Caralluma fimbriata

Also called caralluma, Caralluma extract, CFE, Caralluma fimbriata extract.

The short answer

From 8 sources

Caralluma fimbriata is an edible Indian succulent sold for appetite control. At 1 g/day, trials were mixed: some found smaller waists or less weight gain, but a 12-week Indian trial found no difference (grade C). Small single trials suggest less anxiety in adults and less hunger in Prader-Willi syndrome (grade D). Two trials used extract from the ingredient firm Gencor.

Key facts

Usual studied dose
1 g/day of extract, usually as 500 mg twice daily12345
Weight results
Mixed: smaller waists in some trials, no difference from placebo in an 89-person 12-week trial1234
Systematic review
A 2013 review of double-blind trials found mostly inconclusive evidence for appetite-suppressing plant extracts, with Caralluma one of two exceptions; the review came from the same university as two Caralluma trials726
Side effects
Mild and transient in trials; none reported in the Prader-Willi pilot36
Animal safety
No toxicity in a 6-month rat study up to 1,000 mg/kg/day and no fetal abnormalities in a rat developmental study8

What it is

Caralluma fimbriata is an edible Indian succulent whose extract is sold as an appetite suppressant.

How it works

Proposed

The way Caralluma might curb appetite is unknown. Trial authors speculate about increased sensitivity to satiety signals and effects on the stress-hormone (HPA) axis; neither has been shown directly in people.45

Forms

Form

The form on this page
FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Caralluma fimbriata extract (capsules)Varies38Not applicable (whole-plant extract; no elemental fraction)No human absorption data.8Adverse events were mild and transient at 1 g/day for 12 weeks; the rat 6-month study found no treatment-related toxicity.38Appetite and weight, waist size, anxiety and stress, Prader-Willi hunger

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

6 graded outcomes, largest study first

6 graded outcomes: 4 improved, 1 mixed, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2019 randomized trial of 97 people on anxiety (GAD-7) and perceived stress in adults with mild to moderate anxiety, found an improvement.

Bar: the ages a study enrolled (running to the edge when it states no upper or lower limit). Dot: only a mean age, counted as near your age within 5 years. Tick: the mean age inside a range.

6Hyperphagia (excess hunger) in Prader-Willi syndrome: improved, mean age 9.27

3Body weight, waist and calorie intake in overweight adults (no diet advice): improved, 20–50

4Waist size, hunger and body weight in overweight adults: mixed, 25–60

5Waist circumference in overweight and obese adults (with diet and exercise): improved, 29–59

1Anxiety (GAD-7) and perceived stress in adults with mild to moderate anxiety: improved, ages not stated

2Weight, waist and appetite in overweight and obese adults: no effect, ages not stated

1Anxiety (GAD-7) and perceived stress in adults with mild to moderate anxiety

Improved · Grade D · RCT, 97 people, 2019

Adults self-reporting mild to moderate anxiety (Australia)

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Anxiety (GAD-7) and perceived stress in adults with mild to moderate anxietyImproved97Grade D · RCT, 2019Adults self-reporting mild to moderate anxiety (Australia)
Weight, waist and appetite in overweight and obese adultsNo effect89Grade C · RCT, 2015Overweight and obese adults (India)
Body weight, waist and calorie intake in overweight adults (no diet advice)Improved83Grade C · RCT, 2021Overweight adults aged 20–50, mostly women (Australia)
Waist size, hunger and body weight in overweight adultsMixed50Grade C · RCT, 2007Overweight men and women aged 25–60, BMI over 25 (India)
Waist circumference in overweight and obese adults (with diet and exercise)Improved33Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2013Overweight or obese adults aged 29–59 (Australia)
Hyperphagia (excess hunger) in Prader-Willi syndromeImproved15Grade D · Crossover RCT, 2015Children and adolescents with Prader-Willi syndrome, mean age 9 (Australia and New Zealand)
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). By age shows the ages each study enrolled, where it states them. It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

6 rows

Showing 6 of 6 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CWeight, waist and appetite in overweight and obese adultsWeight and waistNo effectRCT
n 89 · 2015

No effect Weight, BMI, waist and hip circumference fell only numerically in both groups with no significant difference from placebo; appetite did not change. Side effects were mild and transient.

Design
RCT, n = 89, 2015
Population
Overweight and obese adults (India)
Form
Commercial Caralluma fimbriata extract capsules
Dose
500 mg twice daily (1 g/day)
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 25657901 (opens PubMed)
Grade CBody weight, waist and calorie intake in overweight adults (no diet advice)Weight and waist−0.37 vs +1.33 kgRCT
n 83 · 2021

Improved The placebo group gained 1.33 kg while the extract group lost 0.37 kg (p=0.03); waist fell 2.7 cm vs rose 0.3 cm (p=0.02), and calorie intake fell 245 vs 15.8 kcal from baseline.

Design
RCT, n = 83, 2021
Population
Overweight adults aged 20–50, mostly women (Australia)
Form
Caralluma fimbriata extract (Slimaluma, supplied by Gencor Pacific)
Dose
500 mg twice daily (1 g/day)
Duration
16 weeks
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 33762661 (opens PubMed)
Grade CWaist size, hunger and body weight in overweight adultsWeight and waistMixedRCT
n 50 · 2007

Mixed Waist circumference and hunger fell more than with placebo; weight, BMI, hip size, body fat and energy intake trended lower but were not significantly different. Both groups got diet and activity advice.

Design
RCT, n = 50, 2007
Population
Overweight men and women aged 25–60, BMI over 25 (India)
Form
Caralluma fimbriata extract
Dose
1 g/day
Duration
60 days
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 17097761 (opens PubMed)
Grade DAnxiety (GAD-7) and perceived stress in adults with mild to moderate anxietyAnxiety and stressImprovedRCT
n 97 · 2019

Improved Both groups improved, but GAD-7 and Perceived Stress Scale scores fell more with the extract at weeks 4 and 8 (p<.05). Salivary cortisol changed significantly in men only.

Design
RCT, n = 97, 2019
Population
Adults self-reporting mild to moderate anxiety (Australia)
Form
Caralluma fimbriata extract
Dose
500 mg twice daily (1 g/day)
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 5 · PubMed 30609411 (opens PubMed)
Grade DWaist circumference in overweight and obese adults (with diet and exercise)Weight and waist−3.8 cm waistPilot RCT
n 33 · 2013

Improved After 12 weeks waist fell 6.5 cm vs 2.6 cm with placebo (difference −3.85 cm, 95% CI −7.47 to −0.23), and waist-to-hip ratio improved (−0.033); at week 9 the difference was not yet significant (CI −5.80 to 0.02).

Design
Pilot RCT, n = 33, 2013
Population
Overweight or obese adults aged 29–59 (Australia)
Form
Caralluma fimbriata extract capsules
Dose
500 mg twice daily (1 g/day)
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 23642949 (opens PubMed)
Grade DHyperphagia (excess hunger) in Prader-Willi syndromePrader-Willi hungerImprovedCrossover RCT
n 15 · 2015

Improved Hyperphagia scores eased over time (P=0.05), with decreases in about a third of participants; in the 8 children at 1,000 mg/day the drop was larger (P=0.009). No adverse effects were reported.

Design
Crossover RCT, n = 15, 2015
Population
Children and adolescents with Prader-Willi syndrome, mean age 9 (Australia and New Zealand)
Form
Caralluma fimbriata extract vs maltodextrin and cabbage-leaf placebo
Dose
Dose varied; highest arm 1,000 mg/day
Duration
4 weeks per period with a 2-week washout
Source
Reference 6 · PubMed 26713299 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Waist changes more than weight

Where Caralluma beat placebo, the clearest change was waist size; body weight differences were small or not significant in the trials that gave diet advice.124

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

The largest Indian trial was null

The 89-person, 12-week trial found no difference from placebo for weight, waist or appetite at the same 1 g/day dose that other trials reported as helpful.3

How we got this: Evidence table on this page

Small, short trials

Every trial enrolled under 100 people and lasted 16 weeks or less; two of the six (the 2013 pilot and the Prader-Willi pilot) came from Victoria University, which also published the supportive 2013 review.267

How we got this: Author affiliations in the PubMed records

Industry-supplied extract

The 16-week trial was funded by Gencor Pacific, which supplied the Slimaluma extract, and Gencor also supplied the product for the Prader-Willi pilot; the null Indian trial used a commercial extract and declared no conflicts.463

How we got this: Funding and methods sections of the full texts (PMC7991653, PMC4683806) and the 2015 trial's conflict statement

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 1 g/day of extract (usually 500 mg twice daily) for 8 to 16 weeks, plus a Prader-Willi pilot that tested up to 1,000 mg/day for 4-week periods.123456

When trials measured an effect

3 outcomes
How long trials ran before effects were measured
OutcomeMeasured atBasis
Anxiety and stress scoresWeek 4, still present at week 897-person trial of 500 mg twice daily; GAD-7 and stress scores fell more than with placebo at both visits5
Waist circumference with diet and exerciseWeek 12; not yet significant at week 933-person pilot of 1 g/day2
Weight and waist without diet adviceWeek 16 (end of trial)83 completers measured at weeks 4, 8, 12 and 16; differences reported at week 164
When each outcome was assessed in the cited trials. It is not a promise of when anyone will notice a change.

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Caralluma fimbriata and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Caralluma fimbriata.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

3 groups
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No human data. A rat developmental study found no fetal abnormalities, but animal results do not establish safety in pregnancy.8
Children
The only pediatric data come from a 15-child Prader-Willi pilot lasting 4 weeks per period.6
People with diabetes or on weight-loss medicines
No interaction studies exist; the trials did not test Caralluma alongside glucose-lowering or appetite drugs.13
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Reading the label, and the cost per dose

Compare any product you already have by the amount it delivers, not by capsule count or front-of-pack weight.

How to read the label

2 checks
Match the 1 g/day research dose

Most trials used 500 mg of extract twice daily; check that the label states extract, not raw plant.235

Diet advice muddies results

Two trials paired the extract with diet and activity advice or monitoring, so extract effects are hard to separate from lifestyle change.12

Cost per studied dose, without the sales pitch

Your numbers, no product data

Enter the price, servings and the amount per serving from your label.

Formula: price ÷ (servings × amount per serving) × reference amount. Use the amount printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not the front-of-pack compound weight. Reference amounts are what trials studied or official limits, not advice for you. We don't rank or link products in this calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

5 answers
Does Caralluma fimbriata help with weight loss?

The trials are mixed. Some found smaller waists or less weight gain than placebo, but an 89-person, 12-week trial found no difference in weight, waist or appetite at 1 g/day.1234

Does Caralluma suppress appetite?

A 2007 trial reported less hunger than placebo over 60 days, but a 2015 trial found no change in appetite. A Prader-Willi pilot reported eased hyperphagia in a few children.136

Can Caralluma reduce anxiety?

One 8-week trial in 97 adults with mild to moderate anxiety found larger drops in anxiety and stress scores than placebo at 1 g/day. It has not been repeated.5

Is Caralluma fimbriata safe?

Side effects in trials were mild and transient, and rat studies found no toxicity. Human data beyond 16 weeks, and in pregnancy, are lacking.348

Which Caralluma extract was tested in trials?

The 16-week trial used Slimaluma, an extract from Gencor Pacific, which funded that trial and also supplied the Prader-Willi pilot. The null 12-week Indian trial used a commercial extract and declared no conflicts. The adult trials used about 1 g/day, given as 500 mg twice daily.463

Sources

8 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

3 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
time to effect, FAQ, questions, relatedSearched PubMed for 2023–2026 human trials and reviews of Caralluma fimbriata: none found (only animal, cell and phytochemistry papers, and a 2026 genus review without new human data, 41183620), so the evidence table is unchanged. LactMed, LiverTox, NCCIH and MedlinePlus have no Caralluma entry, so the pregnancy note stays as no human data and the interaction list stays empty (no published interaction reports). Added time-to-effect rows from the trial visit schedules, replaced the FAQ item on studied dose (already answered by the page's dose question) with one on which extract was tested, and added page questions and a goal-hub link.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z audit against docs/supplements/AUDIT-STANDARD.md
allInitial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record; retraction, erratum and expression-of-concern links checked in the PubMed record) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice. Industry and funding: the 2021 trial was run with RDC Clinical staff and the 2013 review came from the same university as two included trials; funders are not named in the abstracts. The 2013 pilot's 12-week confidence interval is reported with the minus sign the printed abstract omits (checked against the stated difference).Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page
evidenceAdversarial review: the 2021 trial's full text (PMC7991653) names Gencor Pacific as funder and supplier of the Slimaluma extract and gives the dose as 500 mg twice daily; dose, notes (140 randomized, 83 completed), studied-dose range (8–16 weeks) and FAQ updated, and Gencor's supply of the Prader-Willi product noted. Summary no longer runs the anxiety and Prader-Willi findings together. The 2013 pilot's 12-week interval (−7.466 to −0.228) re-checked: −3.847 is exactly its midpoint, while −7.466 to +0.228 would centre on −3.619, so the printed abstract dropped a minus sign and the interval excludes zero; week 9 (−5.802 to 0.023) crosses zero.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.