Botanical

Pygeum

Also called Pygeum africanum, Prunus africana, African cherry, African plum bark, Tadenan

By Niko P.Last reviewed October 10, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Pygeum is an African cherry bark extract used for urinary symptoms of an enlarged prostate (BPH). A Cochrane review of 18 small, short trials found better symptom and urine-flow measures than placebo (grade C), with mild side effects. The evidence is old, preparations varied, and no trial compared pygeum with standard BPH drugs.

Top graded outcomes:C evidence grade Urinary symptoms and flow in benign prostatic hyperplasiaD evidence grade Prostate symptom score (IPSS) and urine flow: once- versus twice-daily dosingD evidence grade Hair density in telogen effluvium and pattern hair loss (combination product)

Key facts

What it is
An extract of the bark of the African cherry tree (Prunus africana, also called Pygeum africanum)[1]
Top studied outcomes
Urinary symptoms and flow in benign prostatic hyperplasia (C)[1]
Studied doses
100 mg/day of bark extract, once daily or as 50 mg twice daily[2]
Side effects
Mild and similar to placebo across 18 trials[1]
Clinical view
A 2023 American Family Physician review lists pygeum as possibly effective for BPH symptoms[3]
Evidence base
3 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 10, 2026

How it works

ProposedPygeum is one of several plant extracts proposed to act on prostate growth pathways, such as the enzyme 5-alpha-reductase that converts testosterone to DHT. How it affects the prostate in people is not established.[5]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
ProstateGrade CImprovedRR 2.1 for symptom improvementSystematic review of 18 trials · n = 1,562 · 2002Form tested: Pygeum africanum extracts, alone or in combination2 rowsIncludes this form
HairGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 80 · 2025Form tested: Capsule with L-cystine, saw palmetto, pumpkin seed, Pygeum africanum, vitamins and minerals1 rowIncludes this form

Every graded row

Outcome
Grade
Form tested
Sort

Showing 3 of 3 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Urinary symptoms and flow in benign prostatic hyperplasiaImprovedGrade C

Systematic review · n = 1,562 · 2002

Men with BPH symptoms in 18 RCTs

Form: Pygeum africanum extracts, alone or in combination · Dose: Varied doses and preparations · Duration: Mean 64 days (range 30–122)

Versus placebo, a moderately large improvement in combined symptom and flow measures (effect size −0.8 SD, 6 trials); men were twice as likely to report overall improvement (RR 2.1). Nighttime urination fell 19% and residual urine 24%, and peak flow rose 23%. Adverse effects were mild and similar to placebo.

11869585 (opens PubMed)Source [1]
Prostate symptom score (IPSS) and urine flow: once- versus twice-daily dosingImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 209 · 1999

Men with symptomatic BPH who completed the comparative phase

Form: Pygeum africanum extract · Dose: 50 mg twice daily or 100 mg once daily · Duration: 2 months randomized, then 10 months open-label at 100 mg/day

Both schedules worked alike: IPSS improved 35–38% and peak flow rose 1.6–2.0 mL/s at 2 months. After 12 months IPSS fell from 16 to 9, and safety was similar across groups and phases.

10475357 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
Hair density in telogen effluvium and pattern hair loss (combination product)ImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 80 · 2025

Adults aged 18–60 with chronic telogen effluvium or androgenetic alopecia

Form: Capsule with L-cystine, saw palmetto, pumpkin seed, Pygeum africanum, vitamins and minerals · Dose: One capsule a day (pygeum amount not stated in the abstract) · Duration: 6 months

Hair density rose by 9.9 hairs/cm² at 3 months and 12.3 hairs/cm² at 6 months, significantly more than placebo; no moderate or severe adverse events.

39911983 (opens PubMed)Source [4]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Pygeum africanum bark extractVaries[1][2]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No human absorption data in our sources.[1]Adverse effects were mild and comparable to placebo; dropout rates were similar (13% versus 11%).[1]BPH symptom trials (100 mg/day in the dosing study)
Combination products with saw palmetto, pumpkin seed or other ingredientsVaries[1][4]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No human absorption data in our sources.[4]No moderate or severe adverse events in a 6-month hair trial.[4]Some BPH trials in the Cochrane review and a hair-loss trial

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 50 mg twice daily to 100 mg once daily of Pygeum africanum extract (100 mg/day either way), with one study running 12 months. Other trials in the Cochrane review used varied doses for 30 to 122 days.[1][2]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

None found in our sources.

Who should be careful

Urinary symptoms not yet evaluated
Lower urinary tract symptoms in men have several causes; the 2023 AFP review describes symptom scoring (IPSS) and evaluation before choosing therapy.[3]
Using standard BPH medicines
No trial compared pygeum with alpha blockers or 5-alpha-reductase inhibitors, so its value alongside them is unknown.[1]
Women, pregnancy and children
The BPH trials enrolled adult men only and give no safety data for these groups.[1][2]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Safety

Side effects in trials were mild.

Side effects
Mild and similar to placebo across 18 trials; overall dropout was 12%.[1]
Long-term data
The longest data come from a 10-month open-label extension without a placebo group.[2]

How to read the label

  1. Label dose vs clinical doseThe dosing study used 100 mg/day of Pygeum africanum extract, given once daily or as 50 mg twice daily.[2]
  2. Preparations differThe Cochrane review notes that trials used varied doses and preparations, which makes products hard to compare.[1]
  3. CombinationsMany trials and products combine pygeum with other plant extracts; the hair-loss trial tested such a mix.[1][4]

Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch

Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.

Cost per studied dose

Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.

Formula: price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × reference amount. Use the amount printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front-of-pack compound weight. Reference amounts are what trials studied or official limits, not advice for you. We don't rank or link products on this page.

Frequently asked questions

Does pygeum help an enlarged prostate?

In a Cochrane review of 18 trials, men on pygeum were twice as likely as men on placebo to report symptom improvement, with less nighttime urination and better flow. The trials were small and short.[1]

How much pygeum has been studied?

100 mg/day of bark extract, given once daily or as 50 mg twice daily, which worked equally in a 2-month comparison.[2]

Is pygeum better than saw palmetto?

No head-to-head trials are cited here, but a 2023 AFP review says pygeum may be effective for BPH symptoms while saw palmetto is not.[3]

Does pygeum help hair loss?

Only as part of a multi-ingredient supplement, which increased hair density in an 80-person trial run with the maker; pygeum's own role is unknown.[4]

Is pygeum safe?

Side effects were mild and similar to placebo across 18 trials, but long-term data are limited to a 10-month uncontrolled extension.[1][2]

Sources

  1. [1]Pygeum africanum for benign prostatic hyperplasia.. Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2002. systematic-review PMID 11869585
  2. [2]Comparison of once and twice daily dosage forms of Pygeum africanum extract in patients with benign prostatic hyperplasia: a randomized, double-blind study, with long-term open label extension.. Urology, 1999. RCT PMID 10475357
  3. [3]Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia: Rapid Evidence Review.. Am Fam Physician, 2023. review PMID 37327163
  4. [4]Oral Supplementation with l-Cystine, Serenoa repens, Cucurbita pepo, and Pygeum africanum in Chronic Telogen Effluvium and Androgenetic Alopecia: A Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Randomized Clinical Study.. Skin Appendage Disord, 2025. RCT PMID 39911983
  5. [5]Treatment of Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia by Natural Drugs.. Molecules, 2021. review PMID 34885733

What changed

  1. October 10, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for the cited rows.Writer: Niko P. · No credentialed reviewer yet
  2. October 10, 2026 · all · reviewAdversarial review pass: every evidence row re-read against its PubMed abstract. No NIH ODS or NCCIH fact sheet covers pygeum, so no official monograph is cited. Industry ties: ISDIN employees co-authored the 2025 combination hair trial; funding for the 1999 dosing study is not stated in PubMed; the Cochrane authors declared no conflicts. Retraction, expression-of-concern, erratum and withdrawn checks on all 5 PMIDs: none flagged. Page set indexable. Independent browser review (4 parallel reviewers, every evidence row checked against its abstract and official sources on the Vercel preview) found: no issues.Writer: Niko P. · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →