Botanical

Schisandra

Also called Schisandra chinensis, schizandra, omija, five-flavor berry, wu wei zi

By Kymata Labs EditorialMedical review pendingLast reviewed October 11, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from the partner product links in the Where to buy section, marked where they appear. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Schisandra is a berry extract. Two small 12-week Korean trials found 1 g a day improved leg strength in older adults and postmenopausal women (grade D), and a 36-person trial reported fewer menopause symptoms. A related species raised blood levels of the transplant drug tacrolimus.

Top graded outcomes:D evidence grade Knee extensor strength in older adults with low muscle massD evidence grade Quadriceps strength in postmenopausal womenD evidence grade Menopause symptoms (Kupperman Index)

Key facts

What it is
A berry used in East Asian traditional medicine, sold as a fruit extract[1][3]
Top studied outcomes
Leg strength in older adults (D); menopause symptom scores (D); weight and gut bacteria in obese women (no clear effect, D)[1][2][3][4]
Drug interaction
Schisandra sphenanthera extract (a related species) more than doubled tacrolimus exposure in healthy volunteers[5]
Doses studied
1 g of fruit extract a day for 12 weeks in the muscle trials[1][2]
Evidence base
4 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 11, 2026

How it works

ProposedSchisandra lignans have anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects in lab and animal studies; how they might affect muscle strength in people is not established.[1]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
PerformanceGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 54 · 2021Form tested: Schisandra fruit extract2 rowsIncludes this form
Healthy agingGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 36 · 2016Form tested: Schisandra extract (BMO-30)1 rowIncludes this form
MetabolicGrade DNo effectRCT · n = 28 · 2015Form tested: Schisandra fruit extract1 rowIncludes this form

Every graded row

Outcome
Form tested
Sort

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Knee extensor strength in older adults with low muscle massImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 54 · 2021

Adults over 50 with relatively low muscle mass doing low-intensity walking

Form: Schisandra fruit extract · Dose: 1 g/day · Duration: 12 weeks

Right knee extensor strength rose 10.2 Nm more than with placebo.

33710261 (opens PubMed)Source [1]
Quadriceps strength in postmenopausal womenImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 45 · 2020

Healthy postmenopausal women (mean age 62)

Form: Schisandra fruit extract · Dose: 1,000 mg/day · Duration: 12 weeks

Quadriceps strength rose and resting lactate fell compared with placebo.

32260466 (opens PubMed)Source [2]
Menopause symptoms (Kupperman Index)ImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 36 · 2016

Women aged 40–70 with menopausal symptoms

Form: Schisandra extract (BMO-30) · Dose: Not stated in the abstract · Duration: 6 weeks, followed to 12 weeks

Kupperman Index scores were lower than with placebo over time (p = 0.042).

27763802 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Body fat and metabolic markers in obese womenNo effectGrade D

RCT · n = 28 · 2015

Obese women

Form: Schisandra fruit extract · Dose: Not stated in the abstract · Duration: 12 weeks

Waist, fat mass, glucose and triglycerides trended lower but did not differ significantly from placebo; gut bacteria shifted.

26048342 (opens PubMed)Source [4]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
Schisandra fruit extractVaries[1][2]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No head-to-head human absorption data between products in our sources.[1][2]No safety concerns reported in the 12-week muscle trials.[1][2]Muscle strength (1 g/day), menopause symptoms

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 1 g of fruit extract a day for 12 weeks (muscle trials) to an undisclosed amount of a branded extract for 6 weeks (menopause trial).[1][2][3]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Medicines

  • TacrolimusPK studySchisandra sphenanthera extract raised tacrolimus blood exposure (AUC) by about 164% in 12 healthy men; Schisandra chinensis may act similarly but was not tested here.[5]

Who should be careful

Transplant patients and others on tacrolimus
A related schisandra species sharply raised tacrolimus levels; check with the prescriber first.[5]
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No safety data were found in the trials we cite.[1]
People on many prescription drugs
Schisandra changed how the body handles tacrolimus, a drug cleared by the CYP3A pathway; other drugs cleared that way could be affected.[5]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

Where to buy Schisandra

Products from brands we partner with that contain Schisandra. Listing a product is not a claim that it works; check the amount per serving against the doses studied above, and the label for other ingredients.

  • SupersmartPaid linkSchisandra Chinensis3 capsules: 750 mg Schisandra chinensis 10:1 extract standardized to 9% schizandrin; 20 servings (label allows 1 to 3 capsules)Shop at Supersmart (opens in new tab)Price and label checked 2026-10-11 on the brand’s site.

    Partner links may earn us a commission. Learn more

    One-time
    $32
    Subscription
    $27.20

    15% off with code SMART026

    Enter code SMART026 at checkout on us.supersmart.com.

    Code SMART026

    Get 15% off with SMART026 (opens in new tab)

    Partner links may earn us a commission. Learn more

    • Supersmart’s own terms and exclusions apply at checkout.
    • 20% applies when 3 or more products ship on auto-delivery to the same address.
    • The code discount and Subscribe & Save are separate offers; we don’t claim they combine.
    • Offer terms from Supersmart’s site and its affiliate program, checked Oct 8, 2026. Offers can change; the brand's checkout is final.

Frequently asked questions

Does schisandra build muscle strength?

Two small 12-week trials of 1 g a day found modest strength gains versus placebo in older adults and postmenopausal women.[1][2]

Does schisandra help menopause symptoms?

One 36-person trial reported lower symptom scores than placebo.[3]

Does schisandra interact with medicines?

A related species more than doubled tacrolimus levels, so people on tacrolimus or similar drugs should ask their prescriber.[5]

How much schisandra was studied?

The muscle trials used 1 g of fruit extract a day.[1][2]

Sources

  1. [1]Effect of Schisandra chinensis Baillon extracts and regular low-intensity exercise on muscle strength and mass in older adults: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.. Am J Clin Nutr, 2021. RCT PMID 33710261
  2. [2]Effect of Schisandra Chinensis Extract Supplementation on Quadriceps Muscle Strength and Fatigue in Adult Women: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial.. Int J Environ Res Public Health, 2020. RCT PMID 32260466
  3. [3]A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of Schisandra chinensis for menopausal symptoms.. Climacteric, 2016. RCT PMID 27763802
  4. [4]Schisandra chinensis fruit modulates the gut microbiota composition in association with metabolic markers in obese women: a randomized, double-blind placebo-controlled study.. Nutr Res, 2015. RCT PMID 26048342
  5. [5]Effects of Schisandra sphenanthera extract on the pharmacokinetics of tacrolimus in healthy volunteers.. Br J Clin Pharmacol, 2007. PK-study PMID 17506780

What changed

  1. October 11, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities (title, year and journal taken from the PubMed record) and abstracts read for each cited row. Product details in Where to buy read from the brand page on the date shown. Self-reviewed in a second strict pass (no independent reviewer yet).Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →