DMAE (Deanol) and dementia

What 2 graded rows on dmae (deanol) agree on for dementia, and where they differ. Counted side by side, never averaged.

What the rows agree on

Each block and row is one graded row from the DMAE (Deanol) page, with its PubMed record.

Your question

Supplement
DMAE (Deanol) Choose another

DMAE (Deanol) and dementia

2 rows · 41 people

Split. 1 row found no difference and 1 had mixed results.

No difference or mixed
Improved
Each block is one evidence row, sized by how many people it enrolled, with its grade inside. Outlined: mixed results.
  • Grade D× 2
Rows
2
Trials
2
People
41

What the rows share

From the rows

The best-graded row, grade D, is a randomized trial of 27 people (1981) and found no difference.

The rows run from 14 to 27 people, published from 1977 to 1981: 2 single studies.

The rows

1 no difference · 1 mixed
  1. Grade DThinking and daily function in Alzheimer's disease · No difference

    RCT · n 27 · 1981 · People with moderately severe or severe Alzheimer's disease

    Dose not stated in the abstract · Planned trial period not stated; withdrawals occurred in the first 5 weeks

    No significant benefit; 6 of 13 people on DMAE withdrew within 5 weeks because of drowsiness, slowing, more confusion and a mild rise in blood pressure.

    Row on the DMAE (Deanol) page · PubMed 7020434 (opens PubMed)

  2. Grade DMemory and behavior in older adults with dementia · Mixed

    Open-label trial · n 14 · 1977 · Older outpatients with dementia

    Raised to 600 mg three times daily over 2 weeks · 4 weeks

    Memory and other cognitive tests did not change; behavior ratings improved (less depression, irritability and anxiety), with no adverse effects reported.

    Row on the DMAE (Deanol) page · PubMed 864168 (opens PubMed)

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.