Botanical

Sea Buckthorn

Also called Hippophae rhamnoides, sea buckthorn oil, seaberry, omega-7 oil, sea buckthorn berry

By Niko P.Last reviewed October 10, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Sea buckthorn is an orange berry used as oil, juice or extract. Single trials found its oil eased dry-eye symptoms and vaginal dryness after menopause, and a fruit extract relieved constipation (grade D). The berries did not reduce colds. A meta-analysis suggests lipid improvements only in people whose lipids were abnormal to begin with.

Top graded outcomes:D evidence grade Dry eye: tear film osmolarity and symptomsD evidence grade Vaginal dryness and tissue health after menopauseD evidence grade Bowel movements in chronic idiopathic constipation

Key facts

What it is
The orange berries of Hippophae rhamnoides, used as juice, puree, seed or pulp oil, or extract[2][3][5]
Top studied outcomes
Dry eye (D), vaginal dryness after menopause (D), constipation (D), colds (no effect, D)[4][3][5][2]
Studied doses
2–3 g/day of oil; 500 mg/day of fruit extract[4][3][5]
Lipids
A 15-study meta-analysis found lower lipids only in people with abnormal lipids, with high heterogeneity[1]
Eczema
A Cochrane review found no convincing benefit from dietary supplements, sea buckthorn oils included[7]
Evidence base
4 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 10, 2026

How it works

ProposedSea buckthorn oil supplies fatty acids (including omega-3, omega-6 and the rarer omega-7), carotenoids and tocopherols, and the berries contain flavonols such as isorhamnetin and quercetin. These are proposed to support mucous membranes and dampen inflammation; the mechanism in people is not established.[6][4]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
InfectionsGrade DMixedRCT · n = 254 · 2008Form tested: Sea buckthorn berry product1 rowIncludes this form
MenopauseGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 116 · 2014Form tested: Sea buckthorn oil1 rowIncludes this form
EyesGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 100 · 2010Form tested: Sea buckthorn oil1 rowIncludes this form
ConstipationGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 90 · 2026Form tested: Hydroethanolic sea buckthorn fruit extract1 rowIncludes this form

Every graded row

Outcome
Form tested
Sort

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Colds, digestive and urinary infections, and CRPMixedGrade D

RCT · n = 254 · 2008

Healthy adult volunteers

Form: Sea buckthorn berry product · Dose: Not stated in the abstract · Duration: Not stated in the abstract

No difference from placebo in the number or duration of colds or digestive infections; serum CRP fell slightly more (median difference −0.059 mg/L, P=0.039). Urinary infections were too few to judge.

17593932 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
Vaginal dryness and tissue health after menopauseImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 116 · 2014

Postmenopausal women with vaginal dryness, itching or burning

Form: Sea buckthorn oil · Dose: 3 g/day · Duration: 3 months

Vaginal epithelial integrity improved more than with placebo in the intention-to-treat analysis (OR 3.1); the vaginal health index showed only a trend (P=0.08).

25104582 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Dry eye: tear film osmolarity and symptomsImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 100 · 2010

Adults aged 20–75 with dry eye symptoms

Form: Sea buckthorn oil · Dose: 2 g/day · Duration: 3 months, autumn to winter

Tear film osmolarity rose less than with placebo over the cold season (intention-to-treat P=0.04), and redness or burning were lower depending on the analysis; 86 of 100 completed.

20554904 (opens PubMed)Source [4]
Bowel movements in chronic idiopathic constipationImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 90 · 2026

Adults with chronic idiopathic constipation

Form: Hydroethanolic sea buckthorn fruit extract · Dose: 500 mg/day · Duration: 28 days

Spontaneous complete bowel movements rose from 1.5 to 2.6 a week and stool consistency normalized, versus no change on placebo; bloating, abdominal pain and heaviness fell. No adverse events or rescue laxative use.

41829976 (opens PubMed)Source [5]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Sea buckthorn oil capsules (seed or pulp oil)Varies[3][4][7]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No human absorption data in our sources.[4]The oil trial abstracts report no adverse effects.[3][4]Dry eye and vaginal dryness trials (2–3 g/day)
Hydroethanolic fruit extractVaries[5]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No human absorption data in our sources.[5]No adverse events in a 90-person, 28-day trial.[5]Constipation trial (500 mg/day)
Berries, puree or juiceVaries[2]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No human absorption data in our sources.[2]No adverse effects reported in the abstract.[2]Infection trial in healthy adults

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 500 mg/day of fruit extract for 28 days to 2–3 g/day of oil for 3 months.[5][4][3]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

None found in our sources.

Who should be careful

Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
The trials cited here enrolled adults only and give no safety data for these groups.[2][3][4][5]
Eczema
A Cochrane review found no convincing evidence that dietary supplements, sea buckthorn oils included, help eczema.[7]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Safety

Trials report few side effects.

Side effects
No adverse events occurred in the 90-person constipation trial.[5]
Long-term data
The longest trials cited here lasted 3 months.[3][4]

How to read the label

  1. Label dose vs clinical doseOil trials used 2 g/day (dry eye) or 3 g/day (vaginal dryness); the constipation trial used 500 mg/day of a hydroethanolic fruit extract.[4][3][5]
  2. Seed oil vs pulp oilSeed oil and pulp oil are different products; an eczema trial tested them separately against placebo.[7]
  3. Extract typeThe constipation result applies to one standardized fruit extract supplied by its maker.[5]

Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch

Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.

Cost per studied dose

Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.

Formula: price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × reference amount. Use the amount printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front-of-pack compound weight. Reference amounts are what trials studied or official limits, not advice for you. We don't rank or link products on this page.

Frequently asked questions

Does sea buckthorn oil help dry eyes?

In a 3-month trial in 100 adults, 2 g/day of oil kept tear film osmolarity from rising as much as placebo over winter and eased redness or burning.[4]

Does sea buckthorn help vaginal dryness after menopause?

In 116 postmenopausal women, 3 g/day of oil for 3 months improved vaginal tissue integrity more than placebo; the overall vaginal health index was only a trend.[3]

Does sea buckthorn help constipation?

A 28-day trial in 90 adults found 500 mg/day of a fruit extract raised complete bowel movements from 1.5 to 2.6 a week. The extract maker sponsored it.[5]

Does sea buckthorn protect against colds?

No. In 254 healthy adults the berries did not reduce the number or length of colds, though CRP fell slightly.[2]

Does sea buckthorn lower cholesterol?

A 15-study meta-analysis found lipid improvements mainly in people with abnormal lipids, with high variation between studies.[1]

Is sea buckthorn safe?

The trials cited here, lasting up to 3 months, report no adverse effects; they did not include pregnant women or children.[3][4][5]

Sources

  1. [1]Effects of sea buckthorn (Hippophae rhamnoides L.) on factors related to metabolic syndrome: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trial.. Phytother Res, 2022. meta-analysis PMID 36043374
  2. [2]Effects of sea buckthorn berries on infections and inflammation: a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial.. Eur J Clin Nutr, 2008. RCT PMID 17593932
  3. [3]Effects of sea buckthorn oil intake on vaginal atrophy in postmenopausal women: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study.. Maturitas, 2014. RCT PMID 25104582
  4. [4]Oral sea buckthorn oil attenuates tear film osmolarity and symptoms in individuals with dry eye.. J Nutr, 2010. RCT PMID 20554904
  5. [5]Hippophae rhamnoides L. Fruit Extract Relieves Chronic Idiopathic Constipation and Improves Bowel Function: A Monocentric, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Clinical Trial.. Nutrients, 2026. RCT PMID 41829976
  6. [6]Sea buckthorn, its bioactive constituents, and mechanism of action: potential application in female reproduction.. Front Endocrinol (Lausanne), 2023. review PMID 38027169
  7. [7]Dietary supplements for established atopic eczema.. Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2012. systematic-review PMID 22336810

What changed

  1. October 10, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for the cited rows.Writer: Niko P. · No credentialed reviewer yet
  2. October 10, 2026 · all · reviewAdversarial review pass: every evidence row re-read against its PubMed abstract. No NIH ODS fact sheet or NCCIH herb page covers sea buckthorn, so no official monograph is cited. Industry ties: EPO S.r.l. sponsored the 2026 constipation trial and supplied the extract (PMC12987243); funding for the 2008, 2010 and 2014 trials is not stated in PubMed. Retraction, expression-of-concern, erratum and withdrawn checks on all 7 PMIDs: none flagged. Page set indexable. Independent browser review (4 parallel reviewers, every evidence row checked against its abstract and official sources on the Vercel preview) found: no issues.Writer: Niko P. · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →