Turmeric and curcumin and knee osteoarthritis

What 2 graded rows on turmeric and curcumin agree on for knee osteoarthritis, and where they differ. Counted side by side, never averaged.

What the rows agree on

Each block and row is one graded row from the Turmeric and curcumin page, with its PubMed record.

Your question

Supplement
Turmeric and curcumin Choose another

Turmeric and curcumin and knee osteoarthritis

2 rows · 3,184 people

They agree: both rows found an improvement.

No difference
Improved
Each block is one evidence row, sized by how many people it enrolled, with its grade inside.
  • Grade B× 2
Rows
2
Trials
34
People
3,184
Pooled reviews may count some twice

What the rows share

From the rows

The best-graded row, grade B, is a meta-analysis of 2,175 people (2024) and found an improvement.

The rows run from 1,009 to 2,175 people, published from 2018 to 2024: 2 pooled reviews and 0 single studies.

The rows

2 improved
  1. Grade BKnee osteoarthritis pain, function and rescue-medicine use · Improved

    Meta-analysis, 23 studies · n 2,175 · 2024 · Adults with knee osteoarthritis in 23 randomized controlled trials from 7 countries

    Not stated in the abstract · Not stated in the abstract

    Compared with placebo, curcumin lowered VAS pain (MD -1.63) and total WOMAC score (MD -18.85) and cut rescue-medicine use (OR 0.17). Adverse reactions were less frequent with curcumin than with NSAIDs (OR 0.51).

    Row on the Turmeric and curcumin page · PubMed 38036015 (opens PubMed)

  2. Grade BKnee joint pain and function · Improved

    Meta-analysis, 11 studies · n 1,009 · 2018 · Adults with knee osteoarthritis in 11 randomized controlled trials (curcumin and boswellia trials)

    Not stated in the abstract · Not stated in the abstract

    Curcuminoid formulations relieved knee pain and improved function more than placebo, with no difference in safety outcomes.

    Row on the Turmeric and curcumin page · PubMed 29622343 (opens PubMed)

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.