Vinpocetine and stroke

What 2 graded rows on vinpocetine agree on for stroke, and where they differ. Counted side by side, never averaged.

What the rows agree on

Each block and row is one graded row from the Vinpocetine page, with its PubMed record.

Your question

Supplement
Vinpocetine Choose another

Vinpocetine and stroke

2 rows · 900 people

Split. 1 row found an improvement and 1 found no difference.

No difference
Improved
Each block is one evidence row, sized by how many people it enrolled, with its grade inside.
  • Grade C× 1
  • Grade D× 1
Rows
2
Trials
6
People
900
Pooled reviews may count some twice

Where they differ

From the rows
Trial sizeWhen publishedGrade

The best-graded row, grade C, is a meta-analysis of 837 people (2022) and found an improvement.

The row that found an improvement was larger: 837 people, against 63 people for the row that found no difference.

The row that found an improvement is newer (2022) than the row that found no difference (2008).

The best grade is C among the row that found an improvement, and D among the row that found no difference.

The rows

1 improved · 1 no difference
  1. Grade CDeath or significant disability after acute ischaemic stroke · Improved

    Meta-analysis, 4 studies · n 837 · 2022 · Patients with acute ischaemic stroke (4 placebo-controlled trials)

    Not stated in the abstract · 1 and 3 months follow-up

    Death or significant disability was lower than with placebo at 1 month (RR 0.80) and 3 months (RR 0.67); the authors say evidence is not enough to show lower deaths and call for larger trials.

    Row on the Vinpocetine page · PubMed 35488169 (opens PubMed)

  2. Grade DDeath or dependency after acute ischaemic stroke · No difference

    Systematic review, 2 studies · n 63 · 2008 · People within 14 days of acute ischaemic stroke (2 trials)

    Not stated in the abstract · 1 and 3 months follow-up

    Death or dependency did not differ from placebo; confidence intervals were wide, so neither benefit nor harm could be ruled out.

    Row on the Vinpocetine page · PubMed 18253980 (opens PubMed)

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.