Luteolin and smell recovery

What 4 graded rows on luteolin agree on for smell recovery, and where they differ. Counted side by side, never averaged.

What the rows agree on

Each block and row is one graded row from the Luteolin page, with its PubMed record.

Your question

Supplement

Luteolin and smell recovery

4 rows · 962 people

Split. 2 rows found an improvement, 1 found no difference and 1 had mixed results.

No difference or mixed
Improved
Each block is one evidence row, sized by how many people it enrolled, with its grade inside. Outlined: mixed results.
  • Grade B× 1
  • Grade C× 2
  • Grade D× 1
Rows
4
Trials
10
People
962
Pooled reviews may count some twice

Where they differ

From the rows
Trial sizeStudy designGrade

The best-graded row, grade B, is a meta-analysis of 525 people (2026) and found an improvement.

The 2 rows that found an improvement were larger: a median of 355 people, against 50 people for the row that found no difference.

Only the 2 rows that found an improvement include pooled reviews of several trials (1 of 2); the row that found no difference is a single study.

The best grade is B among the rows that found an improvement, and D among the row that found no difference.

1 row with mixed results is left out of this comparison.

The rows

2 improved · 1 no difference · 1 mixed
  1. Grade BSmell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training vs training alone) · Improved

    Meta-analysis, 7 studies · n 525 · 2026 · Adults with smell loss after COVID-19 in 7 RCTs published 2021–2024

    Varied by trial · Varied by trial

    Smell test scores were higher with PEA-LUT plus training than training alone (SMD 0.90, 95% CI 0.24 to 1.58), and more people responded (risk difference 0.33, 95% CI 0.01 to 0.64).

    Row on the Luteolin page · PubMed 41559316 (opens PubMed)

  2. Grade CSmell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training) · Improved

    RCT · n 185 · 2022 · Adults with smell loss lasting more than 6 months after COVID-19 (multicenter)

    770 mg/day PEA-LUT · 90 days

    Smell threshold, discrimination and identification improved more than with smell training plus placebo; 92% vs 42% improved.

    Row on the Luteolin page · PubMed 35450527 (opens PubMed)

  3. Grade DClinically meaningful smell recovery (PEA-LUT plus training vs training alone, 2024) · No difference

    RCT · n 50 · 2024 · Adults with post-infectious smell loss, mainly after COVID-19 (outpatient clinic)

    Not stated in the abstract · Not stated in the abstract

    The PEA-LUT group improved on odor discrimination and total smell score, but clinically meaningful improvement did not differ from smell training alone.

    Row on the Luteolin page · PubMed 38861957 (opens PubMed)

  4. Grade CSmell identification after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT alone or with training) · Mixed

    RCT · n 202 · 2023 · Adults with smell loss lasting more than 6 months after COVID-19 (multicenter)

    Once or twice daily (amount not stated in the abstract) · 90 days

    With smell training, 89.2% improved by more than 3 points vs 36.8% with training plus placebo; PEA-LUT alone (40–41.6%) was close to placebo for that endpoint. No adverse events.

    Row on the Luteolin page · PubMed 37380908 (opens PubMed)

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.