Senna
Also called Senna alexandrina, Cassia angustifolia, Cassia acutifolia, sennosides.
Best grade B across 5 graded outcomes Botanical Last checked
The short answer
From 19 sourcesSenna is a stimulant laxative whose sennosides are activated in the lower gut. In the US it is an over-the-counter drug, not just a supplement. A 90-person placebo-controlled trial and a 2021 systematic review support it for constipation. Labels limit use to 1 week without medical advice; high-dose misuse has been linked to liver injury.
Every graded outcome on this page
5 rows · line = participants- BGrade BBowel cleansing before colonoscopy (vs other preparations)Bowel preparationn 3,343
- BGrade BOverall symptom improvement in chronic idiopathic constipationChronic constipationn 90
- CGrade CTime to first bowel movement after pelvic surgery (senna with docusate)Constipation after surgeryn 93
- DGrade DSatisfactory bowel movements in opioid-induced constipation (vs polyethylene glycol)Opioid-induced constipationn 42
- DGrade DStool retention after anorectal malformation surgery (vs magnesium hydroxide and polyethylene glycol)Constipation after anorectal surgeryn 15
- 2 more graded outcomes, in the evidence chapter
Key facts
- Regulatory status
- US: sold as an over-the-counter laxative drug with a Drug Facts label (sennosides 8.6 mg per tablet); FDA's 2023 final laxative monograph does not list it, and it has stayed in Category III (further testing required) since 1998116
- Onset
- Generally produces a bowel movement in 6–12 hours, per the label1
- Chronic constipation trial
- Overall improvement in 69.2% with senna vs 11.7% with placebo over 28 days (90 adults)2
- Systematic review
- Good evidence (grade A recommendation) for senna and polyethylene glycol as first-line over-the-counter laxatives3
- Label limit
- Do not use laxatives for longer than 1 week unless directed by a doctor1
- Breastfeeding
- LactMed: usual doses are acceptable while breastfeeding15
What it is
Senna is a plant stimulant laxative; its sennosides are sold as an over-the-counter drug for occasional constipation.
Forms, side by side
3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.
Senna forms compared
3 forms| 3 forms | Standardized sennoside tablets (OTC drug) | Leaf or pod tea and powders | With docusate (stool softener) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Absorption in people | Sennosides are activated in the lower gut and the active metabolite is scarcely absorbed.11 | No head-to-head human data comparing teas with standardized tablets.11 | No head-to-head human data.4 |
| GI tolerance | The 28-day chronic constipation trial reported no severe treatment-related adverse events.2 | No tea-specific tolerability data in the cited studies; LiverTox notes liver injury with high doses used longer than recommended.8 | Tolerability not detailed in the post-surgery trial abstract.4 |
| Studied for | Constipation trials and OTC labelling (8.6 mg sennosides per tablet) | 1.0 g/day of senna in the chronic constipation trial | Constipation after pelvic surgery |
- Standardized sennoside tablets (OTC drug)
- Senna leaf or pod tea and powders
- Senna with docusate (stool softener)
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Trial map
5 graded outcomes, largest study first5 graded outcomes: 2 improved, 3 no effect. The largest, a 2022 meta-analysis of 3,343 people on bowel cleansing before colonoscopy (vs other preparations), found no effect.
1Bowel cleansing before colonoscopy (vs other preparations)
No effect · Grade B · Meta-analysis, 3,343 people, 2022
Patients having colonoscopy (11 trials)
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bowel cleansing before colonoscopy (vs other preparations) | No effect | 3,343 | Grade B · Meta-analysis, 2022 | Patients having colonoscopy (11 trials) |
| Time to first bowel movement after pelvic surgery (senna with docusate) | Improved | 93 | Grade C · RCT, 2010 | Adults after pelvic reconstructive surgery |
| Overall symptom improvement in chronic idiopathic constipation | Improved | 90 | Grade B · RCT, 2021 | Adults with chronic idiopathic constipation (mean age 42; 93% women) |
| Satisfactory bowel movements in opioid-induced constipation (vs polyethylene glycol) | No effect | 42 | Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2020 | Outpatients with cancer at risk of or with opioid-induced constipation |
| Stool retention after anorectal malformation surgery (vs magnesium hydroxide and polyethylene glycol) | No effect | 15 | Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2025 | Children with surgically corrected anorectal malformation and constipation |
Every graded row
5 rowsShowing 5 of 5 outcomes. Human trials only.
BGrade BBowel cleansing before colonoscopy (vs other preparations)Bowel preparationCleanliness OR 1.02 vs other prepsMeta-analysis · 11 studies
n 3,343 · 2022
No effect Bowel cleanliness was similar to other preparation regimens (OR 1.02; 95% CI 0.63–1.67), with better tolerance (OR 1.66) and compliance (OR 3.05) and more patients free of nausea.
- Design
- Meta-analysis, 11 studies, n = 3,343, 2022
- Population
- Patients having colonoscopy (11 trials)
- Form
- Senna-based bowel preparation regimens
- Dose
- Varied across trials
- Duration
- One bowel preparation
- Source
- Reference 17 · PubMed 35758925 (opens PubMed)
BGrade BOverall symptom improvement in chronic idiopathic constipationChronic constipation69% vs 12% respondersRCT
n 90 · 2021
Improved Response rates were 69.2% with senna, 68.3% with magnesium oxide and 11.7% with placebo (P<0.0001); spontaneous bowel movements and constipation quality of life also improved. No severe treatment-related adverse events.
- Design
- RCT, n = 90, 2021
- Population
- Adults with chronic idiopathic constipation (mean age 42; 93% women)
- Form
- Senna
- Dose
- 1.0 g/day of senna
- Duration
- 28 days
- Source
- Reference 2 · PubMed 32969946 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CTime to first bowel movement after pelvic surgery (senna with docusate)Constipation after surgeryImprovedRCT
n 93 · 2010
Improved First bowel movement came sooner than with placebo (3.0 vs 4.05 days; P<.002), and fewer needed magnesium citrate (7.0% vs 43.6%).
- Design
- RCT, n = 93, 2010
- Population
- Adults after pelvic reconstructive surgery
- Form
- Senna (sennosides) with docusate
- Dose
- 8.6 mg sennosides with 50 mg docusate
- Duration
- After surgery (duration not stated in the abstract)
- Source
- Reference 4 · PubMed 20207340 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DSatisfactory bowel movements in opioid-induced constipation (vs polyethylene glycol)Opioid-induced constipationNo effectCrossover RCT
n 42 · 2020
No effect Days with a satisfactory bowel movement were 1.21 times higher on polyethylene glycol than on sennosides, but the credible interval (0.96–1.55) included no difference; patient preference did not differ.
- Design
- Crossover RCT, n = 42, 2020
- Population
- Outpatients with cancer at risk of or with opioid-induced constipation
- Form
- Sennosides (escalating doses)
- Dose
- Escalating sennoside doses (amounts not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 21 days per period
- Source
- Reference 5 · PubMed 31321524 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DStool retention after anorectal malformation surgery (vs magnesium hydroxide and polyethylene glycol)Constipation after anorectal surgeryNo effectCrossover RCT
n 15 · 2025
No effect Fecal loading on X-ray (Leech score) did not differ: 6.67 with sennosides, 6.80 with magnesium hydroxide and 5.80 with polyethylene glycol (p = 0.841); preference scores did not differ significantly.
- Design
- Crossover RCT, n = 15, 2025
- Population
- Children with surgically corrected anorectal malformation and constipation
- Form
- Sennosides
- Dose
- Not stated in the abstract
- Duration
- 21 days per period
- Source
- Reference 19 · PubMed 40856829 (opens PubMed)
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
Comparable to magnesium oxide
In the same 28-day trial, senna (69.2%) and magnesium oxide (68.3%) had almost identical response rates, both far above placebo (11.7%).2
Label maximum vs the trial dose
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
Doses studied in human trials ranged from 8.6 mg of sennosides per dose (with docusate; daily total not stated) after surgery to 1.0 g/day of senna for 28 days in chronic constipation; opioid-constipation and children's crossover trials gave sennosides over 21-day periods without stating amounts in the abstract. These are research doses; the OTC label sets its own limits.42519
When trials measured an effect
2 outcomesInteractions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
What Senna meets
3 cited rows 1 tested togetherMedicines 3
Supplements and foods 1
- Reference summary
- Case reports
- Tested together in a graded trial
Choose a medicine or supplement above to read its cited rows here.
Also cited: 1 tested together
Other medicines taken by mouth
NIH fact sheetReference summary
Other medicines taken by mouth: Some senna products should be taken at least 2 hours before or after other oral medicines because they may affect how those medicines work; mineral oil may interact with senna.
Source 13, MedlinePlus (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists) (2024)
Digoxin and potassium-depleting diuretics
Case reportCase reports
Digoxin and potassium-depleting diuretics, for example digoxin; furosemide, hydrochlorothiazide (diuretic examples inferred): Senna may add to the potassium loss of these diuretics, and its combination with digoxin has been associated with a higher risk of digoxin toxicity, probably through raised digoxin levels and low potassium. Senna's potassium-lowering effect was measured in a dialysis trial: 8 weeks of senna glycoside lowered serum potassium by 0.32 mEq/L versus 0.02 mEq/L with control (73 randomised).
Source 12, Br J Clin Pharmacol (2024); Source 18, Ther Apher Dial (2022)
Tacrolimus
Case reportCase reports
Tacrolimus: A liver-transplant patient had a 2.8-fold rise in tacrolimus blood level after starting a Cassia angustifolia (senna) product; the authors suggest a P-glycoprotein interaction.
Source 12, Br J Clin Pharmacol (2024)
Slippery elmSlippery elm page
Tested together
Digestive symptoms and body composition (detox blend with slippery elm). Graded on the Slippery elm page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Interactions
3 agents| Agent | What the source says | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Medicines3 | ||
| Digoxin and potassium-depleting diureticse.g. digoxin; furosemide, hydrochlorothiazide (diuretic examples inferred) | Senna may add to the potassium loss of these diuretics, and its combination with digoxin has been associated with a higher risk of digoxin toxicity, probably through raised digoxin levels and low potassium. Senna's potassium-lowering effect was measured in a dialysis trial: 8 weeks of senna glycoside lowered serum potassium by 0.32 mEq/L versus 0.02 mEq/L with control (73 randomised).1218 | Case report |
| Tacrolimus | A liver-transplant patient had a 2.8-fold rise in tacrolimus blood level after starting a Cassia angustifolia (senna) product; the authors suggest a P-glycoprotein interaction.12 | Case report |
| Other medicines taken by mouth | Some senna products should be taken at least 2 hours before or after other oral medicines because they may affect how those medicines work; mineral oil may interact with senna.13 | NIH fact sheet |
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Senna and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Senna.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
6 groups- Use beyond 1 week
- The OTC label says not to use laxatives for longer than 1 week unless directed by a doctor.1
- Adults 65 and older
- MedlinePlus says people 65 or older should talk to a doctor about the risks and benefits first, and that older adults should not usually take senna products over a long period because other medicines for constipation are safer.13
- Warning symptoms
- The label says to ask a doctor first if you have stomach pain, nausea, vomiting or a change in bowel habits lasting over 2 weeks, and to stop if rectal bleeding occurs or no bowel movement follows.1
- Young children
- The label says to ask a doctor for children under 2. In poison-centre reports of accidental ingestion by children under 5, 33% developed severe diaper rash and 11% blisters and skin sloughing.19
- Pregnancy and breastfeeding
- The label advises asking a health professional first. LactMed says usual doses of senna are acceptable while breastfeeding: controlled studies of modern senna products found no effect on breastfed infants, and after 15 mg/day of sennosides median milk transfer was 0.007% of the dose (as rhein). No pregnancy-specific trial data are cited here.11510
Safety first
4 notesAn effective short-term laxative with clear label limits.
- Liver injury
- LiverTox describes senna as generally safe and well tolerated, but able to cause clinically apparent liver injury when used at high doses for longer than recommended.8
- Colorectal cancer question
- A prospective case-control study (554 people) found no link between anthranoid laxatives and colorectal adenoma or cancer (OR 1.0); a 2022 meta-analysis found a non-significant trend (OR 1.41, 95% CI 0.94–2.11) and called for better studies.67
- Children
- Accidental ingestion in young children can cause severe diaper rash and blistering, mostly in children wearing diapers.9
- Legal status
- US: an over-the-counter drug sold under a Drug Facts label with a laxative purpose. FDA's 2023 final order for OTC laxatives (monograph M007) lists only castor oil and dehydrocholic acid as stimulant laxatives; senna has stayed in Category III (further testing required) since a 1998 proposal.116
How the body handles senna
3 notesActivated in the colon, little reaches the blood.
- Activation
- Sennosides are broken down only in the lower gut, releasing rhein anthrone, the active metabolite.11
- Absorption
- Rhein anthrone is scarcely absorbed, so dianthrone glycosides like sennosides have lower systemic availability than anthraquinone glycosides.11
- Breast milk
- Rhein in breast milk stayed below 10 ng/mL in 94% of samples after 15 mg/day of sennosides.10
How to read the label
What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
7 answersDoes senna work for constipation?
Can I use senna every day?
The label says not to use laxatives for longer than 1 week unless a doctor directs it.1
Does long-term senna cause colon cancer?
How long does senna take to work?
The label says it generally produces a bowel movement in 6–12 hours.1
Is senna a supplement or a drug?
Is senna safe while breastfeeding?
Is senna used to prepare for a colonoscopy?
Yes, as a medical use. In an 11-trial meta-analysis (3,343 patients), senna-based preparations cleaned the bowel about as well as other regimens, with better tolerance and compliance.17
Sources
19 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
19 sources- 1SENOKOT (standardized senna concentrate) tablet: Drug Facts labelLabel DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 2025 · dailymed.nlm.nih.gov
- 2Senna Versus Magnesium Oxide for the Treatment of Chronic Constipation: A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial.RCT Am J Gastroenterol, 2021 · PMID 32969946
- 3Efficacy and Safety of Over-the-Counter Therapies for Chronic Constipation: An Updated Systematic Review.Systematic review Am J Gastroenterol, 2021 · PMID 33767108
- 4The use of senna with docusate for postoperative constipation after pelvic reconstructive surgery: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.RCT Am J Obstet Gynecol, 2010 · PMID 20207340
- 5PEG vs. sennosides for opioid-induced constipation in cancer care.Crossover RCT Support Care Cancer, 2020 · PMID 31321524
- 6Anthranoid laxative use is not a risk factor for colorectal neoplasia: results of a prospective case control study.Observational Gut, 2000 · PMID 10764708
- 7Anthraquinone laxatives use and colorectal cancer: A systematic review and meta-analysis of observational studies.Meta-analysis Phytother Res, 2022 · PMID 35040201
- 8Senna.Database LiverTox: Clinical and Research Information on Drug-Induced Liver Injury, 2012 · PMID 31643257
- 9Skin breakdown and blisters from senna-containing laxatives in young children.Observational Ann Pharmacother, 2003 · PMID 12708936
- 10Relevance of rhein excretion into breast milk.PK study Pharmacology, 1988 · PMID 3368521
- 11Metabolism and pharmacokinetics of anthranoids.Review Pharmacology, 1993 · PMID 8234447
- 12Cassia angustifolia and tacrolimus interaction in a liver transplant patient, a case report.Observational Br J Clin Pharmacol, 2024 · PMID 38657592
- 13SennaFact sheet MedlinePlus (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists), 2024 · medlineplus.gov
- 14Senna-induced hepatitis in a poor metabolizer.Observational Ann Intern Med, 2004 · PMID 15492352
- 15Senna. Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)Database National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 2024 · ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- 16Over-the-Counter Monograph M007: Laxative Drug Products for Over-the-Counter Human Use (Final Administrative Order OTC000032)Guideline U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2023 · accessdata.fda.gov
- 17The Efficacy of Senna Bowel Preparation for Colonoscopy: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis.Meta-analysis Gastroenterol Nurs, 2022 · PMID 35758925
- 18Effect of senna glycoside on serum potassium levels among patients on maintenance hemodialysis: A randomized controlled trial.RCT Ther Apher Dial, 2022 · PMID 38318690
- 19Sennosides vs magnesium hydroxide vs polyethylene glycol as a treatment for constipation in anorectal malformation: a randomized crossover trial.Crossover RCT Pediatr Surg Int, 2025 · PMID 40856829
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
4 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| key facts, evidence, studied doses, interactions, who should be careful, safety, FAQ | Added a colonoscopy bowel-preparation meta-analysis (PMID 35758925, 11 trials, marked as a medical use) and a children's crossover trial after anorectal malformation surgery (PMID 40856829, grade D). Pregnancy and breastfeeding notes now cite the NIH LactMed senna record (revised 2024; PMID 30000408). Regulatory status now cites FDA's 2023 final OTC laxative order (monograph M007), which leaves senna in Category III. The diuretic interaction adds a dialysis trial on potassium (PMID 38318690). Added a colonoscopy FAQ. A 2024 meta-analysis on opioid-induced constipation in cancer (PMID 38452708) only restates the existing polyethylene glycol vs sennosides trial, so no row was added. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit |
| all | Independent adversarial review: post-surgery 8.6 mg sennoside dose labelled per dose (the abstract gives no daily total) and the label-maximum insight reworded so it no longer compares a daily maximum with a single dose; added the MedlinePlus caution for adults 65 and older and against long-term use in older adults. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
| all | Adversarial review pass: every evidence row, key fact, interaction, safety note and FAQ re-read against its PubMed abstract or source page, and every number machine-checked against the cited source text. Retraction, expression-of-concern and withdrawn checks on all PMIDs: none flagged. Fixes: activation described as in the lower gut (the abstract does not name bacteria); an unsourced tea-standardisation claim and an unstated trial country removed. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
| all | Initial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.