Luteolin
Also called 3′,4′,5,7-tetrahydroxyflavone, luteolol, PEA-LUT (with palmitoylethanolamide).
Best grade B across 7 graded outcomes Other Last checked
The short answer
From 10 sourcesLuteolin is a plant flavone. Almost every human trial tested it inside a combination: with mangiferin for sprint performance, with chlorogenic acid for metabolic markers, and with palmitoylethanolamide (PEA-LUT) for smell recovery after COVID-19, where a 2026 meta-analysis of 7 trials found benefit. Tested alone in a small Gulf War illness trial, it did not beat placebo.
Every graded outcome on this page
7 rows · line = participants- BGrade BSmell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training vs training alone)Smell recoveryn 525
- CGrade CSmell identification after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT alone or with training)Smell recoveryn 202
- CGrade CSmell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training)Smell recoveryn 185
- CGrade CWeight, HbA1c, lipids and liver markers in metabolic syndrome (with chlorogenic acid)Metabolic healthn 100
- DGrade DClinically meaningful smell recovery (PEA-LUT plus training vs training alone, 2024)Smell recoveryn 50
- DGrade DGulf War illness symptom severity (luteolin alone)Inflammationn 21
- DGrade DSprint performance and muscle oxygen use (with mangiferin)Exercisen 12
- 4 more graded outcomes, in the evidence chapter
Key facts
- What it is
- A flavone (3′,4′,5,7-tetrahydroxyflavone); one exercise trial used peanut-husk extract with 95% luteolin1
- Tested alone
- Only one placebo-controlled trial: no reduction in Gulf War illness symptoms at either dose in 21 veterans5
- Most-studied combination
- Palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin (PEA-LUT) plus smell training after COVID-19: a 2026 meta-analysis of 7 RCTs (525 people) found better smell scores than training alone9678
- Exercise dose
- 50–100 mg/day of luteolin with mangiferin improved sprint performance in 12 active men1
- Children
- An open-label luteolin-quercetin formula in children with autism caused temporary irritability in 27 of 504
What it is
Luteolin is a plant flavone found in many vegetables and herbs, including chamomile, sold alone or in combination products.
How it works
ProposedForms, side by side
3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.
Luteolin forms compared
3 forms| 3 forms | Extract (e.g. peanut husk, 95% luteolin) | Palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin (PEA-LUT) | Artichoke extract with chlorogenic acid and luteolin |
|---|---|---|---|
| Absorption in people | No human bioavailability data are cited here.1 | No head-to-head human data.6 | No head-to-head human data.2 |
| GI tolerance | No adverse effects reported in the exercise trial abstract; the Gulf War trial abstract does not report side effects.15 | No adverse events in the 202-person four-arm trial.7 | Not detailed in the abstract.2 |
| Studied for | Exercise (with mangiferin) and Gulf War illness | Smell loss after COVID-19 (with smell training) | Metabolic syndrome and pre-obesity (6 months) |
- Luteolin extract (e.g. peanut husk, 95% luteolin)
- Palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin (PEA-LUT)
- Artichoke extract with chlorogenic acid and luteolin
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Trial map
7 graded outcomes, largest study first7 graded outcomes: 4 improved, 1 mixed, 2 no effect. The largest, a 2026 meta-analysis of 525 people on smell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training vs training alone), found an improvement.
1Smell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training vs training alone)
Improved · Grade B · Meta-analysis, 525 people, 2026
Adults with smell loss after COVID-19 in 7 RCTs published 2021–2024
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training vs training alone) | Improved | 525 | Grade B · Meta-analysis, 2026 | Adults with smell loss after COVID-19 in 7 RCTs published 2021–2024 |
| Smell identification after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT alone or with training) | Mixed | 202 | Grade C · RCT, 2023 | Adults with smell loss lasting more than 6 months after COVID-19 (multicenter) |
| Smell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training) | Improved | 185 | Grade C · RCT, 2022 | Adults with smell loss lasting more than 6 months after COVID-19 (multicenter) |
| Weight, HbA1c, lipids and liver markers in metabolic syndrome (with chlorogenic acid) | Improved | 100 | Grade C · RCT, 2019 | Adults with metabolic syndrome, mean age 63 |
| Clinically meaningful smell recovery (PEA-LUT plus training vs training alone, 2024) | No effect | 50 | Grade D · RCT, 2024 | Adults with post-infectious smell loss, mainly after COVID-19 (outpatient clinic) |
| Gulf War illness symptom severity (luteolin alone) | No effect | 21 | Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2021 | Male veterans with Gulf War illness (USA) |
| Sprint performance and muscle oxygen use (with mangiferin) | Improved | 12 | Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2019 | Physically active men |
Every graded row
7 rowsShowing 7 of 7 outcomes. Human trials only.
BGrade BSmell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training vs training alone)Smell recoverySMD 0.90 on smell scoresMeta-analysis · 7 studies
n 525 · 2026
Improved Smell test scores were higher with PEA-LUT plus training than training alone (SMD 0.90, 95% CI 0.24 to 1.58), and more people responded (risk difference 0.33, 95% CI 0.01 to 0.64).
- Design
- Meta-analysis, 7 studies, n = 525, 2026
- Population
- Adults with smell loss after COVID-19 in 7 RCTs published 2021–2024
- Form
- Palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin (PEA-LUT)
- Dose
- Varied by trial
- Duration
- Varied by trial
- Source
- Reference 9 · PubMed 41559316 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CSmell identification after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT alone or with training)Smell recoveryMixedRCT
n 202 · 2023
Mixed With smell training, 89.2% improved by more than 3 points vs 36.8% with training plus placebo; PEA-LUT alone (40–41.6%) was close to placebo for that endpoint. No adverse events.
- Design
- RCT, n = 202, 2023
- Population
- Adults with smell loss lasting more than 6 months after COVID-19 (multicenter)
- Form
- Ultramicronized palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin
- Dose
- Once or twice daily (amount not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 90 days
- Source
- Reference 7 · PubMed 37380908 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CSmell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training)Smell recoveryImprovedRCT
n 185 · 2022
Improved Smell threshold, discrimination and identification improved more than with smell training plus placebo; 92% vs 42% improved.
- Design
- RCT, n = 185, 2022
- Population
- Adults with smell loss lasting more than 6 months after COVID-19 (multicenter)
- Form
- Ultramicronized palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin
- Dose
- 770 mg/day PEA-LUT
- Duration
- 90 days
- Source
- Reference 6 · PubMed 35450527 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CWeight, HbA1c, lipids and liver markers in metabolic syndrome (with chlorogenic acid)Metabolic healthImprovedRCT
n 100 · 2019
Improved Body weight (−2.4%), waist (−2.8%), HbA1c, plasma lipids, fatty liver index, flow-mediated dilation and carotid intima-media thickness all improved versus placebo.
- Design
- RCT, n = 100, 2019
- Population
- Adults with metabolic syndrome, mean age 63
- Form
- Artichoke-based extract with chlorogenic acid and luteolin derivatives (Altilix)
- Dose
- 150 mg/day of extract (in the trial report)
- Duration
- 6 months
- Source
- Reference 2 · PubMed 31731527 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DClinically meaningful smell recovery (PEA-LUT plus training vs training alone, 2024)Smell recoveryNo effectRCT
n 50 · 2024
No effect The PEA-LUT group improved on odor discrimination and total smell score, but clinically meaningful improvement did not differ from smell training alone.
- Design
- RCT, n = 50, 2024
- Population
- Adults with post-infectious smell loss, mainly after COVID-19 (outpatient clinic)
- Form
- Palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin
- Dose
- Not stated in the abstract
- Duration
- Not stated in the abstract
- Source
- Reference 8 · PubMed 38861957 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DGulf War illness symptom severity (luteolin alone)InflammationNo effectCrossover RCT
n 21 · 2021
No effect Luteolin did not lower symptom severity more than placebo at the lower (p=0.718) or higher (p=0.492) dose.
- Design
- Crossover RCT, n = 21, 2021
- Population
- Male veterans with Gulf War illness (USA)
- Form
- Luteolin
- Dose
- Lower and higher dose (amounts not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 1 month per dose
- Source
- Reference 5 · PubMed 33802381 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DSprint performance and muscle oxygen use (with mangiferin)ExerciseImprovedCrossover RCT
n 12 · 2019
Improved Sprint performance, muscle oxygen extraction and brain oxygenation during sprints improved versus placebo at both doses, without a higher VO2.
- Design
- Crossover RCT, n = 12, 2019
- Population
- Physically active men
- Form
- Peanut-husk extract (95% luteolin) plus mango-leaf extract (mangiferin)
- Dose
- 50 or 100 mg/day luteolin with 140 or 420 mg/day mango-leaf extract
- Duration
- 48 hours and 15 days
- Source
- Reference 1 · PubMed 30736383 (opens PubMed)
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
Alone, it has not worked yet
The only trial of luteolin by itself found no symptom benefit in Gulf War illness at either dose.5
Smell training did most of the work
In the four-arm trial, PEA-LUT alone helped about as many people as training plus placebo; the big gain came only when combined with training.7
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
Interactions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
What Luteolin meets
0 cited rows 3 tested togetherMedicines 0
No medicine rows in our sources.
Supplements and foods 1
- Tested together in a graded trial
Choose a medicine or supplement above to read its cited rows here.
Also cited: 3 tested together
PalmitoylethanolamidePalmitoylethanolamide page
Tested together
Smell recovery after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT plus smell training). Graded on the Luteolin page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Tested together
Smell identification after COVID-19 (PEA-LUT alone or with training). Graded on the Luteolin page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Tested together
Clinically meaningful smell recovery (PEA-LUT plus training vs training alone, 2024). Graded on the Luteolin page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Interactions
0 agentsNone found in our sources.
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Luteolin and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Luteolin.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
4 groups- Children
- In an open-label study of a luteolin-quercetin formula in children with autism, 27 of 50 had temporary irritability lasting 1–8 weeks.4
- Pregnancy and breastfeeding
- The cited trials give no safety data for pregnancy or breastfeeding, and NCCIH notes many supplements have not been tested in pregnant women or nursing mothers.1610
- People expecting a solo-luteolin effect
- The only luteolin-alone trial was null; positive results come from combinations whose other ingredients may drive them.512
- Medicines and surgery
- No drug interactions are reported in the luteolin trials cited here, and published interaction data are limited. NCCIH notes supplements may interact with medicines or pose risks before surgery.10
Reading the label, and the cost per dose
Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.
How to read the label
2 checksLabel dose vs studied dose
Have the bottle? Photograph its Supplement Facts panel and see each line, luteolin included, beside the doses and forms the trials used in Label X-Ray.
Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch
Your numbers, no product dataEnter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
7 answersDoes luteolin work on its own?
The one placebo-controlled trial of luteolin alone, in 21 veterans with Gulf War illness, found no benefit at either dose. Other positive trials used combinations.5
Does PEA-LUT help smell loss after COVID-19?
Does luteolin improve exercise performance?
In 12 active men, 50–100 mg/day of luteolin with mangiferin improved sprint performance. Luteolin was not tested alone.1
Does luteolin help metabolic health?
Does luteolin have side effects?
Does luteolin interact with medicines?
The luteolin trials cited here report no drug interactions, and published interaction data are limited. NCCIH notes supplements may interact with medicines or pose risks before surgery.10
Sources
10 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
10 sources- 1Enhancement of Exercise Performance by 48 Hours, and 15-Day Supplementation with Mangiferin and Luteolin in Men.Crossover RCT Nutrients, 2019 · PMID 30736383
- 2Altilix(®) Supplement Containing Chlorogenic Acid and Luteolin Improved Hepatic and Cardiometabolic Parameters in Subjects with Metabolic Syndrome: A 6 Month Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study.RCT Nutrients, 2019 · PMID 31731527
- 3A Nutraceutical Containing Chlorogenic Acid and Luteolin Improves Cardiometabolic Parameters in Subjects with Pre-Obesity: A 6-Month Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study.RCT Nutrients, 2023 · PMID 36678333
- 4An open-label pilot study of a formulation containing the anti-inflammatory flavonoid luteolin and its effects on behavior in children with autism spectrum disorders.Open-label trial Clin Ther, 2013 · PMID 23688534
- 5A Placebo-Controlled, Pseudo-Randomized, Crossover Trial of Botanical Agents for Gulf War Illness: Resveratrol (Polygonum cuspidatum), Luteolin, and Fisetin (Rhus succedanea).Crossover RCT Int J Environ Res Public Health, 2021 · PMID 33802381
- 6Ultramicronized Palmitoylethanolamide and Luteolin Supplement Combined with Olfactory Training to Treat Post-COVID-19 Olfactory Impairment: A Multi-Center Double-Blinded Randomized Placebo- Controlled Clinical Trial.RCT Curr Neuropharmacol, 2022 · PMID 35450527
- 7Treatment of COVID-19 olfactory dysfunction with olfactory training, palmitoylethanolamide with luteolin, or combined therapy: a blinded controlled multicenter randomized trial.RCT Eur Arch Otorhinolaryngol, 2023 · PMID 37380908
- 8Palmitoylethanolamide and Luteolin for Postinfectious Olfactory Disorders: How Clinically Meaningful Is Its Effect?RCT ORL J Otorhinolaryngol Relat Spec, 2024 · PMID 38861957
- 9Therapeutic effect of anti-neuroinflammatory supplement combined with olfactory training on post-covid olfactory dysfunction: a systematic review and meta-analysis.Meta-analysis Eur Arch Otorhinolaryngol, 2026 · PMID 41559316
- 10Using Dietary Supplements WiselyFact sheet National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), 2019 · nccih.nih.gov
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
3 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| summary, key facts, evidence, who should avoid, FAQ | Added the 2026 PEA-LUT smell-recovery meta-analysis (PMID 41559316, 7 RCTs, 525 people) as an evidence row; added a medicines-and-surgery note and FAQ saying interaction data are limited, and sourced the pregnancy and breastfeeding note to the NCCIH supplements page. PMID checked with NCBI esummary and its abstract. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit |
| all | First draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, journal and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for each cited row. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
| all | Adversarial review pass: every number in each evidence row's result, dose, duration, n and population fields was machine-checked against its PubMed abstract, and figures not in an abstract were confirmed in the PMC full text (noted per row). Unverified study-country, funding and mechanism wording was removed or sourced, rows whose sample size could not be confirmed were dropped, and retraction, erratum and expression-of-concern flags were checked on every PMID (two errata, noted on their rows; no retractions). Page set indexable. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.