Magnesium orotate
Also called Mg orotate, magnesium orotate dihydrate, Magnerot. One of 9 forms of magnesium compared on this page.
Grade C for orotate itself: heart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problems Mineral Last checked
We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our grades or rankings. How we make money →
The short answer
From 9 sourcesMagnesium orotate pairs magnesium with orotic acid. One 79-patient trial in severe heart failure reported better one-year survival with high-dose orotate added to standard care, and a Russian meta-analysis of 19 small trials linked it to fewer heart-rhythm and blood-pressure problems. Both have major limits. Each gram supplies only about 66 mg of magnesium.
Quick pick
From a partner brand · paid linkKal Magnesium Orotate 200, 120 veg capsules
from HerbsPro
Label: 4 capsules: 200 mg magnesium (from magnesium orotate).
Best for trying one bottle: $15.49 one-time (checked Oct 15, 2026).
Every graded outcome on this page
5 rows · line = participants- CGrade CHeart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problemsTested orotaten 1,190
- CGrade CSurvival and symptoms in severe heart failureTested orotaten 79
- DGrade DMajor depression (combination product)Other or mixed formsn 120
- DGrade DExercise capacity and extra heartbeats after bypass surgeryTested orotaten 32
- DGrade DSperm quality in idiopathic male infertilityTested orotaten 20
- 1 more graded outcome, in the evidence chapter
Key facts
- What it is
- Magnesium salt of orotic acid; 6.6% elemental magnesium as the dihydrate (7.3% anhydrous)26
- Top studied outcomes
- Survival and symptoms in severe heart failure (C, one trial); heart-rhythm and blood-pressure problems in pooled Russian trials (C)34
- Studied dose range
- About 1,900 mg/day of the compound on average in pooled trials; 3,000 mg/day in a fertility pilot; 3,000 to 6,000 mg/day in the heart-failure trial347
- RDA / UL
- Needs 310 to 420 mg/day overall; 350 mg/day maximum from supplemental magnesium1
- Documented drug interactions
- Like any magnesium: space from bisphosphonates and some antibiotics; diuretics and long-term PPIs change magnesium levels1
- Regulatory safety view
- EFSA (2025) could not establish the safety of up to 6,100 mg/day of magnesium orotate dihydrate because of orotic acid9
What it is
Magnesium orotate is magnesium bound to orotic acid; the dihydrate is about 6.6% magnesium by weight, less than most magnesium forms.
How it works
ProposedCompound weight to elemental magnesium
Arithmetic, not advice33mg elemental magnesium500 mg magnesium orotate × 6.6%
Every magnesium form, side by side
9 forms named in our sources, each with a page of its own. Citation numbers in a column link to the page that holds them.
Magnesium forms compared
9 forms · 9 with a page · Orotate highlighted| 9 forms | OrotateYou are here | Glycinate (bisglycinate)Read the page | CitrateRead the page | L-threonateRead the page | MalateRead the page | TaurateRead the page | OxideRead the page | ChlorideRead the page | Sulfate (Epsom salt)Read the page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elemental shareOf compound weight | 6.6%26Dihydrate C10H10MgN4O10, MW 370.51 (6.6% Mg); anhydrous C10H6MgN4O8, MW 334.48 (7.3% Mg); Mg 24.305 g/mol | 14.1%10Mg(C2H4NO2)2, anhydrous MW 172.42 | 16.2%12Mg3(C6H5O7)2 (trimagnesium dicitrate), anhydrous MW 451.12 | 8.3%5Mg(C4H7O5)2, anhydrous MW 294.50 | 15.5%19MgC4H4O5, anhydrous MW 156.38 | 8.9%20Mg(C2H6NO3S)2, anhydrous MW 272.6 | 60.3%6MgO, MW 40.305 | 12%213Magnesium chloride hexahydrate MgCl2·6H2O, MW 203.30 (anhydrous MgCl2, MW 95.21, is 25.5% magnesium) | 9.9%12MgSO4·7H2O: 24.3 ÷ 246.5 = 9.9% magnesium; the label gives 495 mg magnesium per 5 g teaspoon |
| Form-specific evidenceOutcomes tested on this form | CGrade CHeart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problemsTested this formMeta-analysis, n 1,190, 2015 CGrade CSurvival and symptoms in severe heart failureTested this formRCT, n 79, 2009 +2 more on its page | CGrade CInflammation markers and lung function in asthma and COPDTested this formRCT, n 224, 2026 CGrade CInsomnia severityTested this formRCT, n 155, 2025 +1 more on its page | CGrade CArterial stiffness and blood pressureTested this formRCT, n 164, 2022 CGrade CMigraine attack frequencyTested this formRCT, n 81, 1996 +4 more on its page | CGrade COverall cognitive performanceTested this formRCT, n 100, 2025 CGrade COpioid dose needed for pain in advanced cancerTested this formRCT, n 83, 2023 +2 more on its page | No form-specific graded outcome yet | No form-specific graded outcome yet | BGrade BOverall improvement in chronic constipationTested this formRCT, n 90, 2021 BGrade BOverall improvement in chronic constipationTested this formRCT, n 34, 2019 +2 more on its page | CGrade CMetabolic syndrome and its components in adults with low magnesiumTested this formRCT, n 198, 2018 CGrade CMild-to-moderate depression and anxiety symptomsTested this formCrossover RCT, n 126, 2017 +10 more on its page | BGrade BFunctional constipation in women (mineral water)Tested this formRCT, n 244, 2014 BGrade BTreatment response in functional constipation (mineral water)Tested this formRCT, n 226, 2019 +4 more on its page |
| Studied dosesRange in its trials | 1,878–6,000mgmg of magnesium orotate compound per day (not elemental magnesium)347 | 100–250mgelemental magnesium (as glycinate/bisglycinate)342827 | 290–600mgelemental magnesium (as citrate)61522212310 | 83–165mgelemental magnesium (1–2 g/day of magnesium L-threonate compound)534192 | 250–600mgmg of elemental magnesium per day (with malic acid)361 | 121mgmg of elemental magnesium per day3 | 500–1,500mgmg of magnesium oxide (compound) per day834512 | 248–450mgElemental magnesium per day as stated in the oral trials13481415 | No data yet |
| Absorption in people | No head-to-head human absorption data in our sources.1 | Similar to oxide overall in 12 ileal-resection patients (23.5% vs 22.8%); higher in the 4 poorest oxide absorbers.11 | Beat oxide on urinary and serum magnesium in short human studies.1314 | No human head-to-head data; rat data only.16 | No human comparison; highest serum AUC of five compounds in rats.22 | No human data; fast absorption and highest brain levels in rats (acetyl taurate).22 | About 4% fractional absorption in one comparison, the lowest tested.2113 | ODS: small studies find chloride, citrate, aspartate and lactate absorbed more completely than oxide or sulfate.1 | Acts mainly in the bowel as an osmotic laxative: it keeps water in the large bowel and speeds transit.178 |
| GI tolerance | Large magnesium doses from supplements commonly cause diarrhoea, nausea and abdominal cramping.1 | All 12 crossover patients tolerated it better than oxide.11 | Diarrhea in 18.6% at 600 mg/day (12-week migraine trial).15 | Well tolerated at 1–2 g/day for 3–6 weeks.1718 | No form-specific human data. | No serious adverse events in one 3-month study (taurate with potassium citrate).23 | Among the forms ODS links most often to diarrhea.1 | ODS lists chloride among the forms most commonly reported to cause diarrhea at high doses.1 | Works as a laxative within 30 minutes to 6 hours; the label warns against use with kidney disease, a magnesium-restricted diet or abdominal pain, nausea or vomiting.1 |
| Studied for | Heart failure, heart rhythm and blood pressure (Russian trials) | Insomnia severity (one RCT). | Arterial stiffness (no effect), bone turnover, migraine. | Cognition and sleep (small RCTs). | Fibromyalgia (one small trial). | Blood pressure (one uncontrolled study). | Constipation, migraine; arterial stiffness null. | Glucose, insulin resistance, blood pressure and CRP in adults with low magnesium; depression symptoms; heart rhythm in heart failure. | Occasional constipation (OTC label); transit studies (D) |
- Magnesium orotateYou are here
- Elemental share
- 6.6%26Dihydrate C10H10MgN4O10, MW 370.51 (6.6% Mg); anhydrous C10H6MgN4O8, MW 334.48 (7.3% Mg); Mg 24.305 g/mol
- Form-specific evidence
- CGrade CHeart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problemsTested this formMeta-analysis, n 1,190, 2015CGrade CSurvival and symptoms in severe heart failureTested this formRCT, n 79, 2009+2 more on its page
- Absorption in people
- No head-to-head human absorption data in our sources.1
- GI tolerance
- Large magnesium doses from supplements commonly cause diarrhoea, nausea and abdominal cramping.1
- Studied for
- Heart failure, heart rhythm and blood pressure (Russian trials)
- Magnesium glycinate (bisglycinate)Read the page
- Elemental share
- 14.1%10Mg(C2H4NO2)2, anhydrous MW 172.42
- Form-specific evidence
- CGrade CInflammation markers and lung function in asthma and COPDTested this formRCT, n 224, 2026CGrade CInsomnia severityTested this formRCT, n 155, 2025+1 more on its page
- Absorption in people
- Similar to oxide overall in 12 ileal-resection patients (23.5% vs 22.8%); higher in the 4 poorest oxide absorbers.11
- GI tolerance
- All 12 crossover patients tolerated it better than oxide.11
- Studied for
- Insomnia severity (one RCT).
- Magnesium citrateRead the page
- Elemental share
- 16.2%12Mg3(C6H5O7)2 (trimagnesium dicitrate), anhydrous MW 451.12
- Form-specific evidence
- CGrade CArterial stiffness and blood pressureTested this formRCT, n 164, 2022CGrade CMigraine attack frequencyTested this formRCT, n 81, 1996+4 more on its page
- GI tolerance
- Diarrhea in 18.6% at 600 mg/day (12-week migraine trial).15
- Studied for
- Arterial stiffness (no effect), bone turnover, migraine.
- Magnesium L-threonateRead the page
- Elemental share
- 8.3%5Mg(C4H7O5)2, anhydrous MW 294.50
- Form-specific evidence
- CGrade COverall cognitive performanceTested this formRCT, n 100, 2025CGrade COpioid dose needed for pain in advanced cancerTested this formRCT, n 83, 2023+2 more on its page
- Absorption in people
- No human head-to-head data; rat data only.16
- Studied for
- Cognition and sleep (small RCTs).
- Magnesium malateRead the page
- Magnesium taurateRead the page
- Elemental share
- 8.9%20Mg(C2H6NO3S)2, anhydrous MW 272.6
- Form-specific evidence
- No form-specific graded outcome yet
- Studied doses
- 121mgmg of elemental magnesium per day3
- Absorption in people
- No human data; fast absorption and highest brain levels in rats (acetyl taurate).22
- GI tolerance
- No serious adverse events in one 3-month study (taurate with potassium citrate).23
- Studied for
- Blood pressure (one uncontrolled study).
- Magnesium oxideRead the page
- Elemental share
- 60.3%6MgO, MW 40.305
- Form-specific evidence
- BGrade BOverall improvement in chronic constipationTested this formRCT, n 90, 2021BGrade BOverall improvement in chronic constipationTested this formRCT, n 34, 2019+2 more on its page
- GI tolerance
- Among the forms ODS links most often to diarrhea.1
- Studied for
- Constipation, migraine; arterial stiffness null.
- Magnesium chlorideRead the page
- Elemental share
- 12%213Magnesium chloride hexahydrate MgCl2·6H2O, MW 203.30 (anhydrous MgCl2, MW 95.21, is 25.5% magnesium)
- Form-specific evidence
- CGrade CMetabolic syndrome and its components in adults with low magnesiumTested this formRCT, n 198, 2018CGrade CMild-to-moderate depression and anxiety symptomsTested this formCrossover RCT, n 126, 2017+10 more on its page
- Absorption in people
- ODS: small studies find chloride, citrate, aspartate and lactate absorbed more completely than oxide or sulfate.1
- GI tolerance
- ODS lists chloride among the forms most commonly reported to cause diarrhea at high doses.1
- Studied for
- Glucose, insulin resistance, blood pressure and CRP in adults with low magnesium; depression symptoms; heart rhythm in heart failure.
- Magnesium sulfate (Epsom salt)Read the page
- Elemental share
- 9.9%12MgSO4·7H2O: 24.3 ÷ 246.5 = 9.9% magnesium; the label gives 495 mg magnesium per 5 g teaspoon
- Form-specific evidence
- BGrade BFunctional constipation in women (mineral water)Tested this formRCT, n 244, 2014BGrade BTreatment response in functional constipation (mineral water)Tested this formRCT, n 226, 2019+4 more on its page
- Studied doses
- No data yet
- Absorption in people
- Acts mainly in the bowel as an osmotic laxative: it keeps water in the large bowel and speeds transit.178
- GI tolerance
- Works as a laxative within 30 minutes to 6 hours; the label warns against use with kidney disease, a magnesium-restricted diet or abdominal pain, nausea or vomiting.1
- Studied for
- Occasional constipation (OTC label); transit studies (D)
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Grade C for orotate itself. 4 outcomes on this page were tested with orotate: heart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problems; survival and symptoms in severe heart failure; exercise capacity and extra heartbeats after bypass surgery; sperm quality in idiopathic male infertility (Meta-analysis, n 1,190, 2015). Rows that tested other or mixed forms describe magnesium in general, not orotate. For the overall evidence, see the Magnesium page.
Trial map
5 graded outcomes, largest study first5 graded outcomes: 3 improved, 1 mixed, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2015 meta-analysis of 1,190 people on Heart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problems, found an improvement.
1Heart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problems
Improved · Grade C · Meta-analysis, 1,190 people, 2015
Patients with a mean age of 36 in 19 randomised trials of Magnerot in cardiology
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problems | Improved | 1,190 | Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2015 | Patients with a mean age of 36 in 19 randomised trials of Magnerot in cardiology |
| Major depression (combination product) | Mixed | 120 | Grade D · RCT, 2024 | Adults diagnosed with major depressive disorder (Australia) |
| Survival and symptoms in severe heart failure | Improved | 79 | Grade C · RCT, 2009 | Patients with severe congestive heart failure (NYHA class IV) on optimal cardiovascular drugs, single centre in Russia |
| Exercise capacity and extra heartbeats after bypass surgery | Improved | 32 | Grade D · RCT, 1999 | Patients with chronic ischaemic heart failure in the early weeks after coronary bypass surgery (Romania) |
| Sperm quality in idiopathic male infertility | No effect | 20 | Grade D · RCT, 2003 | Men with idiopathic infertility (Hungary) |
Every graded row
5 rowsShowing 5 of 5 outcomes. Human trials only.
CGrade CHeart-rhythm, blood-pressure and related problemsHeart rhythm · tested orotateFewer rhythm and pressure problemsMeta-analysis · 19 studies
n 1,190 · 2015
Improved Orotate was linked to lower risk of low blood magnesium (RR 0.06), supraventricular (RR 0.30) and ventricular (RR 0.48) premature beats, high blood pressure (RR 0.32), tension headache (RR 0.16) and exercise intolerance (RR 0.41).
- Design
- Meta-analysis, 19 studies, n = 1,190, 2015
- Population
- Patients with a mean age of 36 in 19 randomised trials of Magnerot in cardiology
- Form
- Magnesium orotate (Magnerot)
- Dose
- Mean 1,878 mg/day of the compound
- Duration
- Mean 4.2 months
- Source
- Reference 4 · PubMed 26281202 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CSurvival and symptoms in severe heart failureHeart failure · tested orotateBetter one-year survivalRCT
n 79 · 2009
Improved Survival was 75.7% with magnesium orotate vs 51.6% with placebo (p < 0.05); symptoms improved in 38.5% on orotate, while 56.3% on placebo worsened (p < 0.001).
- Design
- RCT, n = 79, 2009
- Population
- Patients with severe congestive heart failure (NYHA class IV) on optimal cardiovascular drugs, single centre in Russia
- Form
- Magnesium orotate
- Dose
- 6,000 mg/day for 1 month, then 3,000 mg/day (about 390 and 200 mg of magnesium if the dihydrate; our calculation)
- Duration
- About 1 year
- Source
- Reference 3 · PubMed 18281113 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DMajor depression (combination product)Mood · other or mixed formsShort-lived benefitRCT
n 120 · 2024
Mixed Fewer people had a major depressive episode at 8 weeks than on placebo, with no difference at follow-up; symptom scores differed at 4 weeks but not at 8 or 16 weeks.
- Design
- RCT, n = 120, 2024
- Population
- Adults diagnosed with major depressive disorder (Australia)
- Form
- Probiotics plus magnesium orotate plus coenzyme Q10
- Dose
- Daily combination (amounts not stated in the abstract)
- Duration
- 8 weeks, with 16-week follow-up
- Source
- Reference 5 · PubMed 39242786 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DExercise capacity and extra heartbeats after bypass surgeryHeart surgery recovery · tested orotateBetter exercise capacityRCT
n 32 · 1999
Improved Versus placebo, 6-minute walking distance and exercise-test measures improved and ventricular premature beats fell; adverse reactions were not significant.
- Design
- RCT, n = 32, 1999
- Population
- Patients with chronic ischaemic heart failure in the early weeks after coronary bypass surgery (Romania)
- Form
- Magnesium orotate (Magnerot)
- Dose
- Not stated in the abstract
- Duration
- Not stated in the abstract
- Source
- Reference 8 · PubMed 15532307 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DSperm quality in idiopathic male infertilityFertility · tested orotateNo change in sperm qualityRCT
n 20 · 2003
No effect No significant change in sperm concentration, motility or morphology, or in blood magnesium, versus placebo; only ionized magnesium in semen rose.
- Design
- RCT, n = 20, 2003
- Population
- Men with idiopathic infertility (Hungary)
- Form
- Magnesium orotate (Magnerot)
- Dose
- 3,000 mg/day of the compound (about 200 mg of magnesium if the dihydrate; our calculation)
- Duration
- 90 days
- Source
- Reference 7 · PubMed 12892384 (opens PubMed)
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
One striking trial, never repeated
The 79-patient MACH trial reported 75.7% vs 51.6% one-year survival, a large effect from a single centre, published as a letter and not replicated in the cited literature.3
Low magnesium per pill
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
NIH ODS updated Jan 6, 2026Doses studied in human trials ranged from a mean of 1,878 mg a day of the compound over about 4 months in pooled Russian trials, through 3,000 mg a day for 90 days in a male-fertility pilot, to 6,000 mg a day for 1 month followed by 3,000 mg a day for about a year in the heart-failure trial.347
Intake reference: Total magnesium needs are 310 to 420 mg/day for adults; supplemental magnesium, orotate included, should stay within 350 mg/day.1 Food magnesium is excluded from that ceiling. NIH ODS fact sheet (updated January 6, 2026).
Interactions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
What Magnesium orotate meets
6 cited rows 2 tested togetherMedicines 5
Supplements and foods 3
- Reference summary
- Tested together in a graded trial
Choose a medicine or supplement above to read its cited rows here.
Also cited: 2 tested together
Antibiotics
NIH fact sheetReference summary
Antibiotics, for example tetracyclines, quinolones: Magnesium can bind tetracyclines and quinolones. Take the antibiotic at least 2 hours before, or 4 to 6 hours after, magnesium.
Source 1, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (2026)
Bisphosphonates
NIH fact sheetReference summary
Bisphosphonates, for example alendronate: Space magnesium and alendronate-type drugs at least 2 hours apart; magnesium can lower their absorption.
Source 1, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (2026)
Loop and thiazide diuretics
NIH fact sheetReference summaryCan lower levels
Loop and thiazide diuretics, for example furosemide, bumetanide, hydrochlorothiazide: Long-term use raises magnesium loss in urine and can lead to depletion.
Source 1, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (2026)
Potassium-sparing diuretics
NIH fact sheetReference summary
Potassium-sparing diuretics, for example amiloride, spironolactone: These drugs reduce magnesium loss in urine, so magnesium from orotate is cleared more slowly.
Source 1, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (2026)
Proton pump inhibitors (long-term)
NIH fact sheetReference summaryCan lower levels
Proton pump inhibitors (long-term), for example omeprazole, esomeprazole: Long-term PPI use (over a year) can cause low magnesium that supplements may not correct.
Source 1, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (2026)
ZincZinc page
NIH fact sheetReference summary
High-dose zinc, for example 142 mg/day zinc: Very high supplemental zinc (142 mg/day) interfered with magnesium absorption and balance in one study cited by ODS.
Source 1, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (2026)
CoQ10CoQ10 page
Tested together
Major depression (combination product). Graded on the Magnesium orotate page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
ProbioticsProbiotics page
Tested together
Major depression (combination product). Graded on the Magnesium orotate page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Interactions
6 agents| Agent | What the source says | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Medicines3 | ||
| Bisphosphonatese.g. alendronate | Space magnesium and alendronate-type drugs at least 2 hours apart; magnesium can lower their absorption.1 | NIH fact sheet |
| Antibioticse.g. tetracyclines, quinolones | Magnesium can bind tetracyclines and quinolones. Take the antibiotic at least 2 hours before, or 4 to 6 hours after, magnesium.1 | NIH fact sheet |
| Potassium-sparing diureticse.g. amiloride, spironolactone | These drugs reduce magnesium loss in urine, so magnesium from orotate is cleared more slowly.1 | NIH fact sheet |
| Medicines that can lower levels2 | ||
| Loop and thiazide diureticse.g. furosemide, bumetanide, hydrochlorothiazide | Long-term use raises magnesium loss in urine and can lead to depletion.1 | NIH fact sheet |
| Proton pump inhibitors (long-term)e.g. omeprazole, esomeprazole | Long-term PPI use (over a year) can cause low magnesium that supplements may not correct.1 | NIH fact sheet |
| Other supplements1 | ||
| High-dose zince.g. 142 mg/day zinc | Very high supplemental zinc (142 mg/day) interfered with magnesium absorption and balance in one study cited by ODS.1 | NIH fact sheet |
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Magnesium orotate and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Magnesium orotate.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
6 groups- Kidney problems
- If kidney function is reduced, magnesium is cleared slowly and toxicity becomes possible (ODS).1
- High doses
- Large supplemental doses tend to bring diarrhoea, nausea and cramping; ODS sets 350 mg/day of supplemental magnesium as the upper limit for adults.1
- Orotic acid at high intakes
- EFSA could not establish the safety of magnesium orotate dihydrate at up to 6,100 mg/day (about 5,000 mg orotic acid), citing animal studies in which orotic acid promoted tumours and noting that the applicant supplied no toxicology data on the product or on orotic acid. That intake also gives about 400 mg of magnesium, above EFSA's upper limit of 250 mg/day for supplemental magnesium.9
- Pregnancy and breastfeeding
- We found no studies of the orotate form in pregnancy or breastfeeding. Needs rise to 350–400 mg/day in pregnancy and 310–360 mg/day while breastfeeding (all sources); the 350 mg/day upper limit for supplemental magnesium still applies.1
- Children
- Upper limits for supplemental magnesium are lower: 65 mg/day at ages 1–3 and 110 mg/day at ages 4–8.1
- Medicines
- See interactions: antibiotic and bisphosphonate timing matters.1
How to read the label
What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.
How to read the label
3 checksRead the elemental number
Label dose vs clinical dose
Count every source against the upper limit
The 350 mg/day limit covers magnesium from all supplements and medicines combined, such as antacids and laxatives, but not food.1
Where to buy Magnesium orotate
Products from brands we partner with that contain Magnesium orotate. Check the amount per serving against the doses studied above, and the label for other ingredients.
Magnesium orotate products from partner brands
1 product Paid links · we earn a commission- Quick pickHerbsProKal Magnesium Orotate 200, 120 veg capsules
4 capsules: 200 mg magnesium (from magnesium orotate)
$15.49one-timeChecked Oct 15, 2026
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
8 answersWhat is magnesium orotate good for?
Does magnesium orotate help depression?
Only one trial tested it, combined with probiotics and coenzyme Q10, and the benefit faded by follow-up, so no effect can be credited to orotate.5
What is the upper limit for magnesium supplements?
ODS sets 350 mg/day of supplemental magnesium for adults; food magnesium does not count toward it.1
Is magnesium orotate safe?
Trials reported it as generally well tolerated, and large magnesium doses mainly cause diarrhoea and cramping. EFSA (2025) could not establish the safety of very high intakes (up to 6,100 mg/day) because of animal data on orotic acid, and people with reduced kidney function face a risk of magnesium build-up.91
How much magnesium is in magnesium orotate?
About 6.6% by weight for the dihydrate, so 1,000 mg of the compound gives roughly 66 mg of magnesium.2
Does magnesium orotate interact with medicines?
Like other magnesium forms, it can reduce absorption of bisphosphonates and tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, so timing matters. Diuretics and long-term proton pump inhibitors can change magnesium levels.1
Can I use magnesium orotate while pregnant or breastfeeding?
No studies of the orotate form in pregnancy or breastfeeding were found. ODS sets magnesium needs at 350–400 mg/day in pregnancy and 310–360 mg/day while breastfeeding, with the same 350 mg/day cap on supplemental magnesium.1
Is magnesium orotate better absorbed?
No head-to-head human absorption data were found for orotate versus other forms.1
Sources
9 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
9 sources- 1Magnesium: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals (updated January 6, 2026)Fact sheet NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026 · ods.od.nih.gov
- 2Magnesium orotate dihydrate (CID 90479692): C10H10MgN4O10, MW 370.51Database PubChem, NCBI, 2026 · pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- 3Magnesium orotate in severe congestive heart failure (MACH).RCT Int J Cardiol, 2009 · PMID 18281113
- 4[Meta-analysis of clinical trials of cardiovascular effects of magnesium orotate].Meta-analysis Ter Arkh, 2015 · PMID 26281202
- 5Probiotics and magnesium orotate for the treatment of major depressive disorder: a randomised double blind controlled trial.RCT Sci Rep, 2024 · PMID 39242786
- 6Magnesium orotate (CID 3036905): C10H6MgN4O8, MW 334.48Database PubChem, NCBI, 2026 · pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- 7Magnesium-orotate supplementation for idiopathic infertile male patients: a randomized, placebo-controlled clinical pilot study.RCT Magnes Res, 2003 · PMID 12892384
- 8Assessment of treatment with orotate magnesium in early postoperative period of patients with cardiac insufficiency and coronary artery by-pass grafts (ATOMIC).RCT Rom J Intern Med, 1999 · PMID 15532307
- 9Safety of magnesium orotate dihydrate as a novel food pursuant to Regulation (EU) 2015/2283 and bioavailability of magnesium from this source in the context of Directive 2002/46/EC.Review EFSA J, 2025 · PMID 40642284
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
2 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| evidence, doses, interactions, safety, label, FAQ | A–Z audit. Added two small form-specific trials: ATOMIC post-bypass RCT (PMID 15532307, grade D) and a male-fertility pilot RCT with no effect (PMID 12892384, grade D); studied-dose range updated. Added the 2025 EFSA novel-food opinion on orotic-acid safety (PMID 40642284), pregnancy/breastfeeding and children notes, diuretic and high-dose zinc interactions (all from the NIH ODS magnesium fact sheet, re-read 2026-10-21), a label step and three FAQs. PMIDs checked with esummary and abstracts read with efetch. Fact-checked against the sources; corrected: EFSA cited missing toxicology data from the applicant, not specifically missing human data, and the 250 mg/day limit is EFSA's upper limit (PMID 40642284). | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit |
| all | Initial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, year, journal; none retracted) and each cited abstract read; every number comes from the abstracts. The MACH trial exists as a corrected and republished letter (PMIDs 19367681 and 18281113); we cite the republished version. Funding: Medlab Clinical funded the 2024 combination trial; the MACH and 2015 meta-analysis abstracts name no funder. Elemental percentages calculated from PubChem molecular weights. Safety, interaction and intake rows come only from the NIH ODS magnesium fact sheet. Where to buy: Kal Magnesium Orotate 200 (label amounts checked 2026-10-15). | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.
