Kutki (Picrorhiza kurroa)

Also called Picrorhiza kurroa, picrorhiza, katuka, kutaki, picroliv, picrosides.

The short answer

From 9 sources

Kutki is a bitter Ayurvedic root used for liver complaints. The only placebo-controlled liver trial of kutki alone is a 1996 study of 33 people with acute viral hepatitis, in which bilirubin fell faster than on placebo. A 2024 trial of a kutki extract in mild COVID-19 reported faster recovery. Other trials used blends.

Key facts

Acute viral hepatitis
Kutki root powder (375 mg three times daily for 2 weeks) brought bilirubin down to 2.5 mg/dL in about 27 days vs 76 days on placebo in 33 patients1
Funding
That trial was run at the Ciba Research Centre in Bombay, and it has not been repeated in the decades since1
Blends
A seven-herb Ayurvedic blend containing kutki sped recovery in acute viral hepatitis (58 patients) but caused stomach pain and diarrhea in some2
COVID-19
A patented kutki extract (300 mg/day for 30 days) shortened recovery to 4.5 days vs 9.1 on placebo in 70 adults over 50 with mild COVID-197
Fatty liver
A many-ingredient blend that includes picroliv reduced liver fat more than placebo over 12 weeks in 127 adults who completed the trial; kutki alone has not been tested8
COPD
A blend of Picrorhiza, ginkgo and ginger did not improve cough-related health status vs placebo over 8 weeks in 33 people with COPD3
Active compounds
Its iridoid glycosides, picroside I and II, are considered the active compounds and are used to standardize extracts15

What it is

Kutki (Picrorhiza kurroa) is a bitter Himalayan herb whose root and rhizome are used in Ayurveda, mainly for the liver.

How it works

Proposed

Kutki contains iridoid glycosides (picrosides I and II) and cucurbitacins. Reviews propose that picrosides protect liver cells, based mainly on animal and cell studies, including reduced liver injury in rats given galactosamine. How it acts in people has not been established.514

Forms, side by side

3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Kutki (Picrorhiza kurroa) forms compared

3 forms
Kutki (Picrorhiza kurroa) forms compared: 3 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
3 formsRoot powder capsules standardized to picrosidesPatented kutki extract (AEV01)Ayurvedic and patented blends
Absorption in peopleNot measured in humans.1Not measured in humans.7Not measured.23
GI toleranceAdverse events are not reported in the 1996 trial abstract.1Over 30 days, 7 people on the extract and 11 on placebo had stomach or bowel side effects, and 3 on the extract (none on placebo) had low blood sugar episodes (full text).7Epigastric pain and diarrhea reported with one seven-herb blend.23
Studied forAcute viral hepatitisMild COVID-19 in older adultsLiver tests, COPD cough
  1. Root powder capsules standardized to picrosides
    Absorption in people
    Not measured in humans.1
    GI tolerance
    Adverse events are not reported in the 1996 trial abstract.1
    Studied for
    Acute viral hepatitis
  2. Patented kutki extract (AEV01)
    Absorption in people
    Not measured in humans.7
    GI tolerance
    Over 30 days, 7 people on the extract and 11 on placebo had stomach or bowel side effects, and 3 on the extract (none on placebo) had low blood sugar episodes (full text).7
    Studied for
    Mild COVID-19 in older adults
  3. Ayurvedic and patented blends
    Absorption in people
    Not measured.23
    GI tolerance
    Epigastric pain and diarrhea reported with one seven-herb blend.23
    Studied for
    Liver tests, COPD cough
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

5 graded outcomes, largest study first

5 graded outcomes: 4 improved, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2022 randomized trial of 127 people on liver fat in fatty liver disease with a blend containing picroliv, found an improvement.

1Liver fat in fatty liver disease with a blend containing picroliv

Improved · Grade D · RCT, 127 people, 2022

Adults with liver steatosis (Italy)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Liver fat in fatty liver disease with a blend containing picrolivImproved127Grade D · RCT, 2022Adults with liver steatosis (Italy)
Recovery from mild COVID-19 in older adultsImproved70Grade D · RCT, 2024Adults over 50 with mild COVID-19, added to standard care (India)
Recovery in acute viral hepatitis with a kutki-containing blendImproved58Grade D · RCT, 2010Patients with uncomplicated acute viral hepatitis (India)
Cough-related health status in COPDNo effect33Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2014Adults with COPD and chronic cough (UK)
Bilirubin and liver enzymes in acute viral hepatitisImproved33Grade D · RCT, 1996Patients with acute viral hepatitis, hepatitis B surface antigen negative (India)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

5 rows

Showing 5 of 5 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade DLiver fat in fatty liver disease with a blend containing picrolivFatty liverLess liver fat (blend)RCT
n 127 · 2022

Improved After adjustment, liver fat (CAP score) fell more with the blend than with placebo (−34 vs −20 dB/m, p = 0.045).

Design
RCT, n = 127, 2022
Population
Adults with liver steatosis (Italy)
Form
Livogen Plus (curcumin, bergamot polyphenols, artichoke leaf, black seed oil, fish oil, picroliv root, glutathione, SAMe and other ingredients) vs maltodextrin placebo
Dose
Six softgels daily
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 8 · PubMed 35986358 (opens PubMed)
Grade DRecovery from mild COVID-19 in older adultsCOVID-19 recoveryFaster recoveryRCT
n 70 · 2024

Improved Time to recovery was 4.5 days with AEV01 vs 9.1 days with placebo; oxygen saturation and cough improved faster, and severity scores improved from day 3.

Design
RCT, n = 70, 2024
Population
Adults over 50 with mild COVID-19, added to standard care (India)
Form
AEV01, a patented kutki (Picrorhiza kurroa) extract, vs placebo
Dose
100 mg three times daily (300 mg/day)
Duration
30 days
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 38320447 (opens PubMed)
Grade DRecovery in acute viral hepatitis with a kutki-containing blendLiver testsFaster recovery (blend)RCT
n 58 · 2010

Improved Weakness resolved sooner, and more patients had normal bilirubin and ALT at 2, 4 and 8 weeks; epigastric pain and diarrhea were reported with Livwin.

Design
RCT, n = 58, 2010
Population
Patients with uncomplicated acute viral hepatitis (India)
Form
Livwin capsules (ashwagandha, arjuna, bhumyamalaki, daruharidra, guduchi, kutki, punarnava) vs lactose placebo
Dose
Two capsules twice daily
Duration
8 weeks plus 4 weeks follow-up
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 21455448 (opens PubMed)
Grade DBilirubin and liver enzymes in acute viral hepatitisLiver testsFaster bilirubin recoveryRCT
n 33 · 1996

Improved Bilirubin, SGOT and SGPT differed significantly between groups; time for bilirubin to fall to 2.5 mg/dL was 27.4 days with kutki vs 75.9 days with placebo.

Design
RCT, n = 33, 1996
Population
Patients with acute viral hepatitis, hepatitis B surface antigen negative (India)
Form
Picrorhiza kurroa root powder capsules (standardized to picrosides) vs matching placebo
Dose
375 mg three times daily (1,125 mg/day)
Duration
2 weeks
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 9715310 (opens PubMed)
Grade DCough-related health status in COPDCOPD coughNo significant benefitPilot RCT
n 33 · 2014

No effect Leicester Cough Questionnaire change did not differ (difference 1.8, p = 0.28); St George's Respiratory Questionnaire favoured AKL1 but was not significant (p = 0.064).

Design
Pilot RCT, n = 33, 2014
Population
Adults with COPD and chronic cough (UK)
Form
AKL1 (Picrorhiza kurroa, Ginkgo biloba and ginger extracts) vs placebo, added to usual care
Dose
Twice daily
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 25031533 (opens PubMed)

Animal studies: drug metabolism

1 note

Rat and test-tube work, not tested in people; not an interaction finding.

CYP2C and CYP3A (rats)
In rats, repeated picroside II (a main kutki compound) reduced CYP2C activity at the higher dose (10 mg/kg) and raised CYP3A activity at the lower dose (2.5 mg/kg), measured with probe drugs such as diclofenac and midazolam; it did not inhibit human liver enzymes in the test tube. No human study has tested this.9

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

A 30-year-old single trial

The case for kutki in people rests on one 33-patient trial from 1996; reviews since then rely mostly on animal and cell research.154

How we got this: Evidence table and reviews

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 300 mg/day of a patented kutki extract (100 mg three times daily) for 30 days to 1,125 mg/day of root powder (375 mg three times daily) for 2 weeks; blend trials ran 8 to 12 weeks. These are research doses, not recommendations.7128

When trials measured an effect

2 outcomes
How long trials ran before effects were measured
OutcomeMeasured atBasis
Bilirubin in acute viral hepatitisAbout 27 days to reach 2.5 mg/dL (vs about 76 on placebo)1996 trial of root powder 1,125 mg/day for 2 weeks in 33 patients1
Mild COVID-19 severity scoresFrom day 32024 trial of a kutki extract 300 mg/day in 70 older adults; ordinal and early-warning scores improved from day 3 to the end of the study7
When each outcome was assessed in the cited trials. It is not a promise of when anyone will notice a change.

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Kutki meets

0 cited rows 5 tested together

Medicines 0

No medicine rows in our sources.

Kutki0 medicines · 5 supplements

Supplements and foods 5

  • Tested together in a graded trial
Also cited: 5 tested together
  1. AshwagandhaAshwagandha page

    • Tested together

      Recovery in acute viral hepatitis with a kutki-containing blend. Graded on the Kutki page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

  2. GingerGinger page

    • Tested together

      Cough-related health status in COPD. Graded on the Kutki page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

  3. Ginkgo bilobaGinkgo biloba page

    • Tested together

      Cough-related health status in COPD. Graded on the Kutki page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

  4. Terminalia arjunaTerminalia arjuna page

    • Tested together

      Recovery in acute viral hepatitis with a kutki-containing blend. Graded on the Kutki page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

  5. Tinospora cordifoliaTinospora cordifolia page

    • Tested together

      Recovery in acute viral hepatitis with a kutki-containing blend. Graded on the Kutki page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Kutki and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Kutki.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

5 groups
People with hepatitis or other liver disease
The only single-herb trial lasted 2 weeks in 33 people and has not been repeated; most other liver-protection evidence comes from animal and cell studies. It does not support using kutki in place of medical care for liver disease.15
People prone to diarrhea or stomach upset
Kutki is used traditionally as a laxative, and a blend containing it caused epigastric pain and diarrhea in some patients.42
Drug interactions
No published human drug-interaction studies were found. In rats, picroside II changed the activity of CYP2C and CYP3A enzymes that clear many drugs, so anyone on prescription medicine should check with a pharmacist.94
People with autoimmune disease or on immunosuppressants
In mice, kutki extract strongly stimulated the immune system, boosting both cell-mediated and antibody responses. Whether this worsens autoimmune disease or weakens immunosuppressant drugs in people has not been studied, so this is a theoretical concern.6
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
A 2022 review describes kutki as abortifacient and says it should be avoided in pregnancy. LactMed has no entry, and no trial has included pregnant or breastfeeding women, so there are no safety data for breastfeeding.4
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Standardization

The 1996 trial capsules contained about 2.7-2.9 mg picroside I and 5.5-6.0 mg picroside II each; products standardized to picrosides are closest to what was studied.1

Single herb vs blend

Kutki often appears in multi-herb liver formulas. Results from those blends cannot be credited to kutki.23

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

5 answers
Does kutki help fatty liver?

It has not been tested alone. A 12-week trial of a many-ingredient blend containing picroliv found less liver fat than placebo in 127 adults who completed it (−34 vs −20 dB/m), and reviews of picrosides in fatty liver rest mainly on animal and cell studies.85

What are the side effects of kutki?

Human data are minimal. A 2022 review notes no documented adverse effects from kutki root extracts despite wide use in India, but a seven-herb blend containing kutki caused stomach pain and diarrhea in some patients, and in a COVID-19 trial 3 people on a kutki extract (none on placebo) had low blood sugar episodes.427

Is kutki safe to take long term?

Unknown. Single-herb trials lasted 2 weeks (root powder) and 30 days (an extract), and blend trials up to 12 weeks, so there are no long-term safety data.178

Is kutki the same as picrorhiza?

Yes. Kutki is the common Indian name for Picrorhiza kurroa.1

What is kutki used for?

In Ayurveda, mainly for the liver and as a bitter laxative. In one small 1996 trial it sped bilirubin recovery in acute viral hepatitis.41

Sources

9 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

9 sources
  1. 1Picrorhiza kurroa (Kutaki) Royle ex Benth as a hepatoprotective agent--experimental & clinical studies.RCT J Postgrad Med, 1996 · PMID 9715310
  2. 2Efficacy and safety of livwin (polyherbal formulation) in patients with acute viral hepatitis: A randomized double-blind placebo-controlled clinical trial.RCT Int J Ayurveda Res, 2010 · PMID 21455448
  3. 3Adjunctive treatment with oral AKL1, a botanical nutraceutical, in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.Pilot RCT Int J Chron Obstruct Pulmon Dis, 2014 · PMID 25031533
  4. 4Pharmacological and Clinical Efficacy of Picrorhiza kurroa and Its Secondary Metabolites: A Comprehensive Review.Review Molecules, 2022 · PMID 36500409
  5. 5Picrorhiza kurroa, Royle ex Benth:Traditional uses, phytopharmacology, and translational potential in therapy of fatty liver disease.Review J Ayurveda Integr Med, 2023 · PMID 35659739
  6. 6Immunomodulating agents of plant origin. I: Preliminary screening.Animal study J Ethnopharmacol, 1986 · PMID 3560991
  7. 7A randomized, placebo controlled, double blinded, parallel group clinical study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of AEV01 along with standard care for elderly patients with mild COVID-19.RCT J Ayurveda Integr Med, 2024 · PMID 38320447
  8. 8A new nutraceutical (Livogen Plus®) improves liver steatosis in adults with non-alcoholic fatty liver disease.RCT J Transl Med, 2022 · PMID 35986358
  9. 9Evaluation potential effects of Picroside II on cytochrome P450 enzymes in vitro and in vivo.Animal study J Ethnopharmacol, 2023 · PMID 37192720

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, summary, key facts, forms, studied doses, who should avoid, interactions, FAQ, questions, time to effect, relatedAdded a 2024 trial of a patented kutki extract in 70 older adults with mild COVID-19 and a 2022 fatty liver trial (140 enrolled, 127 analysed) of a many-ingredient blend containing picroliv, with the extract as a new form. Added a rat CYP2C/CYP3A signal for picroside II as a research note (animal data, not an interaction row), reworded the immune-stimulation caution, and a pregnancy note citing a 2022 review that calls kutki abortifacient; LactMed, LiverTox and NCCIH have no kutki entry. Rewrote the FAQ around side effects, long-term safety and fatty liver, added page questions, time-to-effect rows and goal-hub links. PubMed found no meta-analysis or other single-herb trial; a 19-patient multi-herb lipid pilot (2022) was not added.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
evidence, safetyAdversarial review: COPD pilot regraded from no-effect to D (too small to rule out an effect); added autoimmune and immunosuppressant caution (mouse immunostimulation data, labelled theoretical); liver caution notes animal-only evidence.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: adversarial review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.