Rosemary Oil

Also called rosemary essential oil, Rosmarinus officinalis oil, Rosmarini aetheroleum, rosemary oil for hair, Salvia rosmarinus oil.

The short answer

From 6 sources

Rosemary oil is best known for hair. In one trial of 100 people with pattern hair loss, rosemary oil and 2% minoxidil raised hair counts similarly after 6 months, with less scalp itch on rosemary, but there was no placebo group. Small trials of inhaled rosemary aroma reported less night-shift sleepiness and pre-surgery anxiety. The EU lists it for traditional skin use.

Quick pick

NOW Foods Organic Rosemary Oil, 1 oz

from HerbsPro

Label: 100% pure organic rosemary essential oil, 1 oz bottle.

Best for trying one bottle: $11.24 one-time (checked Oct 15, 2026).

How we chose: Momentous is the partner brand we list first, so its product leads whenever the Where to buy list has one for this compound or a form in our Forms table. Otherwise, among partner brands that passed our vetting without conditions (others only when none sells it), the first product in that list whose name matches a form in our Forms table, else the first one listed. Not a claim that it works: check the amount per serving against the studied doses and limits.

Key facts

What it is
Essential oil of Rosmarinus officinalis; EU-registered products use 6% to 10% in a semi-solid base applied to the skin1
EU traditional use
Relief of minor muscle and joint pain and minor circulation problems, applied 2 to 3 times a day, based on long-standing use1
Hair loss trial
Hair count rose by 6 months on rosemary oil and on 2% minoxidil, with no difference between them (100 people); no placebo arm2
Side effects
EU monograph: contact dermatitis and asthma-like hypersensitivity, frequency unknown1
Age limit
The EU monograph does not recommend use under 18 years1

What it is

Rosemary oil is the essential oil of rosemary (Rosmarinus officinalis), used diluted on the skin and scalp or inhaled as an aroma.

How it works

Proposed

The hair-loss trial authors point to rosemary's reported effect on small-vessel blood flow (microcapillary perfusion) as a possible mechanism; the trial did not measure it. How inhaled rosemary aroma might affect sleepiness or anxiety is not established.2

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Rosemary Oil forms compared

2 forms
Rosemary Oil forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsDiluted oil, ointment or cream on skin and scalpInhaled aroma (drops on a mask, pad or inhaler)
Absorption in peopleApplied to the skin or scalp, not swallowed.1Inhaled; our sources give no absorption data.4
GI toleranceEU monograph: contact dermatitis and asthma-like hypersensitivity (frequency unknown); not for broken or irritated skin. In the hair trial, scalp itching rose with both rosemary oil and minoxidil, less often with rosemary.12The inhalation trial abstracts do not describe side effects; the EU monograph lists asthma-like hypersensitivity among possible reactions.145
Studied forPattern hair loss (compared with minoxidil); 6% to 10% preparations are the EU traditional range for muscle and joint painNight-shift sleepiness, pre-surgery anxiety, exam anxiety (blend with lavender)
  1. Diluted oil, ointment or cream on skin and scalp
    Absorption in people
    Applied to the skin or scalp, not swallowed.1
    GI tolerance
    EU monograph: contact dermatitis and asthma-like hypersensitivity (frequency unknown); not for broken or irritated skin. In the hair trial, scalp itching rose with both rosemary oil and minoxidil, less often with rosemary.12
    Studied for
    Pattern hair loss (compared with minoxidil); 6% to 10% preparations are the EU traditional range for muscle and joint pain
  2. Inhaled aroma (drops on a mask, pad or inhaler)
    Absorption in people
    Inhaled; our sources give no absorption data.4
    GI tolerance
    The inhalation trial abstracts do not describe side effects; the EU monograph lists asthma-like hypersensitivity among possible reactions.145
    Studied for
    Night-shift sleepiness, pre-surgery anxiety, exam anxiety (blend with lavender)
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

5 graded outcomes, largest study first

5 graded outcomes: 4 improved, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2024 randomized trial of 236 people on anxiety before general surgery, found an improvement.

1Anxiety before general surgery

Improved · Grade C · RCT, 236 people, 2024

236 patients scheduled for general surgery, randomised to rosemary aroma, music, both, or an aromatic placebo (59 per group)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Anxiety before general surgeryImproved236Grade C · RCT, 2024236 patients scheduled for general surgery, randomised to rosemary aroma, music, both, or an aromatic placebo (59 per group)
Hair count in pattern hair loss (androgenetic alopecia)Improved100Grade C · RCT, 2015People with androgenetic alopecia, randomised 50 to rosemary oil and 50 to 2% minoxidil
Patchy hair loss (alopecia areata)Improved86Grade D · RCT, 199886 dermatology outpatients with alopecia areata (43 active, 41 control analysed)
Sleepiness and alertness on night shiftsImproved80Grade C · RCT, 2021Shift-working nurses, 40 per group
Exam (test) anxietyNo effect45No-effect grade · Crossover RCT, 2023First-trimester chiropractic students; 45 randomised, 38 completed per protocol
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

5 rows

Showing 5 of 5 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CAnxiety before general surgeryAnxietyLower anxiety before surgeryRCT
n 236 · 2024

Improved State anxiety fell significantly with rosemary aromatherapy (p = 0.001), music (p < 0.001) and the combination (p = 0.001); the authors report rosemary alone had the largest effect. The abstract gives no between-group difference against the placebo aroma.

Design
RCT, n = 236, 2024
Population
236 patients scheduled for general surgery, randomised to rosemary aroma, music, both, or an aromatic placebo (59 per group)
Form
Inhaled rosemary essential oil (25%)
Dose
Three drops inhaled over 30 minutes, starting 1 hour before surgery
Duration
Single session
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 38242798 (opens PubMed)
Grade CHair count in pattern hair loss (androgenetic alopecia)Hair lossSimilar to 2% minoxidil; no placeboRCT
n 100 · 2015

Improved No change in hair count in either group at 3 months; at 6 months hair count had risen significantly from baseline in both groups, with no difference between rosemary oil and minoxidil. Scalp itching rose in both groups but was more frequent with minoxidil.

Design
RCT, n = 100, 2015
Population
People with androgenetic alopecia, randomised 50 to rosemary oil and 50 to 2% minoxidil
Form
Rosemary oil applied to the scalp
Dose
Concentration and frequency not stated in the abstract
Duration
6 months
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 25842469 (opens PubMed)
Grade CSleepiness and alertness on night shiftsAlertnessLess sleepiness after one inhalationRCT
n 80 · 2021

Improved Sleepiness score fell from 12.15 to 8.3 with rosemary and rose from 11.41 to 13.76 with water (p < 0.001); alertness scores also differed in favour of rosemary (p < 0.001).

Design
RCT, n = 80, 2021
Population
Shift-working nurses, 40 per group
Form
Inhaled rosemary essential oil
Dose
One drop on a mask (control: one drop of distilled water)
Duration
Single session
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 33550193 (opens PubMed)
Grade DPatchy hair loss (alopecia areata)Hair loss44% vs 15% improvedRCT
n 86 · 1998

Improved 19 of 43 (44%) improved with the essential-oil blend vs 6 of 41 (15%) with carrier oil alone (p = .008), judged on photographs by two dermatologists.

Design
RCT, n = 86, 1998
Population
86 dermatology outpatients with alopecia areata (43 active, 41 control analysed)
Form
Blend of thyme, rosemary, lavender and cedarwood essential oils in jojoba and grapeseed carrier oils
Dose
Massaged into the scalp daily (control: carrier oils only)
Duration
7 months
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 9828867 (opens PubMed)
No effectExam (test) anxietyAnxietyNo better than waterCrossover RCT
n 45 · 2023

No effect Change in anxiety did not differ between aromatherapy and control (intention-to-treat p = .10; per-protocol p = .07).

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 45, 2023
Population
First-trimester chiropractic students; 45 randomised, 38 completed per protocol
Form
Nasal inhaler with a rosemary and lavender essential-oil blend
Dose
Personal inhaler on exam days (control: distilled water)
Duration
2 exam days with a 2-day washout
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 36306254 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Matched minoxidil, but no placebo

The only rosemary-oil trial for pattern hair loss in our sources compared it with 2% minoxidil, not a placebo, and neither group improved until 6 months. Without a placebo arm, the trial cannot show how much of the change rosemary caused.2

How we got this: Design of the 2015 trial

Most other hair data are blends

The double-blind alopecia areata trial used rosemary together with thyme, lavender and cedarwood oils, so its 44% vs 15% result applies to that blend.3

How we got this: Composition of the 1998 trial product

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from one to three drops of oil inhaled in a single session to rosemary oil applied to the scalp for 6 months; the EU traditional range for skin use is a 6% to 10% preparation 2 to 3 times a day.1245

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Rosemary Oil meets

0 cited rows 2 tested together

Medicines 0

No medicine rows in our sources.

Rosemary Oil0 medicines · 1 supplement

Supplements and foods 1

  • Tested together in a graded trial
Also cited: 2 tested together
  1. LavenderLavender page

Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Rosemary Oil and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Rosemary Oil.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

5 groups
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
EU monograph: safety has not been established, and use during pregnancy and breastfeeding is not recommended.1
Children and teenagers
EU monograph: use under 18 years is not recommended because adequate data are lacking.1
Broken skin, eyes and mucous membranes
EU monograph: do not apply to broken or irritated skin, avoid contact with the eyes and do not apply near mucous membranes.1
Allergy
Do not use if hypersensitive to rosemary oil; reported reactions include contact dermatitis and asthma (EU monograph).1
Joint swelling or sudden leg symptoms
EU monograph: see a doctor for joint pain with swelling, redness or fever, or for sudden swelling, redness and heat in one or both legs.1
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Not for neat use on skin

EU-registered products contain 6% to 10% rosemary oil in a cream or ointment base rather than undiluted oil.1

Oil vs leaf extract

Rosemary leaf extracts and capsules are different products from the essential oil; the hair trial tested the oil on the scalp.2

Where to buy Rosemary Oil

Products from brands we partner with that contain Rosemary Oil. Check the amount per serving against the doses studied above, and the label for other ingredients.

Rosemary Oil products from partner brands

1 product
  • Quick pickHerbsProNOW Foods Organic Rosemary Oil, 1 oz

    100% pure organic rosemary essential oil, 1 oz bottle; the label directs dilution with a carrier oil (jojoba, grapeseed, olive or almond) for any use other than aromatherapy

    $11.24one-timeChecked Oct 15, 2026

Listing a product is not a claim that it works; check the amount per serving against the doses studied, and the label for other ingredients.Prices and labels are from each brand’s own site on the date shown; confirm before you buy.

Partner links may earn us a commission. How partner links work

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

7 answers
Does rosemary oil regrow hair?

One trial in 100 people with pattern hair loss found hair counts rose after 6 months on rosemary oil, similar to 2% minoxidil. There was no placebo group, so the evidence is limited.2

Does smelling rosemary oil help alertness or anxiety?

Small trials found less sleepiness in night-shift nurses after one inhalation and lower anxiety before surgery; a rosemary and lavender inhaler did not reduce exam anxiety.456

What is rosemary oil traditionally used for in the EU?

The EU monograph lists it as a traditional herbal medicine, applied to the skin as a 6–10% cream or ointment 2–3 times a day, for minor muscle and joint pain and minor circulation problems. It advises seeing a doctor if symptoms last over 4 weeks.1

Is rosemary oil safe on the scalp?

The EU monograph lists contact dermatitis and asthma-like reactions and advises against use on broken skin, near the eyes, in pregnancy or breastfeeding, and under 18.1

How long does rosemary oil take to work on hair?

In the trial, neither rosemary oil nor minoxidil changed hair count at 3 months; increases appeared by 6 months.2

Does rosemary oil interact with medicines?

The EU herbal monograph for rosemary oil applied to the skin lists no reported interactions. That reflects limited data, not proof of safety, and it does not cover swallowing the oil.1

Is rosemary oil better than minoxidil?

Not shown. The single head-to-head trial found no difference in hair count at 3 or 6 months; scalp itching was less frequent with rosemary oil.2

Sources

6 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

2 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
FAQAdded FAQs on drug interactions and the EU traditional-use listing, both from the EMA/HMPC rosemary oil monograph (interactions: none reported). Interaction check: no ODS, NCCIH, LiverTox or LactMed entry covers rosemary oil, and the EMA monograph lists none, so the interaction list stays empty. PubMed search for 2023–2026 trials and meta-analyses found no new qualifying row: a 2025 network meta-analysis of hair-loss products (PMID 41051009) gives no rosemary-specific numbers in its abstract.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit
allInitial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, year, journal; none retracted) and each cited abstract read; numbers taken from the abstracts (full text used only where noted for participant counts, duration or funding). Funding: Kermanshah University of Medical Sciences funded the pre-surgery anxiety trial; the other abstracts name no funder (disclosed as not stated). Safety only from the EMA/HMPC EU herbal monograph on rosemary oil (Revision 1, adopted 29 May 2024). Where to buy: NOW Foods Organic Rosemary Oil (label checked 2026-10-15).Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.