Calendula (Calendula officinalis)
Also called Calendula officinalis, pot marigold, marigold, calendula flower, calendula cream, calendula ointment.
Best grade C across 9 graded outcomes Botanical Last checked
The short answer
From 16 sourcesCalendula (pot marigold) is studied almost entirely as a cream or ointment, not a capsule. One large trial found less severe radiation dermatitis than trolamine, but two other trials found no difference from plain creams, and a 2023 meta-analysis found no significant effect (grade C). Small trials report faster wound closure and less episiotomy pain (grade D). People allergic to daisy-family plants can react.
Every graded outcome on this page
9 rows · line = participants- CGrade CSevere acute radiation skin reactions vs aqueous cream (breast cancer radiotherapy)Radiation dermatitisn 411
- CGrade CGrade 2+ radiation dermatitis vs trolamine (breast cancer radiotherapy)Radiation dermatitisn 254
- DGrade DVaginal yeast infection: negative tests vs clotrimazoleVaginal yeast infectionn 144
- DGrade DPain after episiotomy (calendula ointment vs standard care)Woundsn 100
- DGrade DGrade 2+ radiation dermatitis vs Sorbolene (breast cancer radiotherapy)Radiation dermatitisn 81
- DGrade DDiaper dermatitis in infants (calendula vs aloe vera)Diaper rashn 66
- DGrade DRadiation dermatitis vs essential fatty acids (head and neck cancer)Radiation dermatitisn 51
- DGrade DTime to skin closure in acute hand woundsWoundsn 38
- DGrade DSkin hydration and barrier recovery after irritant exposureSkin barriern 20
- 6 more graded outcomes, in the evidence chapter
Key facts
- How it is used in trials
- Applied to the skin as an ointment or cream; no oral calendula trial is cited here126712
- Radiation dermatitis
- Positive against trolamine (n=254), no difference against aqueous cream (n=411) or Sorbolene (n=81); no significant effect in a 2023 meta-analysis, and insufficient evidence in a 2024 breast-cancer meta-analysis123516
- EU status
- Traditional herbal medicine for minor skin inflammation, minor wounds and mouth or throat inflammation, based on long-standing use rather than clinical trials12
What it is
Calendula is the pot marigold flower, used mainly in creams and ointments for irritated skin and minor wounds.
How it works
ProposedAnimal studies summarized in a 2019 systematic review showed a shorter inflammatory phase and more granulation tissue in wounds dressed with calendula extract. How this translates to people is not established.11
Forms, side by side
3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.
Calendula (Calendula officinalis) forms compared
3 forms| 3 forms | Calendula ointment or cream (applied to skin) | Calendula vaginal cream | Calendula tea or capsules (by mouth) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Absorption in people | Applied to the skin, not swallowed; no human data on how much reaches the bloodstream.12 | Applied in the vagina; no absorption data.10 | No human absorption data found.12 |
| GI tolerance | No adverse effects were reported in the diaper dermatitis and irritant-dermatitis trials; skin sensitisation has been reported with calendula medicines at an unknown frequency.8912 | Tolerability is not described in the trial abstract.10 | No controlled trial of swallowed calendula was found; the EU conclusions cover infusions used on the lining of the mouth or the skin.12 |
| Studied for | Radiation dermatitis, minor wounds, episiotomy, diaper rash | Vaginal yeast infection (one trial against clotrimazole) | Not studied in the trials cited here |
- Calendula ointment or cream (applied to skin)
- Absorption in people
- Applied to the skin, not swallowed; no human data on how much reaches the bloodstream.12
- GI tolerance
- No adverse effects were reported in the diaper dermatitis and irritant-dermatitis trials; skin sensitisation has been reported with calendula medicines at an unknown frequency.8912
- Studied for
- Radiation dermatitis, minor wounds, episiotomy, diaper rash
- Calendula vaginal cream
- Calendula tea or capsules (by mouth)
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Trial map
9 graded outcomes, largest study first9 graded outcomes: 6 improved, 1 mixed, 2 no effect. The largest, a 2013 randomized trial of 411 people on severe acute radiation skin reactions vs aqueous cream (breast cancer radiotherapy), found no effect. Outcomes that improved came from smaller studies: a median of 59 people, against 246 for no effect.
1Severe acute radiation skin reactions vs aqueous cream (breast cancer radiotherapy)
No effect · Grade C · RCT, 411 people, 2013
Patients receiving adjuvant radiotherapy for breast cancer (Sweden)
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Severe acute radiation skin reactions vs aqueous cream (breast cancer radiotherapy) | No effect | 411 | Grade C · RCT, 2013 | Patients receiving adjuvant radiotherapy for breast cancer (Sweden) |
| Grade 2+ radiation dermatitis vs trolamine (breast cancer radiotherapy) | Improved | 254 | Grade C · RCT, 2004 | Women receiving postoperative radiotherapy for breast cancer (France) |
| Vaginal yeast infection: negative tests vs clotrimazole | Mixed | 144 | Grade D · RCT, 2017 | Married women aged 18–45 with vaginal candidiasis (Iran) |
| Pain after episiotomy (calendula ointment vs standard care) | Improved | 100 | Grade D · RCT, 2022 | Women with singleton term births who had an episiotomy (Italy) |
| Grade 2+ radiation dermatitis vs Sorbolene (breast cancer radiotherapy) | No effect | 81 | Grade D · RCT, 2021 | Women receiving breast cancer radiotherapy (Australia) |
| Diaper dermatitis in infants (calendula vs aloe vera) | Improved | 66 | Grade D · RCT, 2012 | Infants under 3 years with diaper dermatitis (Iran) |
| Radiation dermatitis vs essential fatty acids (head and neck cancer) | Improved | 51 | Grade D · RCT, 2015 | Patients receiving radiotherapy for head and neck cancer (Brazil) |
| Time to skin closure in acute hand wounds | Improved | 38 | Grade D · RCT, 2022 | Adults with skin-loss wounds of the hand or fingers left to close on their own (Brazil) |
| Skin hydration and barrier recovery after irritant exposure | Improved | 20 | Grade D · RCT, 2025 | Healthy volunteers with an experimentally irritated forearm (Croatia) |
Every graded row
9 rowsShowing 9 of 9 outcomes. Human trials only.
CGrade CSevere acute radiation skin reactions vs aqueous cream (breast cancer radiotherapy)Radiation dermatitis23% vs 19% (no difference)RCT
n 411 · 2013
No effect Severe reactions occurred in 23% with calendula vs 19% with Essex aqueous cream; no difference at any assessment and no difference in patient-reported skin symptoms.
- Design
- RCT, n = 411, 2013
- Population
- Patients receiving adjuvant radiotherapy for breast cancer (Sweden)
- Form
- Calendula cream (Weleda)
- Dose
- Applied to the irradiated area (frequency not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- Course of adjuvant radiotherapy
- Source
- Reference 2 · PubMed 23245940 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CGrade 2+ radiation dermatitis vs trolamine (breast cancer radiotherapy)Radiation dermatitis41% vs 63% grade 2+RCT
n 254 · 2004
Improved Grade 2 or higher dermatitis occurred in 41% with calendula vs 63% with trolamine (P<.001); calendula users also had less radiation-related pain and fewer treatment interruptions.
- Design
- RCT, n = 254, 2004
- Population
- Women receiving postoperative radiotherapy for breast cancer (France)
- Form
- Calendula ointment (Boiron Pommade au Calendula par Digestion)
- Dose
- Applied to the irradiated skin after each radiotherapy session
- Duration
- Course of postoperative radiotherapy
- Source
- Reference 1 · PubMed 15084618 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DVaginal yeast infection: negative tests vs clotrimazoleVaginal yeast infection49% vs 74%, then 77% vs 34%RCT
n 144 · 2017
Mixed Fewer women tested negative with calendula at 10–15 days (49% vs 74%; OR 0.32) but more did at 30–35 days (77% vs 34%; OR 3.1), when signs and symptoms were also lower than with clotrimazole.
- Design
- RCT, n = 144, 2017
- Population
- Married women aged 18–45 with vaginal candidiasis (Iran)
- Form
- Calendula vaginal cream (comparator: clotrimazole vaginal cream)
- Dose
- 5 g vaginal cream every night
- Duration
- 7 nights; follow-up to 30–35 days
- Source
- Reference 10 · PubMed 27880086 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DPain after episiotomy (calendula ointment vs standard care)WoundsImprovedRCT
n 100 · 2022
Improved Pain scores were lower with calendula from day 2 through follow-up; redness and swelling of the wound were also lower.
- Design
- RCT, n = 100, 2022
- Population
- Women with singleton term births who had an episiotomy (Italy)
- Form
- Calendula ointment
- Dose
- Applied 4 hours after episiotomy, then every 8 hours
- Duration
- 10 days
- Source
- Reference 6 · PubMed 32460565 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DGrade 2+ radiation dermatitis vs Sorbolene (breast cancer radiotherapy)Radiation dermatitis53% vs 62% (no difference)RCT
n 81 · 2021
No effect Grade 2+ dermatitis: 53% with calendula vs 62% with Sorbolene (OR 0.87, P=0.92). The trial recruited 82 of a planned 178 and was underpowered.
- Design
- RCT, n = 81, 2021
- Population
- Women receiving breast cancer radiotherapy (Australia)
- Form
- Topical calendula
- Dose
- Applied to the treated skin (schedule not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- Course of radiotherapy
- Source
- Reference 3 · PubMed 32965030 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DDiaper dermatitis in infants (calendula vs aloe vera)Diaper rashImprovedRCT
n 66 · 2012
Improved Both groups improved; the calendula group had significantly fewer rash sites than the aloe group (P=0.001). No adverse effects were reported.
- Design
- RCT, n = 66, 2012
- Population
- Infants under 3 years with diaper dermatitis (Iran)
- Form
- Calendula ointment (comparator: aloe vera cream)
- Dose
- Applied 3 times a day
- Duration
- 10 days
- Source
- Reference 8 · PubMed 22606064 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DRadiation dermatitis vs essential fatty acids (head and neck cancer)Radiation dermatitisImprovedRCT
n 51 · 2015
Improved Grade 2 dermatitis was less common with calendula than with an essential fatty acid product (P=0.012).
- Design
- RCT, n = 51, 2015
- Population
- Patients receiving radiotherapy for head and neck cancer (Brazil)
- Form
- Topical calendula
- Dose
- Applied to the irradiated skin (schedule not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- Course of radiotherapy
- Source
- Reference 4 · PubMed 25992820 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DTime to skin closure in acute hand woundsWounds8.6 vs 13.2 daysRCT
n 38 · 2022
Improved Wounds closed in 8.6 days with calendula vs 13.2 days with mineral oil (P<0.05).
- Design
- RCT, n = 38, 2022
- Population
- Adults with skin-loss wounds of the hand or fingers left to close on their own (Brazil)
- Form
- Standardized calendula extract
- Dose
- Applied to the wound (schedule not stated in the abstract); control used mineral oil
- Duration
- Until the wound closed
- Source
- Reference 7 · PubMed 34674610 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DSkin hydration and barrier recovery after irritant exposureSkin barrierImprovedRCT
n 20 · 2025
Improved The calendula site was more hydrated than control and base-cream sites on day 4 (P=0.017 and P=0.035), still on day 8, and lost less water than control on day 3; redness did not differ.
- Design
- RCT, n = 20, 2025
- Population
- Healthy volunteers with an experimentally irritated forearm (Croatia)
- Form
- Emollient cream with 1% supercritical CO2 calendula extract (vs the same base cream and untreated skin)
- Dose
- Applied to randomized forearm test sites (schedule not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 8 days
- Source
- Reference 9 · PubMed 41527980 (opens PubMed)
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
The comparator decides the result
Pooled radiation data are null
A 2023 meta-analysis of randomized trials found no significant effect of calendula on grade 2+ radiation dermatitis; among the five natural products studied, only oral enzymes and olive oil reached significance. A 2024 meta-analysis in breast cancer found insufficient evidence for calendula, unlike silymarin.516
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
Doses studied in human trials ranged from applications after each radiotherapy session to three times daily (diaper dermatitis) or every 8 hours (episiotomy), for 10 days up to a full radiotherapy course. All were creams or ointments on the skin; most abstracts do not state the extract strength, apart from one 1% CO2-extract cream.1689
When trials measured an effect
2 outcomes| Outcome | Measured at | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Pain after episiotomy | Day 2, lasting through follow-up | 100-woman trial: pain was lower with calendula ointment from day two and during all follow-up6 |
| Vaginal yeast infection | 30–35 days after a 7-night course | 150-woman trial: calendula trailed clotrimazole at 10–15 days and led at 30–35 days10 |
Interactions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
Interactions
0 agentsNone found in our sources.
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Calendula and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Calendula.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
4 groups- Allergy to daisy-family (Asteraceae) plants
- The EU monograph says calendula medicines must not be used by people allergic to Asteraceae plants, the family that also includes arnica and chamomile. In one patch-test series, 9 of 443 dermatology patients reacted to marigold.121314
- Young children
- The EU traditional-use conclusions cover skin use from age 6 and mouth or throat use from age 12. One trial used calendula ointment for diaper rash in infants under 3 without reported side effects, but that is a single 10-day trial.128
- Pregnancy and breastfeeding
- The EU monograph says safety in pregnancy and breastfeeding has not been established and does not recommend use. LactMed notes calendula creams have been used on sore or cracked nipples with little high-quality evidence, and no information on oral use while breastfeeding. No cited trial tested calendula during pregnancy; the episiotomy trial applied it after birth.12156
How to read the label
What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.
How to read the label
3 checksFrequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
8 answersDoes calendula cream help radiation dermatitis?
Does calendula help wounds close faster?
Is calendula good for diaper rash?
One trial in 66 infants found fewer rash sites with calendula ointment than with aloe cream after 10 days, with no reported side effects. There was no placebo group.8
Does calendula work for vaginal yeast infections?
One trial in 150 women compared a calendula vaginal cream with clotrimazole: fewer calendula users tested negative at 10–15 days (49% vs 74%), but more did at 30–35 days (77% vs 34%). It is a single trial; clotrimazole remains the tested standard treatment.10
Can calendula cause an allergic reaction?
Does calendula interact with medicines?
No interactions are documented. The EU herbal monograph lists none reported, and LiverTox has no calendula entry. Most use is on the skin, and no trial measured drug levels with calendula.12
Can calendula cream be used on sore nipples while breastfeeding?
Should calendula be swallowed as a supplement?
No controlled trial of oral calendula was found for this page. The EU conclusions cover preparations applied to the skin or to the lining of the mouth and throat.12
Sources
16 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
16 sources- 1Phase III randomized trial of Calendula officinalis compared with trolamine for the prevention of acute dermatitis during irradiation for breast cancer.RCT J Clin Oncol, 2004 · PMID 15084618
- 2No differences between Calendula cream and aqueous cream in the prevention of acute radiation skin reactions--results from a randomised blinded trial.RCT Eur J Oncol Nurs, 2013 · PMID 23245940
- 3Efficacy of topical Calendula officinalis on prevalence of radiation-induced dermatitis: A randomised controlled trial.RCT Australas J Dermatol, 2021 · PMID 32965030
- 4[Usage of Calendula officinalis in the prevention and treatment of radiodermatitis: a randomized double-blind controlled clinical trial].RCT Rev Esc Enferm USP, 2015 · PMID 25992820
- 5Natural and miscellaneous agents for the prevention of acute radiation dermatitis: a systematic review and meta-analysis.Meta-analysis Support Care Cancer, 2023 · PMID 36859690
- 6Use of calendula ointment after episiotomy: a randomized clinical trial.RCT J Matern Fetal Neonatal Med, 2022 · PMID 32460565
- 7Treatment of acute wounds in hand with Calendula officinalis L.: A randomized trial.RCT Tissue Barriers, 2022 · PMID 34674610
- 8A randomized comparative trial on the therapeutic efficacy of topical aloe vera and Calendula officinalis on diaper dermatitis in children.RCT ScientificWorldJournal, 2012 · PMID 22606064
- 9Double-blind randomised controlled trial of an emollient cream with and without 1 % supercritical CO2 extract of Calendula officinalis in contact dermatitis.RCT Acta Pharm, 2025 · PMID 41527980
- 10Comparing the effects of Calendula officinalis and clotrimazole on vaginal Candidiasis: A randomized controlled trial.RCT Women Health, 2017 · PMID 27880086
- 11A systematic review of Calendula officinalis extract for wound healing.Systematic review Wound Repair Regen, 2019 · PMID 31145533
- 12Calendulae flos - herbal medicinal product (HMPC summary and EU herbal monograph)Guideline European Medicines Agency, 2018 · ema.europa.eu
- 13The seamy side of natural medicines: contact sensitization to arnica (Arnica montana L.) and marigold (Calendula officinalis L.).Observational Contact Dermatitis, 2001 · PMID 11722485
- 14Contact sensitization from Compositae-containing herbal remedies and cosmetics.Review Contact Dermatitis, 2002 · PMID 12492516
- 15CalendulaDatabase LactMed (NCBI Bookshelf), 2021 · ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- 16Evaluation of the effect of herbal agents as management of radiodermatitis in breast cancer patients: A systematic review and meta-analysis.Meta-analysis Jpn J Nurs Sci, 2024 · PMID 37816677
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
3 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| evidence, key facts, who should avoid, FAQ, questions, time to effect, related | Added the LactMed calendula entry to the pregnancy and breastfeeding note (nipple use with little high-quality evidence; no data on oral use), an evidence row for the 2017 vaginal-cream trial that the FAQ already described (grade D, mixed), a 2024 breast-cancer radiodermatitis meta-analysis (insufficient evidence for calendula) in key facts and insights, an interaction FAQ, a breastfeeding FAQ, time-to-effect rows, page questions and the hair and skin goal link. Interaction check: EU herbal monograph section 4.5 (none reported), LactMed (none), no LiverTox, NCCIH or MedlinePlus calendula page; the interaction list stays empty. PubMed search 2022–2026 found no newer calendula trial or meta-analysis that qualified; a 2025 head-and-neck trial (PMID 40480289) used calendula only as the comparator for another ointment and was not added. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md |
| all | Initial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record; retraction, erratum and expression-of-concern links checked in the PubMed record) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice. Industry links: the 2004 trial used a Boiron product and the 2013 trial a Weleda cream (funding not stated in either abstract); a 2025 trial in which calendula was only the comparator for another ointment was not used. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
| all | Adversarial review: product makers (Boiron for the 2004 trial, Weleda for the 2013 trial) now stated in the evidence notes, not only here; pregnancy entry now gives the EU monograph's 'not recommended' position (section 4.6 of EMA/HMPC/437450/2017); the vaginal-cream FAQ notes it rests on one trial. EU age limits (6 years skin, 12 years mouth and throat) and the Asteraceae contraindication re-checked against the EMA summary. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.