Dihydromyricetin (DHM)

Also called DHM, ampelopsin, vine tea extract, Ampelopsis grossedentata extract, DHM hangover supplement.

The short answer

From 9 sources

Dihydromyricetin is a plant flavonoid best known as a hangover ingredient, yet no placebo-controlled trial has tested isolated DHM for hangovers. Small RCTs in fatty liver (China, Greece) and type 2 diabetes reported better liver enzymes and glucose markers over one to twelve months. LiverTox rates it an unlikely cause of liver injury.

Quick pick

Nutricost Dihydromyricetin (DHM) Capsules, 90 count

from HerbsPro

Label: 1 capsule: 350 mg dihydromyricetin (from vine tea leaf extract, Ampelopsis grossedentata).

Best for trying one bottle: $15.95 one-time (checked Oct 15, 2026).

How we chose: Momentous is the partner brand we list first, so its product leads whenever the Where to buy list has one for this compound or a form in our Forms table. Otherwise, among partner brands that passed our vetting without conditions (others only when none sells it), the first product in that list whose name matches a form in our Forms table, else the first one listed. Not a claim that it works: check the amount per serving against the studied doses and limits.

Key facts

What it is
A flavonoid (also called ampelopsin) found in vine tea, Ampelopsis grossedentata, and in Hovenia dulcis13
Hangover evidence
No placebo-controlled trial of isolated DHM for hangover symptoms; a 2026 systematic review found the only clinical trials used Hovenia dulcis extracts, not isolated DHM, and a 2021 review of 82 hangover products found no peer-reviewed human data on any of them84
Human trials
Three small RCTs: 60 adults with fatty liver (3 months) and 80 with type 2 diabetes (1 month) from one Chongqing group, and 55 adults with fatty liver in Greece (12 months, DHM with vitamins C and E and choline)237
Liver safety
LiverTox likelihood score E (unlikely cause of clinically apparent liver injury): DHM has not been linked to serum enzyme elevations or liver injury cases1
Funding
The two Chinese trial abstracts state no funder (Third Military Medical University / Army Medical University researchers, Chongqing); in the Greek trial the maker, Uni-Pharma, supplied the tablets and placebo237

What it is

DHM (dihydromyricetin, ampelopsin) is a flavonoid in vine tea (Ampelopsis grossedentata) and Hovenia dulcis, the Japanese raisin tree.

How it works

Proposed

In rats, DHM did not change alcohol dehydrogenase activity or how fast alcohol was cleared, although it lowered markers of oxidative stress in liver cells. In people, the two trials point to lower insulin resistance, with lower TNF-alpha and cytokeratin-18 fragments reported in the fatty-liver study.25

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Dihydromyricetin (DHM) forms compared

2 forms
Dihydromyricetin (DHM) forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsDHM capsules (vine tea extract)Vine tea (Ampelopsis grossedentata) leaf
Absorption in peopleNo human absorption data; LiverTox notes DHM is poorly absorbed and fairly rapidly metabolized.1No human absorption data in our sources.3
GI toleranceNo drug-related adverse events in the 12-month Greek trial; LiverTox reports no liver injury cases.71The abstract does not report adverse events; 70 of 80 participants completed.3
Studied forLiver enzymes, glucose and lipids in fatty liver disease (600 mg/day for 3 months; 600 mg/day per the full text, 300 mg/day per the abstract, with vitamins C and E and choline for 12 months)Fasting glucose and glycated albumin in type 2 diabetes (10 g/day, 1 month)
  1. DHM capsules (vine tea extract)
    Absorption in people
    No human absorption data; LiverTox notes DHM is poorly absorbed and fairly rapidly metabolized.1
    GI tolerance
    No drug-related adverse events in the 12-month Greek trial; LiverTox reports no liver injury cases.71
    Studied for
    Liver enzymes, glucose and lipids in fatty liver disease (600 mg/day for 3 months; 600 mg/day per the full text, 300 mg/day per the abstract, with vitamins C and E and choline for 12 months)
  2. Vine tea (Ampelopsis grossedentata) leaf
    Absorption in people
    No human absorption data in our sources.3
    GI tolerance
    The abstract does not report adverse events; 70 of 80 participants completed.3
    Studied for
    Fasting glucose and glycated albumin in type 2 diabetes (10 g/day, 1 month)
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

3 graded outcomes, largest study first

All 3 graded outcomes found an improvement. The largest, a 2019 randomized trial of 80 people on fasting glucose in type 2 diabetes, found an improvement.

1Fasting glucose in type 2 diabetes

Improved · Grade C · RCT, 80 people, 2019

Adults with type 2 diabetes (China); 70 completed

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Fasting glucose in type 2 diabetesImproved80Grade C · RCT, 2019Adults with type 2 diabetes (China); 70 completed
Liver enzymes, glucose and lipids in non-alcoholic fatty liver diseaseImproved60Grade C · RCT, 2015Adults with non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (China)
Liver enzymes, liver stiffness and glucose in fatty liver disease (MASLD)Improved55Grade C · RCT, 2026Adults with metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease (Greece); 9 withdrew (2 on DHM, 7 on placebo)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

3 rows
Grade CFasting glucose in type 2 diabetesBlood glucoseLower fasting glucose and glycated albumin vs placeboRCT
n 80 · 2019

Improved Fasting plasma glucose, glycated albumin, cystatin C and retinol-binding protein 4 fell compared with placebo; lipids and apolipoproteins did not change.

Design
RCT, n = 80, 2019
Population
Adults with type 2 diabetes (China); 70 completed
Form
Vine tea (Ampelopsis grossedentata), 10 g/day containing 970 mg DHM; placebo was the same tea with DHM removed
Dose
10 g vine tea daily (970 mg DHM)
Duration
1 month
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 30089792 (opens PubMed)
Grade CLiver enzymes, glucose and lipids in non-alcoholic fatty liver diseaseFatty liver markersLower ALT, AST, GGT and HOMA-IR vs placeboRCT
n 60 · 2015

Improved Compared with placebo, ALT, AST, GGT, glucose, LDL cholesterol, apolipoprotein B and HOMA-IR fell; within the DHM group TNF-alpha, cytokeratin-18 fragment and FGF21 fell and adiponectin rose.

Design
RCT, n = 60, 2015
Population
Adults with non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (China)
Form
Dihydromyricetin capsules
Dose
Two 150 mg capsules twice daily (600 mg/day)
Duration
3 months
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 26032587 (opens PubMed)
Grade CLiver enzymes, liver stiffness and glucose in fatty liver disease (MASLD)Fatty liver markersALT/GGT normalization 35% vs 5%RCT
n 55 · 2026

Improved Combined ALT and GGT normalization at 12 months was more frequent on the supplement (35% vs 5% per protocol; 32% vs 4% by intention to treat). Liver enzymes, glucose, HbA1c and total and LDL cholesterol fell, and liver stiffness was lower than baseline, only in the supplement group. No drug-related adverse events were reported.

Design
RCT, n = 55, 2026
Population
Adults with metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease (Greece); 9 withdrew (2 on DHM, 7 on placebo)
Form
Hepatrat tablets: DHM with vitamins C and E and choline vs matching placebo
Dose
2 tablets twice daily, 150 mg DHM per tablet: 600 mg/day in the full-text methods; the abstract states 300 mg/day
Duration
12 months
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 41612982 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Sold for hangovers, tested for blood sugar

The only human trials in our sources measured glucose and liver markers in fatty liver and type 2 diabetes; none measured hangover symptoms, and a rat study found no change in how fast alcohol was cleared.2345

How we got this: Outcomes of the cited trials and the 2021 product review

One research group, plus a combination trial

The two Chinese RCTs come from researchers at the same Chongqing military medical university; the 2026 Greek trial is independent but tested a tablet that also contains vitamins C and E and choline, so DHM alone has not been independently replicated.237

How we got this: Author affiliations of the three trials

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 600 mg/day of DHM (3 months in capsules; 12 months in a tablet with vitamins C and E and choline, which the abstract gives as 300 mg/day) to 970 mg/day of DHM delivered in 10 g of vine tea for 1 month. No trial studied DHM before or after drinking alcohol.237

When trials measured an effect

2 outcomes
How long trials ran before effects were measured
OutcomeMeasured atBasis
Lower fasting glucose in type 2 diabetes1 month (end of trial)80-person RCT of vine tea with 970 mg/day DHM3
Lower liver enzymes in fatty liver disease3 months in the 2015 trial; 6 and 12 months in the 2026 trial60-person RCT of DHM capsules and 55-person RCT of a DHM, vitamin C, E and choline tablet27
When each outcome was assessed in the cited trials. It is not a promise of when anyone will notice a change.

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Dihydromyricetin and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Dihydromyricetin.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Liver
LiverTox gives DHM a likelihood score of E (unlikely cause of clinically apparent liver injury): it has not been linked to serum enzyme elevations or liver injury cases. DHM is usually sold in multi-ingredient hangover blends whose other ingredients carry their own risks.14
People on diabetes medicines
The type 2 diabetes trial reported lower fasting glucose. NCCIH notes that supplements may interact with medicines and advises telling your health care providers about any supplement you use.36
Pregnancy, breastfeeding and children
No trial in our sources studied these groups, and NCCIH notes that many supplements have not been tested in pregnant women, nursing mothers or children.6
Drinking alcohol
No human study in our sources shows that DHM lowers blood alcohol or protects against intoxication; in rats it did not change how fast alcohol was eliminated.45
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

2 checks
Check the dose

A 2021 review found that 59% of hangover products containing DHM did not state how much DHM they contain.4

DHM vs myricetin

Dihydromyricetin is a different compound from myricetin; LiverTox has a separate entry for DHM.1

Where to buy Dihydromyricetin (DHM)

Products from brands we partner with that contain Dihydromyricetin (DHM). Check the amount per serving against the doses studied above, and the label for other ingredients.

Dihydromyricetin (DHM) products from partner brands

1 product
  • Quick pickHerbsProNutricost Dihydromyricetin (DHM) Capsules, 90 count

    1 capsule: 350 mg dihydromyricetin (from vine tea leaf extract, Ampelopsis grossedentata)

    $15.95one-timeChecked Oct 15, 2026

Listing a product is not a claim that it works; check the amount per serving against the doses studied, and the label for other ingredients.Prices and labels are from each brand’s own site on the date shown; confirm before you buy.

Partner links may earn us a commission. How partner links work

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
Does DHM work for hangovers?

Unproven. No placebo-controlled trial has tested isolated DHM for hangovers; a 2026 review found only two small trials of Hovenia dulcis extracts, which contain DHM among other compounds. A maker-funded 2026 observational study of a DHM and L-cysteine blend reported small next-day well-being gains (Cohen's d 0.20 to 0.32) without a placebo group. In rats, DHM did not speed the clearance of alcohol.895

Is DHM safe for the liver?

LiverTox reports that DHM preparations have not been linked to liver enzyme elevations or clinically apparent liver injury. Long-term safety has not been studied in trials.1

Can DHM be taken with diabetes medicines?

No interaction study exists. Because DHM lowered fasting glucose in a type 2 diabetes trial and glucose fell in the Greek fatty-liver trial, people on glucose-lowering medicines should tell their prescriber before adding it.376

Is DHM the same as myricetin?

No. They are related flavonoids, but dihydromyricetin has its own LiverTox entry and its own small body of human research.1

What has DHM been tested for in people?

Three small RCTs. In China, 600 mg/day for 3 months in 60 adults with fatty liver lowered liver enzymes and insulin resistance, and vine tea with 970 mg/day DHM for 1 month in 80 adults with type 2 diabetes lowered fasting glucose. In Greece, a DHM tablet with vitamins and choline improved liver enzymes over 12 months in 55 adults.237

Where does DHM come from?

It is extracted mainly from vine tea (Ampelopsis grossedentata) and is also found in Hovenia dulcis.13

Sources

9 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

2 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, safety, FAQAdded the 2026 Greek 12-month RCT of a DHM, vitamin C, E and choline tablet in fatty liver disease (55 people; ITT rates, tablet contents and a 600 mg/day DHM dose from the PMC full text, which differs from the abstract's 300 mg/day; maker supplied the product), a 2026 systematic review and a maker-funded 2026 observational hangover study for the hangover key fact and FAQ, the LiverTox likelihood score (E) in the liver note and key fact, LiverTox's poor-absorption note, time-to-effect rows, an FAQ on diabetes medicines, hand-written questions and the metabolic goal hub. Summary, key facts and studied doses updated. Interactions checked: LiverTox (DHM, revised 2023) and the cited trials list none, NCCIH and MedlinePlus have no DHM page, and LactMed has no entry, so the list stays empty.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allInitial editorial evidence review. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title, year, journal; none retracted) and each cited abstract read; numbers taken from the abstracts. Funding: neither trial abstract names a funder (Chongqing military medical university investigators; disclosed as not stated). Safety from LiverTox (DHM entry) and NCCIH's Using Dietary Supplements Wisely. Where to buy: Nutricost DHM 350 mg (product label checked 2026-10-15).Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.