Thymus Extract

Also called thymomodulin, calf thymus extract, bovine thymus, thymus glandular, Leucotrofina.

The short answer

From 10 sources

Thymus extract comes from calf thymus. Most human data are small 1980s and 1990s trials of one Italian product, thymomodulin, reporting fewer respiratory infections and allergy flares (grade D). A 1998 placebo-controlled trial of an over-the-counter thymic extract found no effect in hepatitis C. Most abstracts omit key details, and no long-term safety data exist.

Key facts

What it is
A calf thymus derivative; thymomodulin is an acid lysate made of peptides of 1 to 10 kD1
Respiratory infections
Small 1980s trials reported fewer infections in children (versus placebo) and in adults (120 mg/day, versus other regimens)23
Allergy and asthma
Two trials of 16 and 19 people reported less airway reactivity and fewer eczema flares on food challenge45
Hepatitis C
A 1998 placebo-controlled trial of an over-the-counter oral thymic extract in 38 people with hepatitis C found no change in virus levels10
Class evidence in COPD
A 2022 Cochrane review pooled 36 immunostimulant trials, thymomodulin among them, and found a modest drop in flare-ups for the class as a whole8
Modern products
No trial in our sources tested today's raw or freeze-dried thymus glandulars1

What it is

Thymus extract is made from calf thymus gland. The studied form, thymomodulin, is an acid lysate of thymus peptides taken by mouth.

How it works

Proposed

Thymomodulin is a mix of thymus peptides. Animal and cell studies reported that it affects the maturation and function of T lymphocytes and, possibly indirectly, B cells and white-cell production. In human trials, marker changes included higher salivary IgA, a higher T-helper to suppressor ratio and lower IgE.1246

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Thymus Extract forms compared

2 forms
Thymus Extract forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsThymomodulin (calf thymus acid lysate)Bovine thymus glandular (raw or freeze-dried tissue)
Absorption in peopleNo human absorption data in our sources; its maker described it as prepared to stay active when taken by mouth.1No human data in our sources.
GI toleranceAnimal studies showed little or no toxicity at high doses; the cited trial abstracts do not report adverse effects.1No trial in our sources tested whole-tissue thymus glandulars.1
Studied forRecurrent respiratory infections, food allergy, asthma, hepatitis B and athletes (80 to 120 mg/day)No human trials in our sources
  1. Thymomodulin (calf thymus acid lysate)
    Absorption in people
    No human absorption data in our sources; its maker described it as prepared to stay active when taken by mouth.1
    GI tolerance
    Animal studies showed little or no toxicity at high doses; the cited trial abstracts do not report adverse effects.1
    Studied for
    Recurrent respiratory infections, food allergy, asthma, hepatitis B and athletes (80 to 120 mg/day)
  2. Bovine thymus glandular (raw or freeze-dried tissue)
    Absorption in people
    No human data in our sources.
    GI tolerance
    No trial in our sources tested whole-tissue thymus glandulars.1
    Studied for
    No human trials in our sources
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

6 graded outcomes, largest study first

6 graded outcomes: 3 improved, 2 mixed, 1 no effect. The largest, a 1987 open-label trial of 85 people on number and duration of respiratory infections in adults, found an improvement.

1Number and duration of respiratory infections in adults

Improved · Grade D · Open-label trial, 85 people, 1987

Adults with recurrent respiratory infections (Italian-language report)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Number and duration of respiratory infections in adultsImproved85Grade D · Open-label trial, 1987Adults with recurrent respiratory infections (Italian-language report)
Immune markers during intensive trainingMixed60Grade D · RCT, 1995Athletes in regular intensive training
Liver enzymes and HBsAg clearance in acute hepatitis BMixed50Grade D · RCT, 1985Inpatients with acute hepatitis B
Hepatitis C virus levelsNo effect32Grade D · RCT, 1998Adults with chronic hepatitis C who had not responded to or could not tolerate interferon (US tertiary centre)
Atopic dermatitis flare on food challenge after an elimination dietImproved19Grade D · RCT, 1989Children with food allergy and atopic dermatitis
Airway hyperresponsiveness to methacholine in asthmaImproved16Grade D · RCT, 1989Atopic adults with asthma
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

6 rows

Showing 6 of 6 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade DNumber and duration of respiratory infections in adultsRespiratory infectionsImprovedOpen-label trial
n 85 · 1987

Improved Thymomodulin alone or with a vaccine cut the number and length of infections and antibiotic use more than antibiotic or vaccine regimens. Lung function and lab values did not change.

Design
Open-label trial, n = 85, 1987
Population
Adults with recurrent respiratory infections (Italian-language report)
Form
Thymomodulin, alone or with a bacterial vaccine
Dose
120 mg/day for 20 days a month
Duration
4 months
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 3670682 (opens PubMed)
Grade DImmune markers during intensive trainingExerciseMixedRCT
n 60 · 1995

Mixed Training lowered immunoglobulins in all athletes; with thymomodulin, IgG2 did not fall and T-helper cells rose. No infection or performance outcome is reported in the abstract.

Design
RCT, n = 60, 1995
Population
Athletes in regular intensive training
Form
Thymomodulin
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
3 months
Source
Reference 7 · PubMed 7601298 (opens PubMed)
Grade DLiver enzymes and HBsAg clearance in acute hepatitis BHepatitisMixedRCT
n 50 · 1985

Mixed AST, ALT and HBsAg clearance trended faster, but only the ALT decrease differed significantly from placebo.

Design
RCT, n = 50, 1985
Population
Inpatients with acute hepatitis B
Form
Thymomodulin oral ampoules
Dose
1 ampoule twice daily vs placebo
Duration
30 days
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 3916838 (opens PubMed)
Grade DHepatitis C virus levelsHepatitisNo effectRCT
n 32 · 1998

No effect Viral RNA levels at 3 months did not differ from placebo (3.48 vs 4.06 million copies/mL, P>0.2). All 19 people who completed 6 months stayed virus-positive, with levels similar to baseline.

Design
RCT, n = 32, 1998
Population
Adults with chronic hepatitis C who had not responded to or could not tolerate interferon (US tertiary centre)
Form
Complete Thymic Formula, an over-the-counter oral thymic extract product
Dose
Label dose of the commercial product (not stated in the abstract)
Duration
3 months vs placebo, then up to 6 months
Source
Reference 10 · PubMed 9841585 (opens PubMed)
Grade DAtopic dermatitis flare on food challenge after an elimination dietAllergyImprovedRCT
n 19 · 1989

Improved Skin improved in both groups on the diet. On food challenge, lesions stayed stable with thymomodulin but worsened with placebo, and IgE fell only with thymomodulin.

Design
RCT, n = 19, 1989
Population
Children with food allergy and atopic dermatitis
Form
Thymomodulin
Dose
120 mg/day vs placebo, with an elimination diet
Duration
90 days, then a 2-week food challenge
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 2668397 (opens PubMed)
Grade DAirway hyperresponsiveness to methacholine in asthmaAsthmaImprovedRCT
n 16 · 1989

Improved Airway responsiveness to methacholine was significantly reduced at 90 days with thymomodulin and stayed lower, though not significantly, 60 days after stopping.

Design
RCT, n = 16, 1989
Population
Atopic adults with asthma
Form
Thymomodulin
Dose
80 mg/day vs placebo
Duration
90 days
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 2566293 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Old, small and from one product

Every trial here is from 1985 to 1995, tests the same Italian product, and enrolled 16 to 85 people. Several abstracts omit the dose, duration or participant numbers.234567

How we got this: Abstracts of the cited trials

Class results are not product results

The Cochrane review's modest benefit in COPD covers 11 different immunostimulants pooled together, mostly bacterial extracts; it does not show that thymus extract alone works.8

How we got this: Cochrane 2022 abstract

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 80 to 120 mg/day of thymomodulin: 80 mg/day for 90 days (asthma), 120 mg/day for 90 days (food allergy) and 120 mg/day for 20 days a month over 4 months (adult respiratory infections). A hepatitis B trial used oral ampoules twice daily for 30 days.3456

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Thymus Extract and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Thymus Extract.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No cited trial enrolled pregnant or breastfeeding women.234
Autoimmune conditions and immune-suppressing drugs
Thymomodulin is described as an immune modulator acting on T cells, and none of the cited trials enrolled people with autoimmune disease or on immune-suppressing drugs, so there are no data for them.1
Beef allergy or avoidance
Thymus extracts are made from calf thymus tissue.1
Animal-tissue sourcing (BSE)
Thymus products are made from cattle tissue. To limit the risk of bovine spongiform encephalopathy (mad cow disease), FDA bars brain, spinal cord and other specified risk materials, and material from disabled or uninspected cattle, from dietary supplements; FDA describes the remaining risk from regulated foods as negligible.9
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Reading the label, and the cost per dose

Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.

How to read the label

2 checks
Thymomodulin vs glandulars

The trials tested thymomodulin, a standardized lysate given at 80 to 120 mg/day. Raw or freeze-dried thymus glandulars are a different, unstandardized product with no trials in our sources.134

Check the cattle source

Because glandulars are animal tissue, a label or maker statement on where the cattle came from and that they were inspected is worth looking for; FDA rules bar material from uninspected or disabled cattle.9

Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch

Your numbers, no product data

Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.

Formula: price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × reference amount. Use the amount printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front-of-pack compound weight. Reference amounts are what trials studied or official limits, not advice for you. We don't rank or link products in this calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

6 answers
Does thymus extract boost immunity?

Small 1980s trials of thymomodulin reported fewer respiratory infections and some immune marker changes, but the trials were small, old and often poorly described.237

Does thymus extract help hepatitis?

Not on current evidence. A 1985 trial of thymomodulin in acute hepatitis B found a faster ALT fall than placebo, but a 1998 placebo-controlled US trial of an over-the-counter thymic extract in chronic hepatitis C found no effect on virus levels (both grade D).610

Does thymus extract help allergies or asthma?

One trial in 19 children found fewer eczema flares on food challenge, and one in 16 adults with asthma found less airway reactivity at 90 days.45

Is thymus extract safe?

Animal studies found little toxicity, but the trial abstracts do not report adverse effects in detail, and there are no long-term human safety data. No drug-interaction studies were found, so data on use with medicines are lacking.1

What dose was studied?

The trials used 80 to 120 mg/day of thymomodulin for 1 to 4 months.345

Is thymomodulin the same as a thymus glandular?

No. Thymomodulin is a standardized acid lysate of calf thymus peptides. Raw or freeze-dried glandulars are unstandardized and were not tested in the trials in our sources.1

Sources

10 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

Sources cited on this page

10 sources
  1. 1Update and future perspectives of a thymic biological response modifier (Thymomodulin).Review Immunopharmacol Immunotoxicol, 1987 · PMID 3325544
  2. 2A double-blind clinical trial for the evaluation of the therapeutical effectiveness of a calf thymus derivative (Thymomodulin) in children with recurrent respiratory infections.RCT Thymus, 1986 · PMID 3544353
  3. 3[Prevention of recurrent respiratory infections in adults].Open-label trial Minerva Med, 1987 · PMID 3670682
  4. 4"Food allergy in children: an attempt to improve the effects of the elimination diet with an immunomodulating agent (thymomodulin). A double-blind clinical trial".RCT Immunopharmacol Immunotoxicol, 1989 · PMID 2668397
  5. 5Long-term treatment with thymomodulin reduces airway hyperresponsiveness to methacholine.RCT Ann Allergy, 1989 · PMID 2566293
  6. 6Attempt to treat acute type B hepatitis with an orally administered thymic extract (thymomodulin): preliminary results.RCT Drugs Exp Clin Res, 1985 · PMID 3916838
  7. 7Immunological patterns during regular intensive training in athletes: quantification and evaluation of a preventive pharmacological approach.RCT J Int Med Res, 1995 · PMID 7601298
  8. 8Immunostimulants versus placebo for preventing exacerbations in adults with chronic bronchitis or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.Systematic review Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2022 · PMID 36373977
  9. 9FDA Announces Final Rule on Bovine Spongiform EncephalopathySafety communication U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2016 · fda.gov
  10. 10Oral thymic extract for chronic hepatitis C in patients previously treated with interferon. A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.RCT Ann Intern Med, 1998 · PMID 9841585

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

4 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
evidence, key facts, FAQ, summary, related linksAdded a 1998 placebo-controlled trial of an over-the-counter oral thymic extract in chronic hepatitis C (PMID 9841585, no effect, grade D). PubMed searched for thymus-extract and thymomodulin RCTs and meta-analyses through 2026: nothing newer qualifies. Interactions checked: no entry in LiverTox or LactMed and no published interaction study found, so the list stays empty and the safety FAQ now says interaction data are lacking. New hepatitis FAQ; related links to echinacea and the immune hub. Fact-checked against the sources; corrected: the 1998 hepatitis C product is described as an herbal dietary supplement, as in the abstract, not as a multi-ingredient product.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit
safetyIndependent review: added a BSE / animal-tissue sourcing safety note and label tip based on FDA's 2016 final rule on cattle materials.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review
allFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for every cited row.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
allAdversarial review pass: every evidence row's numbers machine-checked against its PubMed abstract, retraction and erratum flags checked for all PMIDs, unverified country and affiliation details removed, and claims not supported by the cited abstracts reworded or dropped.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.