Pregnenolone
Also called 3β-hydroxypregn-5-en-20-one, PREG, neurosteroid precursor.
Best grade C across 10 graded outcomes Other Last checked
The short answer
From 13 sourcesPregnenolone is a neurosteroid that the body converts into other neurosteroids. Small add-on trials of 30–500 mg/day in schizophrenia, bipolar depression, back pain and cocaine or alcohol use disorder were mixed: some symptom and craving scores improved, while cognition mostly did not. It was well tolerated over 4–12 weeks. No trials cover healthy people, pregnancy or long-term use.
Every graded outcome on this page
10 rows · line = participants- CGrade CCognition, functional capacity and negative symptoms in schizophrenia (add-on)Schizophrenian 111
- CGrade CChronic low back pain in military veterans (add-on)Low back painn 94
- CGrade CTotal symptom scores in women with schizophrenia (add-on to risperidone)Schizophrenian 82
- CGrade CDepressive symptoms in bipolar depression (add-on)Bipolar depressionn 73
- DGrade DNegative symptoms in recent-onset schizophrenia (add-on)Schizophrenian 60
- DGrade DPositive symptoms, attention and working memory in schizophrenia (add-on)Schizophrenian 58
- DGrade DProvoked craving and cocaine use in cocaine use disorderCraving and anxietyn 55
- DGrade DStress- and cue-induced craving and anxiety in alcohol use disorderCraving and anxietyn 43
- DGrade DStress- and cue-induced craving and anxiety in cocaine use disorderCraving and anxietyn 30
- DGrade DNegative symptoms and cognition in schizophrenia (add-on)Schizophrenian 18
- 7 more graded outcomes, in the evidence chapter
Key facts
What it is
Pregnenolone is a neurosteroid; the body converts it into other neurosteroids such as allopregnanolone.
How it works
ProposedPregnenolone is converted into other neurosteroids. In trials, supplementation raised serum pregnenolone, allopregnanolone (a GABA-A receptor enhancer) and pregnenolone sulfate (a positive NMDA receptor modulator), and some symptom changes correlated with these rises. Learning and memory effects come from rodent studies.214
Forms
Form
| Form | Elemental % | Absorption (human data) | GI tolerance | Studied for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oral pregnenolone capsules | Varies46Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction) | Supplementation raised serum pregnenolone and produced large changes in other neurosteroid levels that were not seen with placebo.46 | Well tolerated at 30–500 mg/day for 4–12 weeks in the cited trials.8345 | Add-on trials in schizophrenia, bipolar depression, back pain and cocaine or alcohol use disorder |
What the human research says
Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.
Trial map
10 graded outcomes, largest study first10 graded outcomes: 5 improved, 4 mixed, 1 no effect. The largest, a 2014 randomized trial of 111 people on cognition, functional capacity and negative symptoms in schizophrenia (add-on), found mixed results.
1Cognition, functional capacity and negative symptoms in schizophrenia (add-on)
Mixed · Grade C · RCT, 111 people, 2014
Adults with schizophrenia (Singapore)
Dose, result and source| Outcome | Found | People | Study | Who was studied |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cognition, functional capacity and negative symptoms in schizophrenia (add-on) | Mixed | 111 | Grade C · RCT, 2014 | Adults with schizophrenia (Singapore) |
| Chronic low back pain in military veterans (add-on) | Improved | 94 | Grade C · RCT, 2020 | Iraq- and Afghanistan-era US veterans aged 18–65 with chronic low back pain |
| Total symptom scores in women with schizophrenia (add-on to risperidone) | No effect | 82 | Grade C · RCT, 2017 | Female inpatients with chronic schizophrenia starting risperidone (Iran) |
| Depressive symptoms in bipolar depression (add-on) | Mixed | 73 | Grade C · RCT, 2014 | Adults with bipolar disorder in a depressed phase |
| Negative symptoms in recent-onset schizophrenia (add-on) | Improved | 60 | Grade D · RCT, 2014 | Out- and inpatients with recent-onset schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder and suboptimal antipsychotic response |
| Positive symptoms, attention and working memory in schizophrenia (add-on) | Mixed | 58 | Grade D · RCT, 2010 | Adults with chronic schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder on antipsychotics (two centres) |
| Provoked craving and cocaine use in cocaine use disorder | Improved | 55 | Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2025 | Treatment-seeking men and women with cocaine use disorder |
| Stress- and cue-induced craving and anxiety in alcohol use disorder | Improved | 43 | Grade D · RCT, 2023 | Treatment-seeking adults with alcohol use disorder |
| Stress- and cue-induced craving and anxiety in cocaine use disorder | Improved | 30 | Grade D · RCT, 2022 | Treatment-seeking adults with cocaine use disorder |
| Negative symptoms and cognition in schizophrenia (add-on) | Mixed | 18 | Grade D · Pilot RCT, 2009 | Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder on stable second-generation antipsychotics |
Every graded row
10 rowsShowing 10 of 10 outcomes. Human trials only.
CGrade CCognition, functional capacity and negative symptoms in schizophrenia (add-on)SchizophreniaMixedRCT
n 111 · 2014
Mixed No change in composite cognitive scores vs placebo; functional capacity (UPSA-B) improved more with pregnenolone (p=0.03). Negative symptoms were low at baseline and did not improve further.
- Design
- RCT, n = 111, 2014
- Population
- Adults with schizophrenia (Singapore)
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- Dose not stated in the abstract
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Source
- Reference 2 · PubMed 25030803 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CChronic low back pain in military veterans (add-on)Low back pain−0.56 points (0–10 scale)RCT
n 94 · 2020
Improved Pain diary scores improved more than with placebo (least-squares mean change −0.56 points; P=.02), as did pain interference with work and activity.
- Design
- RCT, n = 94, 2020
- Population
- Iraq- and Afghanistan-era US veterans aged 18–65 with chronic low back pain
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- 100 mg/day (1 week), 300 mg/day (1 week), then 500 mg/day (2 weeks)
- Duration
- 4 weeks
- Source
- Reference 5 · PubMed 32119096 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CTotal symptom scores in women with schizophrenia (add-on to risperidone)SchizophreniaNo effectRCT
n 82 · 2017
No effect The primary outcome, change in PANSS total score, did not differ from placebo (mean difference −9.41, 95% CI −20.24 to 1.41; p = 0.087). Negative and general symptom differences did not survive correction for multiple testing.
- Design
- RCT, n = 82, 2017
- Population
- Female inpatients with chronic schizophrenia starting risperidone (Iran)
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- 50 mg/day
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Source
- Reference 9 · PubMed 28688338 (opens PubMed)
CGrade CDepressive symptoms in bipolar depression (add-on)Bipolar depressionMixedRCT
n 73 · 2014
Mixed The clinician-rated depression scale (HRSD) improved more than with placebo, but the self-rated scale did not; remission was higher (61% vs 37%) on the self-rated scale only.
- Design
- RCT, n = 73, 2014
- Population
- Adults with bipolar disorder in a depressed phase
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- Titrated to 500 mg/day
- Duration
- 12 weeks
- Source
- Reference 4 · PubMed 24917198 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DNegative symptoms in recent-onset schizophrenia (add-on)SchizophreniaImprovedRCT
n 60 · 2014
Improved Negative symptom scores fell more than with placebo (effect size d=0.79); other symptoms, functioning and side effects did not differ.
- Design
- RCT, n = 60, 2014
- Population
- Out- and inpatients with recent-onset schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder and suboptimal antipsychotic response
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- 50 mg/day
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Source
- Reference 3 · PubMed 24548129 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DPositive symptoms, attention and working memory in schizophrenia (add-on)SchizophreniaMixedRCT
n 58 · 2010
Mixed At 30 mg/day, positive symptoms and extrapyramidal side effects fell and attention and working memory improved more than with placebo; 200 mg/day did not differ from placebo. Negative symptoms did not improve with any treatment.
- Design
- RCT, n = 58, 2010
- Population
- Adults with chronic schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder on antipsychotics (two centres)
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- 30 mg/day or 200 mg/day (a third arm took DHEA 400 mg/day)
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Source
- Reference 8 · PubMed 20584515 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DProvoked craving and cocaine use in cocaine use disorderCraving and anxietyImprovedPilot RCT
n 55 · 2025
Improved Stress- and cue-induced craving rose with placebo but not with pregnenolone (p < .001). The 300 mg group used less cocaine than placebo (p = .047) and the 500 mg group; the drop in days of use was not significant (p = .122).
- Design
- Pilot RCT, n = 55, 2025
- Population
- Treatment-seeking men and women with cocaine use disorder
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- 300 or 500 mg/day
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Source
- Reference 11 · PubMed 40570771 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DStress- and cue-induced craving and anxiety in alcohol use disorderCraving and anxietyImprovedRCT
n 43 · 2023
Improved Both doses reduced stress- and alcohol cue-induced craving versus placebo; stress-induced anxiety fell only at 300 mg/day. Cortisol/ACTH responses were normalised.
- Design
- RCT, n = 43, 2023
- Population
- Treatment-seeking adults with alcohol use disorder
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- 300 or 500 mg/day
- Duration
- Laboratory testing in week 2 of an 8-week pilot trial
- Source
- Reference 10 · PubMed 36445398 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DStress- and cue-induced craving and anxiety in cocaine use disorderCraving and anxietyImprovedRCT
n 30 · 2022
Improved Both doses reduced stress- and cue-induced craving; anxiety and stress-induced heart rate and blood pressure fell only at 500 mg/day.
- Design
- RCT, n = 30, 2022
- Population
- Treatment-seeking adults with cocaine use disorder
- Form
- Pregnenolone
- Dose
- 300 or 500 mg/day
- Duration
- 8 weeks (lab testing after 2 weeks)
- Source
- Reference 6 · PubMed 36358943 (opens PubMed)
DGrade DNegative symptoms and cognition in schizophrenia (add-on)SchizophreniaMixedPilot RCT
n 18 · 2009
Mixed Negative symptoms (SANS) improved more than with placebo (p=0.048); composite cognitive scores did not differ.
- Design
- Pilot RCT, n = 18, 2009
- Population
- Adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder on stable second-generation antipsychotics
- Form
- Pregnenolone capsules
- Dose
- Fixed escalating doses up to 500 mg/day
- Duration
- 8 weeks
- Source
- Reference 1 · PubMed 19339966 (opens PubMed)
What the numbers add up to
Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.
Mixed results on the main outcome
Small effect on back pain
The back-pain benefit was about half a point on a 0–10 scale over placebo after 4 weeks.5
Studied doses
Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.
Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.
Doses studied in human trials
Doses studied in human trials ranged from 30 mg/day for 8 weeks to 500 mg/day for up to 12 weeks, always as add-on therapy in people with psychiatric conditions, back pain or cocaine or alcohol use disorder. In one schizophrenia trial, 30 mg/day helped while 200 mg/day did not. The craving trials’ authors describe 300–500 mg/day as supraphysiologic. These are research doses, not recommendations.8345610
Interactions and safety
Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.
Interactions
0 agentsNone found in our sources.
Check with what you take
Kept on this device onlyAdd what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Pregnenolone and your picks, and between your picks.
- Loading names…
Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Pregnenolone.
Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.
Who should be careful
5 groups- Pregnancy and breastfeeding
- No cited trial studied these groups, so safety in pregnancy and breastfeeding is unknown; because it feeds steroid-hormone production, effects there cannot be assumed to be neutral (inferred).1234567
- Hormone-sensitive conditions
- Pregnenolone synthesis is the first step in making all of the body’s steroid hormones, and trials showed large shifts in downstream neurosteroids; effects on sex hormones were not reported in these abstracts (caution for hormone-sensitive conditions inferred).724
- People on psychiatric medicines
- All psychiatric trials gave pregnenolone on top of existing medicines under supervision; this does not show it is safe to combine without a clinician (inferred).134
- Medicines and other hormones
- No drug-interaction studies have been published, and NIH fact sheets, LiverTox and LactMed have no pregnenolone entry. Because it is the starting point for the body’s steroid hormones, use alongside hormone medicines or DHEA is untested (inferred).7
- Competitive athletes
- In an administration study, oral and skin-applied pregnenolone changed the carbon-isotope ratio of a urinary steroid that doping labs use as a reference; the authors proposed it be considered a masking agent.13
How the body handles pregnenolone
2 notesIt is a starting point for other neurosteroids.
- Downstream steroids
- In bipolar depression, large baseline-to-exit changes in neurosteroid levels were seen with pregnenolone but not placebo.4
How to read the label
What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.
How to read the label
2 checksLabel dose vs studied dose
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.
Common questions
7 answersDoes pregnenolone improve memory?
Does pregnenolone help schizophrenia?
Does pregnenolone help anxiety or stress?
Is pregnenolone safe?
How much pregnenolone was studied?
Does pregnenolone interact with medicines?
Sources
13 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.
Sources cited on this page
13 sources- 1Proof-of-concept trial with the neurosteroid pregnenolone targeting cognitive and negative symptoms in schizophrenia.Pilot RCT Neuropsychopharmacology, 2009 · PMID 19339966
- 2Proof-of-concept randomized controlled trial of pregnenolone in schizophrenia.RCT Psychopharmacology (Berl), 2014 · PMID 25030803
- 3Pregnenolone treatment reduces severity of negative symptoms in recent-onset schizophrenia: an 8-week, double-blind, randomized add-on two-center trial.RCT Psychiatry Clin Neurosci, 2014 · PMID 24548129
- 4A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of pregnenolone for bipolar depression.RCT Neuropsychopharmacology, 2014 · PMID 24917198
- 5Effect of Pregnenolone vs Placebo on Self-reported Chronic Low Back Pain Among US Military Veterans: A Randomized Clinical Trial.RCT JAMA Netw Open, 2020 · PMID 32119096
- 6Pregnenolone Reduces Stress-Induced Craving, Anxiety, and Autonomic Arousal in Individuals with Cocaine Use Disorder.RCT Biomolecules, 2022 · PMID 36358943
- 7Genetic defects in pregnenolone synthesis.Review Pediatr Endocrinol Rev, 2012 · PMID 23330251
- 8Pregnenolone and dehydroepiandrosterone as an adjunctive treatment in schizophrenia and schizoaffective disorder: an 8-week, double-blind, randomized, controlled, 2-center, parallel-group trial.RCT J Clin Psychiatry, 2010 · PMID 20584515
- 9Pregnenolone as an adjunct to risperidone for treatment of women with schizophrenia: A randomized double-blind placebo-controlled clinical trial.RCT J Psychiatr Res, 2017 · PMID 28688338
- 10Pregnenolone effects on provoked alcohol craving, anxiety, HPA axis, and autonomic arousal in individuals with alcohol use disorder.RCT Psychopharmacology (Berl), 2023 · PMID 36445398
- 11Pregnenolone reduces provoked craving and cocaine use in men and women with cocaine use disorder: A pilot trial.Pilot RCT Drug Alcohol Depend, 2025 · PMID 40570771
- 12Efficacy and safety of anti-inflammatory drug-assisted treatment of symptoms in patients with schizophrenia: a meta-analysis.Meta-analysis BMC Psychiatry, 2026 · PMID 41559638
- 13Investigations on changes in ¹³C/¹²C ratios of endogenous urinary steroids after pregnenolone administration.PK study Drug Test Anal, 2011 · PMID 21538944
What changed
Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.
Change log
4 entries| Date | Change | Who and why |
|---|---|---|
| evidence, studied doses, who should be careful, FAQ, label guide, insights | Added four trials (PMIDs 20584515, 28688338, 36445398, 40570771), a 2026 meta-analysis in the FAQ (PMID 41559638) and an anti-doping note (PMID 21538944); studied doses now start at 30 mg/day; tolerability count, summary and insights updated. Interaction check: NIH ODS, NCCIH, LiverTox, LactMed and MedlinePlus have no pregnenolone entry and no published drug-interaction study was found, so the interactions list stays empty with a note under who should be careful. Fact-checked against the sources; corrected: the 2026 meta-analysis answer no longer says bias weakened results for every agent studied (the abstract says several). | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit |
| all | Independent adversarial review: sourced the steroid-precursor point (pregnenolone synthesis is the first step in all steroid-hormone biosynthesis, PMID 23330251) and strengthened the pregnancy and hormone-sensitive cautions; noted that the cocaine-trial authors call 300–500 mg/day supraphysiologic. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
| all | Adversarial review pass: every evidence row, key fact, interaction, safety note and FAQ re-read against its PubMed abstract or source page, and every number machine-checked against the cited source text. Retraction, expression-of-concern and withdrawn checks on all PMIDs: none flagged. Fixes: definition limited to sourced facts; tolerability count corrected to five of six abstracts; 2009 trial typed as a pilot RCT. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: review |
| all | Initial editorial evidence review (first draft). Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (titles and years taken from the record) and the abstract read for each cited row. Studied doses are reported as research doses, not dosing advice. | Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page |
Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.