Kava and anxiety

What 6 graded rows on kava agree on for anxiety, and where they differ. Counted side by side, never averaged.

What the rows agree on

Each block and row is one graded row from the Kava page, with its PubMed record.

Your question

Supplement

Kava and anxiety

6 rows · 1,372 people

Split. 3 rows found an improvement, 2 found no difference and 1 had mixed results.

No difference or mixed
Improved
Each block is one evidence row, sized by how many people it enrolled, with its grade inside. Outlined: mixed results.
  • Grade B× 1
  • Grade C× 2
  • Grade D× 1
  • No effect× 2
Rows
6
Trials
16
People
1,372
Pooled reviews may count some twice

Where they differ

From the rows
Trial sizeStudy design

The best-graded row, grade B, is a meta-analysis of 645 people (2003) and found an improvement. 2 rows are graded No effect, our grade for adequately powered trials that found no effect.

The 2 rows that found no difference were larger: a median of 214 people, against a median of 101 people for the 3 rows that found an improvement.

Only the 3 rows that found an improvement include pooled reviews of several trials (1 of 3); the 2 rows that found no difference are single studies.

1 row with mixed results is left out of this comparison.

The rows

3 improved · 2 no difference · 1 mixed
  1. Grade BAnxiety symptoms (Hamilton Anxiety scale) · Improved

    Meta-analysis, 11 studies · n 645 · 2003 · Adults with anxiety in 11 double-blind placebo-controlled trials

    Varied across trials · 1–24 weeks

    In 6 trials (345 people) the Hamilton Anxiety score fell 5.0 points more with kava than placebo; adverse events in the trials were mild, transient and infrequent.

    Row on the Kava page · PubMed 12535473 (opens PubMed)

  2. Grade CAnxiety disorders over 25 weeks · Improved

    RCT · n 101 · 1997 · Outpatients with non-psychotic anxiety disorders

    Not stated in the abstract · 25 weeks

    Hamilton Anxiety scores improved more than placebo from week 8 on; adverse events were rare and evenly distributed.

    Row on the Kava page · PubMed 9065962 (opens PubMed)

  3. Grade CGeneralized anxiety disorder (6 weeks) · Improved

    RCT · n 58 · 2013 · Adults with GAD and no mood disorder

    120–240 mg/day of kavalactones · 6 weeks

    Anxiety fell more with kava than placebo (effect size 0.62); 26% versus 6% remitted. More headaches on kava; liver tests did not differ.

    Row on the Kava page · PubMed 23635869 (opens PubMed)

  4. No effectAnxiety in adults with anxiety and insomnia (internet trial) · No difference

    RCT · n 256 · 2005 · US adults with raised anxiety scores and insomnia, recruited and followed online; 121 randomized to kava and 135 to double placebo

    Not stated in the abstract · 4 weeks

    Anxiety (STAI-State) fell 14.4 points on placebo, and kava did no better (the fall was 2.7 points greater on placebo; 95% CI -0.8 to +6.2). Results were similar in the 83% who took the capsules for all 4 weeks.

    Row on the Kava page · PubMed 16010204 (opens PubMed)

  5. No effectGeneralized anxiety disorder (16 weeks) · No difference

    RCT · n 171 · 2020 · Adults with GAD not taking medication

    120 mg of kavalactones twice daily · 16 weeks

    No significant difference from placebo (difference of 1.37 points favouring placebo); 17.4% remitted on kava versus 23.8% on placebo. Memory problems, tremor and abnormal liver tests were more frequent on kava, though no one met criteria for herb-induced liver injury.

    Row on the Kava page · PubMed 31813230 (opens PubMed)

  6. Grade DAnxiety, tension and restlessness in general practice · Mixed

    RCT · n 141 · 2003 · Adult outpatients with neurotic anxiety

    150 mg/day (50 mg three times daily) · 4 weeks

    End-of-treatment anxiety scores did not differ significantly, but an exploratory analysis of change favoured kava; well-being and global ratings improved. Liver tests were unaffected.

    Row on the Kava page · PubMed 14692723 (opens PubMed)

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.