Botanical

Peppermint Oil

Also called Mentha x piperita, peppermint, enteric-coated peppermint oil, menthol, L-menthol

By Kymata Labs EditorialMedical review pendingLast reviewed October 12, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Peppermint oil is the best-studied herbal option for irritable bowel syndrome. Pooled trials, most recently a 2022 meta-analysis of 10 RCTs, favour it over placebo (grade B), but the two most rigorous recent trials missed their main goals, and evidence quality is very low. Heartburn is the usual side effect, which enteric coating aims to reduce.

Top graded outcomes:B evidence grade Global IBS symptoms and abdominal painB evidence grade Persistent IBS symptomsB evidence grade Abdominal pain response and overall relief (primary endpoints)

Key facts

What it is
The essential oil of peppermint leaves and flowers; menthol is the main constituent[1][6]
Top studied outcome
Global IBS symptoms: better than placebo across 10 RCTs and 1,030 patients (RR of not improving 0.65), with very low evidence quality (B)[5]
Recent null trials
The 189-patient PERSUADE trial missed both primary endpoints, and a 133-patient US trial found no difference from placebo[2][4][8]
Side effects
Heartburn, nausea, abdominal pain and dry mouth; adverse events were more common than with placebo (RR 1.57)[1][5]
Enteric coating
Capsules are often enteric-coated to lower the chance of heartburn[1]
Drug interaction
A single 600 mg dose raised felodipine exposure to 140% of the water control[7]
Evidence base
4 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 12, 2026

How it works

ProposedPeppermint oil has antispasmodic properties, relaxing gut smooth muscle, which is the proposed basis for easing IBS pain. Menthol and menthyl acetate also inhibit the drug-metabolizing enzyme CYP3A4 in human liver microsomes.[5][7]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Grade
Form tested
Sort

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Global IBS symptoms and abdominal painImprovedGrade B

Meta-analysis · n = 1,030 · 2022

Adults with IBS in 10 randomized trials

Form: Peppermint oil capsules (mostly enteric-coated) · Dose: Varied across trials · Duration: Varied

Fewer patients failed to improve on peppermint oil than placebo for global symptoms (RR 0.65, NNT 4) and abdominal pain (RR 0.76, NNT 7). Adverse events were more frequent (RR 1.57). Evidence quality was very low.

35942669 (opens PubMed)Source [5]
Persistent IBS symptomsImprovedGrade B

Meta-analysis · n = 392 · 2008

Adults with IBS in 4 placebo-controlled trials

Form: Peppermint oil · Dose: Varied across trials · Duration: At least 1 week

Persistent symptoms were less likely with peppermint oil than placebo (RR 0.43, 95% CI 0.32–0.59).

19008265 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Abdominal pain response and overall relief (primary endpoints)No effectGrade B

RCT · n = 189 · 2020

Adults with IBS (Rome IV) in the Netherlands

Form: Small-intestinal-release or ileocolonic-release peppermint oil · Dose: 182 mg (dosing frequency not stated in the abstract) · Duration: 8 weeks

Neither formulation beat placebo on the FDA pain-response endpoint (46.8% and 41.3% vs 34.4%) or the EMA overall-relief endpoint. Small-intestinal release improved only secondary measures (pain, discomfort, IBS severity). Mild adverse events were more common.

31470006 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
IBS severity score (IBS-SSS)No effectGrade C

RCT · n = 133 · 2021

US adults with moderate to severe IBS (Rome IV)

Form: Enteric-coated peppermint oil · Dose: 180 mg three times daily · Duration: 6 weeks

Both groups improved substantially (90.8 vs 100.3 points); no significant difference on the primary or any secondary outcome (P = 0.97).

34319275 (opens PubMed)Source [4]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Enteric-coated capsules (small-intestinal release)Varies[2][4]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Coating delays release past the stomach; a targeted ileocolonic version showed no added benefit in PERSUADE.[1][2]Heartburn and indigestion are the common effects; coating aims to reduce them.[1][5]IBS symptoms (180–182 mg per dose in recent trials)
Ileocolonic-release capsulesVaries[2]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Releases oil in the lower small bowel and colon.[2]Mild adverse events more common than placebo.[2]IBS; not superior to placebo and not supported for further development by the trial authors
Peppermint leaf and teaVaries[1]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No human absorption data in our sources.[1]Tea appears safe; long-term safety of large amounts of leaf is unknown.[1]Very little research on leaf for any condition
Topical oil, gel or creamVaries[1]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Applied to skin, not swallowed.[1]Skin rash and irritation; never on the face of infants or young children.[1]Tension headache, nipple pain in breastfeeding (limited evidence)

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 182 mg of peppermint oil per dose (dosing frequency not stated in the abstract) for 8 weeks to 180 mg of enteric-coated oil three times daily for 6 weeks.[2][4]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Medicines

  • Felodipine and other CYP3A4 substratesPK studye.g. FelodipineIn 12 healthy volunteers, a single 600 mg dose of peppermint oil raised felodipine exposure (AUC) to 140% of the water control; peppermint oil constituents inhibited CYP3A4 in liver microsomes.[7]

Who should be careful

Heartburn or reflux
Heartburn is a common side effect, and peppermint oil alone may worsen indigestion in some people.[1]
Infants and young children
Peppermint oil should not be applied to the face of infants or young children, because inhaled menthol may affect breathing.[1]
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
Food amounts are likely safe, but safety of medicinal oral amounts is unknown; LactMed says peppermint used on the nipples should be applied after nursing and wiped off before the next feed.[1][6]
Mint or menthol allergy
Allergic reactions, including headaches, have been reported to menthol.[1][6]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Safety

Generally safe at common doses; heartburn is the main trade-off.

Common side effects
Heartburn, nausea, abdominal pain and dry mouth; rare allergic reactions.[1]
More side effects than placebo
Pooled trials found adverse events 1.57 times as common as with placebo, mostly mild reflux and indigestion.[5][1]
Large doses
Large doses can cause heartburn, nausea and vomiting.[6]
Skin
Topical use can cause rashes and irritation.[1]

How to read the label

  1. Label dose vs clinical doseRecent IBS trials used about 180 mg of oil per capsule, up to three times daily (540 mg/day). Check that the label states milligrams of peppermint oil and an enteric coating, not leaf powder.[2][4][1]
  2. Coating matters for comfortEnteric coating is used to lower heartburn risk; a targeted ileocolonic release gave no extra benefit.[1][2]
  3. Expect a strong placebo responseIn the 2021 US trial, placebo improved IBS scores as much as peppermint oil.[4]

Frequently asked questions

Does peppermint oil help IBS?

Meta-analyses find it better than placebo for overall symptoms and pain, but the evidence quality is very low and the two most rigorous recent trials missed their primary endpoints.[5][2][4]

What dose was used?

Recent trials used about 180 mg of peppermint oil per capsule, up to three times daily, for 6–8 weeks.[2][4]

Why enteric-coated?

Coating delays release past the stomach and is used to reduce the chance of heartburn, the most common side effect.[1]

Does peppermint oil interact with medicines?

A single 600 mg dose increased felodipine exposure by about 40%, possibly by inhibiting CYP3A4, so drugs cleared this way could be affected.[7]

Is peppermint oil safe for children?

It should not be applied to the face of infants or young children, because inhaled menthol may affect breathing.[1]

Sources

  1. [1]Peppermint Oil: Usefulness and Safety. NCCIH, 2025. fact-sheet
  2. [2]Efficacy and Safety of Peppermint Oil in a Randomized, Double-Blind Trial of Patients With Irritable Bowel Syndrome.. Gastroenterology, 2020. RCT PMID 31470006
  3. [3]Effect of fibre, antispasmodics, and peppermint oil in the treatment of irritable bowel syndrome: systematic review and meta-analysis.. BMJ, 2008. meta-analysis PMID 19008265
  4. [4]Peppermint Oil Treatment for Irritable Bowel Syndrome: A Randomized Placebo-Controlled Trial.. Am J Gastroenterol, 2021. RCT PMID 34319275
  5. [5]Systematic review and meta-analysis: efficacy of peppermint oil in irritable bowel syndrome.. Aliment Pharmacol Ther, 2022. meta-analysis PMID 35942669
  6. [6]Peppermint. Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed).. NICHD, 2025. database PMID 30000911
  7. [7]Evaluation of peppermint oil and ascorbyl palmitate as inhibitors of cytochrome P4503A4 activity in vitro and in vivo.. Clin Pharmacol Ther, 2002. PK-study PMID 12235445
  8. [8]Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Complementary Health Approaches: What the Science Says (accessed 2026-10-12). NCCIH, 2026. fact-sheet

What changed

  1. October 12, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft (rebuilt after a lost earlier draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year) and the cited abstracts read. CommentsCorrections check: the 2008 BMJ meta-analysis (PMID 19008265) has a published erratum (BMJ 2009;338:b1881); PERSUADE (PMID 31470006) and the other cited PMIDs have none. No product links.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet
  2. October 12, 2026 · all · reviewIndependent adversarial review (PR #201): spot-checked both meta-analyses, PERSUADE, the 2021 US trial and the felodipine study against PubMed abstracts. Summary and insight no longer call the positive pooled data 'older' (the 2022 meta-analysis is recent); felodipine mechanism stated as possible, as the authors did; microsome wording corrected; nipple-use line attributed to LactMed.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →