Other

Sulforaphane (broccoli sprout extract)

Also called sulforaphane, glucoraphanin, broccoli sprout extract, broccoli seed extract, SFN

By Kymata Labs EditorialMedical review pendingLast reviewed October 11, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from the partner product links in the Where to buy section, marked where they appear. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Sulforaphane comes from glucoraphanin in broccoli sprouts and seeds. In a 74-person prediabetes trial, broccoli sprout extract lowered fasting glucose slightly but missed its target (grade D). Small trials found lower liver enzymes and more excretion of tobacco toxins. How much sulforaphane forms depends on gut bacteria.

Top graded outcomes:D evidence grade Fasting blood glucose in prediabetesD evidence grade Liver enzymes in fatty liverD evidence grade Excretion of tobacco carcinogens

Key facts

What it is
An isothiocyanate released when the plant enzyme myrosinase or gut bacteria convert glucoraphanin from broccoli sprouts or seeds[1][3]
Blood sugar
Broccoli sprout extract for 12 weeks lowered fasting glucose by 0.2 mmol/L in 74 adults with prediabetes, short of the 0.3 mmol/L target; responders had different gut bacteria[1]
Absorption
Only about 10–11% of glucoraphanin was recovered as sulforaphane metabolites in smokers given a seed and sprout extract with active enzyme[3]
Behaviour trial
In 44 young men with autism, 50–150 µmol of sulforaphane a day for 18 weeks improved caregiver-rated behaviour scores[5]
Evidence base
4 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 11, 2026

How it works

ProposedSulforaphane switches on phase II detoxification enzymes; in smokers, higher-dose extract increased urinary excretion of benzene, acrolein and crotonaldehyde metabolites.[3]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
MetabolicGrade DMixedRCT · n = 74 · 2025Form tested: Broccoli sprout extract2 rowsIncludes this form
Healthy agingGrade DImprovedCrossover RCT · n = 49 · 2022Form tested: Broccoli seed and sprout extract (with myrosinase)1 rowIncludes this form
ImmuneGrade DMixedRCT · n = 47 · 2021Form tested: Broccoli sprout extract tablets1 rowIncludes this form

Every graded row

Outcome
Form tested
Sort

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Fasting blood glucose in prediabetesMixedGrade D

RCT · n = 74 · 2025

Drug-naive adults with prediabetes

Form: Broccoli sprout extract · Dose: Not stated in the abstract (once daily) · Duration: 12 weeks

Fasting glucose fell 0.2 mmol/L more than with placebo (p = 0.04) but missed the prespecified 0.3 mmol/L target; gut side effects, no severe adverse events.

39929977 (opens PubMed)Source [1]
Liver enzymes in fatty liverImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 52 · 2015

Japanese men with fatty liver

Form: Glucoraphanin-rich broccoli sprout extract · Dose: Not stated in the abstract · Duration: 2 months

ALT, GGT and ALP fell from baseline with the extract but not with placebo; a urinary oxidative-stress marker also fell.

26604653 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
Excretion of tobacco carcinogensImprovedGrade D

Crossover RCT · n = 49 · 2022

Current smokers

Form: Broccoli seed and sprout extract (with myrosinase) · Dose: 148 or 296 µmol glucoraphanin/day · Duration: 2 weeks per dose

The higher dose increased urinary excretion of benzene, acrolein and crotonaldehyde metabolites.

35565256 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Nasal airflow and symptoms in grass-pollen allergyMixedGrade D

RCT · n = 47 · 2021

Adults with grass-pollen allergic rhinitis

Form: Broccoli sprout extract tablets · Dose: Not stated in the abstract · Duration: 3 weeks

Nasal airflow after allergen challenge improved most when extract was combined with a steroid spray; symptom scores improved only at early time points; cytokines did not change.

33920642 (opens PubMed)Source [4]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Broccoli sprout or seed extract (glucoraphanin)Varies[3]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)About 10–11% of glucoraphanin appeared as sulforaphane metabolites with an enzyme-active extract; conversion without the enzyme depends on gut bacteria.[3]Gut side effects were reported in the prediabetes trial; no severe adverse events.[1]Blood glucose, liver enzymes, detoxification markers

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 148 to 296 µmol of glucoraphanin a day (about 65–129 mg) for 2 weeks, and 50–150 µmol of sulforaphane a day for 18 weeks.[3][5]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

None found in our sources.

Who should be careful

Sensitive digestion
Gastrointestinal side effects were reported in the prediabetes trial.[1]
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No safety data were found in the trials we cite.[1]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Where to buy Sulforaphane (broccoli sprout extract)

Products from brands we partner with that contain Sulforaphane (broccoli sprout extract). Listing a product is not a claim that it works; check the amount per serving against the doses studied above, and the label for other ingredients.

  • SupersmartPaid linkBroccoli Sulforaphane Glucosinolate2 capsules: 600 mg broccoli seed extract standardized to 10% glucoraphanin (about 60 mg, roughly 138 µmol); 30 servings. In the range studied, but the label does not list myrosinase, so conversion relies on gut bacteria.Shop at Supersmart (opens in new tab)Price and label checked 2026-10-11 on the brand’s site.

    Partner links may earn us a commission. Learn more

    One-time
    $52
    Subscription
    $44.20

    15% off with code SMART026

    Enter code SMART026 at checkout on us.supersmart.com.

    Code SMART026

    Get 15% off with SMART026 (opens in new tab)

    Partner links may earn us a commission. Learn more

    • Supersmart’s own terms and exclusions apply at checkout.
    • 20% applies when 3 or more products ship on auto-delivery to the same address.
    • The code discount and Subscribe & Save are separate offers; we don’t claim they combine.
    • Offer terms from Supersmart’s site and its affiliate program, checked Oct 8, 2026. Offers can change; the brand's checkout is final.

Frequently asked questions

Is sulforaphane the same as glucoraphanin?

No. Glucoraphanin is the precursor in broccoli; sulforaphane forms when the plant enzyme myrosinase or gut bacteria convert it.[1][3]

Does sulforaphane lower blood sugar?

In one 74-person prediabetes trial, the effect was small (0.2 mmol/L) and missed its target; people with certain gut bacteria responded more.[1]

How much is absorbed?

In smokers given an enzyme-active extract, about 10–11% of the glucoraphanin dose appeared as sulforaphane metabolites.[3]

How much was studied?

About 148–296 µmol of glucoraphanin a day, or 50–150 µmol of sulforaphane.[3][5]

Sources

  1. [1]Effect of broccoli sprout extract and baseline gut microbiota on fasting blood glucose in prediabetes: a randomized, placebo-controlled trial.. Nat Microbiol, 2025. RCT PMID 39929977
  2. [2]Sulforaphane-rich broccoli sprout extract improves hepatic abnormalities in male subjects.. World J Gastroenterol, 2015. RCT PMID 26604653
  3. [3]Randomized Crossover Trial Evaluating Detoxification of Tobacco Carcinogens by Broccoli Seed and Sprout Extract in Current Smokers.. Cancers (Basel), 2022. crossover-RCT PMID 35565256
  4. [4]The Effect of Broccoli Sprout Extract on Seasonal Grass Pollen-Induced Allergic Rhinitis.. Nutrients, 2021. RCT PMID 33920642
  5. [5]Sulforaphane treatment of autism spectrum disorder (ASD).. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A, 2014. RCT PMID 25313065

What changed

  1. October 11, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities (title, year and journal taken from the PubMed record) and abstracts read for each cited row. Product details in Where to buy read from the brand page on the date shown. Self-reviewed in a second strict pass (no independent reviewer yet).Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →