Botanical

Polygala tenuifolia (Yuan Zhi)

Also called Polygala tenuifolia, yuan zhi, Chinese senega root, BT-11, Polygala root extract

By Kymata Labs EditorialMedical review pendingLast reviewed October 13, 2026 · What changed

Kymata Health may earn a commission from links on separate product pages. This page contains no product links. Educational reference, not medical advice.

Summary

Polygala tenuifolia root (yuan zhi) is a traditional East Asian herb. Two small 2009 trials of its extract BT-11 reported better memory scores in healthy adults and in 53 older adults. A 121-person trial in young people found 300 mg/day for 12 weeks as safe as placebo. All human data involve one extract.

Top graded outcomes:D evidence grade Memory and cognition in older adultsD evidence grade Adverse reactions and safety labs in young people

Key facts

What it is
Dried root of Polygala tenuifolia; BT-11 is a root extract that inhibited acetylcholinesterase in lab studies[1][2]
Older adults
Total CERAD scores rose more with BT-11 (28 people) than placebo (25), especially word-list recognition and naming[1]
Healthy adults
BT-11 three times daily for 4 weeks improved immediate verbal recall and working-memory errors vs placebo[2]
Safety
300 mg/day for 12 weeks in 121 people aged 9–19: adverse reactions and lab tests similar to placebo[3]
Evidence base
2 graded human outcomes on this page
Last reviewed
October 13, 2026

How it works

ProposedBT-11 inhibited acetylcholinesterase in vitro and improved memory in rats, so it is proposed to raise brain acetylcholine. This has not been measured in people.[1][2]

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form column shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

At a glance: strongest evidence per outcome

Evidence at a glance: strongest human evidence per outcome
OutcomeGradeEffectStrongest evidenceRows
SafetyGrade DNo effectRCT · n = 121 · 2019Form tested: BT-11 root extract powder1 row
MemoryGrade DImprovedRCT · n = 53 · 2009Form tested: BT-11 Polygala tenuifolia root extract1 row

Every graded row

Outcome
Form tested
Sort

Showing 2 of 2 outcomes. Human trials only.

OutcomeEffectGradeBest evidencePMID
Adverse reactions and safety labs in young peopleNo effectGrade D

RCT · n = 121 · 2019

Young people aged 9–19

Form: BT-11 root extract powder · Dose: 300 mg/day · Duration: 12 weeks

Adverse reactions (11 in 10 people vs 7 in 6 on placebo), labs, vital signs and ECG did not differ; serious events were judged unrelated.

30576772 (opens PubMed)Source [3]
Memory and cognition in older adultsImprovedGrade D

RCT · n = 53 · 2009

Older adults

Form: BT-11 Polygala tenuifolia root extract · Dose: Dose not stated in the abstract · Duration: Not stated in the abstract

Total CERAD scores improved more with BT-11 than placebo, notably word-list recognition, constructional recall and praxis, and modified Boston naming.

19699261 (opens PubMed)Source [1]

Forms

FormElemental %Absorption (human data)GI toleranceStudied for
BT-11 root extractVaries[1][2][3]Not applicable (whole compound or extract; no elemental fraction)No head-to-head human absorption data.300 mg/day for 12 weeks was no different from placebo in safety measures.[3]Memory in healthy and older adults; safety in adolescents

Studied doses

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 300 mg/day for 12 weeks (adolescent safety trial); the memory trials gave BT-11 three times daily but do not state the dose in their abstracts.[3][2][1]

These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Interactions

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Medicines

  • Cholinergic and anticholinergic drugsRCTe.g. donepezil, rivastigmine, galantamine; oxybutynin, scopolamineBT-11 inhibited acetylcholinesterase in lab studies, the same action as donepezil-type drugs, so effects could add to them or oppose anticholinergic drugs. Not studied in people.[2]

Who should be careful

Pregnancy and breastfeeding
The cited trials did not enrol pregnant or breastfeeding women.[1][2][3]
People on dementia medicines
Lab data suggest the same mechanism as acetylcholinesterase inhibitors; combined use is untested.[2]
Other medicines
No interaction studies exist for anticoagulants, diabetes or blood-pressure drugs, antibiotics, levodopa or chemotherapy.[1][2][3]

Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

  1. Extract vs raw rootHuman data are for the BT-11 extract only; raw root powders and other extracts are untested.[1][2][3]
  2. Label dose vs studied doseThe only stated trial dose is 300 mg/day of BT-11.[3]

Frequently asked questions

Does Polygala tenuifolia improve memory?

Two small trials of the extract BT-11 reported better memory test scores in healthy and older adults; neither has been independently replicated.[1][2]

Is Polygala tenuifolia safe?

A 12-week trial of 300 mg/day in 121 young people found safety measures similar to placebo.[3]

How might it work?

In lab studies BT-11 blocked acetylcholinesterase, the enzyme targeted by some dementia drugs.[2]

Is yuan zhi the same as BT-11?

Yuan zhi is the root; BT-11 is a specific extract of it, and only BT-11 has human trials.[1]

Sources

  1. [1]BT-11 is effective for enhancing cognitive functions in the elderly humans.. Neurosci Lett, 2009. RCT PMID 19699261
  2. [2]Effects of BT-11 on memory in healthy humans.. Neurosci Lett, 2009. RCT PMID 19429065
  3. [3]Study on the safety of Polygala tenuifolia Willdenow root extract powder (BT-11) in young person aged from 9 to 19 years old.. J Ethnopharmacol, 2019. RCT PMID 30576772

What changed

  1. October 13, 2026 · all · new pageFirst draft. Every PMID checked against NCBI E-utilities esummary (title and year taken from the record) and abstracts read for the cited rows.Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet
  2. October 13, 2026 · all · reviewSelf-review pass (strict second read): undisclosed doses marked as such; 2009 healthy-adult trial kept out of the evidence table (no participant count in abstract). Drug interactions checked explicitly: cholinergic/anticholinergic drugs (listed, lab mechanism); anticoagulants, diabetes and blood-pressure drugs, antibiotics, levodopa, chemotherapy (no data, stated).Writer: Kymata Labs Editorial · No credentialed reviewer yet

How we write, grade and correct these pages: editorial and evidence policy.

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Supplements and vitamins: every page →Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia →Browse all topics →

Evidence-graded supplement stacks →