Plantago major seeds (greater plantain seed)

Also called greater plantain seed, broadleaf plantain seed, common plantain seed, barhang seed, Plantago major.

The short answer

From 9 sources

Plantago major seed comes from greater plantain, a different species from psyllium (Plantago ovata). Small Iranian trials tested roasted or powdered seed alongside standard care or lifestyle advice in ulcerative colitis, fatty liver disease and diabetic kidney disease, with some favourable lab and symptom results. Each finding rests on one small trial, and no health agency has reviewed it.

Key facts

Not psyllium
Psyllium is Plantago ovata; greater plantain is Plantago major, a different species, so psyllium evidence does not transfer98
Largest seed trial
74 adults with fatty liver disease, 2 g seed or placebo twice daily for 12 weeks; ALT, AST and triglycerides improved vs placebo, 63 finished2
Trial setting
Every seed trial was run by Persian-medicine departments in Iran and added the seed to standard care or lifestyle advice123
Funding
No industry sponsor is named in the seed-trial abstracts; the fatty-liver trial authors declared no conflicts2
Agency safety reviews
No ODS, NCCIH, LactMed, LiverTox, Health Canada or EMA monograph covers Plantago major seed (EMA's plantain monographs cover other species)6

What it is

Plantago major seed is the seed of greater plantain, a common weed used as roasted seed in Persian traditional medicine.

How it works

Proposed

Reviews list flavonoids, alkaloids, terpenoids, phenolic acid derivatives, iridoid glycosides, fatty acids and polysaccharides among the plant's constituents. Lab and animal studies, not human data, suggest anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects. How the seed might act in people at the doses studied is unknown.78

Forms, side by side

2 forms named in our sources. The rest show what our data holds, and say plainly where it holds nothing yet.

Plantago major seeds (greater plantain seed) forms compared

2 forms
Plantago major seeds (greater plantain seed) forms compared: 2 forms by 3 attributes. Empty cells are labelled No data yet, or Not graded in the evidence row.
2 formsWhole or roasted seed powderLeaf extracts, syrups and suppositories
Absorption in peopleNo head-to-head human data1No head-to-head human data5
GI toleranceThe seed-trial abstracts do not report adverse-event rates; tolerability has not been characterized.123Not covered on this page; leaf preparations are a different product from the seed.5
Studied forUlcerative colitis symptoms, fatty liver disease, diabetic kidney diseaseHeavy menstrual bleeding (leaf and seed extracts, including suppositories)
  1. Whole or roasted seed powder
    Absorption in people
    No head-to-head human data1
    GI tolerance
    The seed-trial abstracts do not report adverse-event rates; tolerability has not been characterized.123
    Studied for
    Ulcerative colitis symptoms, fatty liver disease, diabetic kidney disease
  2. Leaf extracts, syrups and suppositories
    Absorption in people
    No head-to-head human data5
    GI tolerance
    Not covered on this page; leaf preparations are a different product from the seed.5
    Studied for
    Heavy menstrual bleeding (leaf and seed extracts, including suppositories)
Every cell holds data from a cited page; citation numbers link to the page that holds them.Scroll the table for every column

What the human research says

Human trials only, one row per outcome. The form line shows what each trial actually tested. Grades follow our evidence-grading policy.

Trial map

4 graded outcomes, largest study first

4 graded outcomes: 2 improved, 1 mixed, 1 worsened. The largest, a 2021 randomized trial of 74 people on liver enzymes and triglycerides in nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, found an improvement. One outcome found a worsening: serum leptin and VEGF-A in obese women (72 people).

1Liver enzymes and triglycerides in nonalcoholic fatty liver disease

Improved · Grade C · RCT, 74 people, 2021

Iranian adults with nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, also given diet and exercise advice

Dose, result and source
Every graded outcome on this page, largest study first
OutcomeFoundPeopleStudyWho was studied
Liver enzymes and triglycerides in nonalcoholic fatty liver diseaseImproved74Grade C · RCT, 2021Iranian adults with nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, also given diet and exercise advice
Serum leptin and VEGF-A in obese womenWorsened72Grade C · RCT, 2021Women with obesity (Poland)
Ulcerative colitis symptoms (Lichtiger Colitis Activity Index items)Mixed61Grade C · RCT, 2021Iranian adults with ulcerative colitis on standard medication
Proteinuria in diabetic kidney diseaseImproved60Grade C · RCT, 2024Iranian adults with diabetic nephropathy on losartan
Each circle is one graded outcome on this page, numbered from the largest study down, and placed by how many people it studied (log scale). It shows who was studied and what was found, not advice about your dose.

Every graded row

4 rows

Showing 4 of 4 outcomes. Human trials only.

Grade CLiver enzymes and triglycerides in nonalcoholic fatty liver diseaseFatty liverLower ALT, AST, triglyceridesRCT
n 74 · 2021

Improved Double-blind trial vs placebo. ALT, AST, triglycerides, waist circumference and ultrasound fatty-liver grade improved more with the seed. Fasting glucose, HDL, LDL and total cholesterol did not differ. 63 of 74 finished.

Design
RCT, n = 74, 2021
Population
Iranian adults with nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, also given diet and exercise advice
Form
Plantago major seed
Dose
2 g twice daily (4 g/day)
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 2 · PubMed 33854559 (opens PubMed)
Grade CSerum leptin and VEGF-A in obese womenObesity markersLeptin roseRCT
n 72 · 2021

Worsened Placebo-controlled. Leptin was higher at the end in the Plantago group, and the rise tracked increases in VEGF-A. The authors concluded the supplement may intensify endothelial dysfunction and angiogenesis in obese women.

Design
RCT, n = 72, 2021
Population
Women with obesity (Poland)
Form
Oral Plantago major supplement (plant part not stated in the abstract)
Dose
Not stated in the abstract
Duration
12 weeks
Source
Reference 4 · PubMed 33502416 (opens PubMed)
Grade CUlcerative colitis symptoms (Lichtiger Colitis Activity Index items)Ulcerative colitisSome symptom items betterRCT
n 61 · 2021

Mixed Double-blind trial vs roasted wheat flour. Abdominal tenderness, reflux and stomach pain were less severe with the seed. Visible blood in stool, bloating and anal pain fell within the seed group but did not differ from control. 51 of 61 finished.

Design
RCT, n = 61, 2021
Population
Iranian adults with ulcerative colitis on standard medication
Form
Roasted Plantago major seed
Dose
3,600 mg/day
Duration
8 weeks
Source
Reference 1 · PubMed 34265576 (opens PubMed)
Grade CProteinuria in diabetic kidney diseaseKidney protein lossLess proteinuriaRCT
n 60 · 2024

Improved Open-label trial vs standard care alone. 24-hour urine protein fell from 165.04 to 135.84 mg with the seed and was lower than in the control group after treatment (135.84 vs 192.04 mg). Quality-of-life score rose more. Fasting glucose, BUN, creatinine and potassium did not differ.

Design
RCT, n = 60, 2024
Population
Iranian adults with diabetic nephropathy on losartan
Form
Plantago major seed powder with sweet almond
Dose
10 g sachet twice daily (20 g/day), plus sweet almond
Duration
60 days
Source
Reference 3 · PubMed 38797623 (opens PubMed)

What the numbers add up to

Each point is worked out from the data and the sources numbered on this page, with the arithmetic shown under it. It adds no new data and is not medical advice.

Same genus, different plant

Shoppers searching for plantain seed can land on psyllium (Plantago ovata) or Plantago major. The trials on this page tested Plantago major seed only, at gram-level doses taken alongside standard medical care.1239

How we got this: Species named in each trial abstract and the narrative review

Studied doses

Doses used in research, shown against the official limits. They describe the studies, not a recommendation for you.

Studied doses in research, not advice. These are amounts used in research, not personal advice. Your clinician or pharmacist can say what fits you.

Doses studied in human trials

Doses studied in human trials ranged from 3.6 g/day of roasted seed for 8 weeks to 20 g/day of seed powder (with sweet almond) for 60 days; the placebo-controlled fatty-liver trial used 4 g/day for 12 weeks. These are research doses, not recommendations.123

Interactions and safety

Published interactions only: each row cites a source. No row means none was found in our sources, not that a combination is safe.

Interactions

0 agents

None found in our sources.

Check with what you take

Kept on this device only

Add what you take. We list every interaction our evidence profiles cite between Plantago major seeds and your picks, and between your picks.

Most cited:

Add a supplement or medicine you take to check it against Plantago major seeds.

Starting from one medicine? The interaction checker rates how serious each pair is, on a curated list of 19 entries for 11 medicines. This cabinet has no severity rating: it lists every interaction row our supplement pages cite.

Not medical advice, and no dosing advice. An empty result means no row we cite names that pair, by name or through a drug class we can link the medicine to, not that a combination is safe. Where our sources name only a group of medicines we cannot match, the cabinet says so. Ask your pharmacist before you combine supplements and medicines.

Who should be careful

4 groups
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
No ODS, NCCIH, LactMed, LiverTox, Health Canada or EMA source covers Plantago major seed. NCCIH notes that many dietary supplements have not been tested in pregnant or nursing women.6
People on medicines
No drug-interaction data were found in ODS, NCCIH, LactMed, LiverTox, Health Canada or EMA sources. NCCIH advises telling your health care providers about any supplement, since supplements can interact with medicines.6
Kidney, liver or bowel disease
The trials added the seed to supervised standard care for colitis, fatty liver and diabetic kidney disease; the evidence is too thin to replace that care.123
Before surgery
NCCIH advises telling the surgical team about every supplement in advance, since some can affect bleeding or anesthesia.6
Talk to your pharmacist or clinician before starting a supplement, especially if you take prescription medicines.

How to read the label

What to check on the Supplement Facts panel.

How to read the label

3 checks
Check the species name

Psyllium is Plantago ovata; this page covers Plantago major (greater plantain). A label that says only "plantago" or "plantain" may be either, and the trials of one do not apply to the other.98

Seed, not leaf

The graded trials used seed: roasted seed for colitis and seed powder for fatty liver and kidney disease. Leaf extracts and suppositories are different products, studied for other uses such as heavy menstrual bleeding.1235

Grams of seed per day

Trials gave 3.6–4 g of seed a day, or 20 g of seed powder with sweet almond in one open-label trial. Check the grams of seed per serving rather than the number of capsules.123

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to common questions; the numbers link to the sources below.

Common questions

5 answers
Does Plantago major seed help fatty liver?

One 12-week placebo-controlled trial in 74 Iranian adults found lower ALT, AST and triglycerides with 2 g twice daily. It has not been repeated.2

Is it safe?

The trial abstracts do not describe serious problems, but they also do not report adverse-event rates, no health agency has reviewed Plantago major seed, and safety in pregnancy, breastfeeding or with medicines is unknown.1236

What doses were studied?

3.6 g/day of roasted seed, 4 g/day of seed, and 20 g/day of seed powder with sweet almond in an open-label kidney trial.123

Is Plantago major seed the same as psyllium?

No. Psyllium comes from Plantago ovata. Plantago major is greater plantain, a different species used in Persian traditional medicine. Trials of one do not apply to the other.98

Was it tested for ulcerative colitis?

Yes, as an add-on to standard medication in one 8-week trial. Some symptoms improved more than with a wheat-flour placebo, but others, including visible blood in stool, did not differ between groups.1

Sources

9 sources: trial abstracts, NIH fact sheets and reference databases. Numbers in the text link here.

What changed

Every dated change to this page: what changed, who made it and why.

Change log

2 entries
Dated changes to this page
DateChangeWho and why
label guide, interactions checkAdded a label guide (species, seed versus leaf, grams of seed). Re-searched PubMed for Plantago major seed trials through 2026: no seed trial newer than the 2024 kidney trial (PMID 38797623). Interactions re-checked: no published drug or supplement interactions, and LactMed has no entry; the page says interaction and pregnancy data are lacking. Fact-checked against the sources; corrected: removed "syrups" from the seed-versus-leaf label note, which the cited review does not mention.Writer: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: A–Z page audit
allInitial editorial evidence reviewWriter: Kymata Health EditorialTrigger: new page

Supplement & Nutrient Encyclopedia. Educational information only; it is not medical advice and does not replace a clinician. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Statements about supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA.

Educational only. Not medical advice. Some links earn us a commission: kymatahealth.com/affiliate-disclosure.