Ornithine and exercise

What 2 graded rows on ornithine agree on for exercise, and where they differ. Counted side by side, never averaged.

What the rows agree on

Each block and row is one graded row from the Ornithine page, with its PubMed record.

Your question

Supplement
Ornithine Choose another

Ornithine and exercise

2 rows · 33 people

Split. 1 row found an improvement and 1 found no difference.

No difference
Improved
Each block is one evidence row, sized by how many people it enrolled, with its grade inside.
  • Grade D× 2
Rows
2
Trials
2
People
33

Where they differ

From the rows
How longWho was studiedWhen published

The best-graded row, grade D, is a randomized trial of 17 people (2010) and found an improvement.

The row that found an improvement ran longer (3 weeks) than the row that found no difference (2 weeks).

Only the row that found an improvement names athletes or trained people in its population. Only the row that found no difference names men in its population.

The row that found no difference is newer (2025) than the row that found an improvement (2010).

The rows

1 improved · 1 no difference
  1. Grade DGrowth hormone and IGF-1 after resistance exercise (with arginine) · Improved

    RCT · n 17 · 2010 · Experienced strength-trained athletes

    Not stated in the abstract · 3 weeks of heavy-resistance training

    Growth hormone and IGF-1 were higher after exercise in the supplemented group; resting hormones, testosterone, cortisol and insulin did not differ from placebo.

    Row on the Ornithine page · PubMed 20300016 (opens PubMed)

  2. Grade DBlood ammonia and cycling performance (with tea catechins) · No difference

    Crossover RCT · n 16 · 2025 · Healthy young men

    Single dose and 14 days of daily intake (amounts not stated in the abstract) · 14 days per period

    No effect on exercise-induced ammonia or on power output in a 15-minute cycling test; perceived fatigue during 60 minutes of cycling was lower than with placebo.

    Row on the Ornithine page · PubMed 40506665 (opens PubMed)

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.