Asafoetida

Also called asafetida, hing, Ferula assa-foetida, Ferula foetida, asafoetida oleo-gum resin.

The short answer

From 12 sources

Asafoetida is a pungent plant resin best known as the spice hing. Supplement evidence is thin: two small trials of one resin formulation eased bloating and fullness in functional dyspepsia, and PCOS and COVID-19 studies used other products. Homeopathic asafoetida is a different, highly diluted product, and its IBS trials say nothing about the spice or capsules. Infants have developed dangerous methemoglobinemia after asafoetida folk remedies.

Key facts

US food status
Asafetida (Ferula assa-foetida and related species) is listed among natural extractives generally recognised as safe for their intended food use6
Dyspepsia trials
Two placebo-controlled trials of one formulation (Asafin) improved symptoms: 500 mg/day for 30 days in 43 people and 250 mg/day for 14 days in 62; Cochrane (2023) rated the 2018 trial low-certainty evidence (SMD −1.51)8112
Maker ties
Authors of both dyspepsia trials are linked to the formulation's maker (Akay)18
Drug metabolism
Four days of asafoetida slowed CYP3A4 and CYP2D6 activity in healthy volunteers (dextromethorphan test)11
Infant safety
Two published infant cases of methemoglobinemia after asafoetida remedies, one life-threatening45
COVID-19 trial
An asafoetida oleo-gum product (Covexir) reduced cough and other symptoms versus placebo in outpatients with mild to moderate COVID-19; some authors later used the data to seek emergency authorisation for the product in Iran3

What it is

Asafoetida (hing) is the dried oleo-gum resin of Ferula plants, used as a cooking spice and sold in concentrated supplement forms.

How it works

Proposed

Asafoetida resin contains organic sulfur compounds, including thiophenes, disulfides and polysulfides. The COVID-19 trial authors proposed that the sulfur compounds act as hydrogen sulfide donors; the dyspepsia trial reported shifts in gut bacteria. Neither mechanism has been confirmed in people.13

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Asafoetida forms compared

2 forms
Asafoetida forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsSpice (hing) powderStandardised oleo-gum resin formulation (capsule)
Absorption in peopleNot studied in the cited trials.6Not reported in the trial abstracts.1
GI toleranceListed as generally recognised as safe for its intended food use.6No adverse events or blood-test changes at 500 mg/day for 30 days; the 2025 trial authors describe it as safe over 14 days at 250 mg/day.81
Studied forFood flavouringFunctional dyspepsia; COVID-19 symptoms
  1. Asafoetida spice (hing) powder
    Absorption in people
    Not studied in the cited trials.6
    GI tolerance
    Listed as generally recognised as safe for its intended food use.6
    Studied for
    Food flavouring
  2. Standardised oleo-gum resin formulation (capsule)
    Absorption in people
    Not reported in the trial abstracts.1
    GI tolerance
    No adverse events or blood-test changes at 500 mg/day for 30 days; the 2025 trial authors describe it as safe over 14 days at 250 mg/day.81
    Studied for
    Functional dyspepsia; COVID-19 symptoms
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

4 graded outcomes, largest study first

4 graded outcomes: 2 improved, 2 mixed. The largest, a 2025 randomized trial of 62 people on functional dyspepsia symptoms (early satiety, bloating, heartburn), found an improvement.

1Functional dyspepsia symptoms (early satiety, bloating, heartburn)

Improved · Grade C · RCT, 62 people, 2025

Adults with functional dyspepsia symptoms

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Functional dyspepsia symptoms (early satiety, bloating, heartburn)Improved62Grade C · RCT, 2025Adults with functional dyspepsia symptoms
Functional dyspepsia symptoms and quality of lifeImproved43Grade C · RCT, 2018People with moderate to severe functional (non-ulcer) dyspepsia in India
Ovarian follicles and hormones in polycystic ovary syndrome (placebo-controlled)Mixed43Grade D · RCT, 2023Young women with polycystic ovary syndrome in Iran (47 enrolled, 43 analysed)
Menstrual regularity and pregnancy in polycystic ovary syndromeMixed30Grade D · RCT, 2024Women with polycystic ovary syndrome (15 per group)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

4 rows

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CFunctional dyspepsia symptoms (early satiety, bloating, heartburn)IndigestionLess bloating and early fullnessRCT
n 62 · 2025

Improved Significant time, treatment and treatment × time effects for early satiety, bloating and heartburn (P < .05), with more responders by day 14. Stool form improved, reaction time fell 44% and Bergen Insomnia Scale scores improved (both P < .001).

Design
RCT, n = 62, 2025
Population
Adults with functional dyspepsia symptoms
Form
Food-grade self-emulsifying hydrogel of asafoetida oleo-gum resin (Asafin) vs placebo
Dose
250 mg/day
Duration
14 days
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 41054174 (opens PubMed)
Grade CFunctional dyspepsia symptoms and quality of lifeIndigestion81% improved vs placeboRCT
n 43 · 2018

Improved About 81% of the asafoetida group improved significantly in overall score and quality of life versus placebo (p < 0.01), and 66% were symptom-free at the end. Symptom scores improved in both groups but more with asafoetida (−5.67 to −25.29 vs −1.55 to −6.0; p ≤ 0.001). No adverse events or blood-test changes occurred.

Design
RCT, n = 43, 2018
Population
People with moderate to severe functional (non-ulcer) dyspepsia in India
Form
Food-grade asafoetida formulation (Asafin) vs placebo
Dose
250 mg twice daily (500 mg/day)
Duration
30 days
Source
Reference 8 · PubMed 30224930 (opens PubMed)
Grade DOvarian follicles and hormones in polycystic ovary syndrome (placebo-controlled)PCOSFewer follicles; clinical signs unchangedRCT
n 43 · 2023

Mixed Ovarian follicle counts fell versus placebo, and DHEAS and TSH levels changed significantly versus placebo (p < 0.03). The full text reports no significant between-group change in clinical measures (BMI, hair growth score, menstruation duration).

Design
RCT, n = 43, 2023
Population
Young women with polycystic ovary syndrome in Iran (47 enrolled, 43 analysed)
Form
Ferula assa-foetida essential oil (root and stem) soft capsules vs fennel oil capsules or placebo
Dose
100 mg twice daily (200 mg/day; from the full text)
Duration
3 months
Source
Reference 9 · PubMed 37655000 (opens PubMed)
Grade DMenstrual regularity and pregnancy in polycystic ovary syndromePCOSMixedRCT
n 30 · 2024

Mixed More pregnancies occurred after asafoetida than after the contraceptive (p = 0.019), and regular cycles lasted longer (p = 0.001). Cycle intervals shortened in both groups; lipids rose only with the contraceptive.

Design
RCT, n = 30, 2024
Population
Women with polycystic ovary syndrome (15 per group)
Form
Asafoetida vs low-dose oral contraceptive (no placebo)
Dose
1 g/day
Duration
Two 21-day courses with a 7-day break; follow-up 8 months
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 39086865 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

One product, two small trials

The dyspepsia benefit comes from two short trials (43 and 62 people) of one maker's formulation, both with authors from that maker, so it cannot be assumed for other asafoetida products.81

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

A contraceptive is the wrong yardstick for fertility

The PCOS trial compared asafoetida with an oral contraceptive, which suppresses ovulation, so more pregnancies in the asafoetida group says little about fertility.2

How we got this: Trial design in the evidence table

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 200 mg/day of a Ferula essential-oil capsule for 3 months (polycystic ovary syndrome) and 250 to 500 mg/day of a resin formulation for 14 to 30 days (functional dyspepsia) to 1 g/day of asafoetida in two 21-day courses (polycystic ovary syndrome). These are research doses, not recommendations.9182

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Asafoetida meets

2 cited rows

Medicines 2

Asafoetida2 medicines · 0 supplements

Supplements and foods 0

No supplement rows in our sources.

  • Measured in a human study
  • Reference summary
Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

2 agents
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines2
Warfarin and other blood thinnerse.g. warfarinA 2000 pharmacy review lists asafoetida among herbs that may raise bleeding risk or add to warfarin's effect. It notes that nearly all herb-warfarin information comes from lab, animal or single case data.7Review
Drugs broken down by CYP3A4 or CYP2D6e.g. cyclosporine, tacrolimus, carbamazepineIn healthy volunteers, 4 days of asafoetida significantly raised the urinary dextromethorphan ratio that tracks CYP3A4 activity and raised the CYP2D6 ratio by 33%, pointing to slower drug breakdown. The authors advise caution with narrow-margin CYP3A4 drugs such as cyclosporine, tacrolimus and carbamazepine.11PK study

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Asafoetida and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Asafoetida.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Infants and young children
Infants have developed methemoglobinemia, an oxygen-carrying blood disorder, after asafoetida remedies; one 2019 case was life-threatening and the authors advise avoiding asafoetida remedies in infants.45
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
The cited trials give no safety data in pregnancy or breastfeeding; pregnancies in the PCOS trial occurred after the courses ended.12
People with serious or persistent digestive symptoms
The only supplement trial lasted 14 days in functional dyspepsia; it does not address other causes of indigestion.1
Transplant, seizure and other narrow-margin medicines
A volunteer study found asafoetida slowed CYP3A4 and CYP2D6 drug metabolism; the authors advise caution with drugs such as cyclosporine, tacrolimus and carbamazepine.11
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Methemoglobinemia in infants

2 notes

Rare but serious.

1984 case
An infant given glycerited asafoetida as a folk remedy developed methemoglobinemia.4
2019 case
An infant developed life-threatening methemoglobinemia with cyanosis and severe breathing difficulty after an asafoetida herbal remedy and recovered with oxygen.5

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Spice vs supplement

The food-safety listing covers asafetida as a flavouring extractive. Trial products were concentrated or reformulated resins (Asafin, Covexir), so results do not transfer to kitchen hing.136

Label dose vs studied dose

The dyspepsia trials used 250 to 500 mg/day of a specific formulation; PCOS trials used 200 mg/day of an essential oil or 1 g/day of asafoetida.1892

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

7 answers
Does asafoetida help bloating or indigestion?

Two small placebo-controlled trials of one formulation (Asafin) found less bloating, fullness and heartburn in functional dyspepsia: 500 mg/day for 30 days in 43 people and 250 mg/day for 14 days in 62. Both had authors from the maker, and Cochrane rates the evidence low certainty.8112

Can asafoetida improve fertility or cycles in PCOS?

Unclear. A 30-woman trial compared it with a contraceptive rather than a placebo, so it cannot show a fertility effect. A 43-woman placebo-controlled trial of a Ferula essential oil found fewer ovarian follicles and hormone changes after 3 months, but no reported change in clinical signs.29

What are the side effects of asafoetida?

The dyspepsia trials reported no adverse events or blood-test changes over 14 to 30 days. The serious risk is in infants, who have developed methemoglobinemia after asafoetida folk remedies. It may also slow how the liver clears some drugs, such as cyclosporine, tacrolimus and carbamazepine.814511

Is asafoetida safe for babies?

No. Infants have developed methemoglobinemia, including a life-threatening case, after asafoetida remedies.45

Is hing safe in cooking?

Asafetida is listed by the FDA as generally recognised as safe for its intended food use as a flavouring.6

Is homeopathic asafoetida the same as asafoetida capsules?

No. Homeopathic remedies are highly diluted preparations, a different product from the spice or resin capsules, so their results do not apply to them. A 2019 Cochrane review found two small trials of homeopathic asafoetida in IBS with constipation, rated very low-certainty evidence, and drew no firm conclusions.10

Was it tested for COVID-19?

An asafoetida product (Covexir) reduced cough and some other symptoms versus placebo in outpatients with mild to moderate COVID-19. It is a single trial, and some authors used the data to seek emergency authorisation for the product in Iran.3

Sources

12 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

12 sources
  1. 1Ferula asafoetida oleo-gum resin alleviates dyspepsia symptoms through modulation of microbiome-gut-brain axis: A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study.RCT Medicine (Baltimore), 2025 · PMID 41054174
  2. 2A preliminary report comparing the effect of Asafoetida with oral contraceptive on polycystic ovarian syndrome in a double-blind randomized trial.RCT Avicenna J Phytomed, 2024 · PMID 39086865
  3. 3Efficacy of Covexir® (Ferula foetida oleo-gum) treatment in symptomatic improvement of patients with mild to moderate COVID-19: A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.RCT Phytother Res, 2022 · PMID 35896167
  4. 4Methemoglobinemia in an infant treated with the folk remedy glycerited asafoetida.Observational Pediatrics, 1984 · PMID 6609339
  5. 5Severe Methemoglobinemia Secondary to Ferula asafoetida Ingestion in an Infant: A Case Report.Observational Saudi J Med Med Sci, 2020 · PMID 31929780
  6. 621 CFR 182.20 Essential oils, oleoresins (solvent-free), and natural extractives (including distillates) generally recognized as safeGuideline US Food and Drug Administration (eCFR), 1985 · ecfr.gov
  7. 7Potential interactions between alternative therapies and warfarin.Review Am J Health Syst Pharm, 2000 · PMID 10902065
  8. 8Safety and Efficacy of Ferula asafoetida in Functional Dyspepsia: A Randomized, Double-Blinded, Placebo-Controlled Study.RCT Evid Based Complement Alternat Med, 2018 · PMID 30224930
  9. 9"Ferula assa-foetida L" or "Foeniculum vulgare"? Which one is more effective in the management of polycystic ovarian syndrome? A randomized, placebo controlled, triple-blinded.RCT Avicenna J Phytomed, 2023 · PMID 37655000
  10. 10Homeopathy for treatment of irritable bowel syndrome.Systematic review Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2019 · PMID 31483486
  11. 11Modulation of CYP2D6 and CYP3A4 metabolic activities by Ferula asafetida resin.PK study Saudi Pharm J, 2014 · PMID 25561870
  12. 12Non-Chinese herbal medicines for functional dyspepsia.Systematic review Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2023 · PMID 37323050

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

4 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, interactions, safety, FAQ, questionsAdded graded rows for the 2018 dyspepsia trial of the same Asafin formulation (43 people, 30 days), and a 2023 placebo-controlled PCOS trial of a Ferula essential oil; noted the 2023 Cochrane rating of the dyspepsia evidence. Fact-check: the 2019 Cochrane review of homeopathic asafoetida in IBS (2 trials, very low certainty) is in an FAQ answer only, not a graded row, because homeopathic dilutions are not evidence for the resin or spice. Added a CYP3A4/CYP2D6 interaction from a 2014 volunteer study, with a matching safety note. Updated summary, studied doses, key facts, label guide, the forms tolerance line and the insight; replaced the FAQ item that repeated the auto-derived "What is" question with a side-effects answer and reworded the PCOS question; added a page question and the gut goal-hub link. Not added: the 2022 Covexir COVID-19 trial reports no participant count in its abstract or the PMC copy, and the 2024 Phytopaj COVID-19 trial tested a blend without between-group statistics in its abstract. LiverTox and LactMed have no asafoetida entry.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
InteractionsAdded 1 interaction entry (Warfarin and other blood thinners) from peer-reviewed reviews; each PubMed abstract or full text was read for the cited statement.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: Update
allIndependent adversarial review: relabelled the dyspepsia-trial disclosure as maker ties (the abstract shows author affiliations, not funding) and added the COVID-19 trial's disclosed conflict of interest.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.