Hoodia (bushman's hat)
Also called bushman's hat, Hoodia gordonii, Hoodia parviflora, xhoba, slimming cactus, P57.
Best grade D across 2 graded outcomes Botanical Last checked
The short answer
From 12 sourcesHoodia is a southern African succulent marketed for appetite control. In the most rigorous trial, 2,220 mg/day of purified Hoodia gordonii extract for 15 days did not reduce food intake or weight, and it raised blood pressure and heart rate. Small Hoodia parviflora trials report modest weight loss. The EU caps adult supplements of dried H. parviflora at 9.4 mg/day.
Every graded outcome on this page
2 rows · line = participantsKey facts
- Controlled trial
- 2,220 mg/day of purified Hoodia gordonii extract for 15 days did not reduce energy intake or body weight versus placebo in 49 overweight women1
- NIH view
- NCCIH (2025): very little is known; only one small study has tested hoodia supplements in people, and it found no extra weight loss over 15 days111
- Side effects
- That trial found nausea, vomiting and skin-sensation disturbances (NCCIH also lists dizziness), plus significant rises in blood pressure, pulse and heart rate111
- Liver
- LiverTox likelihood score E (unlikely cause of clinically apparent liver injury); bilirubin and alkaline phosphatase rose slightly in the 15-day trial121
- EU limit
- EFSA judged dried Hoodia parviflora aerial parts safe as a food supplement for adults only up to 9.4 mg/day, and the EU authorised it on those terms in 2018410
- Positive trial
- A 4-week Hoodia parviflora product trial in 30 adults reported 1.6 kg more weight loss than placebo; two authors are affiliated with PromoPharma S.p.A.2
What it is
Hoodia is a group of succulent plants from southwestern Africa, mainly Hoodia gordonii and Hoodia parviflora, sold as appetite-suppressant supplements.
How it works
ProposedHoodia contains oxypregnane steroidal glycosides; one of them, P57, is reported to be the main appetite-suppressing constituent. A Hoodia gordonii product also showed beta-adrenergic (sympathomimetic) activity in rat tissue. In the controlled human trial, purified extract did not lower food intake.651
Forms, side by side
2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.
Hoodia (bushman's hat) forms compared
2 forms| 2 forms | Purified Hoodia gordonii extract | Dried Hoodia parviflora aerial parts |
|---|---|---|
| Absorption in people | Not reported in the trial abstract.1 | Not reported in the trial abstracts.23 |
| GI tolerance | Less well tolerated than placebo: nausea, vomiting and skin-sensation disturbances.1 | Eight mild, transient possible adverse events in a 40-day consumer trial; EFSA judged 9.4 mg/day the safe supplement maximum for adults, and the EU set that as the limit.3410 |
| Studied for | Appetite and weight | Appetite and weight |
- Purified Hoodia gordonii extract
- Dried Hoodia parviflora aerial parts
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Trial map
2 graded outcomes, largest study first2 graded outcomes: 1 improved, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2011 randomized trial of 49 people on energy intake and body weight, found no effect.
1Energy intake and body weight
No effect · No-effect grade · RCT, 49 people, 2011
Healthy overweight women, resident in a clinic
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energy intake and body weight | No effect | 49 | No-effect grade · RCT, 2011 | Healthy overweight women, resident in a clinic |
| Body weight, waist circumference and satiety | Improved | 30 | Grade D · RCT, 2020 | Overweight and obese adults (25 women, 5 men) |
Every graded row
2 rowsDGrade DBody weight, waist circumference and satietyWeightAbout 1.6 kg more weight lossRCT
n 30 · 2020
Improved Weight fell 1.632 kg more than with placebo (95% CI -2.545 to -0.719) and waist circumference 2.080 cm more (95% CI -4.082 to -0.078); satiety scores improved after day 5 (P = 0.001).
- Design
- RCT, n = 30, 2020
- Population
- Overweight and obese adults (25 women, 5 men)
- Form
- Hoodia parviflora (9 mg) with 200 mg fructo-oligosaccharides vs placebo
- Dose
- 9 mg Hoodia parviflora + 200 mg fructo-oligosaccharides, given twice a day
- Duration
- 4 weeks
- Source
- Reference 2 · PubMed 32218424 (opens PubMed)
∅No effectEnergy intake and body weightWeightNo effect, more side effectsRCT
n 49 · 2011
No effect Ad libitum energy intake and body weight did not differ from placebo (P > 0.05). The extract was less well tolerated (nausea, vomiting, skin-sensation disturbances), and blood pressure, pulse, heart rate, bilirubin and alkaline phosphatase rose significantly (P < 0.05).
- Design
- RCT, n = 49, 2011
- Population
- Healthy overweight women, resident in a clinic
- Form
- Purified Hoodia gordonii extract in a yogurt drink vs placebo
- Dose
- 1,110 mg twice daily (2,220 mg/day)
- Duration
- 15 days
- Source
- Reference 1 · PubMed 21993434 (opens PubMed)
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
The most rigorous trial was negative
The clinic-based trial that measured food intake directly found no effect on intake or weight, and more side effects than placebo.1
Positive results come from small product trials
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
Doses studied in human trials ranged from a Hoodia parviflora product labelled 9 mg (with 200 mg fructo-oligosaccharides, given twice a day; the abstract does not say whether 9 mg is per dose or per day) for 4 weeks to 2,220 mg/day of purified Hoodia gordonii extract for 15 days. A 40-day consumer trial used 3 g frozen cubes of whole Hoodia parviflora aerial parts. These are research doses, not recommendations.123
Interactions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
What Hoodia meets
2 cited rows 1 tested togetherMedicines 2
Supplements and foods 1
- Measured in a human study
- Tested together in a graded trial
Choose a medicine or supplement above to read its cited rows here.
Also cited: 1 tested together
Blood pressure medicines and stimulants
RCTMeasured in a human study
Blood pressure medicines and stimulants: Purified Hoodia gordonii extract raised blood pressure, pulse and heart rate over 15 days; combinations with these drugs were not studied.
Source 1, Am J Clin Nutr (2011)
Drugs broken down by CYP3A4
PK studyMeasured in a human study
Drugs broken down by CYP3A4: Laboratory data only: the Hoodia compound P57 weakly inhibited CYP3A4 in human liver microsomes (IC50 45 microM); clinical relevance is unknown.
Source 6, Planta Med (2008)
InulinInulin page
Tested together
Body weight, waist circumference and satiety. Graded on the Hoodia page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.
Interactions
2 agents| Agent | What the source says | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Medicines2 | ||
| Drugs broken down by CYP3A4 | Laboratory data only: the Hoodia compound P57 weakly inhibited CYP3A4 in human liver microsomes (IC50 45 microM); clinical relevance is unknown.6 | PK study |
| Blood pressure medicines and stimulants | Purified Hoodia gordonii extract raised blood pressure, pulse and heart rate over 15 days; combinations with these drugs were not studied.1 | RCT |
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Hoodia and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Hoodia.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
3 groupsBlood pressure, heart rate and stomach effects
4 notesSeen in the largest controlled trial.
- 15-day trial
- Purified Hoodia gordonii extract raised blood pressure, pulse and heart rate and caused nausea, vomiting and skin-sensation disturbances compared with placebo.1
- Possible mechanism
- A Hoodia gordonii product relaxed rat uterine muscle partly through beta-adrenergic receptors, which the authors link to reported rises in blood pressure and pulse.5
How to read the label
What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.
How to read the label
2 checksWhich species
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
5 answersDoes hoodia suppress appetite?
Are hoodia products genuine?
Is hoodia safe?
Does hoodia damage the liver?
Sources
12 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
12 sources- 1Effects of 15-d repeated consumption of Hoodia gordonii purified extract on safety, ad libitum energy intake, and body weight in healthy, overweight women: a randomized controlled trial.RCT Am J Clin Nutr, 2011 · PMID 21993434
- 2Effects of Hoodia Parviflora on satiety, abdominal obesity and weight in a group of overweight subjects: a randomized, blinded, placebo-controlled trial.RCT Minerva Gastroenterol Dietol, 2020 · PMID 32218424
- 3Efficacy and acceptance of a commercial Hoodia parviflora product for support of appetite and weight control in a consumer trial.RCT J Med Food, 2015 · PMID 25453380
- 4Safety of dried aerial parts of Hoodia parviflora as a novel food pursuant to Regulation (EC) No 258/97.Guideline EFSA J, 2017 · PMID 32625297
- 5Sympathomimetic activity of a Hoodia gordonii product: a possible mechanism of cardiovascular side effects.Animal study Biomed Res Int, 2013 · PMID 24307991
- 6In vitro metabolic stability and intestinal transport of P57AS3 (P57) from Hoodia gordonii and its interaction with drug metabolizing enzymes.PK study Planta Med, 2008 · PMID 18612942
- 7Case report. Efficacy of Hoodia for weight loss: is there evidence to support the efficacy claims?Review J Clin Pharm Ther, 2010 · PMID 20831685
- 8Forensic identification of CITES protected slimming cactus (Hoodia) using DNA barcoding.Observational J Forensic Sci, 2013 · PMID 23865560
- 9Evidence for the efficacy and safety of herbal weight loss preparations.Review J Integr Med, 2019 · PMID 30738773
- 10Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/1133 authorising the placing on the market of dried aerial parts of Hoodia parviflora as a novel foodGuideline European Commission (EUR-Lex), 2018 · eur-lex.europa.eu
- 11Hoodia: Usefulness and SafetyFact sheet NCCIH, 2025 · nccih.nih.gov
- 12HoodiaDatabase LiverTox (NCBI Bookshelf), 2018 · ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
3 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| key facts, who should avoid, safety, FAQ, questions, related | Added the NCCIH hoodia fact sheet (2025: very little known, one small human study; pregnancy and breastfeeding safety unknown; dizziness among side effects) and the LiverTox entry (likelihood score E). Replaced FAQ items already covered by the page's own questions (what it is, weight, interactions) with appetite, liver and legal status; added page questions and the metabolic goal hub. PubMed search (hoodia, all years) found no human trial newer than 2020; the 2015 consumer trial stays out of the graded table because its abstract gives no participant count. Interactions re-checked in NCCIH and LiverTox: none beyond the two already listed; LactMed has no hoodia entry. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md |
| all | Independent adversarial review: the 9.4 mg/day limit is now attributed correctly (EFSA judged it safe; the EU set it in Regulation 2018/1133); Unilever trial authorship corrected (six Unilever, two Phytopharm authors; Unilever-funded); two, not one, PromoPharma authors on the 2020 trial; noted that the 2020 dose may exceed the EU limit; CITES wording; removed an unsourced common name. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
| all | Initial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record, none retracted) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.