Clove (clove oil and clove bud extract)

Also called cloves, Syzygium aromaticum, Eugenia caryophyllata, clove oil, clove bud oil, eugenol.

The short answer

From 13 sources

Most clove trials apply it to the skin, gums or mouth. A homemade clove gel matched benzocaine for needle-stick pain, and a clove mouthwash beat chlorhexidine for ventilator pneumonia in one trial. Two oral extract studies had 16 and 13 people and were run by the extract's maker. Swallowing clove oil can cause severe liver injury.

Key facts

Gum numbing
Clove gel and 20% benzocaine gel both lowered needle-stick pain versus placebo in 73 adults, with no difference between them1
ICU mouthwash
20.2% vs 41.7% of ventilated ICU patients developed pneumonia with clove mouthwash vs chlorhexidine (168 patients)3
Oral supplement
Two small trials of 250 mg/day clove bud polyphenol extracts, both by the manufacturer: a 16-person hangover crossover and a 13-person open-label blood-sugar pilot412
Clove oil overdose
NIH LiverTox likelihood score C[H] (probable cause of liver injury in overdoses): normal doses are not linked to liver injury, but swallowing large amounts, typically 10–30 mL, can cause severe liver injury6
Children
Swallowing under 8 ml of clove oil (a 3-month-old) or 10 ml (a 15-month-old) caused acute liver failure; both recovered after N-acetylcysteine treatment78

What it is

Clove is the dried flower bud of Syzygium aromaticum. Its oil is mostly eugenol and is used in dentistry; oral extracts are sold as supplements.

How it works

Proposed

Eugenol is the main phenolic compound in clove oil. Trials tested clove gel as a topical anaesthetic for the gum, and the Clovinol trial authors attribute their results to antioxidant clove polyphenols. Lab and animal studies, summarised in a 2025 review, report that eugenol reduces platelet clumping. None of these mechanisms are confirmed in people taking oral supplements.111410

Forms, side by side

3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Clove (clove oil and clove bud extract) forms compared

3 forms
Clove (clove oil and clove bud extract) forms compared: 3 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
3 formsClove oil (eugenol-rich essential oil)Clove extract mouthwashClove bud polyphenol extract (Clovinol)
Absorption in peopleNot measured in the cited trials; eugenol alone at 150 mg/day for 7 days caused no blood chemistry changes in 10 men.256Not systemically measured in the trial abstract.3Not reported in the abstract.4
GI toleranceSwallowed clove oil can cause severe liver injury; NIH LiverTox links liver injury to high-dose ingestion, not normal use.256Not described in the abstract.3Not described in detail in the abstract.4
Studied forTopical creams, gum gels, dental useICU mouth careBlood markers after heavy drinking; a related water-soluble bud extract was tested for blood glucose (open-label pilot)
  1. Clove oil (eugenol-rich essential oil)
    Absorption in people
    Not measured in the cited trials; eugenol alone at 150 mg/day for 7 days caused no blood chemistry changes in 10 men.256
    GI tolerance
    Swallowed clove oil can cause severe liver injury; NIH LiverTox links liver injury to high-dose ingestion, not normal use.256
    Studied for
    Topical creams, gum gels, dental use
  2. Clove extract mouthwash
    Absorption in people
    Not systemically measured in the trial abstract.3
    GI tolerance
    Not described in the abstract.3
    Studied for
    ICU mouth care
  3. Clove bud polyphenol extract (Clovinol)
    Absorption in people
    Not reported in the abstract.4
    GI tolerance
    Not described in detail in the abstract.4
    Studied for
    Blood markers after heavy drinking; a related water-soluble bud extract was tested for blood glucose (open-label pilot)
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

5 graded outcomes, largest study first

All 5 graded outcomes found an improvement. The largest, a 2023 randomized trial of 168 people on Ventilator-associated pneumonia in ICU patients, found an improvement.

1Ventilator-associated pneumonia in ICU patients

Improved · Grade C · RCT, 168 people, 2023

Ventilated ICU patients in Iran

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Ventilator-associated pneumonia in ICU patientsImproved168Grade C · RCT, 2023Ventilated ICU patients in Iran
Needle-stick pain on the gum after a topical gelImproved73Grade C · RCT, 2006Adult volunteers
Chronic anal fissure closure at 3 monthsImproved55Grade D · RCT, 2007Adults with chronic anal fissure
Hangover severity and blood markers after heavy drinkingImproved16Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2018Male social drinkers
Blood glucose before and after mealsImproved13Grade D · Open-label trial, 2019Otherwise healthy adults with normal or raised fasting glucose
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

5 rows

Showing 5 of 5 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CVentilator-associated pneumonia in ICU patientsICU mouth careHalf the pneumonia rateRCT
n 168 · 2023

Improved 20.2% of the clove group and 41.7% of the chlorhexidine group developed pneumonia (RR 2.06 for control, 95% CI 1.26-3.37, p = 0.005); pneumonia severity did not differ.

Design
RCT, n = 168, 2023
Population
Ventilated ICU patients in Iran
Form
Clove extract mouthwash 6.66% vs chlorhexidine 0.2%
Dose
Twice daily
Duration
5 days
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 36961592 (opens PubMed)
Grade CNeedle-stick pain on the gum after a topical gelDental numbingSimilar to benzocaineRCT
n 73 · 2006

Improved Clove and benzocaine gels both gave lower mean pain scores than placebos (p = 0.005); clove and benzocaine did not differ.

Design
RCT, n = 73, 2006
Population
Adult volunteers
Form
Homemade clove gel vs 20% benzocaine gel and matching placebos, applied to the gum for 5 minutes
Dose
Single application
Duration
Single session
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 16530911 (opens PubMed)
Grade DChronic anal fissure closure at 3 monthsAnal fissure60% vs 12% closedRCT
n 55 · 2007

Improved Healing occurred in 60% of the clove oil group vs 12% of controls at 3 months (P < 0.001); resting anal pressure fell more with clove oil.

Design
RCT, n = 55, 2007
Population
Adults with chronic anal fissure
Form
Clove oil 1% cream vs stool softeners plus lignocaine 5% cream
Dose
Topical cream
Duration
6 weeks (3-month follow-up)
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 17573751 (opens PubMed)
Grade DHangover severity and blood markers after heavy drinkingHangover55% lower hangover scoreCrossover RCT
n 16 · 2018

Improved Blood acetaldehyde cleared faster and oxidative stress, CRP and interleukin-6 fell versus placebo; hangover severity scores were 55.34% lower.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 16, 2018
Population
Male social drinkers
Form
Clove bud polyphenol extract (Clovinol) vs placebo
Dose
250 mg/day
Duration
Not clearly stated; blood sampled over 12 hours after drinking in each arm (2-week washout)
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 30234415 (opens PubMed)
Grade DBlood glucose before and after mealsBlood sugarImprovedOpen-label trial
n 13 · 2019

Improved Two-hour post-meal glucose fell from baseline by day 12 (by 13.3 mg/dL with normal and 16.7 mg/dL with raised fasting glucose) and stayed lower through day 30; fasting glucose fell only in the raised-glucose group (by 13.7 mg/dL at day 30).

Design
Open-label trial, n = 13, 2019
Population
Otherwise healthy adults with normal or raised fasting glucose
Form
Water-soluble clove bud polyphenol extract
Dose
250 mg once daily
Duration
30 days
Source
Reference 12 · PubMed 31064377 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

A topical herb more than a supplement

Three of the five studies on this page applied clove to the gum, skin or mouth. The two that tested a swallowed clove supplement had 16 and 13 people and were run by the extract's maker.123412

How we got this: Count of evidence rows by route on this page

Safety data come from poisonings

The clearest human data on swallowed clove oil are case reports of liver failure in children, while a 7-day eugenol study in 10 men found no blood chemistry changes at 150 mg/day.785

How we got this: Case reports and the 1996 eugenol study cited here

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 150 mg/day of pure eugenol for 7 days (a safety study) to 250 mg/day of clove bud polyphenol extracts, used around a drinking session and for 30 days in a blood-sugar pilot. Most clove trials used creams, gels or mouthwash rather than swallowed doses. These are research doses, not recommendations.5412

When trials measured an effect

2 outcomes
How long trials ran before effects were measured
OutcomeMeasured atBasis
After-meal blood glucoseDay 12, sustained to day 30Open-label pilot of 250 mg/day clove bud extract in 13 adults; no control group12
Gum numbing before a needle stickAfter a 5-minute applicationClove gel applied to the gum for 5 minutes before the needle stick, versus benzocaine and placebo1
When each outcome was assessed in the cited trials. It is not a promise of when anyone will notice a change.

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Clove meets

1 cited row

Medicines 1

Clove1 medicine · 0 supplements

Supplements and foods 0

No supplement rows in our sources.

  • Reference summary
Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

1 agent
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines1
Anticoagulant and antiplatelet drugse.g. warfarin, clopidogrel, aspirin (inferred from mechanism)A 2025 review notes that eugenol inhibits platelet aggregation, and it reduced collagen- and arachidonic acid-induced aggregation of human platelets in the lab. No clinical interaction study exists, so this is a theoretical concern.1110Review

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Clove and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Clove.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Young children
Swallowing under 8 ml of clove oil caused liver failure in a 3-month-old and 10 ml did so in a 15-month-old; another child developed blood-clotting failure (DIC) and liver necrosis. Keep clove oil out of children's reach.789
Anyone thinking of swallowing clove oil
NIH LiverTox gives eugenol likelihood score C[H], a probable cause of liver injury in overdose: swallowing large amounts (typically 10–30 mL of clove oil) caused coma, low blood sugar and acute liver failure within a day, mostly in children. Normal food and topical amounts have not been linked to liver injury. The cited trials applied the oil to skin or gums.6
People with bleeding risk or before surgery
Eugenol reduced platelet clumping in lab studies; effects in people on blood thinners have not been tested.1110
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No reliable data. None of the cited trials enrolled pregnant or breastfeeding women, and LactMed has no clove entry. Clove as a cooking spice is common; the documented harms come from swallowing concentrated clove oil.14126
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Oil vs extract

Clove oil is concentrated eugenol. Clove bud polyphenol extracts such as Clovinol are a different product, and the 250 mg/day trial used that extract, not the oil.46

Topical percentages

Trials used a 1% clove oil cream and a 6.66% clove extract mouthwash; neat clove oil is far stronger than either.23

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

7 answers
Does clove oil work for toothache?

In 73 adults, a homemade clove gel numbed the gum about as well as 20% benzocaine gel before a needle stick. That is a numbing test, not a toothache trial, and it does not replace dental care.1

Do clove supplements help with hangovers?

One crossover trial in 16 men found 55% lower hangover scores with 250 mg of a clove bud extract, but it was run by the extract's maker and has not been repeated.4

Does clove thin the blood?

Eugenol reduced platelet clumping in lab and mouse studies. Whether clove supplements affect bleeding in people has not been tested.1110

Is it safe to swallow clove oil?

No for concentrated oil. NIH LiverTox says high-dose ingestion can cause severe liver injury, and swallowing under 8 ml or 10 ml caused liver failure in a 3-month-old and a 15-month-old.678

How much clove oil is dangerous to swallow?

LiverTox describes overdoses after swallowing about 10–30 mL of clove oil, with coma, low blood sugar and liver failure. In young children, less than 8 mL (a 3-month-old) and 10 mL (a 15-month-old) caused acute liver failure.678

What are the side effects of clove oil?

On the skin or gums, LiverTox notes few side effects beyond local irritation, rare allergic reactions and contact dermatitis. Swallowing large amounts can cause seizures, coma, low blood sugar and liver failure, mostly reported in young children.678

Is clove mouthwash better than chlorhexidine?

One trial in 168 ventilated ICU patients found half the pneumonia rate with a 6.66% clove mouthwash. It is a single hospital study of a clinical product.3

Sources

13 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

13 sources
  1. 1The effect of clove and benzocaine versus placebo as topical anesthetics.RCT J Dent, 2006 · PMID 16530911
  2. 2Clove oil cream: a new effective treatment for chronic anal fissure.RCT Colorectal Dis, 2007 · PMID 17573751
  3. 3Effect of clove mouthwash on the incidence of ventilator-associated pneumonia in intensive care unit patients: a comparative randomized triple-blind clinical trial.RCT Clin Oral Investig, 2023 · PMID 36961592
  4. 4Clove Bud Polyphenols Alleviate Alterations in Inflammation and Oxidative Stress Markers Associated with Binge Drinking: A Randomized Double-Blinded Placebo-Controlled Crossover Study.Crossover RCT J Med Food, 2018 · PMID 30234415
  5. 5Effect of short-term dietary administration of eugenol in humans.Crossover RCT Hum Exp Toxicol, 1996 · PMID 8645503
  6. 6Eugenol (Clove Oil).Database 2012 · PMID 31869191
  7. 7Essential oil poisoning: N-acetylcysteine for eugenol-induced hepatic failure and analysis of a national database.Observational Eur J Pediatr, 2005 · PMID 15895251
  8. 8N-acetylcysteine for the treatment of clove oil-induced fulminant hepatic failure.Observational J Toxicol Clin Toxicol, 2004 · PMID 15083943
  9. 9Disseminated intravascular coagulation and hepatocellular necrosis due to clove oil.Observational Blood Coagul Fibrinolysis, 1992 · PMID 1450336
  10. 10Eugenol Suppresses Platelet Activation and Mitigates Pulmonary Thromboembolism in Humans and Murine Models.Animal study Int J Mol Sci, 2024 · PMID 38396774
  11. 11Cardiovascular protective properties of the natural product eugenol.Review Eur J Pharmacol, 2025 · PMID 40623537
  12. 12Water-soluble polyphenol-rich clove extract lowers pre- and post-prandial blood glucose levels in healthy and prediabetic volunteers: an open label pilot study.Open-label trial BMC Complement Altern Med, 2019 · PMID 31064377
  13. 13Comparative Evaluation of Pain Perception Following Topical Application of Clove Oil, EMLA 5%, and Lignocaine Hydrochloride Gel 2% as a Pre-anesthetic Agent in Children Aged 7-10 Years: A Randomized Controlled Study.RCT Int J Clin Pediatr Dent, 2026 · PMID 42582221

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
summary, evidence, key facts, who should avoid, FAQ, questions, time to effect, studied doses, relatedAdded the LiverTox likelihood score (C[H], probable cause of liver injury in overdose, typically after 10–30 mL) to the liver note and key facts, a 13-person open-label blood-sugar pilot of a clove bud extract (grade D, manufacturer-run), and a 2026 trial in 48 children comparing clove oil with EMLA and lidocaine before dental injections (row notes; n from full text). Rewrote the pregnancy and breastfeeding note as no reliable data (no LactMed entry), added FAQ on toxic amounts and side effects, page questions, time-to-effect rows and a goal-hub link, and updated the summary and insight to count both oral studies. Searched PubMed for clove, Syzygium aromaticum and eugenol trials and meta-analyses from 2018 to 2026; no meta-analysis of clove itself was found. Interactions: checked LiverTox and LactMed (no clove entry); no new interactions beyond the existing antiplatelet note.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
allAdversarial review: corrected the infant clove-oil amounts (the 3-month-old swallowed under 8 ml per PMID 15083943; the 15-month-old 10 ml per PMID 15895251), replacing the inaccurate '8 to 10 ml' range.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: adversarial review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.