Black currant (blackcurrant)

Also called blackcurrant, cassis, Ribes nigrum, New Zealand blackcurrant extract, NZBC, CurraNZ (brand).

The short answer

From 15 sources

Black currant is an anthocyanin-rich berry sold mainly as New Zealand blackcurrant extract. A 2026 meta-analysis of 15 small trials found more fat burned during exercise, but performance results are inconsistent and pooled trials showed no significant blood pressure drop. Small trials report better insulin sensitivity and muscle recovery. Most exercise studies used one commercial extract.

Key facts

Sports performance
A 2026 review of 21 crossover trials found a small-to-moderate benefit (d = 0.44, low certainty), largest in repeated-sprint sports; a 2025 trial in 16 trained cyclists found none14131
Fat burning in exercise
Fat oxidation rose 0.042 g/min across 15 trials (226 active adults)9
Recovery
Faster strength recovery and less soreness after arm exercise at 3 g/day in 27 adults, but no effect after a half-marathon in 20 runners112
Blood pressure
Pooled blackcurrant trials (97 people) showed no significant drop; two 7-day crossover trials in 14 older adults each found lower central or resting pressure1034
Trial size
Single trials cited here enrolled 13 to 40 people; the largest pooled analysis covered 226 people1279
One product
Most exercise and older-adult trials used the same commercial extract (CurraNZ)124

What it is

Black currant (Ribes nigrum) is a dark berry rich in anthocyanins, sold as juice, powder and concentrated extracts such as New Zealand blackcurrant extract.

How it works

Proposed

Blackcurrants are rich in anthocyanins. Trial authors propose that anthocyanin-induced widening of blood vessels raises peripheral blood flow, which could affect exercise and blood pressure, and that a high-dose extract blunts the post-meal glucose and incretin (GIP) response. These mechanisms are not confirmed.15

Forms, side by side

4 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Black currant (blackcurrant) forms compared

4 forms
Black currant (blackcurrant) forms compared: 4 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
4 formsNew Zealand blackcurrant extract capsulesPurified blackcurrant anthocyaninsBlackcurrant powderBlackcurrant extract drink
Absorption in peopleNot measured in the cited trial abstracts.124Not reported in the abstract.6Not reported in the abstract.7Not reported in the abstract.5
GI toleranceNot described in detail in the trial abstracts.124No significant systemic changes were seen over 24 months.6Not described in the abstract.7Not described in the abstract.5
Studied forEndurance, recovery, blood pressureGlaucoma (add-on)Bone density in early menopausePost-meal blood sugar
  1. New Zealand blackcurrant extract capsules
    Absorption in people
    Not measured in the cited trial abstracts.124
    GI tolerance
    Not described in detail in the trial abstracts.124
    Studied for
    Endurance, recovery, blood pressure
  2. Purified blackcurrant anthocyanins
    Absorption in people
    Not reported in the abstract.6
    GI tolerance
    No significant systemic changes were seen over 24 months.6
    Studied for
    Glaucoma (add-on)
  3. Blackcurrant powder
    Absorption in people
    Not reported in the abstract.7
    GI tolerance
    Not described in the abstract.7
    Studied for
    Bone density in early menopause
  4. Blackcurrant extract drink
    Absorption in people
    Not reported in the abstract.5
    GI tolerance
    Not described in the abstract.5
    Studied for
    Post-meal blood sugar
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

12 graded outcomes, largest study first

12 graded outcomes: 8 improved, 2 mixed, 2 no effect. The largest, a 2026 meta-analysis of 226 people on fat and carbohydrate burning during exercise, found an improvement.

1Fat and carbohydrate burning during exercise

Improved · Grade B · Meta-analysis, 226 people, 2026

Physically active adults aged 18–65 in 15 controlled trials

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Fat and carbohydrate burning during exerciseImproved226Grade B · Meta-analysis, 2026Physically active adults aged 18–65 in 15 controlled trials
Blood pressure (pooled blackcurrant trials)No effect97Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2023Adults in 4 blackcurrant trial reports (6 comparisons)
Bone mineral density lossImproved40Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2022Peri- and early postmenopausal women
Blood lipids and inflammation in the menopause transitionImproved38Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2023Healthy peri- and early postmenopausal women aged 45–60
Visual field loss in open-angle glaucoma (added to eye drops)Improved38Grade D · RCT, 2012Patients with open-angle glaucoma using glaucoma eye drops
Recovery from exercise-induced muscle damageImproved27Grade D · RCT, 2021Healthy men and women not trained in resistance exercise (UK)
Post-meal glucose, insulin and incretinsMixed23Grade C · Crossover RCT, 2016Men and postmenopausal women (mean age 46)
Recovery after a half-marathon (jump performance, soreness, fatigue)No effect20No-effect grade · RCT, 2020Recreational runners (8 women)
Central arterial stiffness and central blood pressureImproved14Grade C · Crossover RCT, 2020Older adults (mean age 73)
Resting blood pressure, cognition and 6-minute walkMixed14Grade C · Crossover RCT, 2020Older adults (mean age 69)
16.1 km cycling time trial and fat oxidationImproved14Grade C · Crossover RCT, 2015Healthy trained male cyclists
Insulin sensitivity and post-meal glucose in overweight adultsImproved13Grade D · RCT, 2021Sedentary adults with overweight or obesity (UK)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

12 rows

Showing 12 of 12 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade BFat and carbohydrate burning during exerciseFat oxidation+0.042 g/min fat oxidationMeta-analysis · 15 studies
n 226 · 2026

Improved Fat oxidation during exercise rose by 0.042 g/min (P < 0.001) and carbohydrate oxidation fell by 0.099 g/min (P = 0.012) versus control; responses varied between individuals.

Design
Meta-analysis, 15 studies, n = 226, 2026
Population
Physically active adults aged 18–65 in 15 controlled trials
Form
blackcurrant extract (all forms and doses eligible)
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
Not stated in the abstract
Source
Reference 9 · PubMed 41631820 (opens PubMed)
Grade CBlood pressure (pooled blackcurrant trials)Blood pressureNo significant changeMeta-analysis · 4 studies
n 97 · 2023

No effect Blackcurrant did not significantly lower systolic (−1.46 mm Hg, 95% CI −6.62 to 3.7) or diastolic pressure (−2.09 mm Hg, 95% CI −4.38 to 0.20) versus control.

Design
Meta-analysis, 4 studies, n = 97, 2023
Population
Adults in 4 blackcurrant trial reports (6 comparisons)
Form
blackcurrant products (various)
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
Not stated in the abstract
Source
Reference 10 · PubMed 36793778 (opens PubMed)
Grade CPost-meal glucose, insulin and incretinsBlood sugarLower post-meal glucose at high doseCrossover RCT
n 23 · 2016

Mixed Only the 600 mg anthocyanin drink reduced early plasma glucose (area over baseline 0 to 30 min -0.34 mmol/L.h, P < .005) and insulin, and lowered GIP. The 150 and 300 mg drinks did not differ from control; oxidative stress and vascular function did not change.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 23, 2016
Population
Men and postmenopausal women (mean age 46)
Form
Low-sugar drinks with blackcurrant extract (150, 300 or 600 mg anthocyanins) vs no extract, before a high-carbohydrate meal
Dose
Single drink
Duration
Acute (2 hours)
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 27764725 (opens PubMed)
Grade C16.1 km cycling time trial and fat oxidationEndurance2.4% faster time trialCrossover RCT
n 14 · 2015

Improved Time-trial performance improved 2.4% (1678 vs 1722 s, P < 0.05) and fat oxidation at 65% VO2max rose 27%. Plasma lactate was higher after the time trial.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 14, 2015
Population
Healthy trained male cyclists
Form
New Zealand blackcurrant extract (CurraNZ, 105 mg anthocyanins) vs microcrystalline cellulose placebo
Dose
300 mg/day
Duration
7 days
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 26175097 (opens PubMed)
Grade CCentral arterial stiffness and central blood pressureArterial stiffnessLess arterial stiffnessCrossover RCT
n 14 · 2020

Improved Carotid-femoral pulse-wave velocity (P = .04) and central blood pressure (P = .001) fell more than with placebo. Serum lipids did not change.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 14, 2020
Population
Older adults (mean age 73)
Form
New Zealand blackcurrant extract capsules (300 mg, 35% extract) vs placebo
Dose
Two capsules/day
Duration
7 days (28-day washout)
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 32396017 (opens PubMed)
Grade CResting blood pressure, cognition and 6-minute walkBlood pressureLower resting BP onlyCrossover RCT
n 14 · 2020

Mixed Systolic pressure was 130 vs 136 mmHg and diastolic 78 vs 84 mmHg with blackcurrant vs placebo (p < 0.05). Six-minute walk performance and cognitive tests did not change.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 14, 2020
Population
Older adults (mean age 69)
Form
New Zealand blackcurrant extract (CurraNZ) vs microcrystalline cellulose placebo
Dose
600 mg/day
Duration
7 days
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 31902311 (opens PubMed)
Grade DBone mineral density lossBoneLess bone loss at high dosePilot RCT
n 40 · 2022

Improved Blackcurrant reduced whole-body bone mineral density loss versus control (p < 0.05), but the difference stayed significant only in the 784 mg group (n = 11). The bone-formation marker P1NP rose.

Design
Pilot RCT, n = 40, 2022
Population
Peri- and early postmenopausal women
Form
Blackcurrant powder (392 or 784 mg/day) vs placebo
Dose
392 or 784 mg/day
Duration
6 months
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 36501004 (opens PubMed)
Grade DVisual field loss in open-angle glaucoma (added to eye drops)GlaucomaLess visual field lossRCT
n 38 · 2012

Improved Mean visual field (MD) deterioration differed between groups in favour of anthocyanins at 24 months (p = 0.039), and ocular blood flow increased. Intraocular pressure did not change significantly.

Design
RCT, n = 38, 2012
Population
Patients with open-angle glaucoma using glaucoma eye drops
Form
Blackcurrant anthocyanins vs placebo
Dose
50 mg/day
Duration
24 months
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 22377796 (opens PubMed)
Grade DBlood lipids and inflammation in the menopause transitionCholesterolLower triglyceridesPilot RCT
n 38 · 2023

Improved Triglycerides, interleukin-1β and a lipid-peroxidation marker (TBARS) fell in a dose-dependent way versus placebo; body composition did not change.

Design
Pilot RCT, n = 38, 2023
Population
Healthy peri- and early postmenopausal women aged 45–60
Form
Blackcurrant powder vs placebo
Dose
392 or 784 mg/day
Duration
6 months
Source
Reference 15 · PubMed 37893207 (opens PubMed)
Grade DRecovery from exercise-induced muscle damageRecoveryLess sorenessRCT
n 27 · 2021

Improved Maximal strength returned to baseline faster, soreness was lower at 24 h (21 vs 40 mm) and 48 h (22 vs 44 mm), and creatine kinase was lower at 96 h than with placebo.

Design
RCT, n = 27, 2021
Population
Healthy men and women not trained in resistance exercise (UK)
Form
New Zealand blackcurrant extract vs placebo
Dose
3 g/day
Duration
8 days before and 4 days after strenuous arm exercise
Source
Reference 11 · PubMed 34445035 (opens PubMed)
Grade DInsulin sensitivity and post-meal glucose in overweight adultsBlood sugar+22% insulin sensitivityRCT
n 13 · 2021

Improved Insulin sensitivity improved 22% and C-reactive protein fell versus placebo, and free-living post-meal glucose after breakfast and lunch was 9% and 8% lower. In a separate group of 12, a single 600 mg dose did not change post-meal glucose.

Design
RCT, n = 13, 2021
Population
Sedentary adults with overweight or obesity (UK)
Form
New Zealand blackcurrant extract vs placebo
Dose
600 mg/day
Duration
8 days
Source
Reference 12 · PubMed 32648022 (opens PubMed)
No effectRecovery after a half-marathon (jump performance, soreness, fatigue)RecoveryNo effectRCT
n 20 · 2020

No effect Countermovement jump measures, muscle soreness and fatigue recovered the same in both groups. Urine interleukin-6 rose 48 hours after the race only in the blackcurrant group.

Design
RCT, n = 20, 2020
Population
Recreational runners (8 women)
Form
New Zealand blackcurrant extract (CurraNZ) vs matched placebo
Dose
Two 300 mg capsules/day
Duration
7 days before and 2 days after the race
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 32470924 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Small effects in small trials

The performance and blood-pressure findings come from crossover trials of 14 people each over 7 days, and a half-marathon recovery trial found no benefit.1234

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

Dose matters for blood sugar

Only the highest of three anthocyanin doses changed post-meal glucose, so lower-dose products may not reproduce the effect.5

How we got this: Dose comparison in the glucose trial

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 300 mg/day of New Zealand blackcurrant extract (105 mg anthocyanins) for 7 days to 3 g/day of extract for 12 days in a muscle-damage trial; 784 mg/day of blackcurrant powder was given for 6 months. A glaucoma trial used 50 mg/day of purified blackcurrant anthocyanins for 24 months. These are research doses, not recommendations.11176

When trials measured an effect

3 outcomes
How long trials ran before effects were measured
OutcomeMeasured atBasis
Cycling time trial and fat oxidationAfter 7 days of daily extract14 cyclists tested after a 7-day course of 300 mg/day1
Insulin sensitivityDay 7 of daily intake; a single dose had no effect600 mg/day extract in adults with overweight or obesity12
Muscle soreness after strenuous exercise24 and 48 hours after exercise, after 8 days of pre-loading3 g/day extract in 27 untrained adults11
When each outcome was assessed in the cited trials. It is not a promise of when anyone will notice a change.

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Black currant and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Black currant.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
People on blood pressure medicines
Seven days of extract lowered resting and central blood pressure in older adults; combined effects with blood pressure drugs were not studied.34
People on glucose-lowering medicines
A drink with 600 mg anthocyanins lowered early post-meal glucose and insulin, and 8 days of 600 mg/day extract improved insulin sensitivity; use alongside diabetes drugs was not tested.512
People with glaucoma
The 24-month anthocyanin trial added blackcurrant to standard glaucoma eye drops; it does not replace them.6
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No trial of blackcurrant berry extract cited here enrolled pregnant or breastfeeding women. LactMed covers black currant seed oil, a different product rich in gamma-linolenic acid: it is generally well tolerated, and in one trial 3 g/day from early pregnancy through breastfeeding changed immune markers in breast milk. LactMed has no data on berry extracts.817
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Extract vs anthocyanin dose

Labels may list extract weight or anthocyanin content. The cycling trial used 300 mg of extract providing 105 mg anthocyanins; the glucose effect appeared only at 600 mg anthocyanins.15

Whole berry products

Trials used concentrated extracts, purified anthocyanins or powder, so results may not apply to juice or jam.167

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

7 answers
Does blackcurrant improve exercise performance?

Results are inconsistent. A 2026 review of 21 crossover trials found a small-to-moderate benefit overall (low certainty), largest in repeated-sprint sports. One 7-day trial in 14 cyclists found a 2.4% faster time trial, but a 2025 trial in 16 cyclists found no effect. Fat burning during exercise rose more consistently.141139

Does blackcurrant lower blood pressure?

Not clearly. A 2023 meta-analysis of 4 blackcurrant trials (97 people) found no significant drop, although two 7-day trials in 14 older adults each found lower central or resting pressure versus placebo.1034

Does it affect blood sugar?

Possibly, in small trials. A drink with 600 mg anthocyanins before a high-carbohydrate meal reduced the early glucose and insulin rise, and 8 days of 600 mg/day extract improved insulin sensitivity by 22% in adults with overweight. Single lower doses did not work.512

Is blackcurrant studied for glaucoma?

A 24-month trial in 38 patients found less visual field loss when 50 mg/day of blackcurrant anthocyanins was added to eye drops. It is a single small trial.6

Is blackcurrant extract safe?

No safety problems were reported in the trial abstracts cited here, but most trials lasted 7 days and few described side effects in detail. A 24-month glaucoma trial of purified anthocyanins found no significant systemic changes, and LactMed describes black currant seed oil as generally well tolerated.168

Is black currant seed oil the same as blackcurrant extract?

No. Seed oil is a fatty oil containing gamma-linolenic and alpha-linolenic acids, while the trials on this page used berry extracts, powder or purified anthocyanins. LactMed describes the seed oil as generally well tolerated.817

What is New Zealand blackcurrant extract?

A concentrated extract of Ribes nigrum berries; the version used in most trials (CurraNZ) provided 105 mg anthocyanins per 300 mg capsule.1

Sources

15 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

15 sources
  1. 1New Zealand blackcurrant extract improves cycling performance and fat oxidation in cyclists.Crossover RCT Eur J Appl Physiol, 2015 · PMID 26175097
  2. 2No Effect of New Zealand Blackcurrant Extract on Recovery of Muscle Damage Following Running a Half-Marathon.RCT Int J Sport Nutr Exerc Metab, 2020 · PMID 32470924
  3. 3Effects of blackcurrant extract on arterial functions in older adults: A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, crossover trial.Crossover RCT Clin Exp Hypertens, 2020 · PMID 32396017
  4. 4Effect of New Zealand Blackcurrant on Blood Pressure, Cognitive Function and Functional Performance in Older Adults.Crossover RCT J Nutr Gerontol Geriatr, 2020 · PMID 31902311
  5. 5Drinks containing anthocyanin-rich blackcurrant extract decrease postprandial blood glucose, insulin and incretin concentrations.Crossover RCT J Nutr Biochem, 2016 · PMID 27764725
  6. 6Two-year randomized, placebo-controlled study of black currant anthocyanins on visual field in glaucoma.RCT Ophthalmologica, 2012 · PMID 22377796
  7. 7Blackcurrants Reduce the Risk of Postmenopausal Osteoporosis: A Pilot Double-Blind, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Clinical Trial.Pilot RCT Nutrients, 2022 · PMID 36501004
  8. 8Black Currant Seed OilDatabase LactMed (NCBI Bookshelf), 2021 · ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. 9Blackcurrant Anthocyanin Supplementation Alters Exercise-Induced Substrate Utilization - A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.Meta-analysis J Diet Suppl, 2026 · PMID 41631820
  10. 10The Effects of Blackcurrant and Raspberry Consumption on Blood Pressure: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials.Meta-analysis Clin Nutr Res, 2023 · PMID 36793778
  11. 11Consumption of New Zealand Blackcurrant Extract Improves Recovery from Exercise-Induced Muscle Damage in Non-Resistance Trained Men and Women: A Double-Blind Randomised Trial.RCT Nutrients, 2021 · PMID 34445035
  12. 12Short-term, but not acute, intake of New Zealand blackcurrant extract improves insulin sensitivity and free-living postprandial glucose excursions in individuals with overweight or obesity.RCT Eur J Nutr, 2021 · PMID 32648022
  13. 13No Effect of Acute or Chronic New Zealand Blackcurrant Extract on Cycling Performance or Physiological Responses in Trained Cyclists.Crossover RCT Eur J Sport Sci, 2025 · PMID 39910796
  14. 14Effect of New Zealand Blackcurrant Supplementation on Sports Performance: A Systematic Review.Systematic review Curr Dev Nutr, 2026 · PMID 42371496
  15. 15Blackcurrant Anthocyanins Improve Blood Lipids and Biomarkers of Inflammation and Oxidative Stress in Healthy Women in Menopause Transition without Changing Body Composition.Pilot RCT Biomedicines, 2023 · PMID 37893207

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
summary, key facts, evidence, studied doses, who should avoid, time to effect, FAQ, questions, relatedAdded a 2026 meta-analysis of exercise fat oxidation (15 trials, 226 people, grade B), a 2023 meta-analysis showing no significant blood-pressure drop across 4 blackcurrant trials (97 people, n from full text), and single trials on muscle-damage recovery (3 g/day), insulin sensitivity (600 mg/day) and lipids in the menopause transition (grade D). Cited a 2026 systematic review of 21 sports trials (small-to-moderate effect, low certainty; no participant total, so key fact only) and a 2025 null cycling trial. Added LactMed (black currant seed oil) to the pregnancy note, time-to-effect rows, FAQ (safety, seed oil) and page questions; the summary no longer implies a blood-pressure benefit. Interactions: no documented drug interactions found in LactMed or PubMed (no LiverTox or NCCIH entry), so the list stays empty. Not added: a 2026 cognition trial of a blend with L-theanine and pine bark (PMID 42876903).Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allIndependent adversarial review: disclosed GSK / Lucozade Ribena Suntory co-funding and author affiliations on the blood-glucose drink trial.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.