Mineral

ZMA (Zinc Magnesium Aspartate)

Also called zinc magnesium aspartate, zinc monomethionine aspartate and magnesium aspartate, ZMA with B6

By Kymata Labs EditorialMedical review pendingLast reviewed October 13, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

ZMA combines about 30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium and 10.5 mg vitamin B6. In trained men eating adequate diets, it did not raise testosterone or improve strength gains over 8 weeks, and three 2024 crossover trials found no sleep or next-morning performance benefit (grade C). Its magnesium dose exceeds the 350 mg/day upper limit for supplemental magnesium.

Top graded outcomes:C evidence grade Strength, power and anabolic hormones during resistance trainingC evidence grade Sleep quality and next-morning weightlifting after partial sleep deprivationC evidence grade Sleep and next-morning jumps, sprints and Stroop test

Key facts

Typical formula
30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium and 10.5 mg vitamin B6, taken 30–60 minutes before bed in trials[3][4][5]
Testosterone
No change in serum total or free testosterone in men with zinc-sufficient diets[2][1]
Strength and body composition
No difference from placebo in 1-RM bench or leg press, endurance, anaerobic power or body composition over 8 weeks of training[1]
Sleep
Two nights of ZMA did not improve sleep in three crossover trials; one found less total sleep time[3][4][5]
Upper limits
450 mg magnesium is above the 350 mg/day UL for supplemental magnesium; 30 mg zinc and 10.5 mg B6 are below their ULs (40 mg and 100 mg)[7][6][8]
Evidence base
5 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 13, 2026

How it works

ProposedZinc and magnesium are essential minerals involved in hormone production and nervous-system signalling, and low intakes have been linked to lower testosterone and poorer sleep. The proposed rationale for ZMA is correcting shortfalls in athletes; trials enrolled men whose diets already met their needs, and ZMA raised blood zinc without changing hormones.[1][2][4]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
StrengthGrade CNo effectRCT · n = 42 · 2004Form tested: Commercial ZMA product (zinc as monomethionine and aspartate, magnesium aspartate, B6) that also contained a Mucuna pruriens blend with 50 mg L-dopa1 rowIncludes this form
SleepGrade CNo effectCrossover RCT · n = 19 · 2024Form tested: ZMA capsules3 rowsIncludes this form
TestosteroneGrade DNo effectOpen-label · n = 14 · 2009Form tested: ZMA1 rowIncludes this form

Every graded row

Outcome
Grade
Form tested
Sort

Showing 5 of 5 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Strength, power and anabolic hormones during resistance trainingNo effectGrade C

RCT · n = 42 · 2004

Resistance-trained men (mean age 27)

Form: Commercial ZMA product (zinc as monomethionine and aspartate, magnesium aspartate, B6) that also contained a Mucuna pruriens blend with 50 mg L-dopa · Dose: 30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium, 11 mg B6 daily before bed · Duration: 8 weeks

Serum zinc rose 11–17% (not significant); there were no differences from placebo in anabolic or catabolic hormones, body composition, 1-RM bench and leg press, muscular endurance or anaerobic capacity.

18500945 (opens PubMed)Source [1]
Sleep and next-morning jumps, sprints and Stroop testNo effectGrade C

Crossover RCT · n = 19 · 2024

Recreationally trained men with adequate zinc, magnesium and B6 intakes

Form: ZMA capsules · Dose: 30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium, 10.5 mg B6 before bed · Duration: 2 nights per condition

No effect on actigraphy sleep, repeated sprints or Stroop performance; jump height was higher than placebo but not than the no-pill condition.

39125347 (opens PubMed)Source [4]
Sleep quality and next-morning weightlifting after partial sleep deprivationNo effectGrade C

Crossover RCT · n = 16 · 2024

Trained men after two nights of 4-hour sleep

Form: ZMA capsules · Dose: 30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium, 10.5 mg B6 before bed · Duration: 2 nights per condition

No effect on sleep, fatigue ratings or submaximal bench press and squat power versus placebo or no pill.

38257144 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Sleep duration and next-morning Stroop performance with 4 or 8 hours in bedWorsenedGrade D

Crossover RCT · n = 69 · 2024

Men with adequate diets and no sleep problems (33 with 4-hour and 36 with 8-hour sleep opportunity)

Form: ZMA capsules · Dose: 30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium, 10.5 mg B6 before bed · Duration: 2 nights per condition

No effect on morning Stroop performance; ZMA reduced total sleep time by about 0.46 hours versus the other conditions (about 0.94 hours in the 8-hour group).

39062445 (opens PubMed)Source [5]
Serum testosterone and testosterone metabolismNo effectGrade D

Open-label trial · n = 14 · 2009

Healthy, regularly exercising men aged 22–33 with zinc intakes of 11.9–23.2 mg/day

Form: ZMA · Dose: Not stated in the abstract · Duration: Not stated in the abstract

Serum and urinary zinc rose, but serum total and free testosterone and urinary steroid metabolite patterns did not change.

17882141 (opens PubMed)Source [2]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
ZMA (zinc monomethionine aspartate, magnesium aspartate, vitamin B6)Varies[3][4][5]Labels state elemental amounts: 30 mg zinc and 450 mg magnesium per daily serving in the trialsSerum zinc rose after ZMA in two trials (significantly in one).[2][1]No adverse events were reported in the short trials; urine pH and flow rose in one study.[2][3]Testosterone, strength training and sleep

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from two nights to 8 weeks of a single formula: 30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium and 10.5–11 mg vitamin B6 daily, before bed.[1][3][4][5]

Intake reference: No intake reference exists for ZMA itself. Its ingredients have upper limits: 40 mg/day for zinc (food plus supplements), 100 mg/day for vitamin B6, and 350 mg/day for magnesium from supplements and medicines. The usual 450 mg ZMA magnesium dose exceeds the magnesium UL.[7][6][8] Magnesium UL; it covers supplements and medicines only, not magnesium in food. Zinc UL 40 mg and vitamin B6 UL 100 mg (ODS). NIH ODS fact sheet (updated January 6, 2026).

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Medicines

  • Tetracycline and quinolone antibioticsNIH fact sheete.g. doxycycline, ciprofloxacin, levofloxacinMagnesium forms insoluble complexes with these antibiotics; ODS advises taking them at least 2 hours before or 4–6 hours after a magnesium-containing supplement.[7]
  • Oral bisphosphonatesNIH fact sheete.g. alendronateMagnesium-rich supplements can reduce bisphosphonate absorption; ODS advises separating them by at least 2 hours.[7]

Medicines that can lower levels

  • CopperNIH fact sheetThe zinc UL of 40 mg/day is set to protect copper status; ZMA supplies 30 mg zinc before any zinc from food or multivitamins.[6]

Who should be careful

Sensitivity to magnesium
High doses of supplemental magnesium often cause diarrhoea, nausea and abdominal cramping, and ZMA's 450 mg exceeds the 350 mg/day upper limit for magnesium from supplements.[7]
Stacking with other zinc
Adding a multivitamin or zinc lozenges on top of ZMA can push total zinc past the 40 mg/day upper limit.[6]
Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
The cited trials enrolled adult men only.[1][3][5]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

  1. Check the magnesium lineStandard ZMA servings list 450 mg magnesium, above the 350 mg/day supplemental UL.[3][7]
  2. Check for extra ingredientsThe 8-week training trial used a product that also contained a Mucuna pruriens blend with 50 mg of L-dopa, so blends differ.[1]
  3. Label dose vs studied doseAll trials cited here used the same 30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium, 10.5–11 mg B6 formula; none tested lower doses.[1][3][4][5]

Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch

Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.

Cost per studied dose

Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.

Formula: price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × reference amount. Use the amount printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front-of-pack compound weight. Reference amounts are what trials studied or official limits, not advice for you. We don't rank or link products on this page.

Frequently asked questions

Does ZMA raise testosterone?

Not in men with adequate zinc intake: two studies found no change in total or free testosterone despite higher blood zinc.[2][1]

Does ZMA improve strength?

In 42 resistance-trained men, 8 weeks of ZMA produced no difference from placebo in strength, power, endurance or body composition.[1]

Does ZMA help you sleep?

Three 2024 placebo-controlled crossover trials found no sleep benefit from two nights of ZMA; one found about half an hour less sleep.[3][4][5]

What is in ZMA?

The trials used 30 mg zinc, 450 mg magnesium (as aspartates) and 10.5–11 mg vitamin B6 per day, taken before bed.[3][1]

Is ZMA safe?

Short trials reported no adverse events, but the 450 mg magnesium dose is above the 350 mg/day upper limit for supplemental magnesium.[3][7]

Who might benefit from ZMA?

The proposed benefit is for people low in zinc or magnesium; trials so far enrolled people with adequate intakes and found no benefit.[1][2][4]

Sources

  1. [1]Effects of Zinc Magnesium Aspartate (ZMA) Supplementation on Training Adaptations and Markers of Anabolism and Catabolism.. J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2004. RCT PMID 18500945
  2. [2]Serum testosterone and urinary excretion of steroid hormone metabolites after administration of a high-dose zinc supplement.. Eur J Clin Nutr, 2009. open-label PMID 17882141
  3. [3]Effects of Supplementing Zinc Magnesium Aspartate on Sleep Quality and Submaximal Weightlifting Performance, following Two Consecutive Nights of Partial Sleep Deprivation.. Nutrients, 2024. crossover-RCT PMID 38257144
  4. [4]Effects of an Acute Dose of Zinc Monomethionine Asparate and Magnesium Asparate (ZMA) on Subsequent Sleep and Next-Day Morning Performance (Countermovement Jumps, Repeated Sprints and Stroop Test).. Nutrients, 2024. crossover-RCT PMID 39125347
  5. [5]In Males with Adequate Dietary Needs Who Present No Sleep Disturbances, Is an Acute Intake of Zinc Magnesium Aspartate, Following Either Two Consecutive Nights of 8 or 4 h of Sleep Deprivation, Beneficial for Sleep and Morning Stroop Interference Performance?. Behav Sci (Basel), 2024. crossover-RCT PMID 39062445
  6. [6]Zinc: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026. fact-sheet
  7. [7]Magnesium: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026. fact-sheet
  8. [8]Vitamin B6: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2023. fact-sheet

What changed

  1. October 13, 2026 · interactions · independent reviewIndependent review: added magnesium interactions with tetracycline/quinolone antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates from the ODS magnesium fact sheet. All PMIDs re-checked.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet
  2. October 13, 2026 · all · reviewStrict second-pass self-review (no separate reviewer could be dispatched for this batch): all 5 PMIDs re-verified by NCBI esummary (titles and years match the record) and efetch checked for retraction, expression-of-concern and erratum flags (none flagged); every evidence row, key fact, form, dose, label line, FAQ and insight re-read against its abstract, and against PMC full text where the dose or count lives. Fixes: magnesium side-effect wording aligned with the ODS fact sheet. Page set indexable.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet
  3. October 13, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year from the record) and abstracts read for each cited row. Product compositions and doses from PMC full texts (PMC2129161, PMC10820214, PMC11313716, PMC11274203). Upper limits from the NIH ODS zinc, magnesium and vitamin B6 fact sheets, matching the values on this site's zinc, magnesium and vitamin B6 pages.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →