Lactobacillus reuteri and infant colic

What 2 graded rows on lactobacillus reuteri agree on for infant colic, and where they differ. Counted side by side, never averaged.

What the rows agree on

Each block and row is one graded row from the Lactobacillus reuteri page, with its PubMed record.

Your question

Supplement
Lactobacillus reuteri Choose another

Lactobacillus reuteri and infant colic

2 rows · 900 people

They agree: both rows found an improvement.

No difference
Improved
Each block is one evidence row, sized by how many people it enrolled, with its grade inside.
  • Grade B× 2
Rows
2
Trials
12
At least: a review without a trial count
People
900
Pooled reviews may count some twice

What the rows share

From the rows

The best-graded row, grade B, is a meta-analysis of 555 people (2026) and found an improvement.

The rows run from 345 to 555 people, published from 2018 to 2026: 2 pooled reviews and 0 single studies.

The rows

2 improved
  1. Grade BTreatment response (at least 50% less crying) and daily crying time in infant colic · Improved

    Meta-analysis, 11 studies · n 555 · 2026 · Infants with colic in 11 randomised placebo-controlled trials

    Not stated in the abstract · Not stated in the abstract

    Treatment response was more likely than with placebo (OR 6.98, 95% CI 2.26-21.59) and daily crying time fell (SMD −2.61, 95% CI −3.98 to −1.24). No safety concerns emerged.

    Row on the Lactobacillus reuteri page · PubMed 42485904 (opens PubMed)

  2. Grade BCrying and fussing time and treatment success at 21 days in infant colic · Improved

    Meta-analysis · n 345 · 2018 · Infants with colic in 4 double-blind trials (individual participant data)

    Daily drops (the marketed product lists 100 million CFU per 5-drop serving) · 21 days

    Crying and fussing fell about 25 minutes a day more than placebo at day 21, and treatment success was 1.7 times as likely. The benefit was large in breastfed infants and not significant in formula-fed infants.

    Row on the Lactobacillus reuteri page · PubMed 29279326 (opens PubMed)

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.