Lactosucrose

Also called 4G-beta-D-galactosylsucrose, galactosylsucrose, lactosylfructoside.

The short answer

From 7 sources

Lactosucrose is a Japanese prebiotic sugar. Small studies show it raises gut bifidobacteria, which fall back after stopping. A long placebo-controlled trial in 17 young women found better calcium absorption at 12 g/day. A 24-week trial in depression found no benefit on depression scores. Most studies are small and decades old.

Key facts

Gut bacteria
In 8 healthy volunteers, 6 g/day for 8 weeks raised the number and share of fecal bifidobacteria and lowered fecal ammonia; levels returned toward baseline after stopping3
Calcium absorption
In a 92-week trial, women given 6 g twice daily absorbed and retained more calcium than those given maltose placebo during a 6-day balance study (n=17); four of the ten authors worked for lactosucrose producers1
Depression
In 20 outpatients with depression, 24 weeks of lactosucrose did not improve depression scores vs placebo (p = 0.552); self-efficacy scores trended better (p = 0.091)2
Gas
At 10 g, lactosucrose produced less breath hydrogen (a marker of colon fermentation) than the same dose of fructo-oligosaccharides, and gas rose with dose up to 20 g6
Oxalate
10 g/day for 2 weeks raised oxalate-degrading gut bacteria in 12 men but did not lower urinary oxalate5

What it is

Lactosucrose is a prebiotic trisaccharide made from lactose and sucrose, used as a food ingredient in Japan to feed gut bifidobacteria.

How it works

Proposed

Lactosucrose is only slightly digested in the small intestine, so most reaches the colon, where bifidobacteria ferment it into short-chain fatty acids and lower stool pH. Trial authors propose that the more acidic colon improves calcium and magnesium absorption.631

Forms

Form

The form on this page
FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Lactosucrose powder or syrup (food ingredient)Varies61Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Only slightly hydrolyzed in the small intestine; most is fermented in the colon (breath hydrogen test).61All 17 participants completed a 92-week trial at 12 g/day.61Gut bacteria, calcium absorption

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

4 graded outcomes, largest study first

4 graded outcomes: 3 improved, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2022 randomized trial of 20 people on depression scores in outpatients with depression, found no effect.

Bar: the ages a study enrolled (running to the edge when it states no upper or lower limit). Dot: only a mean age, counted as near your age within 5 years. Tick: the mean age inside a range.

4Fecal bifidobacteria in healthy adults: improved, mean age 34

1Depression scores in outpatients with depression: no effect, 36–72

3Body weight in underweight inpatients with schizophrenia: improved, mean age 63

2Calcium absorption and gut environment over 92 weeks: improved, ages not stated

1Depression scores in outpatients with depression

No effect · Grade D · RCT, 20 people, 2022

Outpatients aged 36-72 with depressive episodes (Japan)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Depression scores in outpatients with depressionNo effect20Grade D · RCT, 2022Outpatients aged 36-72 with depressive episodes (Japan)
Calcium absorption and gut environment over 92 weeksImproved17Grade D · RCT, 2006Healthy young Japanese women with lower-than-recommended calcium intake
Body weight in underweight inpatients with schizophreniaImproved16Grade D · Open-label trial, 2018Underweight Japanese inpatients with schizophrenia, mean age 63
Fecal bifidobacteria in healthy adultsImproved8Grade D · Open-label trial, 1995Healthy volunteers, 4 men and 4 women (Japan)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). By age shows the ages each study enrolled, where it states them. It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

4 rows

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade DDepression scores in outpatients with depressionDepressionNo effect on depressionRCT
n 20 · 2022

No effect Total MADRS depression scores did not differ from placebo (p = 0.552); self-efficacy scores trended better (p = 0.091) with a large effect size.

Design
RCT, n = 20, 2022
Population
Outpatients aged 36-72 with depressive episodes (Japan)
Form
Lactosucrose vs placebo (double-blind)
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
24 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 35123322 (opens PubMed)
Grade DCalcium absorption and gut environment over 92 weeksCalcium absorptionHigher calcium absorptionRCT
n 17 · 2006

Improved Fecal pH, ammonia and putrefactive products fell and short-chain fatty acids rose; in a 6-day balance study, apparent calcium absorption and retention and magnesium absorption were higher than with placebo (p < 0.05). All participants completed.

Design
RCT, n = 17, 2006
Population
Healthy young Japanese women with lower-than-recommended calcium intake
Form
Lactosucrose vs maltose placebo (single-blind)
Dose
6 g twice daily (12 g/day)
Duration
92 weeks plus 4 weeks follow-up
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 17190104 (opens PubMed)
Grade DBody weight in underweight inpatients with schizophreniaBody weightHigher BMI (uncontrolled)Open-label trial
n 16 · 2018

Improved BMI rose from 20.9 to 22.3 and fecal bifidobacteria from 16.1% to 21.5%; serum albumin did not change.

Design
Open-label trial, n = 16, 2018
Population
Underweight Japanese inpatients with schizophrenia, mean age 63
Form
Lactosucrose, no control group
Dose
3 g/day
Duration
6 months
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 29662737 (opens PubMed)
Grade DFecal bifidobacteria in healthy adultsGut bacteriaMore bifidobacteriaOpen-label trial
n 8 · 1995

Improved Bifidobacteria rose in number and share of total bacteria; fecal ammonia fell. Stool volume, moisture and pH did not change. Bifidobacteria fell back after stopping.

Design
Open-label trial, n = 8, 1995
Population
Healthy volunteers, 4 men and 4 women (Japan)
Form
Lactosucrose, no control group
Dose
6 g/day
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 8549886 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Bacteria change, then revert

Bifidobacteria rose within weeks and fell back after stopping, so any effect depends on continued use.3

How we got this: Healthy-volunteer study

Small, old and mostly Japanese

Only two of the human studies used a placebo, with 17 and 20 participants.12

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 3 g/day for 6 months to 6-10 g/day for 2-8 weeks and 6 g twice daily (12 g/day) for 92 weeks. These are research doses, not recommendations.7351

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Lactosucrose and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Lactosucrose.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

5 groups
People with IBS or sensitivity to fermentable sugars
Lactosucrose is fermented in the colon and breath hydrogen rose with dose, so it may cause gas or bloating in sensitive people (inferred from the fermentation data; symptoms were not reported).6
People with depression
It did not improve depression scores in a placebo-controlled trial and is not a substitute for treatment.2
People with kidney stones
It raised oxalate-degrading bacteria but did not lower urinary oxalate over 2 weeks.5
Drug interactions
No published drug-interaction studies were found.1
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
None of the cited studies included pregnant or breastfeeding women.13
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

1 checks
Chemical name

Labels and studies may call it 4G-beta-D-galactosylsucrose or galactosyl-sucrose rather than lactosucrose.16

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
Can lactosucrose help depression?

Not on the evidence so far: a 24-week placebo-controlled trial found no change in depression scores.2

Does it cause gas?

It is fermented in the colon and produced breath hydrogen, though less than the same dose of fructo-oligosaccharides.6

How much lactosucrose was used in studies?

Human studies used 3 g a day for 6 months, 6 to 10 g a day for 2 to 8 weeks, and 6 g twice daily (12 g a day) for 92 weeks. Gas production rose with dose up to 20 g. These are research doses, not recommendations.73516

Is it safe in pregnancy or with medicines?

Unknown. None of the cited studies reported including pregnant or breastfeeding women, and no drug interaction studies were found. In a 92-week trial, all 17 young women completed it, 9 of them taking 12 g a day.13

Does lactosucrose help absorb calcium?

In one 92-week trial of 17 young women, those taking 12 g/day absorbed and retained more calcium in a balance study. Bone density was not measured.1

Is lactosucrose a prebiotic?

Yes. It reaches the colon largely undigested and raised fecal bifidobacteria in small Japanese studies, including in 7 people with inflammatory bowel disease.634

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
FAQAdded two FAQs (doses studied; pregnancy, breastfeeding and interactions). A PubMed search for 2023–2026 human trials and meta-analyses found none, so the evidence table is unchanged; no NIH fact sheet, LactMed or LiverTox entry exists, so interactions stay empty with the limitation stated. Fact-checked against the sources; corrected: the safety FAQ no longer implies all 17 women in the 92-week trial took lactosucrose (9 did; 8 took placebo).Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
evidence, safetyAdversarial review: depression trial regraded from no-effect to D (20 people, too small to rule out an effect); producer affiliations (Hayashibara, Ensuiko) disclosed for the calcium trial.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: adversarial review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.