Bifidobacterium bifidum

Also called B. bifidum, MIMBb75, G9-1, BGN4, BBi32, Bf-688.

The short answer

From 12 sources

Bifidobacterium bifidum is a probiotic bacterium whose effects are strain-specific. One strain, MIMBb75, eased IBS symptoms in two randomized trials, including a 443-person trial of a heat-killed version (grade B). Another strain did not improve constipation quality of life, and a third did not change body fat.

Key facts

What it is
A Bifidobacterium species sold as single strains (MIMBb75, G9-1, BGN4, BBi32, Bf-688) or in blends1345
IBS
MIMBb75 raised responder rates versus placebo: 57% vs 21% (live, 122 people) and 34% vs 19% (heat-killed, 443 people)12
Constipation
G9-1 did not improve the main constipation quality-of-life score over 8 weeks in 140 adults3
Gut symptoms in type 2 diabetes
G9-1 for 12 weeks lowered gastrointestinal symptom scores 0.34 points more than no supplement in 94 adults with type 2 diabetes and diarrhoea or constipation (open-label)9
Weight
BGN4 did not change BMI, body fat or hs-CRP over 8 weeks in 58 adults4
Retracted trial
A 2024 trial of B. bifidum in babies born by cesarean section was retracted6

What it is

Bifidobacterium bifidum is a gut bacterium common in breastfed infants and sold as a probiotic; effects depend on the strain.

How it works

Proposed

B. bifidum lives in the gut and is common in breastfed infants. In IBS, the heat-killed MIMBb75 strain worked without being alive, which suggests effects from contact with the gut lining rather than from colonizing it. In adults with excess body fat, BGN4 changed stool bacteria and lowered zonulin, a proposed marker of gut permeability.24

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Bifidobacterium bifidum forms compared

2 forms
Bifidobacterium bifidum forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsLive B. bifidum (capsules or powder)Heat-inactivated B. bifidum MIMBb75
Absorption in peopleNot absorbed; probiotics act in the gut, and BGN4 shifted stool bacteria in the adiposity trial.4Not absorbed; the cells are dead and act in the gut.2
GI toleranceAdverse events did not differ from placebo at 4 to 8 weeks in the cited trials.135No serious adverse events; 91% rated tolerability good or very good.2
Studied forIBS, constipation, adiposity markers and safetyIBS
  1. Live B. bifidum (capsules or powder)
    Absorption in people
    Not absorbed; probiotics act in the gut, and BGN4 shifted stool bacteria in the adiposity trial.4
    GI tolerance
    Adverse events did not differ from placebo at 4 to 8 weeks in the cited trials.135
    Studied for
    IBS, constipation, adiposity markers and safety
  2. Heat-inactivated B. bifidum MIMBb75
    Absorption in people
    Not absorbed; the cells are dead and act in the gut.2
    GI tolerance
    No serious adverse events; 91% rated tolerability good or very good.2
    Studied for
    IBS
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

7 graded outcomes, largest study first

7 graded outcomes: 4 improved, 2 mixed, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2020 randomized trial of 443 people on abdominal pain plus adequate relief of IBS symptoms, found an improvement.

1Abdominal pain plus adequate relief of IBS symptoms

Improved · Grade B · RCT, 443 people, 2020

Adults with IBS (Rome III) at 20 sites in Germany

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Abdominal pain plus adequate relief of IBS symptomsImproved443Grade B · RCT, 2020Adults with IBS (Rome III) at 20 sites in Germany
Constipation quality of lifeNo effect140Grade C · RCT, 2026Adults with chronic constipation (Japan)
Global IBS symptomsImproved122Grade B · RCT, 2011Adults with IBS
Attention test performance in children with ADHD on methylphenidateMixed102Grade C · RCT, 2024Children with ADHD already on a stable dose of methylphenidate
Gastrointestinal symptoms in type 2 diabetesImproved94Grade C · RCT, 2026Adults with type 2 diabetes and diarrhoea or constipation
Inflammation (hs-CRP), body fat and metabolic markersMixed58Grade D · RCT, 2026Adults with excess body fat
Safety, tolerability and gut symptom scoresImproved40Grade D · RCT, 2026Adults (China)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

7 rows

Showing 7 of 7 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade BAbdominal pain plus adequate relief of IBS symptomsIBSImprovedRCT
n 443 · 2020

Improved 34% reached the combined endpoint of at least 30% less pain plus adequate relief in 4 of 8 weeks, versus 19% on placebo (risk ratio 1.7). Suspected product-related adverse events were similar (7 vs 8), with no serious ones.

Design
RCT, n = 443, 2020
Population
Adults with IBS (Rome III) at 20 sites in Germany
Form
Heat-inactivated (non-viable) B. bifidum MIMBb75
Dose
1 billion cells a day
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 32277872 (opens PubMed)
Grade BGlobal IBS symptomsIBSImprovedRCT
n 122 · 2011

Improved Global IBS symptoms fell 0.88 points on a 7-point scale versus 0.16 with placebo. Adequate relief: 47% vs 11%; responders: 57% vs 21%. Pain, bloating and urgency also improved, and adverse events did not differ.

Design
RCT, n = 122, 2011
Population
Adults with IBS
Form
B. bifidum MIMBb75 (live)
Dose
Once daily (CFU not stated in the abstract)
Duration
4 weeks
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 21418261 (opens PubMed)
Grade CConstipation quality of lifeConstipationNo effectRCT
n 140 · 2026

No effect The main constipation quality-of-life score did not differ from placebo (p = 0.28). A physical-discomfort subscale improved nominally (p = 0.041). No adverse events were reported.

Design
RCT, n = 140, 2026
Population
Adults with chronic constipation (Japan)
Form
B. bifidum G9-1
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 41843723 (opens PubMed)
Grade CAttention test performance in children with ADHD on methylphenidateADHDMixedRCT
n 102 · 2024

Mixed Only the Bf-688 group improved from baseline in omission errors and hit reaction time on computerised attention tests. Parent- and clinician-rated ADHD symptom scores fell in both groups with similar patterns.

Design
RCT, n = 102, 2024
Population
Children with ADHD already on a stable dose of methylphenidate
Form
B. bifidum Bf-688 (add-on to medication)
Dose
5 × 10⁹ CFU a day
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 10 · PubMed 39064703 (opens PubMed)
Grade CGastrointestinal symptoms in type 2 diabetesGut symptomsGSRS −0.34 vs controlRCT
n 94 · 2026

Improved Total GSRS symptom score fell from 2.22 to 1.83 with G9-1 versus 2.08 to 2.06 in controls (between-group difference −0.34 on a 1–7 scale; 95% CI −0.55 to −0.14). The constipation subscale fell more (−0.79 vs −0.13). Adverse effects were similar.

Design
RCT, n = 94, 2026
Population
Adults with type 2 diabetes and diarrhoea or constipation
Form
B. bifidum G9-1
Dose
12 mg of Bifidobacterium a day
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 9 · PubMed 42017290 (opens PubMed)
Grade DInflammation (hs-CRP), body fat and metabolic markersWeightMixedRCT
n 58 · 2026

Mixed The primary outcome hs-CRP, BMI and body fat did not change. Zonulin, TNF-alpha and fasting insulin fell versus placebo.

Design
RCT, n = 58, 2026
Population
Adults with excess body fat
Form
B. bifidum BGN4
Dose
9 billion CFU a day
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 42116047 (opens PubMed)
Grade DSafety, tolerability and gut symptom scoresSafetyImprovedRCT
n 40 · 2026

Improved Well tolerated with no blood count or liver abnormalities; gastrointestinal symptom scores improved and urea, uric acid and creatinine fell versus placebo.

Design
RCT, n = 40, 2026
Population
Adults (China)
Form
B. bifidum BBi32
Dose
30 billion CFU a day
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 41523287 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

A killed probiotic worked

The largest B. bifidum trial used dead bacteria and still beat placebo for IBS, which argues against assuming live counts are what matter for every strain.2

How we got this: Lancet Gastroenterol Hepatol 2020 abstract

Two newer trials missed their main outcomes

G9-1 for constipation and BGN4 for adiposity both missed their primary endpoints; their positive findings were secondary.34

How we got this: Abstracts of the 2026 trials

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 1 billion heat-inactivated cells a day of MIMBb75 for 8 weeks (IBS) to 9 billion CFU a day of BGN4 and 30 billion CFU a day of BBi32 for 8 weeks; Bf-688 was given at 5 billion CFU a day and G9-1 at 12 mg a day for 12 weeks, and the live MIMBb75 IBS trial gave one dose a day for 4 weeks.1245910

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Bifidobacterium bifidum meets

1 cited row 1 tested together

Medicines 1

Bifidobacterium bifidum1 medicine · 1 supplement

Supplements and foods 1

  • Drug label or FDA notice
  • Tested together in a graded trial
Also cited: 1 tested together
  1. Antibiotics

    • Drug labelDrug label or FDA notice

      Antibiotics, for example any oral antibiotic course: Health Canada's probiotic monograph requires labels for bacterial probiotics, including B. bifidum, to direct use at least 2–3 hours before or after antibiotics.

      Source 12, Health Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate (2026)

  2. Lactobacillus gasseriLactobacillus gasseri page

Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

1 agent
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines1
Antibioticse.g. any oral antibiotic courseHealth Canada's probiotic monograph requires labels for bacterial probiotics, including B. bifidum, to direct use at least 2–3 hours before or after antibiotics.12Drug label

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Bifidobacterium bifidum and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Bifidobacterium bifidum.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Preterm infants
FDA warned that probiotics with live bacteria given to preterm infants have caused invasive, sometimes fatal infections.7
Weakened immune system or serious illness
NCCIH notes that probiotics can cause serious infections in people with severe illness or weakened immune systems.8
Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
LactMed has no probiotic entry. In a randomized trial of strain PRL2010, given from week 36 of pregnancy through breastfeeding to mothers with atopy or a family history of atopy, no severe adverse effects from the probiotic were reported; the other cited trials enrolled non-pregnant adults. In children, Bf-688 was tested only alongside ADHD medication.111012
Immune-compromised conditions
Health Canada's probiotic monograph: do not use with an immune-compromised condition (for example AIDS, lymphoma or long-term corticosteroid treatment).12
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Check the strain

The IBS benefit is for strain MIMBb75. Other B. bifidum strains have different evidence, and a label without a strain name cannot be matched to any trial.123

Live vs heat-killed

The 443-person IBS trial used non-viable, heat-inactivated cells, so a live CFU count is not the measure for that product.2

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

8 answers
Does Bifidobacterium bifidum help IBS?

The MIMBb75 strain did in two randomized trials: live bacteria in 122 people and heat-killed bacteria in 443 people both raised response rates versus placebo.12

Does B. bifidum help constipation?

The G9-1 strain did not improve the main constipation quality-of-life score in a 140-person, 8-week trial.3

Does B. bifidum help ADHD?

Not shown. In 102 children already on methylphenidate, Bf-688 (5 billion CFU a day for 12 weeks) improved some computer attention-test scores within its own group, but parent- and clinician-rated ADHD symptoms improved similarly with placebo (grade C).10

Does B. bifidum help with weight loss?

In 58 adults with excess body fat, BGN4 for 8 weeks did not change BMI or body fat.4

Do all B. bifidum strains work the same?

No. Results differ by strain, so a benefit shown for MIMBb75 does not transfer to G9-1, BGN4 or an unnamed strain.134

Is B. bifidum safe?

Adverse events matched placebo in the cited adult trials. Live probiotics are not advised for preterm infants or very ill or immunocompromised people.1278

How long does B. bifidum take to work?

Trials measured effects at 4 weeks (live MIMBb75 in IBS), 8 weeks (heat-killed MIMBb75 in IBS) and 12 weeks (G9-1 for gut symptoms in type 2 diabetes). None reported how early the benefit appeared.129

Can B. bifidum be taken with antibiotics?

Health Canada's probiotic monograph says bacterial probiotics should be taken at least 2–3 hours before or after antibiotics. None of the cited B. bifidum trials tested use during an antibiotic course.12

Sources

12 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

12 sources
  1. 1Randomised clinical trial: Bifidobacterium bifidum MIMBb75 significantly alleviates irritable bowel syndrome and improves quality of life--a double-blind, placebo-controlled study.RCT Aliment Pharmacol Ther, 2011 · PMID 21418261
  2. 2Heat-inactivated Bifidobacterium bifidum MIMBb75 (SYN-HI-001) in the treatment of irritable bowel syndrome: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial.RCT Lancet Gastroenterol Hepatol, 2020 · PMID 32277872
  3. 3Bifidobacterium bifidum G9-1 and Quality of Life in Chronic Constipation: A Multicenter, Double-Blind, Randomized Controlled Trial.RCT Digestion, 2026 · PMID 41843723
  4. 4Probiotic Bifidobacterium bifidum BGN4 supplementation modulates gut microbiome composition and reduces circulating zonulin, TNFα, and insulin in adults with excess adiposity: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.RCT Nutr Metab (Lond), 2026 · PMID 42116047
  5. 5Clinical Safety and Tolerability of Bifidobacterium bifidum BBi32: An 8-Week Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial With Genomic and In Vitro Corroboration.RCT Food Sci Nutr, 2026 · PMID 41523287
  6. 6RETRACTED: Effect of Bifidobacterium bifidum Supplementation in Newborns Born from Cesarean Section on Atopy, Respiratory Tract Infections, and Dyspeptic Syndromes: A Multicenter, Randomized, and Controlled Clinical Trial.RCT Microorganisms, 2024 · PMID 38930475
  7. 7Risk of Invasive Disease in Preterm Infants Given Probiotics Formulated to Contain Live Bacteria or YeastSafety communication U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2023 · fda.gov
  8. 8Probiotics: Usefulness and SafetyFact sheet National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), 2019 · nccih.nih.gov
  9. 9Bifidobacterium bifidum G9-1 Intake Improves Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus: An Open-Label, Randomized Controlled Trial (Binary STAR Study).RCT Diabetes Obes Metab, 2026 · PMID 42017290
  10. 10Add-On Bifidobacterium Bifidum Supplement in Children with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder: A 12-Week Randomized Double-Blind Placebo-Controlled Clinical Trial.RCT Nutrients, 2024 · PMID 39064703
  11. 11Effect of Supplementation with a Specific Probiotic (Bifidobacterium bifidum PRL2010) in Pregnancy for the Prevention of Atopic Dermatitis in Children: Preliminary Results of a Randomized Trial.RCT Nutrients, 2025 · PMID 40005000
  12. 12Probiotics (Natural Health Product monograph, April 24, 2026)Guideline Health Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate, 2026 · webprod.hc-sc.gc.ca

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, key facts, studied doses, interactions, who should avoid, FAQ, questions, relatedAdded two strain-named trials: G9-1 for gastrointestinal symptoms in 94 adults with type 2 diabetes (2026, open-label, grade C) and Bf-688 as an add-on in 102 children with ADHD (2024, grade C; n from full text). Added the antibiotic-spacing direction and immune-compromised contraindication from the Health Canada probiotic monograph, and a pregnancy and breastfeeding note citing a PRL2010 pregnancy trial (LactMed has no probiotic entry; LiverTox none). Added FAQ items on ADHD, antibiotics and time to effect, page questions, and the B. breve and gut goal hub links. PubMed searched for B. bifidum RCTs and meta-analyses 2021–2026: multi-strain blends and a retraction-flagged infant trial not added.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for every cited row.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
allAdversarial review pass: every evidence row's numbers machine-checked against its PubMed abstract, retraction and erratum flags checked for all PMIDs, unverified country and affiliation details removed, and claims not supported by the cited abstracts reworded or dropped.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.