Ophiopogon (Mondo Grass Root)

Also called Ophiopogon japonicus, Ophiopogon, mondo grass, Ophiopogonis Radix, liriopogon.

The short answer

From 8 sources

Ophiopogon japonicus, or mondo grass root, is a traditional Chinese medicine herb used almost only in multi-herb formulas. Trials of those formulas, including an intravenous ginseng combination for heart failure and an eight-herb paste for sarcopenia, cannot isolate its effect, and its one single-ingredient trial tested a skin product. No agency has reviewed its safety.

Key facts

What it is
Ophiopogon japonicus, whose root is used in traditional Chinese medicine; with the related Liriope it is used for cough, rheumatoid arthritis and 'clearing heat'13
How it is used
Mostly in formulas: Shenmai injection pairs it with Panax ginseng, and Shenqi paste combines it with seven other medicine-food herbs23
Heart failure
In 240 patients with chronic heart failure, 1 week of intravenous Shenmai injection added to standard care improved NYHA class more than placebo3
Skin
A topical product with Ophiopogon oligofructans lowered eczema (SCORAD) scores and relapses vs placebo in 90 children and 144 adults over 60 days4
Funding
The eczema trial's listed affiliation is the company SILAB; the formula trials state no funding in their abstracts4
Agency safety reviews
No ODS, NCCIH, LactMed, LiverTox, Health Canada or EMA source covers Ophiopogon5

What it is

Ophiopogon japonicus (mondo grass) is a plant whose root is used in traditional Chinese medicine, mostly within multi-herb formulas.

How it works

Proposed

Ophiopogon contains steroidal saponins, flavonoids and polysaccharides, which show cardiovascular, anti-inflammatory and antioxidant activity in laboratory research. A critical review notes excessive doses and design problems in much of that research.1

Forms, side by side

3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Ophiopogon (Mondo Grass Root) forms compared

3 forms
Ophiopogon (Mondo Grass Root) forms compared: 3 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
3 formsOral multi-herb formulas (pastes, decoctions)Shenmai injection (with ginseng, intravenous)Topical oligofructan active
Absorption in peopleNo human absorption data in our sources.2Given intravenously in hospital; not a supplement form.3Applied to skin; not swallowed.4
GI toleranceNo serious adverse events over 12 weeks with an eight-herb paste.2Well tolerated over 1 week at 100 mL/day with no apparent safety concerns.3The abstract does not report adverse events.4
Studied forMuscle mass and strength in older adults with diabetic sarcopeniaChronic heart failure with coronary artery diseaseMild-to-moderate atopic dermatitis
  1. Oral multi-herb formulas (pastes, decoctions)
    Absorption in people
    No human absorption data in our sources.2
    GI tolerance
    No serious adverse events over 12 weeks with an eight-herb paste.2
    Studied for
    Muscle mass and strength in older adults with diabetic sarcopenia
  2. Shenmai injection (with ginseng, intravenous)
    Absorption in people
    Given intravenously in hospital; not a supplement form.3
    GI tolerance
    Well tolerated over 1 week at 100 mL/day with no apparent safety concerns.3
    Studied for
    Chronic heart failure with coronary artery disease
  3. Topical oligofructan active
    Absorption in people
    Applied to skin; not swallowed.4
    GI tolerance
    The abstract does not report adverse events.4
    Studied for
    Mild-to-moderate atopic dermatitis
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

4 graded outcomes, largest study first

All 4 graded outcomes found an improvement. The largest, a 2024 meta-analysis of 2,140 people on heart damage markers during anthracycline chemotherapy, found an improvement.

1Heart damage markers during anthracycline chemotherapy

Improved · Grade D · Meta-analysis, 2,140 people, 2024

Patients with anthracycline-induced cardiotoxicity in 16 randomized trials

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Heart damage markers during anthracycline chemotherapyImproved2,140Grade D · Meta-analysis, 2024Patients with anthracycline-induced cardiotoxicity in 16 randomized trials
Heart failure functional class and walking distanceImproved240Grade D · RCT, 2016Patients with chronic heart failure and coronary artery disease on standard medicines
Atopic dermatitis severity and flare-ups (topical use)Improved234Grade C · RCT, 2019Caucasian children (90) and adults (144) with mild-to-moderate atopic dermatitis
Muscle mass, strength and function in diabetic sarcopeniaImproved90Grade D · RCT, 2026Community-dwelling adults aged 60 or older with diabetic sarcopenia (90 randomized)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

4 rows

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CAtopic dermatitis severity and flare-ups (topical use)EczemaImprovedRCT
n 234 · 2019

Improved SCORAD, including erythema, pruritus and affected body area, fell more than with placebo in both children and adults; quality of life improved and fewer patients relapsed.

Design
RCT, n = 234, 2019
Population
Caucasian children (90) and adults (144) with mild-to-moderate atopic dermatitis
Form
Topical product with oligofructans from Ophiopogon japonicus
Dose
Applied twice daily
Duration
60 days
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 31120541 (opens PubMed)
Grade DHeart damage markers during anthracycline chemotherapyHeart (hospital injection)ImprovedMeta-analysis · 16 studies
n 2,140 · 2024

Improved Fewer ST-T changes (RR 0.28), prolonged QT intervals, low QRS voltage, sinus tachycardia and premature beats, and lower creatine kinase than control; no significant effect on left ventricular ejection fraction (p = 0.10) or atrioventricular block. The included trials reported no safety data.

Design
Meta-analysis, 16 studies, n = 2,140, 2024
Population
Patients with anthracycline-induced cardiotoxicity in 16 randomized trials
Form
Shenmai injection (Panax ginseng and Ophiopogon japonicus root), intravenous
Dose
Varied across trials
Duration
Not stated in the abstract
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 38801910 (opens PubMed)
Grade DHeart failure functional class and walking distanceHeart failureImprovedRCT
n 240 · 2016

Improved NYHA functional class improved more than with placebo (p = 0.001), as did 6-minute walking distance, SF-36 and TCM syndrome scores; no apparent safety concerns over 1 week.

Design
RCT, n = 240, 2016
Population
Patients with chronic heart failure and coronary artery disease on standard medicines
Form
Shenmai injection (Panax ginseng and Ophiopogon japonicus root), intravenous
Dose
100 mL/day
Duration
1 week
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 27045864 (opens PubMed)
Grade DMuscle mass, strength and function in diabetic sarcopeniaMuscleImprovedRCT
n 90 · 2026

Improved Handgrip strength, skeletal muscle mass index and five-time chair-stand time improved more than with placebo paste (p < 0.001); fasting glucose and CRP fell more, while fasting insulin, HbA1c and insulin resistance did not differ. No serious adverse events.

Design
RCT, n = 90, 2026
Population
Community-dwelling adults aged 60 or older with diabetic sarcopenia (90 randomized)
Form
Shenqi paste: eight medicine-food herbs including Ophiopogon japonicus, Astragalus and Codonopsis
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 41763617 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

No oral single-herb trial

Every trial in our sources either combined Ophiopogon with other herbs, gave it by injection, or applied it to the skin, so the effect of an oral Ophiopogon supplement is untested.234

How we got this: Interventions of the three cited trials

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 100 mL a day of an intravenous ginseng and Ophiopogon injection for 1 week to an unstated amount of an eight-herb oral paste for 12 weeks; no trial gave Ophiopogon alone by mouth.23

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Ophiopogon meets

1 cited row 2 tested together

Medicines 1

Ophiopogon1 medicine · 2 supplements

Supplements and foods 2

  • Case reports
  • Tested together in a graded trial
Also cited: 2 tested together
  1. Warfarin

    • Case reportCase reports

      Warfarin, for example warfarin: A 71-year-old man stable on warfarin had an INR of 5.08 and a brain bleed after 7 days of Shengmai-yin (10 mL a day), a formula of red ginseng, schisandra and maidong (translated as liriope in the report); the authors rated the interaction highly probable. Ophiopogon's own role cannot be separated.

      Source 7, Yonsei Med J (2010); Source 1, Front Pharmacol (2021)

  2. AstragalusAstragalus page

    • Tested together

      Muscle mass, strength and function in diabetic sarcopenia. Graded on the Ophiopogon page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

  3. Panax GinsengPanax Ginseng page

    • Tested together

      Heart failure functional class and walking distance. Graded on the Ophiopogon page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

1 agent
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines1
Warfarine.g. warfarinA 71-year-old man stable on warfarin had an INR of 5.08 and a brain bleed after 7 days of Shengmai-yin (10 mL a day), a formula of red ginseng, schisandra and maidong (translated as liriope in the report); the authors rated the interaction highly probable. Ophiopogon's own role cannot be separated.71Case report

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Ophiopogon and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Ophiopogon.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

5 groups
Agency coverage
No ODS, NCCIH, LactMed, LiverTox, Health Canada or EMA source covers Ophiopogon. Formulas that contain it, such as Shenmai with ginseng, include other herbs with their own pages.53
People on medicines
A single case report links a ginseng, schisandra and maidong formula (Shengmai-yin) to a dangerously high INR and brain bleed in a man taking warfarin. Beyond that, interaction data are limited; NCCIH notes that dietary supplements may interact with medications and advises telling your health care providers about any supplement you use.75
Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
No trial in our sources studied these groups, and NCCIH notes that many dietary supplements have not been tested in pregnant women, nursing mothers or children.5
Before surgery
NCCIH advises telling your health care providers about all supplements well before an operation.5
Injected Shenmai products
A systematic review of Shenmai injection collected 822 reported adverse reactions; 38 of the 246 cases in spontaneous reports were anaphylactic shock, and most reactions came with the first dose, mainly within 30 minutes. This applies to the hospital injection, not oral use.8
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Formula, not single herb

Oral evidence comes from an eight-herb paste; the heart-failure data come from a hospital injection that also contains ginseng.23

Skin result is topical

The eczema trial applied an Ophiopogon active to the skin; it says nothing about swallowing the root.4

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
Does Ophiopogon help the heart?

Only as part of Shenmai, an intravenous hospital product with ginseng, which improved heart-failure class over 1 week in 240 patients. No trial tested oral Ophiopogon alone.3

Does Ophiopogon help eczema?

A topical product with Ophiopogon oligofructans lowered eczema scores and relapses in 234 children and adults over 60 days, in a trial whose listed affiliation is a company (SILAB). This was a skin product, not a supplement.4

Is Ophiopogon safe?

Formula trials reported no serious adverse events over 1 to 12 weeks. No agency has reviewed Ophiopogon, and NCCIH notes supplements may interact with medications.235

Does Ophiopogon interact with medicines?

Interaction data are limited. One case report described a dangerous bleed in a man on warfarin after he started a ginseng, schisandra and maidong formula; Ophiopogon's own role is unknown. NCCIH advises telling your health care providers about any supplement.75

Is Ophiopogon safe in pregnancy or while breastfeeding?

There are no data. No trial in our sources studied pregnant or breastfeeding women, no agency safety review covers Ophiopogon, and NCCIH notes many supplements have not been tested in these groups.5

What is Ophiopogon (mondo grass root)?

The root of Ophiopogon japonicus, used in traditional Chinese medicine, usually combined with other herbs.13

Sources

8 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

2 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, interactions, who should avoid, FAQ, sourcesAdded the 2024 Shenmai injection meta-analysis on anthracycline heart damage (PMID 38801910; 16 RCTs, 2,140 patients; marked clinical use, grade D for this page), a warfarin interaction from a Shengmai-yin case report (PMID 20635460), Shenmai injection adverse-reaction data (PMID 21349063), and 2 FAQs (interactions; pregnancy and breastfeeding). Fact-checked against the sources; corrected: warfarin case wording now says maidong was translated as liriope in the report.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit
allInitial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year) and each cited abstract read; numbers taken from the abstracts (and, where noted, the full text for funding, product and participant details). Industry ties disclosed: the topical eczema trial's listed author affiliation is the company SILAB; the formula trials state no funding in their abstracts. Blend and injection trials graded D for this page because Ophiopogon's own oral effect cannot be separated. No agency source covers Ophiopogon, so safety text cites NCCIH's Using Dietary Supplements Wisely. Where to buy: we didn’t list a product; none of the stores we checked had a suitable one.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.