+2.9% lean mass (ARA group only)RCT
n 30 · 2016

Improved Lean body mass (+2.9%), upper-body strength (+8.7%) and peak power (+12.7%) increased only in the ARA group.

Design
RCT, n = 30, 2016
Population
Strength-trained young men (mean age 20)
Form
ARA supplement vs placebo
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 27182886 (opens PubMed)
Grade DCoronary flow velocity reserve (small-vessel blood flow in the heart)HeartImprovedRCT
n 28 · 2008

Improved Coronary flow velocity reserve rose from 3.85 to 4.46 (p = 0.0023) with the fatty acids, and hyperaemic flow velocity was higher than with placebo (73 vs 64 cm/s, p < 0.01).

Design
RCT, n = 28, 2008
Population
Japanese older adults (19 men, mean age 65)
Form
ARA plus DHA capsules vs placebo
Dose
240 mg ARA + 240 mg DHA per day
Duration
3 months
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 17591648 (opens PubMed)
Grade DP300 event-related potential (a brain-response marker linked to attention)Brain markersImprovedCrossover RCT
n 25 · 2009

Improved P300 latency was significantly shorter and P300 amplitude higher than with olive oil, and serum phospholipid ARA rose.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 25, 2009
Population
Healthy older Japanese men
Form
ARA-enriched triglyceride oil (SUNTGA40S) vs olive-oil capsules
Dose
600 mg oil/day supplying 240 mg ARA
Duration
1 month
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 19752581 (opens PubMed)
Grade DMuscle protein synthesis and anabolic signalling after resistance exerciseStrength & muscleNo difference in muscle protein synthesisRCT
n 19 · 2018

No effect Muscle protein synthesis over 4 hours of recovery did not differ from placebo (P = 0.212), and neither did mTOR signalling or the rise in satellite cells; a ribosome-biogenesis marker (45S pre-rRNA) rose at 48 hours only with ARA.

Design
RCT, n = 19, 2018
Population
Resistance-trained men (at least 1 year of training)
Form
Arachidonic acid vs corn-soy-oil placebo
Dose
1.5 g/day
Duration
4 weeks, then one resistance-exercise session
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 29389245 (opens PubMed)
No effectComplications of prematurity (lung disease, retinopathy, gut and brain injury)Preterm infantsNo protection from complicationsMeta-analysis · 11 studies
n 2,567 · 2025

No effect DHA with or without ARA did not lower retinopathy of prematurity, necrotising enterocolitis, sepsis, brain haemorrhage or in-hospital death, and raised the risk of bronchopulmonary dysplasia (RR 1.11, 95% CI 1.00 to 1.22). In the DHA-plus-ARA subgroup that lung-disease risk did not rise.

Design
Meta-analysis, 11 studies, n = 2,567, 2025
Population
Preterm infants born at 34 weeks or earlier or weighing 2,000 g or less, 11 trials
Form
Enteral DHA with or without ARA (separate from formula and intravenous nutrition)
Dose
Varied by trial (not given in the abstract)
Duration
Neonatal intensive-care stay
Source
Reference 9 · PubMed 40233974 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

The muscle evidence splits

One trial found no strength or muscle advantage; the other, partly funded by an ARA product maker, reported gains. Neither has been repeated independently.12

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

Older-adult data are markers only

The 240 mg/day trials measured a brain-wave marker and coronary flow reserve, not memory or heart events, and the heart trial added DHA.34

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 240 mg/day of ARA (older-adult trials lasting 1–3 months) to 1 g/day (a 50-day resistance-training trial) and 1.5 g/day (a 4-week muscle-biopsy trial); one safety trial also tested 720 mg/day for 4 weeks. These are research doses, not recommendations.13456

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Arachidonic Acid meets

0 cited rows 1 tested together

Medicines 0

No medicine rows in our sources.

Arachidonic Acid0 medicines · 1 supplement

Supplements and foods 1

  • Tested together in a graded trial
Also cited: 1 tested together
  1. Omega-3Omega-3 page

    • Tested together

      Coronary flow velocity reserve (small-vessel blood flow in the heart). Graded on the Arachidonic Acid page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Arachidonic Acid and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Arachidonic Acid.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
No trial in our sources gave ARA supplements to pregnant or breastfeeding women, and LactMed has no ARA entry. Infants have received ARA only together with DHA, in formula or hospital feeding (see the evidence table); adult trials enrolled young trained men and healthy 55–70-year-olds for 4 weeks to 3 months.89135
People with inflammatory or allergic conditions
ARA is the starting material for inflammatory eicosanoids. The trial that found no rise in ARA metabolites enrolled only healthy people aged 55–70, so it does not show safety in people with these conditions.5
People with heart disease
The heart-flow trial combined ARA with DHA and measured a marker over 3 months; it gives no outcome data for people with diagnosed heart disease.4
Bleeding and clotting
A 2019 systematic review of 14 RCTs found no effect on platelet aggregation or blood clotting in adults taking up to 1,000–1,500 mg/day; its authors say higher intakes need further study.7
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

ARA and inflammation markers

3 notes

Short trials did not show a rise in inflammatory metabolites.

Metabolites
At 240 or 720 mg/day for 4 weeks, ARA metabolites in blood and urine did not change, and blood ARA was not correlated with metabolite levels.5
During training
In trained men, IL-6 was lower at day 25 with 1 g/day ARA, and PGE2 only tended to be higher.1
Across trials
A 2019 systematic review found no adverse effects in adults up to at least 1,000–1,500 mg/day on blood lipids, platelet aggregation, blood clotting, immune function, inflammation or urinary ARA metabolites.7

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
ARA or ARA oil?

Some products state the weight of an ARA-enriched oil rather than ARA itself. In one trial, 600 mg of oil supplied 240 mg of ARA.3

Label dose vs studied dose

Training trials used 1 g/day of ARA; older-adult trials used 240 mg/day, sometimes with an equal amount of DHA.14

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
Does arachidonic acid build muscle?

The evidence is split and small. 1 g/day for 50 days gave no strength or muscle advantage, and 1.5 g/day for 4 weeks did not change muscle protein synthesis after exercise, while an 8-week trial partly funded by a product maker reported more lean mass and strength.162

Does it raise inflammation?

In healthy 55–70-year-olds, 240 or 720 mg/day for 4 weeks did not raise ARA-derived metabolites or inflammatory blood markers, and a 2019 review of 14 trials found no adverse effect on inflammation up to 1,000–1,500 mg/day. Longer and higher-dose data are lacking.57

Does it help memory in older adults?

One small trial found faster brain responses (P300) after 1 month at 240 mg/day, but it did not measure memory or daily function.3

Are arachidonic acid supplements safe?

Adult trials lasted 4 weeks to 3 months at 240–1,500 mg/day. A 4-week trial at up to 720 mg/day found no changes in clinical blood tests or ARA metabolites, and a 2019 review found no adverse effects up to 1,000–1,500 mg/day. Longer use, higher doses and use in pregnancy are unstudied.567

How long does it stay in the blood?

Blood ARA rose within 2 weeks of supplementing and returned to near baseline within 4 weeks of stopping.5

Why is arachidonic acid added to infant formula?

It is given together with DHA. A 2025 meta-analysis of 9 trials (1,039 infants) found a small gain in pooled cognitive scores but no overall change in Bayley mental or motor scores. In preterm infants, extra DHA with or without ARA did not lower rates of major complications.89

Sources

9 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

9 sources
  1. 1Effects of arachidonic acid supplementation on training adaptations in resistance-trained males.RCT J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2007 · PMID 18045476
  2. 2Effects of Arachidonic Acid Supplementation on Acute Anabolic Signaling and Chronic Functional Performance and Body Composition Adaptations.RCT PLoS One, 2016 · PMID 27182886
  3. 3Arachidonic acid supplementation decreases P300 latency and increases P300 amplitude of event-related potentials in healthy elderly men.Crossover RCT Neuropsychobiology, 2009 · PMID 19752581
  4. 4Arachidonic acid and docosahexaenoic acid supplementation increases coronary flow velocity reserve in Japanese elderly individuals.RCT Heart, 2008 · PMID 17591648
  5. 5Supplementation of arachidonic acid-enriched oil increases arachidonic acid contents in plasma phospholipids, but does not increase their metabolites and clinical parameters in Japanese healthy elderly individuals: a randomized controlled study.RCT Lipids Health Dis, 2011 · PMID 22188761
  6. 6Effect of dietary arachidonic acid supplementation on acute muscle adaptive responses to resistance exercise in trained men: a randomized controlled trial.RCT J Appl Physiol (1985), 2018 · PMID 29389245
  7. 7A systematic review of the effects of increasing arachidonic acid intake on PUFA status, metabolism and health-related outcomes in humans.Systematic review Br J Nutr, 2019 · PMID 31130146
  8. 8Effects of Different Proportions of DHA and ARA on Cognitive Development in Infants: A Meta-Analysis.Meta-analysis Nutrients, 2025 · PMID 40292560
  9. 9Effect of enteral supplementation of DHA with or without ARA in preterm infants: a meta-analysis.Meta-analysis Arch Dis Child Fetal Neonatal Ed, 2025 · PMID 40233974

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
summary, key facts, evidence, studied doses, who should avoid, safety, FAQ, questions, relatedRe-searched PubMed for ARA supplementation RCTs and meta-analyses to 2026. Added a 2018 muscle-biopsy RCT (PMID 29389245; 1.5 g/day for 4 weeks, no change in muscle protein synthesis), a 2025 infant cognition meta-analysis of DHA plus ARA (PMID 40292560) and, as a supervised clinical-use row, a 2025 preterm-infant meta-analysis (PMID 40233974; totals from PMC12772574). Added the 2019 systematic review of ARA intake in adults (PMID 31130146) for safety, clotting and inflammation notes. Studied-dose maximum raised to 1.5 g/day; summary rewritten to match. No LactMed or LiverTox entry for ARA (checked), noted in the pregnancy line. Interactions: none documented in LiverTox, LactMed, NCCIH or MedlinePlus (no entries) or in the 2019 review, so the list stays empty. Replaced the 'What is arachidonic acid?' FAQ with infant-formula and safety questions, added questions this page answers and the performance goal-hub link.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allIndependent adversarial review: disclosed Suntory co-authors and the unstated randomisation in the coronary-flow trial; removed food sources from an FAQ answer whose cited trials do not state them.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.