Vinpocetine

Also called ethyl apovincaminate, Cavinton.

The short answer

From 12 sources

Vinpocetine is a synthetic derivative of vincamine, a periwinkle alkaloid, prescribed in some countries but never FDA-approved. Cochrane found dementia evidence inconclusive. The FDA tentatively concluded in 2016 that it is not a lawful dietary ingredient and in 2019 warned it may cause miscarriage or harm fetal development. Supplement labels are unreliable.

Key facts

What it is
A synthetic compound derived from vincamine (a Vinca minor alkaloid); FDA says it is not a constituent of any plant1
US status
FDA tentatively concluded in 2016 that vinpocetine is not a dietary ingredient and may not be sold as a supplement1
Pregnancy warning
On June 3, 2019 the FDA advised pregnant women and women who could become pregnant not to take vinpocetine, because it may cause a miscarriage or harm fetal development1
Dementia evidence
Cochrane (3 trials, 583 people): inconclusive and does not support clinical use2
Label accuracy
Of 23 US products labelled as vinpocetine, 6 contained none; the rest held 0.3–32 mg per daily serving8
Interactions
May add to blood thinners and blood-pressure medicines (MSKCC); a small study found only a minor effect on warfarin107
Healthy people
A small crossover trial found no cognitive benefit from single 10–60 mg doses in healthy volunteers11

What it is

Vinpocetine is a synthetic compound made from vincamine; the FDA warns against use in pregnancy.

How it works

Proposed

Vinpocetine is described as a modulator of cyclic nucleotide metabolism. Many brain mechanisms have been proposed from basic science, but Cochrane reviewers note their clinical relevance is unclear.29

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Vinpocetine forms compared

2 forms
Vinpocetine forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsTablets or capsulesProducts labelled as periwinkle or Vinca minor extract
Absorption in peopleTaken with food, relative bioavailability was about 60–100% higher than when fasting (8 volunteers, 10 mg tablets).6No human data.8
GI toleranceCochrane found few adverse effects at the doses studied, though reporting was inconsistent.2FDA states vinpocetine is synthetic, not a plant constituent; three tested supplements implied it came from lesser periwinkle.18
Studied forDementia and cognitive-impairment trials (30–60 mg/day)Not studied
  1. Vinpocetine tablets or capsules
    Absorption in people
    Taken with food, relative bioavailability was about 60–100% higher than when fasting (8 volunteers, 10 mg tablets).6
    GI tolerance
    Cochrane found few adverse effects at the doses studied, though reporting was inconsistent.2
    Studied for
    Dementia and cognitive-impairment trials (30–60 mg/day)
  2. Products labelled as periwinkle or Vinca minor extract
    Absorption in people
    No human data.8
    GI tolerance
    FDA states vinpocetine is synthetic, not a plant constituent; three tested supplements implied it came from lesser periwinkle.18
    Studied for
    Not studied
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

6 graded outcomes, largest study first

6 graded outcomes: 3 improved, 1 mixed, 2 no effect. The largest, a 2022 meta-analysis of 837 people on death or significant disability after acute ischaemic stroke, found an improvement.

1Death or significant disability after acute ischaemic stroke

Improved · Grade C · Meta-analysis, 837 people, 2022

Patients with acute ischaemic stroke (4 placebo-controlled trials)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Death or significant disability after acute ischaemic strokeImproved837Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2022Patients with acute ischaemic stroke (4 placebo-controlled trials)
Cognition and global impression in dementiaMixed583Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2003People with vascular, Alzheimer’s or mixed dementia (3 trials, all run before the 1990s)
Global improvement and cognitive performance in mild-to-moderate organic psychosyndromesImproved203Grade C · RCT, 1991Outpatients with mild to moderate organic psychosyndromes, including primary dementia
Seizure frequency in focal epilepsy, added to anti-seizure medicinesImproved87Grade D · RCT, 2019Patients with focal epilepsy on 1 to 3 anti-seizure drugs (Mexico)
Death or dependency after acute ischaemic strokeNo effect63Grade D · Systematic review, 2008People within 14 days of acute ischaemic stroke (2 trials)
Cognition in healthy volunteers and people with focal epilepsyNo effect16Grade D · Crossover RCT, 20218 healthy adult volunteers and 8 patients with focal epilepsy
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

6 rows

Showing 6 of 6 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CDeath or significant disability after acute ischaemic strokeStrokeImprovedMeta-analysis · 4 studies
n 837 · 2022

Improved Death or significant disability was lower than with placebo at 1 month (RR 0.80) and 3 months (RR 0.67); the authors say evidence is not enough to show lower deaths and call for larger trials.

Design
Meta-analysis, 4 studies, n = 837, 2022
Population
Patients with acute ischaemic stroke (4 placebo-controlled trials)
Form
Vinpocetine
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
1 and 3 months follow-up
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 35488169 (opens PubMed)
Grade CCognition and global impression in dementiaDementiaMixedMeta-analysis · 3 studies
n 583 · 2003

Mixed Benefits over placebo were reported, but few people were treated for 6 months or longer and intention-to-treat data were missing; reviewers judged the evidence inconclusive and not supportive of clinical use.

Design
Meta-analysis, 3 studies, n = 583, 2003
Population
People with vascular, Alzheimer’s or mixed dementia (3 trials, all run before the 1990s)
Form
Vinpocetine tablets
Dose
30 mg/day and 60 mg/day
Duration
Up to 1 year (few people treated for 6 months or more)
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 12535455 (opens PubMed)
Grade CGlobal improvement and cognitive performance in mild-to-moderate organic psychosyndromesDementiaImprovedRCT
n 203 · 1991

Improved Both doses beat placebo on clinical global improvement and a cognitive test (SKT); the higher dose was not better than the lower one. Adverse events were similar to placebo.

Design
RCT, n = 203, 1991
Population
Outpatients with mild to moderate organic psychosyndromes, including primary dementia
Form
Vinpocetine tablets
Dose
3 × 10 mg or 3 × 20 mg per day (30 or 60 mg/day)
Duration
16 weeks
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 2071888 (opens PubMed)
Grade DSeizure frequency in focal epilepsy, added to anti-seizure medicinesEpilepsyImprovedRCT
n 87 · 2019

Improved 69% on vinpocetine vs 13% on placebo had at least 50% fewer seizures (p < 0.0001). Adverse effects did not differ from placebo; the most frequent were headache (7.9%) and double vision (5.2%).

Design
RCT, n = 87, 2019
Population
Patients with focal epilepsy on 1 to 3 anti-seizure drugs (Mexico)
Form
Extended-release vinpocetine
Dose
2 mg/kg/day
Duration
4-week titration, then 8-week evaluation
Source
Reference 12 · PubMed 31536041 (opens PubMed)
Grade DDeath or dependency after acute ischaemic strokeStrokeNo effectSystematic review · 2 studies
n 63 · 2008

No effect Death or dependency did not differ from placebo; confidence intervals were wide, so neither benefit nor harm could be ruled out.

Design
Systematic review, 2 studies, n = 63, 2008
Population
People within 14 days of acute ischaemic stroke (2 trials)
Form
Vinpocetine
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
1 and 3 months follow-up
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 18253980 (opens PubMed)
Grade DCognition in healthy volunteers and people with focal epilepsyCognitionNo effectCrossover RCT
n 16 · 2021

No effect No significant cognitive benefit in either group, and no appreciable side effects. Blood levels of vinpocetine and its metabolite were lower in people than in mice given doses that work in animal models.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 16, 2021
Population
8 healthy adult volunteers and 8 patients with focal epilepsy
Form
Vinpocetine, oral
Dose
Single doses of 10, 20 and 60 mg (healthy volunteers); a single 20 mg dose, then 20 mg three times a day open-label (epilepsy)
Duration
Single doses; then 1 month open-label in the epilepsy group
Source
Reference 11 · PubMed 33957389 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Labels fall short of trial doses

Even the strongest tested product (32 mg per daily serving) delivered about half the 60 mg/day upper trial dose.82

How we got this: 32 ÷ 60 ≈ 0.53, from label testing and trial doses

Old evidence

All dementia trials in the Cochrane review were run before the 1990s.2

How we got this: Cochrane abstract

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 30 to 60 mg/day of vinpocetine for 16 weeks up to 1 year in dementia trials run mostly before the 1990s. These are research doses from drug studies; in the US the FDA has tentatively concluded it cannot be sold as a dietary supplement.251

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Vinpocetine meets

4 cited rows

Medicines 4

Vinpocetine4 medicines · 0 supplements

Supplements and foods 0

No supplement rows in our sources.

  • Measured in a human study
  • Reference summary
Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

4 agents
Published interactions, grouped by kind
AgentWhat the source saysEvidence
Medicines4
WarfarinIn 18 men, 10 mg vinpocetine doses given from day 6 to day 24 (frequency not stated in the abstract) slightly lowered warfarin’s effect on prothrombin time; the change met equivalence limits and was judged probably not clinically important.7PK study
Anticoagulants and antiplatelet drugsMSKCC lists possible additive effects and a higher risk of bleeding.10Review
Blood-pressure medicinesVinpocetine may increase the blood-pressure-lowering effect (MSKCC).10Review
P-glycoprotein substrate drugsIn lab studies vinpocetine strongly inhibited P-glycoprotein, which could change levels of drugs that depend on it; clinical relevance is not known.10Review

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Vinpocetine and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Vinpocetine.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

6 groups
Pregnancy or possible pregnancy
On June 3, 2019, the FDA issued a safety warning: according to data it reviewed, vinpocetine is associated with adverse reproductive effects and may cause a miscarriage or harm fetal development. FDA advises pregnant women and women who could become pregnant not to take it, and advised firms to check that their labels carry this warning.1
Breastfeeding
We found no human data on vinpocetine during breastfeeding: LactMed has no record, and the FDA warning addresses pregnancy and women who could become pregnant. Given the reproductive warning and the lack of data, use while breastfeeding has no safety evidence behind it.1
Anyone buying it as a supplement
FDA has tentatively concluded vinpocetine may not be marketed as a dietary supplement, and tested products often did not match their labels.18
People on blood thinners
MSKCC warns vinpocetine may add to the effects of anticoagulant and antiplatelet drugs and raise bleeding risk. A small study found only a minor effect on warfarin, but data are limited to 18 healthy men.107
Low blood pressure, heart disease or stroke
MSKCC advises people with low blood pressure, a history of heart problems or strokes, or on cardiovascular or blood-thinning medicines to consult a physician first; low blood pressure is a listed side effect.10
Blood counts
MSKCC cites a case of agranulocytosis (very low white blood cells) in a 73-year-old man after 50 days of vinpocetine, which resolved after stopping it.10
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Safety first

3 notes

A regulatory and pregnancy warning page, not a buying guide.

Reproductive risk
FDA’s 2019 warning cites data that vinpocetine is associated with adverse reproductive effects; a 2026 lab study found it disrupted mouse and human stem-cell embryo models in the dish, at concentrations the authors say are commonly used to elicit its purported neuroprotective effects.19
Legal status
US: never FDA-approved; FDA tentatively concluded in 2016 that it is excluded from the dietary-supplement definition because it was authorised for investigation as a new drug first. Prescribed as a drug in some other countries.18
Unreliable products
Labels did not give consumers accurate information about vinpocetine presence or amount.8

How the body handles vinpocetine

2 notes

Food matters.

Food effect
In 8 volunteers, exposure (AUC) after a 10 mg tablet was 27.3 ng·h/mL fasting vs 42.8–54.3 ng·h/mL with a meal.6
Main metabolite
Apovincaminic acid is its major metabolite; in lab embryo models it needed much higher concentrations than vinpocetine to cause similar effects.9

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

3 checks
Not a periwinkle extract

FDA says vinpocetine is synthesised, not found in periwinkle or any other plant; labels naming lesser periwinkle are misleading.18

Label dose vs studied dose

Trials used 30–60 mg/day; tested US products held 0.3–32 mg per daily serving, and 6 of 23 held none.28

Other names

FDA lists ethyl apovincaminate, lesser periwinkle extract and Vinca minor extract as names used for vinpocetine.1

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

8 answers
Does vinpocetine improve memory?

The evidence is weak. Cochrane found the dementia evidence inconclusive and not supportive of clinical use, and in a small crossover trial single doses of 10 to 60 mg gave healthy volunteers no cognitive benefit.211

What are the side effects of vinpocetine?

MSKCC lists rare flushing, rashes, stomach upset and low blood pressure, and lower white blood cell counts, plus one case of agranulocytosis. In trials, side effects were similar to placebo; headache and double vision were the most common in an epilepsy trial.10512

Does vinpocetine interact with blood thinners?

It may. MSKCC warns of additive effects with anticoagulant and antiplatelet drugs and a higher bleeding risk, and also lists blood-pressure medicines. In a study of 18 men it had only a minor effect on warfarin, judged probably not clinically important.107

Is vinpocetine safe during pregnancy?

No. In June 2019 the FDA advised pregnant women and women who could become pregnant not to take it, because data it reviewed link vinpocetine to adverse reproductive effects such as miscarriage or harm to fetal development.1

Is vinpocetine safe while breastfeeding?

There are no human data. LactMed has no record, and the FDA warning covers pregnancy and women who could become pregnant, so its safety while breastfeeding is unknown.1

Do vinpocetine supplements contain what the label says?

Often not: 6 of 23 US products had none, and amounts in the rest varied from 0.3 to 32 mg.8

Is vinpocetine legal in the US?

FDA tentatively concluded in 2016 that it is not a dietary ingredient and may not be sold as a supplement; it has never been FDA-approved as a drug.1

Is vinpocetine from periwinkle?

It is made from vincamine, a periwinkle alkaloid, but FDA says vinpocetine itself is synthetic and not found in the plant.1

Sources

12 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

12 sources
  1. 1Vinpocetine in Dietary SupplementsSafety communication U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2023 · fda.gov
  2. 2Vinpocetine for cognitive impairment and dementia.Meta-analysis Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2003 · PMID 12535455
  3. 3Vinpocetine for acute ischaemic stroke.Systematic review Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2008 · PMID 18253980
  4. 4Safety and Efficacy of Vinpocetine as a Neuroprotective Agent in Acute Ischemic Stroke: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.Meta-analysis Neurocrit Care, 2022 · PMID 35488169
  5. 5Efficacy and tolerance of vinpocetine in ambulant patients suffering from mild to moderate organic psychosyndromes.RCT Int Clin Psychopharmacol, 1991 · PMID 2071888
  6. 6Bioavailability of vinpocetine and interference of the time of application with food intake.PK study Arzneimittelforschung, 1992 · PMID 1418055
  7. 7Influence of vinpocetine on warfarin-induced inhibition of coagulation.PK study Int J Clin Pharmacol Ther Toxicol, 1990 · PMID 2272713
  8. 8Identification and quantification of vinpocetine and picamilon in dietary supplements sold in the United States.Observational Drug Test Anal, 2016 · PMID 26426301
  9. 9Developmental Toxicity Evaluation of the Dietary Supplement Vinpocetine Using Mouse and Human 3D Gastruloids.Animal study Birth Defects Res, 2026 · PMID 42167926
  10. 10Vinpocetine: Purported Benefits, Side Effects & More (About Herbs, last updated December 10, 2021)Database Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (About Herbs), 2021 · mskcc.org
  11. 11Vinpocetine, cognition, and epilepsy.Crossover RCT Epilepsy Behav, 2021 · PMID 33957389
  12. 12Extended-release vinpocetine: a possible adjuvant treatment for focal onset epileptic seizures.RCT Bol Med Hosp Infant Mex, 2019 · PMID 31536041

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

4 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, key facts, interactions, who should be careful, FAQ, relatedFDA vinpocetine page re-read: the June 3, 2019 pregnancy warning is now quoted with its date and wording. Added a crossover trial in healthy volunteers (PMID 33957389) and an add-on epilepsy trial marked as supervised medical use (PMID 31536041). Added blood-thinner, blood-pressure and P-glycoprotein interactions, heart and blood-count cautions and a breastfeeding note from MSKCC About Herbs; two FAQs added. No LactMed or LiverTox record exists for vinpocetine. Fact-checked against the sources; corrected: FDA advised firms to check their labels rather than requiring a label warning; the epilepsy trial support is from outside the US government, not non-government; MSKCC rates the listed side effects rare.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit
allIndependent adversarial review: warfarin row no longer states a daily dose the abstract does not give (10 mg doses, days 6–24); embryo-model note now says the concentrations are lab concentrations, as the abstract states.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review
allAdversarial review pass: every evidence row, key fact, interaction, safety note and FAQ re-read against its PubMed abstract or source page, and every number machine-checked against the cited source text. Retraction, expression-of-concern and withdrawn checks on all PMIDs: none flagged. Fixes: mechanism limited to what the sources state; Cochrane duration and stroke population matched to the abstracts; warfarin timing corrected.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.