Botanical

Bilberry (Vaccinium myrtillus)

Also called bilberry, Vaccinium myrtillus, European blueberry, whortleberry, bilberry extract, anthocyanosides

By Kymata Labs EditorialMedical review pendingLast reviewed October 13, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from the partner product links in the Where to buy section, marked where they appear. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Rigorous trials do not support the famous night-vision claim. Small trials, mostly funded or run by extract makers, found modest relief of screen-related eye fatigue and dry-eye measures (grade D). Fruit extracts appear well tolerated, and at least one extract was found adulterated with a synthetic dye.

Top graded outcomes:D evidence grade Eye fatigue in screen (VDT) workersD evidence grade Ciliary muscle strain after near workD evidence grade Dry eye tear secretion

Key facts

Night vision
The most rigorous placebo-controlled trials were negative[1][7]
Screen eye fatigue
480 mg/day for 8 weeks eased several eye-fatigue symptoms in 80 office workers[2]
Funding
Eye trials were funded or run by extract makers (Wakasa Seikatsu, Omnica, Indena)[2][3][4]
Adulteration
One commercial extract was coloured with the synthetic dye amaranth[6]
Safety
NCCIH: fruit extracts up to 160 mg/day for 6 months were well tolerated; leaves may be unsafe at high doses[7]
Evidence base
4 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 13, 2026

How it works

ProposedBilberry anthocyanins are antioxidant pigments; trials suggest effects on ciliary muscle accommodation and tear secretion, but how they would act on the retina is not established.[3][4]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
EyesGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 109 · 2020Form tested: Standardised bilberry extract3 rows
InflammationGrade DMixedRCT · n = 27 · 2012Form tested: Fresh bilberries vs habitual diet1 row

Every graded row

Outcome
Form tested
Sort

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Ciliary muscle strain after near workImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 109 · 2020

Healthy adults aged 20–60

Form: Standardised bilberry extract · Dose: 240 mg/day · Duration: 12 weeks

Post-task HFC-1 values significantly better than placebo at weeks 8 and 12.

32106548 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Eye fatigue in screen (VDT) workersImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 80 · 2015

Japanese office workers aged 20–40 with lower flicker-fusion and accommodation scores (80 of 88 completed)

Form: Bilberry extract · Dose: 480 mg/day · Duration: 8 weeks

Less drop in critical flicker fusion after screen work (P = 0.023) and fewer subjective fatigue symptoms at week 8; near-point accommodation unchanged; no serious adverse events.

25923485 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
Low-grade inflammation markers (whole berries)MixedGrade D

RCT · n = 27 · 2012

Finnish adults with features of metabolic syndrome

Form: Fresh bilberries vs habitual diet · Dose: Equivalent of 400 g fresh bilberries/day · Duration: Not stated in abstract

No differences in weight, glucose or lipids; CRP, IL-6 and other markers tended to fall and an inflammation score differed between groups (P = 0.024).

22961907 (opens PubMed)Source [5]
Dry eye tear secretionImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 21 · 2017

Adults with dry eye symptoms (21 of 22 completed)

Form: Mirtoselect bilberry extract vs placebo · Dose: Daily extract (dose not stated in abstract) · Duration: 4 weeks

Schirmer test values improved with bilberry (P = 0.019) but not placebo; antioxidant potential also improved.

28617532 (opens PubMed)Source [4]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Standardised fruit extract (25–37% anthocyanins)Varies[4]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Mirtoselect gave higher plasma anthocyanins than a purified extract in rats.[4]NCCIH: fruit extracts up to 160 mg/day for 6 months appear well tolerated.[7]Eye fatigue, dry eye
Whole bilberriesVaries[5]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Food form.[5]Considered safe in food amounts.[7]Inflammation markers
Bilberry leafVaries[7]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)Traditional use only.[7]NCCIH: leaves may be unsafe at high doses or long-term.[7]Not studied here

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 240 mg/day of standardised bilberry extract for 12 weeks to 480 mg/day for 8 weeks.[2][3]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Medicines

  • Blood thinners and antiplatelet drugsCase reporte.g. warfarin, other anticoagulants, aspirin, NSAIDsMSK reports a case of rectal bleeding and blood in the urine in a 77-year-old man using bilberry with a blood thinner, and advises against combining bilberry with warfarin or other blood thinners; added risk with aspirin or NSAIDs is possible but of unknown clinical relevance.[8]

Who should be careful

Pregnancy and breastfeeding
NCCIH: little is known about safety above food amounts.[7]
Leaf products
Bilberry leaves may be unsafe in high doses or for long periods.[7]
People on blood thinners or other medicines
MSK flags a bleeding risk with warfarin and other blood thinners; NCCIH advises checking with a clinician before combining bilberry with any medicine.[7][8]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Adulteration

Amaranth dye
Single-wavelength testing showed 25% anthocyanins in two extracts, but HPLC found one contained only 9% and was coloured with the synthetic dye amaranth.[6]

Where to buy Bilberry (Vaccinium myrtillus)

Products from brands we partner with that contain Bilberry (Vaccinium myrtillus). Listing a product is not a claim that it works; check the amount per serving against the doses studied above, and the label for other ingredients.

  • HerbsProPaid linkSource Naturals, Bilberry Extract, 100 MG, 120 Tabs2 tablets: 200 mg bilberry fruit extract yielding 74 mg anthocyanosides (37%); 60 servingsOne-time price $38.85Shop at HerbsPro (opens in new tab)Price and label checked 2026-10-13 on the brand’s site.

    Partner links may earn us a commission. Learn more

Frequently asked questions

Does bilberry improve night vision?

No. A systematic review found the most rigorous placebo-controlled trials negative, and NCCIH agrees.[1][7]

Can bilberry help tired eyes from screens?

Two small trials funded or run by extract makers found modest improvements in eye-fatigue measures.[2][3]

Is bilberry safe?

Fruit extracts appear well tolerated in studies, but leaves may be unsafe in high doses and pregnancy safety is unknown.[7]

How can I spot fake bilberry extract?

Simple colour tests can be fooled: one extract labelled 25% anthocyanins was coloured with a synthetic dye; look for HPLC-tested products.[6]

Sources

  1. [1]Anthocyanosides of Vaccinium myrtillus (bilberry) for night vision--a systematic review of placebo-controlled trials.. Surv Ophthalmol, 2004. systematic-review PMID 14711439
  2. [2]Bilberry extract supplementation for preventing eye fatigue in video display terminal workers.. J Nutr Health Aging, 2015. RCT PMID 25923485
  3. [3]A 12-Week-Long Intake of Bilberry Extract (Vaccinium myrtillus L.) Improved Objective Findings of Ciliary Muscle Contraction of the Eye: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Parallel-Group Comparison Trial.. Nutrients, 2020. RCT PMID 32106548
  4. [4]The effect of a natural, standardized bilberry extract (Mirtoselect®) in dry eye: a randomized, double blinded, placebo-controlled trial.. Eur Rev Med Pharmacol Sci, 2017. RCT PMID 28617532
  5. [5]Bilberries reduce low-grade inflammation in individuals with features of metabolic syndrome.. Mol Nutr Food Res, 2012. RCT PMID 22961907
  6. [6]Bilberry adulteration using the food dye amaranth.. J Agric Food Chem, 2006. observational PMID 16968108
  7. [7]Bilberry: Usefulness and Safety. NIH National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, 2024. fact-sheet
  8. [8]Bilberry Fruit (About Herbs). Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, 2023. database

What changed

  1. October 13, 2026 · all · reviewEditorial evidence re-review: added the anticoagulant/antiplatelet bleeding caution from Memorial Sloan Kettering's monograph (case report); maker involvement (Wakasa Seikatsu conducted, Omnica funded, Indena-affiliated lead author) re-checked in the full texts.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet
  2. October 13, 2026 · all · reviewSecond-pass self-review: every PMID re-checked against NCBI esummary (title, year, no retraction or expression-of-concern flag), every dose, n and duration re-read against the PubMed abstract or PMC full text, grades held conservative, and interactions limited to what a cited source supports.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet
  3. October 13, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Source titles and years taken from NCBI E-utilities esummary; abstracts read for every evidence row.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →