Troxerutin

Also called trihydroxyethylrutin, vitamin P4, hydroxyethylrutosides, oxerutins, O-(beta-hydroxyethyl)-rutosides.

The short answer

From 9 sources

Troxerutin is a semi-synthetic rutin derivative used for vein health. Hydroxyethylrutoside mixtures that contain it modestly eased leg pain, heaviness and cramps in chronic venous insufficiency across 15 trials of limited quality (grade C). A flavonoid mix with troxerutin eased acute hemorrhoid symptoms. Pure troxerutin has little trial data of its own.

Key facts

What it is
3',4',7-trihydroxyethylrutin, a semi-synthetic derivative of rutin1
Venous insufficiency
Hydroxyethylrutosides reduced leg pain, heaviness and cramps versus placebo across 15 trials and 1,643 people2
Trial quality
All 15 venous insufficiency trials were rated of limited quality2
Hemorrhoids
A diosmin, troxerutin and hesperidin mix eased pain and bleeding in 134 people over 12 days4
Pregnancy
A Cochrane review found a troxerutin trial in 30 pregnant women, but its data could not be used5

What it is

Troxerutin is a semi-synthetic derivative of the flavonoid rutin, used in vein products alone or as part of hydroxyethylrutoside mixtures.

How it works

Proposed

Troxerutin belongs to the hydroxyethylrutosides, flavonoids used as "phlebotonics" that are thought to strengthen small blood vessels and reduce leakage and swelling. Human trials measured symptoms and vein ultrasound findings rather than this mechanism directly.23

Forms, side by side

3 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Troxerutin forms compared

3 forms
Troxerutin forms compared: 3 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
3 forms(trihydroxyethylrutin)Hydroxyethylrutosides (oxerutins)Diosmin, troxerutin and hesperidin combination
Absorption in peopleNo head-to-head human data in our sources.No head-to-head human data in our sources.No head-to-head human data in our sources.
GI toleranceNo serious adverse effects were reported across hydroxyethylrutoside trials.2No serious adverse effects in 15 trials; no venous thrombosis in a 60-person cast trial.23Described as safe in a 12-day hemorrhoid trial.4
Studied forTested mainly within hydroxyethylrutoside mixtures and flavonoid combinationsChronic venous insufficiency; vein reflux during immobilizationAcute hemorrhoidal disease
  1. Troxerutin (trihydroxyethylrutin)
    Absorption in people
    No head-to-head human data in our sources.
    GI tolerance
    No serious adverse effects were reported across hydroxyethylrutoside trials.2
    Studied for
    Tested mainly within hydroxyethylrutoside mixtures and flavonoid combinations
  2. Hydroxyethylrutosides (oxerutins)
    Absorption in people
    No head-to-head human data in our sources.
    GI tolerance
    No serious adverse effects in 15 trials; no venous thrombosis in a 60-person cast trial.23
    Studied for
    Chronic venous insufficiency; vein reflux during immobilization
  3. Diosmin, troxerutin and hesperidin combination
    Absorption in people
    No head-to-head human data in our sources.
    GI tolerance
    Described as safe in a 12-day hemorrhoid trial.4
    Studied for
    Acute hemorrhoidal disease
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

6 graded outcomes, largest study first

6 graded outcomes: 4 improved, 2 mixed. The largest, a 2015 meta-analysis of 1,643 people on leg pain, heaviness and cramps in chronic venous insufficiency, found an improvement.

1Leg pain, heaviness and cramps in chronic venous insufficiency

Improved · Grade C · Meta-analysis, 1,643 people, 2015

Adults with chronic venous insufficiency (15 RCTs)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Leg pain, heaviness and cramps in chronic venous insufficiencyImproved1,643Grade C · Meta-analysis, 2015Adults with chronic venous insufficiency (15 RCTs)
Venous leg ulcer closureImproved279Grade C · Systematic review, 2013Adults with venous leg ulcers in 3 hydroxyethylrutoside trials (part of a 9-trial flavonoid review)
Pain, bleeding, swelling and thrombosis in an acute hemorrhoid attackImproved134Grade C · RCT, 2015Adults with acute hemorrhoidal disease at five colorectal units
Common cold symptomsMixed94Grade D · RCT, 2004Adults with common cold symptoms
Superficial vein reflux during leg cast immobilizationImproved60Grade D · RCT, 2017Adults with a lower-limb fracture in a plaster cast (Turkey)
Leftover clot (residual venous obstruction) after deep vein thrombosisMixed43Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2026Adults with acute proximal deep vein thrombosis on standard care (44 randomized)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

6 rows

Showing 6 of 6 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CLeg pain, heaviness and cramps in chronic venous insufficiencyVenous insufficiencyImprovedMeta-analysis
n 1,643 · 2015

Improved Compared with placebo, hydroxyethylrutosides reduced leg pain (SMD -1.07), heavy legs (OR 0.50) and cramps (SMD -1.07). No serious adverse effects were reported.

Design
Meta-analysis, n = 1,643, 2015
Population
Adults with chronic venous insufficiency (15 RCTs)
Form
Hydroxyethylrutosides (oxerutins), of which troxerutin is a component
Dose
As used in the pooled trials
Duration
As used in the pooled trials
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 25630350 (opens PubMed)
Grade CVenous leg ulcer closureVenous leg ulcersRR 1.70 for complete ulcer closureSystematic review · 3 studies
n 279 · 2013

Improved More ulcers closed completely with hydroxyethylrutosides than with control (RR 1.70, 95% CI 1.24 to 2.34).

Design
Systematic review, 3 studies, n = 279, 2013
Population
Adults with venous leg ulcers in 3 hydroxyethylrutoside trials (part of a 9-trial flavonoid review)
Form
Hydroxyethylrutosides (oxerutins)
Dose
As used in the pooled trials
Duration
As used in the pooled trials
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 23728661 (opens PubMed)
Grade CPain, bleeding, swelling and thrombosis in an acute hemorrhoid attackHemorrhoidsImprovedRCT
n 134 · 2015

Improved Pain, bleeding and persisting swelling and thrombosis fell more than with placebo by day 12, and fewer paracetamol tablets were needed after 6 days.

Design
RCT, n = 134, 2015
Population
Adults with acute hemorrhoidal disease at five colorectal units
Form
Mixture of diosmin, troxerutin and hesperidin
Dose
Not stated in the abstract (vs placebo)
Duration
12 days
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 25893991 (opens PubMed)
Grade DCommon cold symptomsCommon coldMixedRCT
n 94 · 2004

Mixed Total symptom score over 4 days did not differ significantly (27.7 vs 33.0; p = 0.10); day-1 symptoms and runny-nose scores were lower with troxerutin plus zinc.

Design
RCT, n = 94, 2004
Population
Adults with common cold symptoms
Form
Troxerutin with zinc gluconate
Dose
Troxerutin 50 mg with zinc gluconate 25 mg (control: zinc gluconate 10 mg)
Duration
4 days
Source
Reference 8 · PubMed 15601310 (opens PubMed)
Grade DSuperficial vein reflux during leg cast immobilizationVenous insufficiencyImprovedRCT
n 60 · 2017

Improved Great saphenous vein dysfunction below the knee occurred in 13.3% with oxerutin versus 46.7% without, and small saphenous vein reflux in 10% versus 40%. No one developed venous thrombosis.

Design
RCT, n = 60, 2017
Population
Adults with a lower-limb fracture in a plaster cast (Turkey)
Form
O-(beta-hydroxyethyl)-rutosides (oxerutin)
Dose
500 mg every 12 hours (1,000 mg/day) vs no treatment
Duration
6 to 8 weeks of cast immobilization
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 26924360 (opens PubMed)
Grade DLeftover clot (residual venous obstruction) after deep vein thrombosisDeep vein thrombosisMixedPilot RCT
n 43 · 2026

Mixed The primary outcome, residual obstruction of 2 mm or more, was lower with oxerutin but not significantly (42.9% vs 59.1%; OR 0.34, 95% CI 0.08 to 1.28). A sensitivity analysis at 4 mm or more favoured oxerutin (28.6% vs 54.5%; OR 0.21, 95% CI 0.04 to 0.85); post-thrombotic syndrome did not differ significantly (28.6% vs 40.9%).

Design
Pilot RCT, n = 43, 2026
Population
Adults with acute proximal deep vein thrombosis on standard care (44 randomized)
Form
Oxerutin (hydroxyethylrutosides)
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
2 months of oxerutin, assessed at 3 months
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 41197809 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Modest effects, weak trials

The venous insufficiency benefits are consistent across symptoms, but the review authors judged every included trial to be of limited quality.2

How we got this: J Clin Pharm Ther 2015 abstract

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 50 mg of troxerutin (with zinc, for 4 days in a cold trial) to 1,000 mg/day (500 mg every 12 hours) of hydroxyethylrutosides for 6 to 8 weeks in the cast trial; the meta-analysis and hemorrhoid trial abstracts do not state doses. The hemorrhoid trial lasted 12 days.8324

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

What Troxerutin meets

0 cited rows 2 tested together

Medicines 0

No medicine rows in our sources.

Troxerutin0 medicines · 2 supplements

Supplements and foods 2

  • Tested together in a graded trial
Also cited: 2 tested together
  1. DiosminDiosmin page

    • Tested together

      Pain, bleeding, swelling and thrombosis in an acute hemorrhoid attack. Graded on the Troxerutin page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

  2. HesperidinHesperidin page

    • Tested together

      Pain, bleeding, swelling and thrombosis in an acute hemorrhoid attack. Graded on the Troxerutin page; tested together is not a claim that they work better together.

Rows as our evidence profiles cite them; links stay on this site. Line weight shows what backs a row, not how serious an interaction is. No line means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe. Not medical advice: ask your pharmacist.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Troxerutin and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Troxerutin.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
A Cochrane review found only one small placebo-controlled troxerutin trial in pregnancy, with data not in a usable format, so safety in pregnancy is not established. LactMed has no troxerutin record, so there are no breastfeeding data in our sources.59
Children
The cited trials enrolled adults.234
Blood clots
In a 2026 pilot trial, oxerutin was added to standard anticoagulant care for deep vein thrombosis, not used instead of it.7
Medicines
We found no published drug-interaction study or case report for troxerutin or hydroxyethylrutosides, so interaction data are limited rather than reassuring; tell your pharmacist, especially if you take blood thinners.27
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Reading the label, and the cost per dose

Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.

How to read the label

1 checks
Troxerutin vs oxerutins vs combinations

The strongest evidence is for hydroxyethylrutoside mixtures and for a combination with diosmin and hesperidin. Products with troxerutin alone have little direct trial evidence.24

Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch

Your numbers, no product data

Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.

Formula: price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × reference amount. Use the amount printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front-of-pack compound weight. Reference amounts are what trials studied or official limits, not advice for you. We don't rank or link products in this calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
Does troxerutin help varicose veins and heavy legs?

Hydroxyethylrutosides, which contain troxerutin, modestly reduced leg pain, heaviness and cramps versus placebo in chronic venous insufficiency, though all 15 trials were of limited quality.2

Does troxerutin help hemorrhoids?

A mix of diosmin, troxerutin and hesperidin eased pain, bleeding and swelling over 12 days in 134 people with an acute hemorrhoid attack. Troxerutin alone was not tested.4

Does troxerutin help leg ulcers?

Possibly. In a Cochrane review, three hydroxyethylrutoside trials (279 people) closed more venous leg ulcers than control (RR 1.70), but the trials were poorly reported and publication bias was possible (grade C).6

Is troxerutin safe?

No serious adverse effects were reported across 15 hydroxyethylrutoside trials. Data in pregnancy are too limited to judge.25

Does troxerutin interact with medicines?

We found no published interaction study or case report for troxerutin or hydroxyethylrutosides. That reflects limited data, not proven safety, so check with a pharmacist if you take blood thinners or other regular medicines.2

How is troxerutin related to rutin?

Troxerutin is rutin with three added hydroxyethyl groups, made semi-synthetically.1

Sources

9 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

4 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, studied doses, who should be careful, FAQ, relatedAdded the Cochrane venous leg ulcer review (PMID 23728661), a 2026 deep vein thrombosis pilot trial (41197809) and a 2004 common cold trial (15601310); widened studied doses; added breastfeeding, blood-clot and medicines notes. Interaction check: no published troxerutin or hydroxyethylrutoside interaction found in PubMed, LiverTox or LactMed (no record in either), so the interactions list stays empty. Added horse chestnut and hesperidin links. Fact-checked against the sources; corrected: the deep vein thrombosis trial now leads with its primary 2 mm outcome, which was not significant (the 4 mm result was a sensitivity analysis), and its direction is now mixed.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit
evidenceIndependent review: lowered the venous insufficiency row from grade B to C because the review rated all 15 trials of limited quality and they tested hydroxyethylrutoside mixtures rather than pure troxerutin.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review
allFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for every cited row.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
allAdversarial review pass: every evidence row's numbers machine-checked against its PubMed abstract, retraction and erratum flags checked for all PMIDs, unverified country and affiliation details removed, and claims not supported by the cited abstracts reworded or dropped.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.